IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

panda

Congrateeeeeeeeeeeeees !! Rest well n enjoy ur confinement & motherhood

<font color="aa00aa">Hi all, just popping in to say Congrats to Pandawife

Hope to join you all on this thread soon!</font>

Hi !
does anyone know where i can buy red eggs. i only need red eggs dont need those cake packages. i've chked melrose &amp; le precious - if get red eggs only, its either very expensive or they dont sell.
tks

Skies
If i only pump for 15mins.. My milk qty will be worst...
If i pump for abt half hr to 45mins.. At least i will hv abt 80ml...

Sometimes when i really cant wake up in time.. I will drag for 4hrs interval... I will tell myself dont be so hard on myself.. Just give whatever i have to them...

Singapoh
My hb says just feed them bm till they are full mth... After that just give fm.. So that i can concentrate to take care of them..
So im still considering... Maybe i will see how is the situation when cl leaves...

Btw how do stop breastfeeding? Does taking medicine the easier way rather than gradually reduce the milk supply?

happyhippo,

Red eggs can DIY. No need to buy... I also intend to DIY red eggs.. but ang ku kueh i will order from the shop. you need to buy the red powder from shop.

Baby,

Even if u dun get much after 20 minutes, u are actually sending signal to yr brain to increase yr supply. It won't increase overnight. I took over 2 months to establish my supply. Pump out air also keep pumping but only for 20 mins each breast. I m using dual electric pump so save half the time.

I stopped bf by delaying bf, skip a feed. Slowly. When I feel too uncomfortable, I will let bb latch on.

Actually if u can tahan till yr supply is established, bf can be very easy and enjoyable. Of coz if u find it too hard, dun force yourself. Can just give fm but very expensive! My gf said 1 tin of 900gm for her twins lasted for less than a week. 1 can for Similac Stage 1 is $40+

Just faith/happy
U gals intending to give red eggs and ang ku kueh?
Use what to store the eggs and kueh? Diy box?
Im intending to order frm sweetest moments.. Not cheap.. $9.90 per box.. But can get baby card with bb photo..

Singapoh
Oh supply wont increase so fast har.. No wonder my supply like nvr increase le even when im pumping every 3hrs-4hrs..
Ya fm not cheap.. I bout one tin of similac to supplement my lack of bm.. 2 weeks aldy use half a tin.. I only feed them fm abt 2-3 times a day... The rest all bm...

Btw after delivery.. When will period come?

Thanks Grumpus!

My baby is still under uv light since yesterday morning. I have not got a chance to carry her since yesterday, kind of frustrating for me.... Can only pop down the nursery very couple hours to see her and also pass my ebm to the nurse to feed her. Hopefully her jaundice wld be better and she can go home tomorrow. Her jaundice was due to ABO incompatibility. =( coz I o blood, she A blood

Any mummies here already planning on full month celebration?

I am thinking of omitting the full month celebration, just order cakes and give relatives...but also very troublesome to go to their place and distribute...

Rose - my preg seems to be the highlight of next year since nobody in the family has twins (1boy &amp; 1girl) so I don't think i can escape from full mth celebrations.

Likely to just order those voucher &amp; let them collect themselves which is better cos they can decide when to get the cake.

Gan,
oh dear....hmmmmm maybe u time when feeding time to pop down to the nursery? then after nurse feed her u can carry her little while to burp etc before she goes back into the uv light?

gan,
dun worry. your girl wil be fine. its common for blood incompatibility, like rh negative and positive cannot mix...
right now, u must rest and eat well to regain your energy so that you got the strength to take care of your girl when she is back home.

Gan,

In order for her jaundice to reduce fast, best is dun take her out from the machine too often.

My gf rented the machine and took double the time to clear coz she carried the baby out whenever he cried.

Baby,

Yeah it won't be so fast one. If u pump/bf consistently u will see result.

Another option is u bf 1 baby only. Can be alternate. Maybe after fullmonth u can slowly increase yr supply when u r recovered and bbs dun need to be woken up every 3 hours to feed. Not so seong for u

jj,

ya, u definitely cannot siam d full month celebration. its double blessing, furthermore a boy n a girl.
old people will be the happiest during this time. its also like we have fulfilled our duty as daughter in law...kinda old fashioned mindset, but tats how chinese perceive. will you stop at 2 kids? think i may have to go through one more round of ivf for a boy... :p.
actually one is enough for me already, but old folks dun think that way...

i thinking of havin 1 yrs old birthday party instead. planning to give traditional cake to relatives n vouchers for colleagues...

Rose - my hubby wants to stop since this is perfect combi already ... buuuutttt ... itchy backside me still nvr give a definate no answer.

I shall see bah ... hahaha

Full mth likely do in chalet then the crowd can be downstairs &amp; the bb's stay upstairs ...

Grumpus I let the nurse do the cupfeeding n burping coz they are experience and therefore faster. Like Singapoh said I want to maximize her time in the phototherapy so that she can go home soon. Just very upset that I can't carry her , also her body got a few scratches from her nails.

Just send ebm to the nursery for her 5.30pm feed.

Rose this blood group incompatibility is something new to me till Iearnt my daughter jaundice is due to our different bloodgroup, I spend time to google yesterday .

Gan,
No lah wat I meant was let the nurse feed. But after her feed before they put her back u can take opportunity to carry little while mah, like 10mins.

gan, i also learnt about ABO lately when watching SCV vv drama "掌上明珠". but since the show was about olden days, believe by now, it should be quite commonly known and babies with such will be medically well taken care of.

you take care, dun stress yourselves. be a happy mother.

Finally Dr Cheng is back! I lasted thru his holidays!
tomorrow is 35 weeks, will be off the drips finally. Then will go for scan tomorrow to check weight of bbs before deciding next step.

He gave me two choices, one is book a c-sec on 26 Dec since he's already doing one then. The other is wait and let nature take its course after drips are off.

The pro of setting the date is we'll be more prepared, they can get manpower standby, can do epi. But I still feel not right choosing c-sec date before bbs ready to come out. Tempted to take second approach but also scared a bit cuz he said I must make sure I am able to tell the change in contractions and don't let it advance to labor contractions then it will become emergency c-sec.

I am tempted to try and let it be till 36 weeks. Anyway I guess depends on scan results tomorrow. Hope and pray both bbs way above 2kg mark.

Working wife,

If doc said it's safe to bring them out then u dun worry so much Lo. If u r off drip does that mean u can go home and wait?

Any chance of going natural birth?

Grumpus hmmmm maybe later will ask for my gal since my sis flew from uk to see her and will be coming to kkh later. Like u said carry 10mins also happy.

Rose that show got ABO? Watched a couple of the series then I stopped watching.

Working wife, u r doing great! Now dr cheng is back u have 1 less worry. Emergency c can ur hubby go in or wld be like me hubby must be outside? Can u go home if u r off the drip?

Gan
My twins started from 15ml upon birth till now abt 70ml.. They are now 19 days old...
Mine wont be a good guide cos they are born premature so they cant take too much milk initially...
Dont be sad abt bb having jaundince due to abo.. Cos my two also under light even when they are not abo.. Its quite common for bbs to have jaundice...

Working wife
Finally u have reach 35 weeks! Well done! U deserve a pat on yr shoulder!
Maybe u should consider letting nature take its course since u are in hosp.. Even if its a emergency c sect.. It will be done fast... But if its scheduled next week.. U will be abt 36 weeks also good enough... Hmm... Also can consider choosing a date... Haha.. Im not helping hor... Hee...

U have stayed in hosp for a mth liao right? Everything settled and prepared for receiving bbs at home?

gan, ya. after the chang yi gave birth to the only boy in zhu family, the bb boy had jaundice n was given blood transfusion by the eldest zhu sister. the eldest sister then traded with chang yi for her 30% shares in return of donating blood to the boy...

Singapoh,

Dr never even discuss natural, just said c-sec better. I'm fine with that. He said can do c-sec on 26th if I want but since bb girl is smaller (last scan 1.95kg and sometimes the actual weight can be lower) then she might have to stay in NICU or hospital for a while more while maybe bb boy can go home first. That's the thing I wish to avoid. I wld love if both can go home w me. So now see her weight tomorrow, if 2.3kg then at least -15% also make 2kg.

Gan,
Don't think can go home. Because now on drips also got irregular contractions, so off it I wld think there will be. I also feel better to let them monitor here. I really worry I dunno how to differentiate the labor contractions or if something happen at home, then will hv to be emergency. anyway, its just a few days more. Dunno abt hb part, forgot to ask Dr.

Haha Baby! Ur thots r my thots now.

Yah, day 33 to be exact in hosp. Hb has been great, running around getting all the last min items, packing hosp bag, gettings documents ready, and set up baby room already. Mum has also been helping w the washing bb clothes etc. Yest my hb opened the breast pump box and try to read manual how to use and assemble. I really appreciate that he work so hard in office, visit me and still hv to do all this.

Working wife,

U will know when the real contraction is here! Maybe can discuss with yr doc abt natural birth. Faster in healing. Are they in good position?

if baby is sleepy but yet she doesn't want to sleep and when she sleeps, she is not sleeping soundly. Will giving pacifier helps???

Baby,

We thought of DIY the eggs cause I won't be ordering those sweetest moments cakes. Not not it is expensive. I don't find it value for money. Every year, I get tons of cakes like these.
I will give cakes for some friends or relatives who buy gifts or give angpow for sure. In fact, I intend to order cheese cakes from fiesta. They have original, chocolate or pandan flavour. The price is around $7+ if I recall correctly. Then I intend to put the red eggs + ang ku kueh inside those transparent microwavable boxes (available from SKP). So far, I already briefed my maid, she already know what I want. Don't want to bother my hubby over trivial matters like these.

For super close relatives, I will order abt 5 - 7 tables from those chinese restaurant like GIM TIM in ang mo kio. I prefer chinese food + sit down kind. Eat liao can go home.. If I go chalet or what, it will be too tiring for me and baby. Also, I dunno if baby is okay in new environment.

When we got married in 2007, we ordered around 38 boxes for my side relatives only. I dont know about about full month cake.. and I dont want to go around Singapore to distribute so many cakes. I prefer to gather relatives at one place.

Hi mummies after we sterilize the milk bottles and breast pump parts do we need to dry away the water before using the bottles and pump parts or can just use straight from sterilizer? Thks!

Gan,
just flick away as much of the water as u can before using. if u dry them then won't be sterile already mah...

hi gals...popping in to provide updates..
the 3 babies are doing well.. i dun hv colostrum yet..trying to latch the babies every alternate feeds during the day since yesterday..but like usual nb,,they are always v sleep. they are cup fed 20-30ml of fm while i wait for supply to kick in.

i m still not very mobile yet.. only managed to get out of bed to go toilet 2x today after they remove all the tubes in the afternoon.... body still adjusting.. feels giddy when i sit or stand for a while.... but hv to keep trying.

working wife, u hv done a great job! scan weight of 2.3kg wld b quite a safe estimate..coz my gal was also tht wt during the week 34 scan..n turn out to b 2kg at birth.

just to share my experience, i tink if u r going for epi c sect...scheduled one is better... if emergency hor, i tink will feel stressful..i went into the OT mentally prepared...but also cant help feeling nervous although everything was planned for..

Forgot who asked me abt menses after baby.

Mine came 7 months after my big son. Now still haven't back yet. My twins turning 7 months on boxing day

I didn't wipe coz the nurse told me sterilize is ok. I have bee pumping every 3 hrs since yesterdAy using kkh pump and when they bring the fennels there is always droplets of water and I just pump coz not sure if wipe wld be sterile or not but know worry some this water mixed with bm and my Bb drink, any harm

Dun like the clothes, hahaha.....
sorry, too amusing :p

Skies,
does she have colic? my girl was a very gassy, windy, colicky baby. giving her a pacifier totally didn't help cos it did not solve her problem.
pacifier works if bb needs to suck for comfort.
doesn't work if the problem is all those stated by singapoh.

Working wife
Wahh.. 33 days in hosp... Definitely not easy for u.. U are a great mum... Endure alittle while more ya.. Very soon u will see yr little ones... Everything will be worth it.. U will forget everything once u see them...

U will be opting for epi c sect or ga?

Just faith
Ya i agree those sweetest moment not worth the $$... But im too lazy to diy or get cakes frm other pl...
So i just order frm them and they will deliver.. I just distribute them on the baby shower day... So i dont hv to go round spore to pass them the cake...

Gan
I also just flick away most water away and use it straight from steriliser... Usually aft sterilising i will put all inside a airtight container... Then will use it straight frm the container...

Panda
Can feel yr joy mann! Welcome to motherhood!
Cant wait to see yr triplets!!
So fast all yr tubes are removed? How is yr wound? Did u put on the binder?

morning all mummies n mummies to be,

tomorrow is xmas eve! woowww, time passes fast.
very soon it will be 2011, for many of us here, next year will be a year filled with love - to motherhood!

baby..hehe..actually i still blur blur like dreaming.. brain still adjusting to the reality tht i hv 3 little babies..hahah....

yeah..yest morning dr came to check on me..says can remove.. today i can get out of bed n go toilet wash up on my own.. but very slowly..coz its still quite painful.

my dr used a pressure plaster to wrap the wound..have not change to the water proof one yet..so no need to wear binder yet. will only need a binder after changing the dressing.

i uploaded the babies photos on FB leh..hehe.. coz we took mostly individual photos of them.. i wait until go home take group photo then i upload here.

this morning PD came for the daily check...he says babies start to show signs of abit jaundice..so did blood test for them. if required will put them under the light today so tht tmr we can discharge.. he says target to let us go home for xmas

the babies cleared the routine hearing and hormones test w flying colors.. very proud of the 3 of them ..