IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
Im moving to normal ward soon.. The nurse just help me clean up and change...

I see.. I didnt know bbs not good to grow too fast and big.. I always wanted bbs to grow their weight fast hehe...
Just now took the 2nd steriod jap... Painful sia...

Dr came just now.. Say everything is settling down.. I will still feel contractions on off cos the uterus is irratable.. Any movement will irritate and cause the tightening...
He ask me to prepare to stay a few days to a week... Sigh.. Wat to do.. No choice.. For the sake of bbs.. I will do anything...

Come to think of it.. U having 3 bbs.. And u are doing so well so far.. Better than us who are having twins and singleton.. Well done panda! Keep it up!

I told my hb say our these two gers are so precious and expensive... First ivf cost.. Then comes the hosptalisation cost... Then the medicine side effect and bedresting torture.. The mental and emotion tormoil... Its really a long route to hold them in our arms... But we are already v blessed to have able to have them in the first place.. I know there are alot out there still trying to conceive..

baby,

ur effort last night is worth it.. at least now can move to normal ward and everything is settling down. i tink its better for u to stay in hospital too...at least there are nurses n easy access to dr during this critical period. like wht nancy says, every day is precious to keep the babies in there...

me ah.. keeping my fingers crossed...and faithfully continuing my jabs leh.. also starting to get painful coz after so many mths of injections on the butt...but like u said, for the babies, i will tahan!

last night middle of night i got up for toilet break.. sudden ligament pulling pain.. ouch.. i had to sit down n rest until the pain went away.. i guess the tummy must be stretching somemore coz babies were playing in there the whole night.. gave me sleepless night too...

hehe..actually all our babies are expensive "guai ren" hahahaha... but definitely very precious.... our little darlings...

Baby,

Don't think about other things first, just bedrest more to keep your babies inside for as long as possible. Jia you ok..hugs~

Singapoh, i m doing proluton jabs.. to soften the uterus.. 2x a week...on top of tht popping nifedipinum tablets 3x a day... i suppose both hv the same effects... relax the uterus to avoid early contractions...

Jiayou,

Glad that you are still so positive despite being admitted now. Continue to keep your spirits high. I am sure all our efforts TTC, 9mths of pregnancy will be all worth it when we see our little ones. Our children will also appreciate us when we share our IVF story when they grow up.

Try to minimise your movements on bed. I know easier said than done. But it looks like u will be 99.9% total bed rest until delivery.

baby hang on there! Hope u r getting some rest now at the normal ward. Come and chat with us if u feel bored.

Just faith, i washed bb's bedsheets and some of her clothes once....need to wash second time round maybe next week, waiting for hubby to wash. Still alot of clothes not wash coz they are at my home....my hubby having exam tomorrow no time to bring the clothes here and wash them.....will be bringing this weekend. Have u pack ur hospital bag? Just see calendar, another 4 weeks i will start my leave le!

Singapoh Happy Birthday!

Gan,

No leh, i havent pack my bag. Still got 7 weeks for me, if I am targetting 40 weeks.. hehe.

I think I can pack my bag within half an hour... so no kan cheong for now. Tickles packed her bag last weekend, and she deliver a few days later leh. *sweat ah*

Update from baby...

Im now resting at normal ward... Just started to do ctg monitoring...

I think this time i might need to stay in hospital longer than the previous time.. Cos its the 2nd time admission so dr may be more careful.. Somemore this time i have bleeding.. That time is more of spotting stain...
Just now i went to pass motion.. Got blood.. But dr aldy told me i will see blood cos when i stand up.. The remaining old blood will flow out.. Ask me not to panic.. But must alert the nurse if bleeding is getting more... I didnt bathe leh.. I only wash my butt and below after i pass motion.. Cos i dont want to stand too long to bathe and somemore got the drip.. Difficult to bathe also... I only wipe myself and use powder...
Must practise not the bathe for confinement training.. Haha..

I cant wait for another 2 weeks to pass so that i can hit the golden 34 weeks... Today im 32 weeks only...

baby,

i just woke up from nap and saw ur update.

i will be counting down to the golden 34 weeks too..coz thats my next target after this week! lets jia you and work towards it together

just now my mum came back to visit..she hasnt seen me for a mth..hehe..coz usually its my dad who sends me lunch... she went OMG when she saw my tummy! hahaha....

she told me she going to get me a maid ...haiz.. still insistent.. its a direct referral from her fren coz they are migrating to taiwan...so need to let go of this indonesian lady. ask me to try her for 1 mth... if really don't like, then release her...tink she will arrange to meet up w the lady soon to discuss the details.

baby,
if u get to icky and yucky can request for a sponge bath. the nurses will wash/wipe u down while u're lying in bed.
u'll feel a lot better and fresher after that.

Panda
Ya we must jiayou to work to pass the safe zone of 34 weeks.. I think u wont have a problem.. U might even last till 37 weeks!

Yr dr gives u the green light to be able to deliver at tmc after 32 weeks right? So now u can let go of kkh liao thou u are a few days to 32 weeks...

I thk yr mum meant well... She can anticipate u will need additional help... 3 bbs really really not easy.. If u are lucky to get a nice maid.. She will be like god send.. U wont want to let her go by then..

My maid cuming this sat.. I thk i will still be in hosp.. So my hb before goes wk everyday will send her to my mil hse to help her with hsewk and learn cooking.. Then night time then bring her hm to sleep till im bk at home.. Else she will be alone at my hse when my hb goes wk..

baby,

now i dun dare tink of 37wks leh.. coz over the last few days i start to feel the weight of the tummy alot more.. now when i walk, i need to "carry" my tummy.. begin to feel the stress on my body liao...... so long as can cross 34wks, i m happy...

yeah..dr paul says so long as over 32 wks, can deliver at TMC... coz triplets will develop 2 weeks ahead... at 32 wks, they are as developed as 34wks singleton..

my mum worry nobody do all the daily household chores... and she wants me back to work ...just now she ask me again if i m sure i wanna be home for 2 yrs..haha.. she says if the maid is good, keep her for 2 yrs until the kids go childcare...n i shld go back to work mid of next yr.. dont stay home look after kids..LOL...

good idea to send ur maid to ur mil's place to learn cooking and housework, at least somebody helping u to train while u are away....

Pandawife,

Taking over a transfer maid is easier. Only need to pay transfer fee and pay insurance for your maid. $300 to $500 can do the job already.

But you may want to enquire from a few agencies how much they charge for transfer fees. I remember mine was very cheap.

It is good that you are getting transfer maid from someone you know. Taking care of 3 is really not easy. I rather you delegate all housework to her and let your mum/mil handle your babies.

Just Faith,

Need to pay transfer fee? The previous employers have already left singapore..and this lady has gone back home to batam. Unemployed now.

i kept complaining i dont want a stranger in the house.. just now i ask my mum if i can let the maid go sleep in her house..hahaha.. she stare at me...LOL.....

Pandawife,

Hahahaha, you want to be like me ah? Ask maid sleep in mum house? But now i dont have a choice liao.. already planned to bring her back in next month. Mum and I only stay 1 MRT stop or 2 bus-stops away. So far, she enjoys shuffling between my house and mums house.

During my time in March 2009, I paid $250 for "transfer of documentation" fees. She was still under her ex-boss's employment, so I simply took her over without sending her back to philippines. She also went for nec check-ups etc before her work permit was processed. Easier this way. I understand from my maid that Singapore customs is very strict with filipinos or indonesians coming in to Singapore as social visit pass. Cos alot of them over-stayed in Singapore. Though they are here on social visit pass (as tourist). But in actual fact, they are looking for employers to hire them.

You may want to highlight to your agency that the maid is now in Batam, not Singapore. I believe there will be some "processing fees" involved.

I like my current arrangement with my maid, she has no contract with me, and I have no contract with her too. She has been great great great help to me, and my work. I must say that.

Pandawife, if the maid is good, i think she would be a great helper coz managing 3 babies and housework is not easy.

How come your mum didn't like the idea of you staying home to look after the babies? If financial is not an issue and you are ok staying home, i thought this is a good arrangement? My mum on the hand actually 'nag' a few times at me that i should quit and stay home to look after my baby. But i think I would like to continue to work so didn't have plans to quit and stay home. *maybe change my mind after the maternity leave.*

Thanks everyone! My girl can start to drink some milk in small amts already. Pd says cos she swallowed blood when she was delivered as my placenta detached during delivery n there was a lot of bleeding. So they gotta pump out the blood n check her intestines, put her on drip n antibiotics. I started to hand express some milk In syringes n send down to NICU for her. But meanwhile the nurses will also give her formula milk so that she gets enuf n that her weight doesn't drop further. If everything is ok, she'll be able to get out of NICU in 7 days.

Wa. It's quite siong on the finance part as they charge $450 per day for the NICU. N this is not inclusive of medications n machine charges. Yday they already charge hub 7k as deposit le.

Really ex. But then all worthwhile when I go NICU n see girl looking all good n healthy. I feel she basically looks fine to me except she gt some tubes on her n she so tiny.

Baby, glad you're fine now. Do take care n bed rest k.

Tickles, good to see your posting here. Did your doctor mention when you can be discharged?

Did you feel any contractions after your water bag was burst?

Tickles,
Good to know that ur baby is better now.
Maybe u can check with insurance abt the NICU charges? Think IVF insurance may come in handy now.

Just Faith,

thanks, i tink will meet the lady first n check out with agency on the necessary paper work. my mum's place is walking distance few blocks away..keke..bt dun tink she wants maid to stay with her! hahaha....

Gan, my mum says i m still young and after so much education, dont want me to stay home look after kids when i have help to look after them. coz both my dad n mum, mil plus a maid, she feels no need for me to also stay home.
my parents love kids..n they are very active ... they already make plans to bring the babies go swimming n outings liao! :S

tickles, happy to hear that all is fine with little princess!
does she look like her jie jie?

Panda,
maybe u want to keep an open mind bah. for me i had actually planned to go back to work after maternity leave cos my MIL is not working and already opened mouth to offer to take care of my girl.
my mum runs her own business and is semi retired plus very flexible. my dad also semi retired liao. so lots of hands to help too. plus mine only one bb lei.

my mum also told me so wasted study until so much become housewife, plus i'm still young, only been in the work force abt 6 yrs. so she told me no need to stay home.

so that time i guai guai made arrangements to go back to work lor. but after my girl was born, i made so much noise abt the way my MIL look after my girl and how high maintenance my girl was that my mum gave in and told me "aiya quit la quit la"
and that's how i become a SAHM :p

but my SAHM life very relaxed one cos 2-3 days a wk my parents will take my girl out gai gai etc and i get a break...kekeke

so just see wat happens when yr bbs are born, maybe yr parents/MIL will 'give up' cos too tired, cannot handle etc etc although they definitely won't openly say one.
or maybe they will do such a good job that u will 'fang xin' go back to work

Hi, I have 2 tubes of brand new Palmer's Cocoa butter (organic) for sale. Bought them in August. I have been using another bottle for 3 months and has no stretch marks at all.

Letting go at $25 per tube. Meet up possible at Pasir Ris or Tampines MRT stations. Email me [email protected] if keen. Thanks.

grumpus, u r right.. i m keeping my options open for now....

hehe..urs sound like tai tai life leh! hehe.. i tink if i stay home w 3 babies, i will be those yellow face SAHM..heheheh.....

Hi mummies/MTBs for your babies chinese names, do you get someone to choose their names based on their ba zi or you just name them?
If you get a sifu to choose their name, who do you go to?

Update frm baby...

Yday my contractions was v frequent.. Every 5-6mins once even when im on drip.. The nurse say maybe need to send me to labour ward.. I was so scared... The nurse say she will call dr to ask...

So dr increase my drip dosage but must monitor my heartbeat rate.. Must be below 130... Then gave me proluton oil injection... He say if still cant stop contractions must push me to labour ward... Can u gals imagine my anxiety...

Luckily after that... My contractions stopped... Dont know its the increase dosage or the proluton injection that help me.. Maybe both of them help....

baby, aiyoh..my heart nearly skipped a beat while reading ur update!

luckily the increase med n proluton jab worked! phew....

were the contractions painful?

hopefully everything go smoothly from today onwards.. will be praying for you and ur gals

baby, u must have been so stressed when the nurse said push u into labour ward.....thank God the injection and drip helped. hang on there!

GD mrn mummies, i got 1 question on infant car seat for those using maxi-cosi. Do u gers just get the infant seat or the seat and the base? Pls advise. THKS
Tickles- Congrat
BB- take care!!

Tickles congrats... Baby hope you doing fine..
I am 36weeks and 5days and past few days my braxton hicks have been so frequent.

Yesterday night I had one painful contraction which made me tear and breathless for a while...

Was telling myself if it continues to hit me will head to KKH. However I slept thru and woke up today with a mild numbing backache. Slight cramping like menses cramps.

Now just monitoring at home if pain is to get intense. Lucky I started my ML from this week. If not cant imagine if I am at work how to react.

BB Rabit, mine is a 2nd hand car seat from my gf. She only sent to me last night. Can turn 360 deg cause it comes with base. The brand is Aprica.

I personally like maxi-cosi. I think many mummies here got the same brand/model too.

Baby, you okay or not? Nurse wants to push you to labour ward? Stressed leh... but dont think too much lah. Must keep talking to your gals.

Gan, I met my aunty (mother of 4), and my gf (mother of 5) y'day. Both told me to get ready to deliver early. I may not reach 40weeks... Even my uncle says my tummy so big. Looks like I am going to deliver anytime next week. Now I start to worry about Dr Loh's schedule. Whether he will be there to deliver personally for our babies.

jeinthiangel,

wow... 36w5d, so fast ah... if i were u, i would have stayed at home too. waiting for water bag to burst or other symptoms that i m really going into labour or what. hehe...

After hearing all these stories, I must really get my hospital bag and baby cot ready asap.. hahaaha

just faith.... yeah... im suppose to induce next week thou after my chk up on the 23rd.... but these few days all these pains getting me irritated.... xian xian feeling.

readied my hosp bag... baby cot.... everyting...

i also think my mucus plug is dissolving... each time go toilet got things to see but lucky not blood.... kinda stressing to wait for the time too ya...

Tickles,

Congrats on your newborn. Take this time to rest before your bb goes home. If not, hard to rest..

Day,

Welcome to this thread!! Feel so happy for you. Meanwhile take care ya and update us after your 1st scan.

jeinthiangel,

You are in your full term soon. Try to rest more ya and stay relax.. Everything prepared??

im still confused with the baby cot level. for newborn are we supposed to put it right to the first level on the top ? after putting the matteress, protector bumper all like so high like that.....

skies.... duno why at home waiting like this i cant seem to relax at all especially with backaches and pelvic pain cuming on n off...

I keep nagging at my mum venting my frustrations on her.... poor her too....

jeinthiangel,

I like high baby cots leh.. somemore i m going to use two mattresses.. hehe. my hubby is 1.8m, i m 1.67m, both also quite tall.. so we really appreciate if the baby cot can be as high as possible. easier for us nx time when we r changing diapers etc.

Dont nag at your mum lah.... our mums also gone through alot when she deliver their children. hehe.

jeinthiangel,
when newborn cannot turn, i put the mattress on the highest level and dun use the bumper cos anyway bb cannot move yet.
when a few mths old i shift the mattress one level down. i only start using the bumper when the mattress is on the 2nd or 3rd level.

alternatively, if u want to use the bumper and have no probs putting newborn bb in then u can just start from the 2nd or 3rd level

just faith, i have actually been worrying i may have to deliver early becoz of my borderline low water level.....guess that's the reason why i have to see dr loh every 2 weeks.

Jein
I thk u will be the next to pop here.. U must be so excited and anxious..

Panda
Ya lor i also so scare yday night... Luckily the contractions stop...
Now im doing ctg again to monitor... Dr reduce the drip dosage cos he dont want my heartbeat to run too fast.. Not too good for my heart... Hopefully after reducing the dosage there is also no contractions...

Dr say the proluton jap will last 3 days.. So next jap will be 3 days later and he say i will still be in hosp... So im gng to stay in hosp for a long time mann... At least over the wkends..

OMG, all the drama in a few days....giving my heart a jump start.

Tickles
Congrats with the arrival of yr girl !

Baby
Rest well and all will be good.

Day
Congrats and welcome...another MTB in the making !

baby,

yup..proluton last 3 days..thts y i hv to jab 2x a week... tonight due for my jab again.. somehow the jabs gives me assurance ... now everynight i will do self check on the tummy.. make sure that tummy is soft to the touch.....

stay in hospital also good, with close monitoring by doc and nurses... most important is can hit the golden 34 week... u focus on resting..dont tink about othere stuff... if hv to stay hv to stay... i m sure u will do what's best for the babies

i m trying to round up the little things required at home... yesterday hb helped me put up the wall decals in bb room, and also final round of washing some new bb clothes tht frens gave as gifts...
hb says last week of nov, he will put up the curtains and change the bedsheets of all the spare beds to prepare for the babysitting team..

Just Faith, you can start preparing..hee.. better to hv things done earlier than last minute panic wor...

wow, u r tall! i see ur FB photos..i thot u look quite petite size leh!

just faith have not sign the delivery package. ...natural or c depends on my placenta position' at 29 weeks, dr loh said likely c....will ask him again when i see him next friday.