IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

gan,

i am thinking of havin vegetarian buffet.

likely to get miaoyi vegetarian at coronation plaza.

I also avoided chicken and egg in the first weeks of my confinement. I ate a lot of threadfin for wound healing. This time I recovered faster. Maybe seasoned liao. Hehe..

Gan,

If u can't bathe, ask yr hub to get u Cetaphil from any pharmacy. Apply on yr skin and use a damp towel to wipe off.

Pandawife
Cute bbs u have there, they look quite big !

Gan, grumpus, baby
What's the reason can't eat chicken if have c-sect ? I eat a variety of chicken, pork and fish. Didn't notice anything different also.

working_wife
Don't need to think too much, cos it is never enough preparation. When the time comes, just bite the bullet and go, it will be over in 1/2hr.

bubbybear,
chinese say eat chicken will cause the wound to itch or something like that. not sure how true but i just follow lor.

Thanks girls for the recommendation on cakes n catering . Will check it out.... Like baby said something to look forward to!!

Bing how do u engage a stay in naNny? How much does it cost?

Nancy with twins u definitely need an extra pair of hands ... U getting a maid?

Bubbly my CL and mum said no chicken ... Not sure why n I am craving for popeye fried chicken !!!

Gan,

If I were to have buffet, I will engage neo catering too. highly recommended. the prices are reasonable. try to get member card from yr friend, can get 10% discount. think they are also having 15% off for first month celebration for january.

actually, i already run through the menu. but baby still inside, cant decide anything yet. LOL

Gan,

My parents have to leave for Perth urgently. Booked tickets last night, they just flew off. I was at T1, no popeye, so we went T3 instead, cos i got craving for popeye chicken too.... hehe.

Confinement can eat poyeye chicken? Suppose can right cos its only fried chicken.. Not "poisonous"... Hmm.. After eating 3 weeks of confinement food.. Im craving lots of other kind of food mann...

Btw, even i always pump every 3-4hrs.. How come my breast will sometimes still have some hard lumps?

Just faith dun tempt me!!! Luckily I stayed in walk up impossible for me to go out of our home easily.... Else I wld walk to square 2 for my chicken! =p

Gan
my maid came last week but didn't let her handle bbs yet. Even got maid, i dun want them to carry my bbs. Dun know is it me only or what, can't let her handle my precious darlings. So I am trying to learn the ropes from cl... Bb cry must zen. Cannot panic. But ftm hear bb cry also heartpain

u stay so close to square 2, I love the Korean fare there. Ai yo making me hungry at 430 am in the morning !! BBQ chicken, Korean mixed rice, kimchi ... Hee

hi nancy,
another sleepless soul...joining you at 445am. bb movin on whichever side i am lying on, not sure if she is uncomfortable, but on i sleep face up but tilted a bit to 45 degrees, she wil just quiet down...

Nancy same like you when I hear my Bb cry I super Heartpain. She will cry very loudly when she wants milk n coz. I dun latch her well, I will be there frantically expressing milk for her. But good u have a maid at least she can help u in housework and cook ur meals coz with twins u wld be spending slot of time taking care of them. Maybe when ur maud works longer in ur home and u know her better, u will 'fangxin ' let her help u abit in taking care of the babies like changing diapers. Ya I stay very near Square 2 like 5 mins walk. But only tried the Korean food there once!

Rose I like popeye chicken find them nicer than kfc. Like their biscuit too.

Happy hippo not sure can eat chocolate but I ate quite a few coz want to eat something sweet... So my baby has been having chocolate milk for the last 2 days!

baby, u try to massage before pumping and every 5-10mins pump, stop to massage again before continue to pump.

it works for me.. coz initially i also had hard lumps on my left side... now all cleared..

the LC at tmc taught me this.

my confinement meals are quite cool..haha..its actually mix of normal fare too.. i continue w my brown rice for meals.

first few days my mum made me take the papaya fish soup everyday to kick start the bm supply..

yesterday mil made ginger juiced pork chop, fish papaya soup and vege yesterday. i also take fruits as per normal. my mum says its alright leh..hehe..make me eat ..LOL

Baby,
Breast pump not as efficient as bb sucking so occasionally some specific ducts never get cleared properly will get blocked and become a lump. As long as not the whole breast hard is ok.
Just massage those specific lumps when u pump. I used to get blocked ducts here and there even after 8-10 mths of pumping.

baby, i m using avent. i found out the problem already. my hb bought the wrong FM...he got the anti reflux one..which costs a bomb and is thick due to its anti reflux nature. getting him to go out n get the correct one today.

we are still using the pre mixed liquid FM given by TMC.. i wonder why they dun sell those! its so convenient to use.... esp at night...just open n pour.

bubbybear, actually only one of the boys is slightly bigger..the other two quite small.. its the optical ilusion tht makes all 3 look chubby and fat..hahahah.....

Bing, ur twins are lovely! i enjoyed their latest album very much

I m trying to stay afloat the chaos at home..hahah.. me and hb has been taking turns to try and get everybody organised. coz hb will be going back to work..so i m also very actively involved in babysitting.. cannot lie in bed the whole day..but i try to catch as much rest when the babies are sleeping..n i time my pumping an hr before they are due for feeds so tht can just feed bb whatever i can produce to save the hassle of storing and having to warm up since supply not alot and definitely not enuff for 3 too.

i tink i m a sucker for schedules! haha.. makes me very uncomfortable when things are not done timely :p

Rose, the baby on the left is gor gor, Linus is didi and the one on the right is mei mei

panda,

so sweet... these couple of days i hav been kinda freakin out with d thought of givin birth. my waistline is only 39" so far, n i am in ard wk 33 pregnancy. but whenever i remind myself that i hav another 4 wks to go before full term, my hands wil turn cold...i am gettin overly excited n anxious to meet my ger...

anyone also feelin d same anxiety n worry? just faith, u shld be due pretty soon... u scared?

Grumpus
Yday the hard lumps are the most painful so far.. Pain until i cant sleep leh... Even lying on my back my breast is so damm painful... Last time when i have these hard lumps.. Massage them will make them go away.. But this time massage and pump a few times they are still there...
It make me even more determined to stop bf... Now i try not to pump my breast empty.. And try to drag my pump session.. See can i use this method to stop bf... I feel bad that i cant provide my girls bm till they are 6mths but i need to stay sane to take care of them... Yday night i pain until wana cry.. I know i cant continue like that else i will be so depressed...

Panda
Ya i also have those pre mix similac fm frm hosp... I will use them when i go out with the bbs.. U try not to use them at hm so u can save them for outings.. Easier.. No need to bring so much tins to go out...

Btw, my cl n mum say we can only eat apple.. The rest of fruits are too liang for us..
Hows yr bf cuming along? How much ml u can pump each time?

Rose,
i'm in my 34 wk this week. Me too, getting anxious and excited to meet my gal. My waistline only juz a bit more than yours. Abt 40".

Btw, hv u washed ur bb stuff? We'll be washing end of this week. Hb is getting ready the bb stuff and arranging them.

babyhopeful,

glad tat someone ard same week as me, i dun think i hav been so scared in my life. worry if my ger wil come out healthy n normal...must stay zen.

my hb very kiasu type, washed all bb clothes 3 wks ago. he said he will wash again during jan. bb cot comin in early jan n all stuff shld be ready by then. ur due is when? i scare will hit wk 37 or 38 give birth, then will be cny peak.

Gan
I thk cos its kkh.. Its govt hosp.. Tats y they dont give..
My hb says actually cannot give one.. But the nurses still gave my hb two trays... So far i didnt feed them the pre mix fm.. I will save it for future outings.. So no need to bring powder and water... Maybe need to bring hot water to warm the milk...

Panda
U give the pre mix fm in rm temp or u warm it?

Panda/gan
U gals have painful hard lumps in yr breasts? I on off have them.. Its so damm painful... I thk its becos im on full pump and i did not latch bbs... So the pump is not efficient in emptying the breast so the ducts are blocked...

The pain is really a big big turn off...

baby..we almost used up all the pre mix liao..coz first 2 days really so chaotic.. no time to go tink about making powder FM. I hv enuff balance to bring for going out tomorrow..coz need to bring them go see PD.

gan, i got a whole carton box from the kind nurse from tmc... plus 2 smLL boxes. total up to about 60 bottles...

rose, i looked forward to popping babies before delivery coz i was so uncomfortable already. but now i tink back, shld hv kept them in the tummy few more days!! hehe...it was so much easier to take care of the babies in the tummy... hehe..come out already the amount of effort multiple many times.. but when u see them, u will feel that its all worth it. esp when i see the 3 little ones sleeping soundly in a cot... i feel so proud of them....

baby, i hv the lumps on one side when my supply started 3-4 days ago...then i practise wht the LC thought... constantly massage...and pump n massage.. must b very hardworking.... now both breasts are "relaxed"... but supply not alot ...each 3 hrly i can only get 40-50ml. but i will continue to try my best. my bb ger is the smallest..so most of the time i giv the bm to her....

i also dun latch leh..my bb once hungry will scream n fuss..makes me very nervous n gan chiong trying to latch screaming bb...so i just pump only...

panda,

i wil think of u as role model when i go into labour.

must stay focus, wil tell my ger not to come out too soon.

Wah .. everyone busy being "cow" now ... hahaa Do't give up gers must be strong & continue giving breast milk hor !!

Now my ankles swelling up already, so is my face .. sigh .. I look like 1 round round ball of flesh ..

jj, u so fast ankles swell up liao? try to raise ur feet when watchin tv or surfin. how many inch is ur waist now?

my symptoms seems to be happening faster .. is it cos I got twins ?
waist ah .. wait ah .. i go measure.

Waist width is 43", if length wise 15" (it grew !! from 14" to 15")

Weight gain abt 13kg so far

jj, definitely due to twins. my waist only 39" n length 13" now in wk33. wow...havin multiples is really tough for the mother.
i am already feeling very tight n breathless during the day...dun feel like doin anythin other than eat, drink, sleep n shit. cannot imagine if more than one...

endure, jj! those not yet pop, lets encourage n motivate each other as we approach our big day!!! now, just count down to new year 2011 in 4 more days!

Rose,
i'm due 7 Feb. Now my feet r swelling. How abt urs? If bb really wan to come out earlier than EDD, oso no choice.
Do u feel any contractions? I seem to feel braxton hicks a few times but no pain or cramps. Oredi informed Dr Loh the last visit.
My bb cot will arrive in Jan oso. After washing the bb clothes, i need to pack my luggage to get ready for confinement at my mil's place. She oredi started telling me what's she intend to cook for confinement...lol

Rose - my like only 22wks + lor ... another 15wks till target 37wks.

now feet swelling, hips aching, lower back painful, memory fading, walking like a king penigun.

Whole belly looks like watermelon ..

but as long as they healthy come out can liao... mothers are indeed the best

Rose,
every nite muz wake up twice to pee...but luckily after that, usu i can go sleep unless bb keeps moving/kicking. My hb said im the type who can sleep anytime and anywhere...lol

Panda
If u are like me.. Only pump and no latch.. Maybe u will end up feeling so depressed like me ah... Cos i notice if we solely rely on pumping.. It will not empty the breast like what latch on bb does.. So on off u will get those hard lumps... Initially when i have them.. I will massage them away.. But lately the lumps are harder to get rid off.. And its getting more and more painful...

Today the sister nurse at glen e call me to find out how am i.. I told her my situation.. She say pump can nvr be as good as latching bb on.. And pumping will not be able to pump out all milk out so ducts will get blocked.. And become hard painful lumps... So if u can.. Try to latch on yr bb if u are determine to continue bf...

Me give up aldy... Shame to give up so easily but my hb and mum been telling me its ok to give fm.. I need to be sane and energetic to take care of the twins... If i would to continue pumping and having pain frm the lumps.. I will get depression.. So i tell myself dont be ashame to give fm.. Giving them a mth of bm is better than nothing...

Happy
Now my twins mostly is drinking 60-70ml... My cl says usually by full mth bb can drink up to 100ml... And i notice they will cry for milk much earlier.. Frm 3hrly to now abt 2hrs... And now they are not sleeping as much as when they are just delivered.. Cl says usually by 3 weeks old.. Bb will not sleep as much...

Hows yr bm qty? Increasing? Hows yr appt with dr f?

baby..yeah..now i m pumping 100%.. my gf told me its possible.. her sister had 2 kids n both times she cannot latch.. and her supply is good with solely pumping.. but need to put in alot effort...

i am trying my best... not sure if can improve the supply..but never try never know.

u can call in an LC to help u clear the blocked ducts if u wanna continue to giv bm...

i was told smaller babies can be more challenging to latch...i have been trying to latch them on n off when they are not screaming for milk when hungry n awake...

first 2 days when i started pumping..there was nothing..just to do pure stimulation to kick start the bm.. i was super depressed lor.. coz MIL every 3 hrs ask me "GOT MILK ANOT??"... she kept harping n harping tht last time her 3rd day after delivery, her milk was FLOWING....:S

i was so upset i hide in my room pump n cry leh!!
my hb told her coz mine is c sect..so takes time for body to react... she says she understand...but still keep ASKING! until i snapped at her to STOP ASKING!

Baby and Pandawife I have the bad lumps I think 3 days after delivery.... And when the nurse teach me how to massage it is very painful. Then I massage and pump in hospital the lumps went away. My baby is being fed breast milk now but I dun latch coz I want to know how much she drinks and also I dun really know how to latch her well so she gets very frustrated and cry badly when she tries to suck but not satisfied . So I rely on pumping every 3 or 4 hrs t express and bottlefeed. Using NUK bottle, she seemed ok. So everyday now is pump, sterilize, CL will help me wash after pump or feeding.
So far the painful hard lumps never appear except sometimes I touch the side abit hard, I will massage slightly Before pump.
Guess will try latching when her jaundice is ok. She is 3.1 kg now... Guess this is her weight if I deliver her this week. =)

hi ladies - saw ur posts and a few friendly advice;
1) it is possible to feed bb just by pumping. I fed my bb bm until he is 15 mths - i pump all the way
2) quality of bm also affects how hungry the bb will be. if ur bm is creamy look - means it is thick hence bb shld be able to last 3hrs. if urs is thin, means u have to load on more protein. If bb cries cos hungry then add 10ml in the next feed and see if he/she can finish and doesnt reguritate. means u can increase amt. each bb is diff, their stomach size are diff... even if they are 1 mth, they might drink more or less than 100ml. so trial and error to see which amt the bb is comfortable w. I know one CL force feed the bb till she keeps vomitting...everyday, every feed.
3) can take med to increase supply. i took motilium which my pd prescribe me. it works wonders for me.

baby,
i solely pumped and bf my bb too. i used to get lumps on and off throughout my whole pumping 'career'. initially i got my hb to massage for me. cos he will use more strength and not care if i'm screaming the house down :p
if i massage myself sure will feel pain then use less strength. if my hb is not around, i even get my mum to help me massage.

but anyway, if it's causing u so much stress then is better to stop. not sure if u want to consider taking meds to stop the supply, cos the meds will kick in much faster than yr current method. not emptying yr breast fully and dragging pump interval will take a while to stop the supply and in the meantime u will still get blocked ducts and engorgement.

Gan,

Y do u need to know how much she is drinking? U can gauge by her output ma. At least 5 or 6 wet diapers and at least 1 poop a day is enough Liao. U can refer to the bf guide from kkh.

Panda,

Hugs~ I know how u feel! My MIL also very irritating. When I had my 1st bb, she said "yr breasts r small where got milk?" I was too stunned to reply her. That was 2nd day after I delivered my son. So I die die must bf to prove her wrong and it lasted for 22 months. Ha.

Before I popped twins, she asked me not to bf coz sure not enuf for 2 bbs. Again I proved her wrong! I think I must thank her coz I won't be bf if not for her. Kakak...

Singapoh I was worried she didn't get enuff and won't clear her jaundice coz I read she must poo to clear the waste from liver.
And when I latched she is always crying after sucking got a while .... Think her mouth too small to cover the whole nipples to suck properly. She gets impatient and fuss if she doesn't get her fill. Even at kkh I latch her for 40 mins, the nurse came n told me she is hungry after 1/2 hr.

Btw ur babies have hiccups? My gal seems to have hiccups quite often, just like when she is in my tummy

Singapoh, yes! its so irritating.. n she always ask knowing tht i finish pumping n came out of room empty handed...

now i can proudly produce some output each time and put it in front of her and ask her to feed bb with it!! hahahaha....

but not sure if i can sustain enuff for 3 bbs lah...seems like a very tough journey..but i will try my very best! even if can hv enuff for 2 babies each feed is very gd! u r my idol!

was telling my hb u r very knowledgable mummy.. i always learn from the tips u provide... n hor..i must confess smthing.. now i understand what u mean when u say can get confused with ur twins during feeds!

i also got confused leh! i pass my hb a pink ger ger top and ask him to wear on my eldest boy.. hahah.. he also blur blur dress him.. then proceed to change diaper! then we realised he is boy boy! LOL

Gan, yes.. my PD told me its very normal for the babies to get hiccups.. mine too... they will go hic hic hic so loudly tht i can hear from my room next door de!

saw dr tee just now. Today my bp was 142 and sugar level alittle high. He will induce me at 530pm tomorrow. Hopefully the timing will be just nice for doctor loh to deliver my little one on 29/12.

Yeah, I m so excited to see my little one. I m feeling great!!!

Just faith have a smooth delivery!! Ur gal smart to catch dr loh when he is back from leave!! Mine caught him before he went on leave. =)

If u want epidural ask for it early ..... U will still feel contraction. Pain when u dilate from 6 cm onwards.