IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Happyhippo
It is ok, don't be sad, if the labour drags on, it will lead to foetal distress, by that time it will be emergency c-sect. You can try for VBAC in your next pregnancy
Still have hope to try natural.

Pandawife
Maybe try to sun your boy under the sun with the eyes covered. Alternate between machine and natural light lor.

Can imagine how chaotic it would be with 3 bbs. I guess with parenting will just have to go with the flow. I feel giving pacifier is ok as long as there is peace ! Think of weaning later, anyway, not that difficult to wean off. Its just like weaning off bf also.

Looks like your girl is really a girl huh, know how to demand attention already.

But you are doing great after delivering 3 bbs !

Girls u baby clothes fit ur babies? Seems like all the clothings I bot are too big for her even new baby size from motherhood..., and mittens never fit..

Panda,

I can imagine yr situation now. With twins already chaotic for 2nd time mum like me.

Is yr maid here? Are u swaddling yr bbs? I think u r too bz to feel any pain now. Better try to zzz whenever u can.

Maybe send yr boy back to kkh For phototherapy ? At home it's difficult to leave him there whole day coz heart pain to hear him cry..

Gan,

My twins were too small for NB size too. For mittens u can ask yr CL to sew the opening a bit.

Btw Mothercare has Small size. It's between premature and NB. Not sure if all the branches carry those sizes. Think I saw in kkh branch.

Gan,

Sometimes NB can latch on every hour.

If she keeps crying for no reason, she could be colicky. U can get Ridwind from Doc.

Singapoh thanks will ask hubby get Ridwind from kkh when he brings her for blood test tomorrow. CL also tot was colic N applied ruyi oil on her feet n tummy but she still cried till we bottle feed her.

Merry Xmas to all !

my baby's tummy is like quite big/bloated, think coz he is like a little milk monster. r u little ones like that too?

does ur tummy surface still feel a bit strange, a little bit of numb feeling but sore inside.
shd we still use stretch mark cream? how to get the 'extras' back in shape?

baby
r u still taking all the prenatal vitamin, calcium, fish oil? shd we continue? but i like never can find time to take or even rembr to take.

Gan,
for mittens and booties, i used to double fold the opening so they won't keep slipping off. means after we wear for her we fold over one more time where the rubber part is...hope u understand what i mean.

happyhippo,
if u hv all those vits left, good to continue to take them.

Gan
Yes my wound still feel sore aft a week.. It only get much better by the 3rd week... My uterus contraction is at the peak at the 2nd week...

My clothes and mittens also too big for my girls.. The mittens kept dropping off.. We use tape to secure it... Once they grow bigger then the mittens will fit... Somemore my girls are premature so they are smaller in size...

Happy
Yes i still carry on with the vits.. Like the fish oil.. Multi vits.. Calcium... But i did not take the iron... I also find it hard to find time to eat... Sometimes also lazy..
When u go see dr f.. He will ask u whether u still have enough of the supplements.. I did not take somemore... I tot of just finish the leftovers and stop..

Panda
With 3 bbs.. I can imagine how chaos it will be.. But relax ya u have lots of help frm yr family.. Dont over stress yrself..
I also did not continue on the painkiller when i got home..
Yr wound no pain liao? Did u manage to bathe since op?

Happyhippo I still have the prenatal vits and during 35 weeks appt dr loh prescribe another 2 months for me, he asked if I will breastfeed, told him yes. Guess it is good to take but I have not taken them since delivering. Too overwhelm by Bb n Also taking the c section anti biotic

Grumpus the cl did that fold 2 times still keep dropping .

Gan, i hv the same problem, non of the nb clothes fit..haha..but we just dress then anyway n swaddle with nappy cloth.

we are still guessing whts wrong everytime babies scream.. check everything, the diapers, the milk time, if they feel cold etc ... so far we have been using disposable diapers..i told my mum if use cloth now everyone will go nuts..

Singapoh, i tink u r right, i m too busy to feel pain.. doesnt really bother me much..
the maid tht was suppose to be here got herself preggie.. we din wanna start sourcing for fresh one..so hold the idea for now. looking at the current situation, i dun tink the maid will be able to help much too...

i try to take power naps now...will drop dead for 2-3 hrs..then wake up again to do pumping n help w looking after the babies...

baby, i took my bath n wash hair today.. in hospital air conditioned...so i din shower or wash hair.. yesterday too hectic.. this morning wake up first thing hit the shower..haha...

Happyhippo, my gynae asked me to continue with all my multi vits.. i bought fresh mth's supply before discharging from hospital. i suppose it would b good esp if we are breastfeeding.

Panda
Wahh u so fast hit the shower liao... Haha.. I only bathed two weeks post op... Now i only bathe once a week.. Opps.. Dirty me... Hehe...
But i wipe myself twice a day with herbal water and warm water to wash my belows...
Cant wait for the confinement to be over.. So dont have to eat confinement food and can bathe in warm fresh water..
Its only 3 weeks post op lo... Cl leaving on the 6th jan... By then should consider confinement over liao ba...

Girls
Aft one mth.. We can bathe in normal warm water liao right? No need the herbal water right? We can eat normal food just avoid seafood and those "posion" food like duck, peanut etc right?

Happy,

If yr bb's tummy feels, it means wind. Difficult to pass motion. My twins were like that when they were colicky.

Yeah continue with vitamins.

Toning exercise is the only way to get rid of our flabby tummy.

Panda,

I think right now u will need 2 CLs to help u with 3 babies. Maids might not be able to help u with babies but they can help u with cleaning. Extra pair of hands really make a big difference

Panda
My maid is a great help... She did not handle the bbs.. But with her.. My hsewk is totally taken care of.. Even when cl cooks my maid help in the washing and cleaning of the kitchen... She also help in washing bb clths and hanging the laundry...

I cant imagine how my hse will look like without my maid.. Before she cum i hate the idea having a stranger.. But now j cant do without her.. Hehe...
Now everyday i just wake up.. She will make my bed.. Clean my rm.. Wash my toilet... Everyday my hse is sparkling clean..
This is impt when having bbs at home...

Thanks Singapoh will ask hubby check with doc tomorrow.

Girls using Avent baby body wash, we need not rinse off the soap right? Today cl bathe baby, not sure if she puts too much bodywash, I find there is soap lather on baby and she just wipe off say ok. How much do u put in the bath for ur Bb??

I'm in normal ward now since past 35 weeks. On 23rd nite,after turning off drips, contractions were strong and I had menstrual like cramps. Dr checked and said I was 1 cm dilated. Was so nervous and shocked, thought this is it... Gonna deliver on 24th already. Then pain became better and next day still 1cm dilated. So doc said I can go to normal ward. Now end date in mind is 30th Dec, but also prepared if anything happens before that.

Panda, u did c-sec with epi? How was the whole procedure? Can explain to me how they prep u, what did they in OT, what can u feel or hear? I was so scared the other day cuz totally not prepared. So now let me mentally prepare myself!

Panda,

I was told that it will even out coz of blood circulation so we did not actually 'sun' her back. Maybe put her inside when your bb is sleeping and play some music. I talked to her if she is crying and told her she still left how long even thou I don't know she understand or not.

Re: food

I have been avoiding seafood and yam. Older people said eat yam will itchy down there and is forever itchy.

Working wife..yup I did c sect w epi.
Ok let me try n run thru. Before going into ot..I was given the drip insert..after tht push into the ot buzzing w pple.. Next was the administration of epi..was given a jab at the back to numb the site. A nurse stood in front of me n let me hug her while i was lying on my side so tht I could try to curl n stay v still. She oso help to hold me. Once epi done..I was given oxygen to breathe via tubes plug at the nose..while a cloth was put up in front of me.

After epi..I start to feel pins n needles at the legs n also shiver quite a bit..I was prepared for the shivering..just hv to stay calm n focused... I told myself I wanna see my babies v badly!

Dr Paul came in shortly..n started his procedure..I did not feel anything at all while he delivered the babies.. Only thing was one of my bb in breech position...so anesthetist had to help push from the top of my tummy downwards.

Dr Paul showed me each bb as he pulls them out n pass to the pd to check..aft tht they put each bb beside me to let hb take photos.

I did not feel anything while the stitching was being done..Mayb coz shivering...it only went away about 1hr plus aft the op. Pain only kicked in much later in the evening...but still bearable... More painful the next day when I had to get out of bed n try to walk..was quite bad for me coz my bp drop everytime I try to get out of bed n start to feel giddy. Finally in the evening manage to do it w help of hb n nurse.

Hope the info is helpful

oh my, panda, ur 3 bbs look so cute!!! n quite identical lor. which one is ger n gor gor? so nicely done, really xmas bbs.

Panda
Yr 3 bbs look so identical!! So amazing they all can squeeze into yr tummy!! So cute mann!!

How are u managing at home? Hows yr confinement meals?

Panda wife cute babies!! Nice christmas greeting. How r u coping with the babies ?

Hey dr loh never lift and show me my Bb after I delivered....i only saw my Bb after she was checked by PD. A nurse brought her to me.

Baby what confinement food u having? I have been having steam fish n papaya fish soup for lunch and dinner for past 2 days....btw does ur cl put Longan in ur drink?

Merry Xmas & happy new yr to all the mummies here!

I have been very busy and tired handling 2 babies and haven't logged in for a while. It's so happening now! So many of you had just delivered!

Congrats Gan & Pandawife!
Pandawife, your babies look so lovely and alike! And they are of very gd weights for triplets too. I can imagine that it must be tough for you to handle your triplets. Are you getting enough help? Must rest more so that you can recover faster ok?

Gan,
Post some pict of your baby for us to see leh
How's your confinement so far?

Gan,
Now that you mention, Aunty Eng cooked steam fish and papaya soup for me for lunch and dinner most of the time for 2 whole weeks! I think that's the easiest to prepare. I gave her longan and dangsheng to add to the drink.

Bing long time didn't hear from u. My confinement only started on Friday.... Coz I was only discharged from hospital on thursday.

Anyone helping u with the twins? I think 1 baby already not easy, u all have twins and triplets should be even busier

I was wondering is it coz I had c section, alot of things can't eat, can only eat fish.

Thanks Panda. That's quite detailed... Actually its like what I watch on tv. But some ppl say they can feel the tugging and pulling, just no pain. Is that true?

The nurse told me epi hard to apply becos tummy so big, hard to curve to C shape. But if you can, then I definitely can lah! Was the epi pain? Or was that the easiest part? I tell ya that day doc checked my cervix, already so painful to me!

Working wife,

I heard about the tugging and pulling part in C sect too.

Btw, I had my epi in sitting up position. The pain is nothing compares to the contraction I had. Felt warm and painfree instantly! Now can even get additional boost by pressing a button!

Is yr doc a male? Their hands are bigger so checking cervix is ouch! Midwive checked was painless.

Working wife I felt the tugging during my c section but no pain. When they inject for epi didn't find it painful too. But like Singapoh said contrAction pain, nothing can compare. When I knew I had to do emergency c , I kept telling the nurse etc who pushed me to OT to stop the contraction pain!

When dr loh first checked my cervix without epi, it was very painful and I was not prepared, I tot he had his whole hand in. Subsequently with epi, no pain when midwives check and even when dr marianne fix stretching for me to stretch from 3 cm to 4 cm

Gan,
C-sect need to avoid chicken for the first 2 wks. Basically only eat pork n fish. I remember I was quite bored the first 2 wks too cos every meal is essentially stir fried pork, steam fish n soup.

Grumpus only 2 days I already cannot tahan confinement.... I feel do hot every time during meals .... After meals I immediately hide in my air con room. I haven't bathe yet Coz my mun nagging due to c section n I hate the yucky feeling coz I m having rashes due to heat... Only wipe myself A few times a day. Will ask hubby help me wash my hair later at the basin. Can't tahan le.
Really pei Fu those who go by straight confinement rules!

Gan,
hang in there. i didn't bath for the first 4-5 days and i also hid in my aircon room all day except to come out and eat and check on bb.

but in my master room toilet i did secretly use hanky to wipe down my face, neck and arms etc so i dun feel so sticky. :p

Gan
After u sweat dont go into aircon rm directly.. U might catch a cold.. Thats what i do.. Then i kena fever...

Aft c sect first two weeks cant eat chicken... So i have fish steam or fried.. Fish payaya soup.. Corn soup.. Lotus soup.. Stir fry pork with ginger and rice wine... Vege..
Aft two weeks.. Can have pig trotters.. Chicken.. Herbal soup.. Confinement is quite boring.. After 3 weeks now.. Im so sick of it.. Esp those steam fish.. Yucks.. But cl says if dont eat fish wont hv milk... So i force eat lor..

If u gals cant bathe.. Wipe yr body.. Then put some powder.. U will feel much better.. Now 3 weeks post op.. I only bathed two times only... Luckily my hair not the oily type.. So still can tahan.. I didnt even use the dry shampoo..

Gan, post yr girl photo here leh.. I wana see yr princess!

Thanks all for sharing c-sec experience! I always thought even feeling the tugging, pulling, hearing the sounds, shivering is quite scary. I mean if u can feel tugging, maybe u can feel pain too? But I really want the experience n hubby to b there. So I must be brave!

Gan, yeah noticed when midwife checked cervix, it was uncomfortable but bearable. But when Dr Cheng (male) checked, wow... Super painful!

Also reading yr posts abt confinement girls. Sounds like c-sec pain n the heat can be unbearable. Now must be mentally prepared for that too. I think maybe the first 4 days whilst still in hospital no bathing but after that will start bathing at home. Hair try not to wash so much lor, maybe once in 2-3 days. I wanted to cut my hair short but didn't manage before coming into hospital. Now worse, hair after 5 weeks even longer!

Working wife
Make sure u have a good long bath before yr delivery ya..
Hee...

Dont worry abt the heat.. U will forget everything when u see yr little ones.. Its all worth it.. The c sect pain is not as bad as u think.. As long as u move slowly.. Put on the binder.. Its managable.. Just tahan abt 2 weeks.. The wound pain is almost gone..
Abt the confinement food.. Just bear with it... 28days... Look forward to yr baby shower... Hehe.. Thats what i do.. I keep thinking abt my baby shower.. My hb will try to think of variety for cl to cook for me so i will have more appetite to eat... After this birth.. I find my hb is the best! So mushy hor.. Hehe...

Working wife dun worry abt the tugging N pulling... If u dun feel anything during the cut, definitely don't feel pain during the tug n pull... To me it's a sensation. Looking back I was in a state of confused mind as I was not prepared for the c sect and I was shivering very badly due to epi. But whatever we go thru, seeing our little ones all worth. Initially I got abit scared of getting pregnant coz my pregnancy was eventful but seeing our gal, my hubby and I were thinking maybe we shld go for number 2 couple years later with my remaining embryos.

Baby I dunno how upload leh but we have upload a few Bb pics on my hubby's Facebook acct. I guess I shld go set up my own and can add u gals as friends

thanks thanks!

is anyone using enfalac a+ FM huh?

i m having problem with it.. the milk seems to be thick..and doesnt flow thru the 0+ and 1+ mths bottle teats..

we followed the instructions on the can ...correct water amt, water temp and bottle cap also not too tightly closed.. but still cannot...*scratch head*

Baby for ur baby shower which caterer u have in mind ? How abt cakes ?

Anyone got recommendation for cakes and catering?

Panda
U using avent? Initially i also have this problem...
U try to shake the bottle.. Cos sometimes the powder clumps may stuck the teats hole so milk cant flow out...

Gan
Im catering neo garden for buffet.. So far its the nicest buffet i tried... For the cake i using sweetest moments cos i find the box and baby card so cute.. Thou the food inside quite normal and not worth the price.. We are like paying for the box and card.. Cos can customise wordings on the box and can put baby photo on the card...

Baby was initially thinking of choz but just surf the website, the variety not much. Ok will check out the menu for Neo. When r u planning ur full mth ?

Gan,
I have a stay-in nanny and a maid to help me. Otherwise won't be able to cope for first time mummy like me.

I think for c-section delivery, must avoid certain food like chicken, seafood, 'sheng yu' for the first 2 weeks. Then aunty eng said can't take alot of veggie and fruits also. She said can't even take orange but I went ahead to take cos I was having constipation after delivery.

For baby shower, I ordered catering from neo garden. The food is gd. My guests commented that too. But it's more pricey compared to other caterer. I also cakes from sweetest moments too. The cakes are so so only but we like their personalised baby cards.

Bing
glad to hear from u again
u have a stay in nanny ? Hm... Singaporean? How much u paying her ? I am worried after cl leaves I am left to care for the twins myself. I think I will be one those that cry when cl leaves .... happened to few of my girlfriends.