IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
I tell u... Till now i still cant believe i gave birth to my two girls... When i look at them now.. I still feels like a dream..
Reality havent sink in yet... Sometimes i wonder how come my tummy can accomodate two of them... Really a miracle.. Haha...

Hold yr wound area when u move or walk... Can minimise the pain... And try not to have water splash on the wound directly even when u have the waterproof plaster.. Cos after a while u will find it icthy around the plaster...

This yr xmas is so special for yr family..
a perfect xmas gift for yr whole family!

grumpus
thks for mentioning the pd (dr oh meng choo) in bishan. brought my baby to see her yesterday. find her quite ok, think we will continue to see her since it is quite near our house. she is quite young hor.

gan, justfaith
my mum offered to make the red eggs but she has been so busy cooking my confinement food, so tot want to take the load off her. but think no choice now, got to get her to help make, coz can't find any place that does reg eggs only.

baby
i don't intend to get ang ku kueh. will just have cake & red eggs.

for cakes to give for full month. i'm looking for whole cakes, besides bengawan solo, do u know of any nicer cakes around? my budget is about $20-$30. thinking of getting nicer cakes for closer relatives.
tks

baby,
same like u, i also find it hard to imagine how my boy can squeeze into my tiny tummy, esp when everyone say it is so small and surprise i'm ardi wk 38 then.

this year pre xmas is so so different. really don't feel xmas mood at all coz everyday just feels the same - feed baby, clean baby, change diaper.. its just so so different hor..also have not really digested that i already have a baby now. wonder if any one of u feels this way too..

merry xmas and a great 2011 to all of you

Happy
U are taking care of bb yrself now? No cl or mum to help u?
U must rest more ya.. So far i didnt change diaper or bathe the bb... I only feed the bb sometimes when the cl is cooking or two bbs cry at the same time....

Yeah, my Christmas is so different. Every year I will go home for Christmas n then Christmas eve dinner w family at home with more than 20 ppl. This yr just my mum n my hb immediate family coming to SG n I won't be there at home. Trying to ask doc whether can take leave for 2 hrs to go home for dinner n open presents tomorrow, he said shd be ok but see my condition first. And since I stay less than 5 mins away, then he said ok can consider.

Today's scan showed bb girl 2.0kg n bb boy 2.55kg. But I still feel worried cuz of the +/-15% accuracy. Like panda said, the safest is to be at 2.3kg then at least -15% still 2.0 kg.

Has anyone else seen such discrepancy in their bb act weight vs the estimate?

I already feel so heavy n uncomfortable now n getting a little emo now. I think I can target one more week (assuming nothing happens in between). Still feel guilty n worried cuz one week may not still get my girl to 2.3kg but I feel like I really cannot beyond that anymore

baby
my mum is helping with confinement food, hubby helping with baby on leave. but i also make a point to help hubby coz we first time parents, cant just rest and let him do by himself, coz he alrdi doing alot.

Working wife,

U need to continue to be positive. My big son was 2.8 kg during scan and less than a week later I popped and he was 3.37 kg.

My twins were heavier at birth than their final scans too.

happyhippo,
u're welcome

was abit concerned abt recommending her cos latest reviews abt her on the net said she's become very bz and hence quite rushed. guess it depends abit on luck as well which day u go.

yes she is quite young, but she's quite good with the bb hor? my regular pd is much more experienced but less patient with the bb. pros and cons lor....

Working wife
Dont think so much... Let yr bbs decide when they wana cum out.. Its beyond ur control...
Just sit back and relax.. Before u know it.. U are holding yr little ones...

This mth is a busy mth.. So many deliveries... Hee...

Happy
I see... U eating and sleeping well?
Night time u wake up to latch bb or u pump?
Yr bf qty better now?
Mine still on off.. Sometimes got 80-90ml... Sometimes only 60ml... U gng to see dr f soon right?

grumpus
her clinic got quite crowded after we got there. maybe we first time go plus is newborn, so she spent time to check and explain. yes she is good with bbs, think she got kids also, maybe thats why also.

baby
yes im eating well. sleep wise-both my hubby & me can do with more

nowadays, i do with all 3 - pump BM, latch + supplement with FM. depending on EBM supply and how tired we are, can be any of these 3 combinations.
my BM ranges from 20ml-70ml, quite irregular.

yes seeing doc f next wk. btw how long was ur appt with him to remove stitches? so used to seeing him so often lately, next wk will be last appt with him liao.. think kind of going to miss him...hahahha

Happy
If can get 70ml is v good liao lo... It should be enough for yr bb liao...

My appt with dr f ah.. Normal lo.. Did chit chat with him for awhile.. Ya i also gonna miss him.. I see him v often before i deliver cos im i stay in hosp.. I see him twice everyday.. I guess after now.. Will only see him maybe half yearly or what... Or even once a year to do normal gynea checkup..
My next appt to see him is abt one mth frm nw...

Yr wound should feel much better by now liao right?
Still have lochia flow? Or stop liao?

Working wife,

think of the bright side, it might be easier for you to beef up yr little ones outside than inside your womb.

Most importantly is, how much longer can you take it?

Thanks girls for the support!

Yesterday nite was quite emo cuz I guess before I had a target which I just focused on everyday which is Dr Cheng's return. I really didn't think beyond that. Now it's like I finished running a marathon only to find out there's another 10km to go!! But feel better today
the show must go on, the fight must continue.

Dr is happy with scan results. Although it's only estimate, like what u said just Faith, can fatten up the bb outside.

He has finally given me a date (or rather I told him realistically I think I can work towards that which is 36
weeks). So 30th Dec is THE DATE! Now of course anything can happen before that, but this will become my target. His nurse gonna book the slot.

Right now, my approach is I leave it in the hands of God. Ultimately it's up to Him when His precious creations gonna come into the world
whatever happens, happens. Only thing I can do now is try to eat and rest well.

Oh ya, got permission to go home for 2-3 hrs tomorrow for Christmas dinner n presents! Yay!! He said well, there are only two things can happen, either u can go home for yr dinner or u will be heading for OT. Man, really hope I get to go home!

Working wife
Finally mann.... Its only a week more..
Enjoy yr xmas party.. And rem to eat whatever u want now ya.. Esp those cold beverages...
Its so hot and warm during confinement.. Those heaty food.. Warm soups and baths... Makes u crave for cold drinks mann... Have to wait at least a mth later then can drink..

My mum say cannot drink those with ice.. Can only drink cool drinks from the fridge without the ice.. Dont know aft confinement can drink liao or must wait till 40days later... Or worst 2-3 mths later... Omg..

Working wife
almost there !!! We here counting down with you... Enjoy ur dinner

Baby
ya man .. I can be eating my meals and sweating as if my ceiling leaking. Pulling one tissue after another to wipe haha...

On the bright side, our confinement is in dec. Few of my friends had to do their during the super warm June/ July period ... Can faintzz

Nancy
Ya mann... The sweat like free flow beer...
So i heck care.. Use fan to blow when having meals in the living room... But when my hb around he will switch it off..
So warm dont even have the appetite to eat lor..

So how.. Yr contractions no more liao right?
Will u be engaging malay massage lady?

baby
70ml only happened once so far. i pump only like 2-3 times per day, so not enuf, got to supplement with FM.
oh u do gynae checkup with him? wat does tat include? how long hv u been seeing doc f ardi?

my lochia flow stopped the otr day, then came back but very light. cant wait for it to stop, need pad-free days!

my wound is less sore now. do u knw if the binder is to help us slim down or to help the wound to recover? coz quite uncomfty to wear, i tend to take out most time.

Happy
How cum u only pump 2-3 times a day?
Maybe u wana pump more often to increase yr bm?

I see dr f for abt 3 yrs liao... I do pap smear test with him..

My lochia also stop then cum bk again at a lighter flow.. Now i still have it on off.. I also dont dare to put panty liner in case the flow is more...

The binder helps to put pressure on the wound so wont feel so much pain when u move or walk.. And i think it also helps to make our tummy smaller... So i wear the binder 24/7.. Its not v comfy.. Esp when we sweat.. Its quite icthy and hot..

U engaging malay massage lady?

Baby
I cannot use the fan. Under watchful eye of my cl n mum haha ... So have to tahan lor. After every meal change t shirt like dun know what.. Now everyday change bedsheet n pillow case!!

Yes uterus contraction no more thanks . But still got light lochia flow. U haven't change diaper for ur girls ? I can't wait everything also wanna take part, feeding, burping, change diaper etc. My mum will nag nag me ask me go rest. How to rest when they like crying for me next door ?

Happyhippo
I wearing my binder 24/7. Although the stitch has healed but internally the wound still not completely healed. So try to wear it if u can tahan. Actually I feel easier to move abt with binder esp when turning to sleep at night. Plus it keeps the womb area warm as I sleep in Ac room.

Baby
forgot ur last question. Yes doing massage but mee see at gynae clinic ask me start at week 6 but massage lady say week 4 can do. I confused ...

Nancy
Ya mann.. Even sleeping in aircon rm.. I can wake up sweating... Esp with the binder on its even warmer..
I dont understand how come cannot blow fan... Aircon so cold also can...

Ya i hvt got the chance to change diaper for them cos the cl is doing it.. But i did stand beside her to see how she change.. My hb says he will test out how to bathe the girls this wkend..

Btw did u drink plain water?
I also intend to massage aft baby full mth.. Alot of massage lady say week 3 can do liao... My friends also massage at wk 3... My gynea also say can... But i prefer to do it aft a mth to play safe...

Happy
I also feel more comfy with the binder on when sleeping.. Cos it wont feel much with the binder on esp when u sleep on yr side or tossing around...
Try to put it on.. U can apply some baby powder on yr skin first before u put on the binder.. Can reduce some icthness..

Happy and Baby,

I think it is pretty safe to do massage after 3 weeks for c-sect. but then again hor, if we invite massage lady over, and our body is sour sour, i wont enjoy the massage session also... so unless i am allowed to shower before massage, otherwise, i will drag until baby full month bah...

Singapoh and Grumpus for nite feed do we feed on demand or schedule, I.e every 3 hrs? At kkh, our gal seems to be drinking milk every 3 hrs. She was fed FM when we r at kkh. Today 3am suppose to be her feed, she was making some sound when she sleeps n when I touch her cheeks, her mouth open and seems to want milk do I fed her ebm. But she only took 30ml and stop. I fed ebm using bottle instead of cup feeding as I tried yesterday afternoon was a mess. I tease her with the teat after the 30 ml she didn't want the ebm.
My qn is for bbs are they expected to take same qty each time? Say the feed before took 70ml but now only only 30 ml is it ok??

Gan,
For the first month or so, u need to feed round the clock, every 2-4hrs. For the amt they drink each time, they cannot possibly last through the whole night without topping up frequently.
It's ok if bb doesn't drink the same amt or cannot finish. I always believe it's better to get some milk into them then hv the stomach totally empty. She will drink more if she's hungry, dun worry.

In the beginning their timings and amts quite haywire one, that's why I said can feed every 2-4 hrs. My girl only got on a proper 3hr routine drinking fixed amt after 3mths.

Btw, u r back home already? How come u're doing night shift not yr CL?

Finally today is my last working day, survived working to 39 wks...now just waiting for the D Day ! Felt so relaxed now....

Have a safe and Happy Christmas !

skies
I think have to trial and error, then u know.
I remember my friend also has this sleep problem, then later her mum try put the bb sleep in 'sarong', solve her problem. But not sure whether u want try or not, cos its introducing another sleeping method.

Gan
Actually, its ok for bb not to take same qty every time as long as they average out during the day. They will cry when they are hungry and the qty will become regular when their tummy capacity stabilises. Sometimes, with bbs, no fixed rule, some baby feed more, some less each time.

Gan,

U need to feed yr gal every 3 hours including night until fullmonth. Wake her up if needed.

Ask the nurse to teach u how to cup feed. I also bottle feed twins when they r bk coz they were suckling very well while in KKH. I also latch them and they accepted both ways of drinking. If u just give bottle all the way. She might reject yr breast.

Babies are like us. Appetite can change. If drink lesser now means next feed will be earlier.

Thanks girls. This morning we made a mistake of bathing too close to her feeding time and she was crying her heart out during bathing as she wants to eat. My hubby took longer than expected to prepare all the bathing stuff so we ended up bathing her when she is hungry. Feed her ebm 50 ml n latch her for around 25 mins immediately after her bath.

Really not easy to be a mummy. Alot to learn.

Grumpus came home yesterday afternoon and cl will come. Today. Was busy pumping, washing, sterilizing as hubby as to go back for some office work urgently..... Nite time too woke up to pump as my breast were leaking again.... Think too tired le my c section wound actually hurting quite badly today.

Almost cant go home with my number 2! Dr did another jaundice bt this morning.. his jaundice level went up.

Have to either leave him in hospital until next tue or rent the light machine. we cant bear to leave him here alone.. so decided to rent the machine instead.

think my body hormones abit haywire now.. feel very teary very easily...

Pandawife can understand how u feel coz I was actually crying outside the nursery when I see my gal doing phototherapy and I got worried she can' t come with me. She is home but we r bringing her to kkh every morning to do bt to monitor.

Hubby just called Bb is crying badly coz hungry, nurse will cupfeed her FM before coming home

bubbybear,

I dont want them to sleep in sarong.. At least in my house. I think I'm quite stubborn ba. But I feel I'm like giving in alot already. Anyway my ILs gave my #1 paci last night. She did sleep but not or long. So I feel it doesnt make any difference if she is given paci anot. My FIL said babies need to give paci and to a certain age they will not want it anymore. I'm now crossing fingers.

Panda,

I also rented the machine home last time. I felt so heartpain to see my #2 inside the machine crying very loud. After the first time, we will let her be inside the machine after her feed so that she can sleep during her therapy but still she will still fidget and cry sometimes.

skies,
actually if u give paci, eventually u'll need to wean them off it.
u let them sleep sarong, eventually u'll also need to wean them off sarong.
so it's a matter of picking yr poison :p

I also dont feel like giving my twin paci...
But people ard me say all kids should be given paci...
I shall see... After cl leaves... If two bbs cry at the same time maybe i will hv to resort to give paci...

Panda
U can go home today liao? Everything ok?

baby, nancy, justfaith
i latch my baby for some of the daytime feedings, after latching dont feel breast heavy, so lazy to pump. only sections that i feed FM, then i pump. maybe this way not so good hor.

not sure abt engaging malay massage lady. thinking of waiting few more wks, but then again if massage too late dun knw if got any effect or not. think i let doc remove my stitches, see how is the recovery then decide.

pandawife
don't worry abt feeling emo. i lagi worst, when in hospital i cried nonstop during labour, 2nd nite after delivery woke up middle of nite shivering then started crying feeling overwhelmed by the fact that have baby already and the amount of thgs need to do for baby down the road. then when doc come check on me, i cried also, so much so that he think i not ready to go discharge, made me stay another nite in hospital.
my doc also said mummies may feel overwhelmed and just cry for no reason... i think he must be thinking i so old still so cry baby ..hhahah

working wife
enjoy your time off from hospital. hv a great meal with your family

wow its xmas eve already... need some xmas mood.. k think i will just leave my tv on with some xmassy movies & trailers

Merry Xmas mummies & mtbs !

Gan
try to rest after ur cl arrives. Wear the binder it will help with the wound.
I see my cl will shower bb after they had just been fed. Dun worry learn from the cl

Happy
If u continue to latch yr bb actually no need to pump.. Yr bb is yr best pump!

Ya i also heard if wait too long to massage will hv no effect.. But i still prefer to wait for a mth aft delivery to do massage.. Or u can ask the massage lady on when u can do..

U cry while trying for natural labour? Is due to this tats y dr f ask u to do c sect in the end?
U cry when dr f comes see u ah... He is v understanding one so dont feel pai seh... What did he say to make u feel better?
When u seeing him?

baby
hmm think i also wait one mththen decide on massage.
it was a bad start to my induction coz of the midwife, she was super unfriendly, when she checked my cervix, was super painful, dont knw she did correct or not. it made me burst out crying, after tat, everythg made me cry, the epidural. i was thinkg of asking doc f to change the midwife, but he took so long to come. by time he come, i was doing epidural, both midwife & anethestist were inside room, so hard to tell him i want to change midwife...sigh... still thinkg if the midwife was better would i hv managed with natural birth.. so annoying.

later afternoon, the midwife changed. i saw this midwife wearing a tag tat with some company name on it, think she must be outsourced manpower. but then also xian alrdi.

ya everytime doc come into chk on me, i will just burst out crying, doc just said he dont mind me crying.
i seeing him tues. btw how long did ur appt take? was it fast to remove the stitch? i need to plan estimate how long it will take, so can decide if i need to bring my baby out with me.
tks

skies, baby
My friend gave in to sarong, cos she had twins and it was really too tiring for her, if bb don't sleep she can't sleep too, and really cannot function without sleep. At that time she don't care, cos here very hard to get paid help, she was alone with 2 bbs straight after delivery, her hb only had 1 wk leave to help her, so no cl or whatever.

I think if presevere can train without pacifier and sarong. But have to be very thick-skin to shut off bbs cries.

Did you try rocking bb to sleep in a bb rocker and then transfer to bed later ? This might help. There is something about the rocking rhythm that make bbs fall asleep.

Pandawife
Its ok to be emo lah, people around will understand, don't have to bottle up one...

Happy
U mean when dr f comes for yr natural birth.. U push? Then bb cant come out so u went to c sect? How long did u try before dr f ask u to do c sect?

The appt was quite fast... It depends whether u need to wait long for yr turn... The consultation along is quite fast... The removal of the stitich i think is less than 2mins.. He will talk to u to distract u while he pull the stitch.. Its not painful at all.. So u dont worry ok... He will then spray a cold thing on the wound... Then all is done...

I didnt bring my bbs out when i go see him... I leave the bbs to the cl.. Cos aft dr f appt i go do their birth cert and baby bonus...

baby
no i didnt get to try to push coz cervix dilating too slow, by end of the day, almost 10hrs, dr f said too long and not advisable to wait for cervix to dilate plus bb position not ideal to push. he then sugg we go c sect.

Happyhippo I was fully dilated but can't push baby out, dr loj initially think of using vacuum to assist delivery but later suggested c section as a safer route .

Merry Christmas to all!! =)

gan
were u on epi? is it the epi causing u not able to push? for me, the epi totally numbed my whole lower body, i couldnt even move my leg, it was quite scary, i hated that feeling.
i always wanted natural, was quite sad had to do c-sect. plus more exp also

Happy
Dont be sad.. As long as u and bb is safe and sound.. Nothing else matters...

Maybe if u continue to go natural.. Yr labour may be v long.. Thats y dr f suggest gg c sect...

Happyhippo I had epidural but from 6 cm to 10 cm dilation I cAn feel very bad contraction.

Dun feel sad abt not doing natural coz as long Bb is fine whatever delivery method is ok. Though the c section wound pain I felt now makes me uncomfortable.

Gan
Endure abit while longer and yr wound will feel much better..
Its been 3 weeks since my op.. My wound feels much better now.. Dont feel pain when i move or bend... But i still have my binder on...

Gan
Ya when the wound is still sore.. I also feel pain when i sit too much.. Try to lie down for awhile when u sit too much..
How many days post op are u now?
Did u put on the binder?

Gan,skies..my boy screams v badly everytime we put him into the machine..only when he is lying on his front...he is ok Smtimes. So we hv problem sunning his front. I can't tahan..left him on his cot aft his last fed n he is sleeping like an angel now.

Baby..I m back home n god knows how I survived the day. Totally chaotic! I gav my gal pacificer just nw already. She fuss n fuss until my mum n mil surrender ask me to carry her. I carry n sing song to her until she is asleep. Bt the minute I put her back in the cot...she starts again! My hb just stuff the pacificer in her mouth ..she is a night bb..super active after 3pm.. The two boys r better..

Pd recommend we do scheduled feeding..but this gal doest like to follow fixed feeding times..now we hv to demand feed her while the boys r on fixed 3hrly feeds.

Amazingly when I was in hospital I was still v much in pain... But come bk home..never even take pain killer..the pain doesnt bother me so much...

Baby I m 1 week post delivery.,,,the pain actually felt more these 2 days . Do u still feel sore after 1 week?

Pandawife my gal cried very badly last night.... She was practically screMing till I got worried I want to cry. Change diapers, try to latch, she didn't want .,., later we bottle feed her ebm , she drank all 50 ml and slept soundly. I didn't expect her to be that hungry coz she had 50ml at 830pm, 30ml at 10pm and 1145pm crying and screaming for milk . I have not use pacifier yet .... If she cries sometimes I actually latch her on.