IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Morning gals
Just had mcdonalds muffin for bfast... Hee..

Wow tickles delivering!! She is 36 weeks now.. Means she is 4 weeks premature? Cos she having singleton right? Hope everything is well... Bb can go home with her...

Yup today is my dr visit... at 515pm.. V late hor.. No choice dr schedule v packed.. My appt is squeeze in one... Cant wait to know my bbs weight...

Nancy, yr situation v same like me.. After cl leaves we have no other help thou my mum can help sometimes but she is not in best of health.. Then mil also busy taking care of my nephew... Thats y we get a maid cos hb say i sure cannot handle 2 bbs myself when he goes work... He dont want be to go into depression... Actually even with a maid, i also scare to handle 2 bbs myself...

What type of maids are u gers getting ? I mean from which country ? My preference is
- Myanmar
- Indo

Wondering how much $$ is involved. Anyone can advise ?

hello sisters

I'm already 8 weeks, confirmed bfp on 16/10 but was still hanging around the support thread. I'm expecting singleton & I just confirm my CL yesterday cos her booking is all the way till July liao so I must fast hand fast leg book her!

Panda
My food intake has cut down but still can eat. I dun feel hungry so often but I try to eat many small meals to fatten up the babies
last few weeks at one stage I was hungry like every other hour can't believe it.

Ur parents few blocks away on standby sounds okay. Best scenario is we can hang on till dr gives us a date and we walk into the labour ward smiling ah ..... No panic no pain hee ..... Let's work towards that

jj
guess whoever is helping us also needs a maid cause handling two babies for our parents age is no joke. If u confirm getting maid u should start early like baby here so cl can train her. I think I get a maid now too late already by the time she arrives

Baby
I also dun know what to expect after cl leaves. Dun know that time can still zen or not when they cry haha ... Maybe I just cry with them
can't say I not scared but tell myself it's a happy problem since we have come this far

Nancy
Dont worry.. Like u say.. Its a happy problem!
Anyway now if u wana get a maid.. She wont come in time also... After cl leaves if u really cant handle then u got engage a maid... Meantime u can get a part time housekeeper to help u with hsewk..

Maybe u wana ask yr mum to stay over for the first few mths.. At least u have additional help.. Else with two bbs crying.. I dont know how u pacify them alone...

I shall share with u after my maid comes.. Then u can use as a reference..

JJ,
I wouldn't know agency fees to hire maid, but maid salary if from Indo is abt $300, plus levy every mth of abt $300. when u hire maid, need to buy insurance for her, thats abt $300 for 2 yrs.

Baby79 might know better the agency fees?

JJ, I am having an Indo maid and her monthly salary is $350 & we need to pay a levy of $260 every month. I just raised her salary to $350 when I renewed her contract after 2 yrs, previously was $330. Actually I was also not used to having a stranger at home initially, but my hub said I am too lazy & the house was not cleaned to his standard (cos we have dogs) so he insisted on hiring one. After some time, we have gotten used & still find it tough when she went back home for holidays for 2 wks...haha

Hi Working Wife,
How are you, still remember me ? I did my FET recently at TFC and this morning and was tested positive
. Shamseah told me my next visit will be on Wk6 for sac & heartbeat scan and from then now, how frequently do we need to see Dr Cheng ?

baby, yeah..tickles is early due to her blood clot and bleeding episode previously.. her gynae already pre empt her that baby will come out early.

ohhh.. ur appt is quite late. i always try to get early morning appt..wanna be the 1st one there..so tht minimal waiting time and easier for hb to get parking at TMC. We will also have our breakfast at delifrance ..hee..

nancy,
I also dont feel hungry that often, even when hungry, can only handle very small amount of foods..n on some days, i dun even need to take snacks..but for the sake of the babies, i try to eat something.

yes, i hope to walk into TMC all prepared to deliver the babies on schedule! hee.... lets all jia you together.. we are almost there!

Hi Daylesford,
Yes, remember u. Congrats on yr good news!
is this yr first FET?

Next visit is to see h/beat at 6 weeks, thereafter I think its once every two weeks for the first trimester, not too sure. for me, cuz i had a bleeding episode at wk 7 so was seeing Dr Cheng every week. Once u pass Wk 12, u will 'graduate' to his clinic downstairs and visits will be once in 4 weeks until 3rd trimester where it will revert to once in 2 weeks again.

All the best and remember to stay positive n happy n take good care of yourself now

JJ,

Agent fee is from $188 onwards. If u choose maid ex Sg, there will be an additional $100.

For salary, it will be higher for maids with overseas experience. I m paying a monthly of $170+ for levy coz I have young children at home. (elderly also get a rebate)

Insurance $235 and my agent fee is $399. U also give a loan to the maid. $3k onwards. It takes about 8 to 9 months to clear.

Anything else u wanna know email me la coz sometimes I miss the posting here.

Singapoh
Heard not wise to accept those transfer maids sitting in the agencies. Is it true ? Must be very very lucky to get a good transfer maid ?

Panda
My gynea practise natal check in the aftn... Morning is more for procedures and ivf patients i thk... Usually i will get 4plus appt so my hb no need to leave ofz so early.. But today is the latest appt so far.. I thk cos its aldy fully packed but the nurse squeeze me in...

Now im waiting for hb to pick me... Im still resting in bed haha.. Hb suggest later go eat sushi tei at paragon... I told him i need to see how i feel later first...

Hi Working Wife,
Its my 1st FET. ER done in Aug but was at high risk of OHSS so I returned for FET and transfer was done at beginning of Nov. Read about your horrendous bleeding stories too. Its due to Crinone inserts ?! At current stage, I am still abit jittery. Beta not fantastic but Shamseah said its ok!. Taking each week as it comes.
When is your EDD? You are expecting a boy and girl ?

I keep getting heartburn after each meal... even after i had two slices of cheese cake, the heartburn feeling is back.. and it is making me breathless... how to make myself feel better?? since last fri already like that. i try to take very small meals... but doesnt seemed to improve. i also avoid chilli for now.. how? any tips?

Nancy,

Unless yr relative or a very close friend is the agent. If not don't think a transfer maid coz agent will try to push them to u. There must be a reason why they were being transferred!

My ex maid was one and After 1 week I buay tahan her..yes it's all about luck so Good luck!

hi Just Faith

try Gaviscon (Advanced), available at your gynae's. Otherwise, off the counter Gaviscon is milder, but shd work as well..

Hi ladies, I delivered my girl around 1plus this afternoon. She was born prematurely at 35weeks n weigh only 2.05kg. She needs to stay in NICU for at least 10days. She's now on drip n can't drink milk yet. Sad! Can't bring her home together. For me other then the effects of epi, I'm fine. Just that feeling really tired after the delivery.

Tickles, congrats and well done! dont be sad.. 10 days will be over very soon and you can bring her home. meanwhile, take good care of yourself, and have plenty of rest.

Gals im in labour ward now.... Doing ctg and on drip..

Everything was ok when i went for my dr appt.. Both bbs are growing well... Weighing at 1.9kg... Tml is my 32 weeks...

Then i start to feel contractions while sitting down in the wheelchair and when i was having dnr at glen e...
And when i got up my hb car preparing to go home.. I feel a gush of flow from below... And i saw red... Got a shock...
The bleeding is fresh blood and is much more than the previous episode..

Luckily my dr is still in the clinic and he ask me to go labour ward straightaway... So im on drip now to stop the contractions... Cant go home today... Got to stay in...

Dr say if bbs were to come out now.. They will do well as they are 1.9kg.. But need special care.. So he will send me to kkh... But he feels i will not deliver now.. He says if i can last till 2 more weeks.. Can deliver at glen e...

So if i really need to stay in at hosp for the drip for 2 weeks till delivery.. I have to stay..

Gals, im abit scare leh... The bleeding is quite alot.. The whole panty liner is soaked.. And the contractions feels more painful.. The ctg shows the contraction is quite heavy...

Dr says he expect this to happen due to twins as the weight is pressing down... And cos i have previa so he did expect such thing to happen.. So he wants me to stay in bed all the time.. And cos i need the drip.. I need to stay in hosp.. The med im having is only maintainance.. Its not strong enough..

And i had the steriod injection again... Cos the injection can only last a mth...

oh dear baby...yes must try tahan another 2 weeks . With the drip, still got contraction? Staying in hospital wld help coz got nurses and doc to monitor you and they will make sure bbs stay in tummy another 2 weeks.

Gan
Ya i really really hope i can tahan at least 2 more weeks..
Just started the drip less than an hour.. Still have contractions but not as intense as just now...
The nurse just help me remove my soaked panty liner and put on a pad.. Cos she needs to monitor the bleeding..

Tickles
Congrats on yr arrival of yr girl!
Do rest well ya..

U delivered at tmc? 10 days nicu roughly cost how much?
Im also worried i will deliver early...

Baby, when i had bleeding in my first trimester, the nurse at kkh also put on a pad and monitor the bleeding.....can understand the fear u went through when u see red.
Try not to think abt delivering any sooner....keep talking to your 2 princesses. Your hubby or mum accompanying you tonight?

Baby
oh dear. I was thinking how come u still yet to update on ur dr visit then i thought u still enjoying the Japanese dinner. u must be shocked to see the blood. If u have to stay in hospital for drips and monitoring pls do so as they have bedpans when u need to use the toilet

Talk to ur babies tell them it's not time yet. I am sure u are worried but tell urself u have hang on another day. Short term goal. Everyday inside us is one day less in intensive care my gynae said to me. So jia you and hugs
u can do it ...

Baby
like gan mentioned dun think abt delivering and the special care costs. Think u need total bedrest and u are there to be monitored and let the babies grow.

baby,

i also thought you must be at sushi teh enjoying your dinner! oh dear.....

glad that your babies are growing well and of good weights. Now most important is for you to bed rest, so that they can continue to grow for the next 2weeks. ur gynae is very experienced, so if he says you are not going to deliver now, it should be quite accurate.
Focus on resting, will be praying for you and your little princesses..

tickles is at Mount E, not TMC.

Gan/nancy
Ya i will try to be positve...
Cant control this frm happening.. I can only try to rest as much as possible..

If i really need to stay in hosp till i deliver.. Then no choice..
This time i choose 2 bedder... Must cut down cost liao.. That time 5 days stay cost us $5000plus... This time dont know need to stay how long... Sigh...

I think im the only problematic case here...

Baby, dun think tht u r problematic ok...it is not within ur control... U hv done ur best n will continue to do so the next few weeks! Hugs... You hv been v brave already.

Baby
dun say u are the problematic one. Every case is different and all the babies are little warriors that made it. U have done a very good job at home already by lying down most of the time and using the wheelchair when u had to go out. Ur girls must be so proud of u. Stay positive and have faith with ur gynae and ur little ones.

baby
oh dear, was abit shocked reading ur post. dont worry too much, just rest and talk to ur babies.
im sure our doc is very experience and will take very good care of you. read to ur babies and let them listen to music too.

tickles
congrats! i'm starting to feel a bit nervous too, coz into wk 36, could be anytime for me too.
was urs induced and normal contraction. actually how does contraction really feel like?
dont be too sad, just take a good rest now since the nurses will be taking gd care of your baby for u. when baby go home, u will hv no time to rest :p

Thanks gals... Lucky have this forum and having u gals around for support...

The ctg shows better now... No contractions so far for the last half hr... Tonight will be staying in labour ward.. Tml then transfer to normal ward if everything ok...

After i discharge and go home.. I will really stay in bed except gng to loo and bathe... Cos previously i still walk occasionally to the living rm to have dnr and to the kitchen to get drinks or food...

Hope the bleeding has stopped.. I didnt check.. But i didnt feel the flow... But dr did mentioned the bleeding might last a day or two...

Tml is ph.. But the nurse say dr will still come to see me.. Cos he has patient in hospital.. He has another patient that just delivered the other day...

I wonder can i get up to bathe tml... Or i cant get down frm the bed... But dont bathe how can le... Hmm...

Baby
glad to hear no more contractions for now. The girls must have heard u
dun worry how u will manage at home if u do discharge. u need to ask the dr regarding ur concerns. Is it total bedrest at home meaning can't even go toilet need to have meals in the bed or can move to dinning area to eat and can go toilet ?

As for showering, if really can't go toilet then have to make do with wiping the body with wet towel no choice.

Share w u something. I have a ex colleague water bag broke at week 23 due to weak cervix. Dr stitched up her cervix and she did total bedrest till week 36 in hospital. She didn't go down the bed during the while 13 weeks just to keep her baby inside. No shower Just wet towel wipes , can't go toilet eat in the bed and lying down 99 per cent except level up the bed for meals. Very difficult period but she hang on for her
first child. She delivered a healthy baby boy now 8 months old
cause she stayed in bed so long she couldn't walk after delivery. She need to train her weak legs again and was in clutches when discharged and first week in confinement.

Now u talked to her abt her experience she says it's all worth it whenever she see her boy. So u must think of hanging on to ur girls inside as long as possible. The rest of the issues seems secondary to worry now
so jia you !!

oh dear Baby.... glad to hear the contractions have lessened. Continue to have faith and stay positive... Like Nancy said, every day is a bonus, don't think beyond that. When u focus on day to day, it will pass by faster.

Yr bbs weight is good... just a few more days can reach 2kg. Jia you!

Nancy
Wow yr friend is really a fighter!! Its really v terrible to bedrest for so long... Its really a precious baby...

Im aldy prepared myself i might need to stay in hospital for a longer period this time.. Just now when i pee.. The pad still have quite abit of blood... Hopefully by tml.. The bleeding will stop..

I notice when i lie down still.. There is no contractions.. But when i move like shift my body.. There will be contraction... Hmm... So i dare not move... But cant stay still for too long else the body aching like hell...

Did u have the steriod injection when u had contractions that time?

Working wife
Ya thanks gal... I will fight on... I will do anything for my girls..
If really cannot bathe.. Then no choice.. But i believe bedrest for one or two days.. Dr will allow me to go loo and bathe.. While at home, i will eat in bed... But will go bathroom to pee.. Its just a short distance frm my bed to the bathrm.. Then bathe.. I will do quick one.. Maybe i wont wash my hair everyday.. Maybe alt day..

Now im still in labour ward.. Hb just left.. He wanted to stay with me but i told him to go bk to sleep.. No pt stay here.. Now im all alone with the tv...

Baby

you are not alone. I m here with you. Just read yr post - glad to hear no contractions for the last half hr. I also hv bleeding episodes. So I know how you feel. You really need 99.9% bedrest. If possible, u try not to spend time bathing in the toilet. Since u mention moving around will cause contraction. Maybe u want to cut down on moving around these two days

your gals are kan cheong to see the world. Talk to them to hang on a little longer.

Tickles,

you mentioned in fb last weekend that yr hospital bag is ready. Now you give birth liao, so fast!! Were you induced or waterbag burst?

Working wife,

thanks for sharing the story. It's very touching. I was once on clutches for 4mths+ and after that, gotta learn walking all over again. It is really not easy.

Back then, my mum's place has no lift landing. Initially, my hubby (then boyfriend) have to carry me down to go clinic to clean my wounds every alt days. Your friend is really really very brave.

Tickles,
CONGRATS!!
Yr little girl is in good hands and will be home soon. take it as an opportunity to be a hardworking cow and pump diligently every 3 hrs :p By the time yr girl gets back u'll hv plenty of supply and can slowly fatten her up

Baby,
Hang in there! You and yr girls are fighters!
If u get bored lying in bed there are always ppl here to chat with u

Good morning gals... Happy hols!!

Just faith
Thanks for sharing with me... I didnt know u have bleeding episodes... In the first tri?
Its really v worrisome to see red when pregnant.. I was stunned for a few seconds before i recover to tell my hb.. He also got a shock... Cos we are just abt to start the car and go home...

I didnt sleep the whole night... Only managed to doze off a few times for a v short while... Miss my bed..

The ctg was on the whole time till now... Contractions still detected on off but v wide apart.. Usually will detect when i shift my body to pee or turn sides... When i lie still its ok...
Now waiting for my dr to come see me.. He called the labour ward asking how am i... So nice of him...

Just now when i pee.. The pad show lesser blood.. And not fresh blood.. Its more brownish...
The gers are still v active... Moving and kicking around...
The scan i had when i see dr before the bleeding episode.. Both of them are head down..

I tot they can hit 2kg... But my dr says he prefers not.. He dont prefer bb to grow too big too quickly... Hmm i dont understand why and i didnt ask him thou... Strange..

baby,

good morning! hope you can go home soon, being in labour ward the whole night sounds very uncomfortable. But you have done it for the sake of your babies!

keep talking to your babies and move slowly when u need to...

i tink ur dr meant he wanna keep the gals in there longer... while weight is important, in cases where its too early, their development is more important to avoid having to stay in NICU. if the babies are too big too fast, our bodies will have problem keeping them in there..cannot sustain the total weight.

Angela also shared this with me before..thts y she says no tonic herbs for me after 1st tri...coz she don't want babies to get too big too fast...