IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda,

Better check if yr MIL is tc of yr bbs at nite. Usually they dun coz need to rest. Very tiring to tc of bbs around the clock without enough rest at their age.

Singapoh, ok to bottle feed during 1st mth? Coz during antenatal class, we were taught to try not to bottle feed for 1st mth...

ohh.. do we need to start pumping in hospital huh? i was wondering if i shld bring my own pump along. prefer to use my own if hv to start pumping in hospital.

Singapoh, yup.. mil n parents both staying overnight during confinement.. so tht they can help out at night..plus hb too...

trying to get my hb to squeeze 2 weeks of leave..so tht he can help me.. then balance 2 weeks, i will hv to totally depend on mil n mum.

i dun tink they will all go n sleep, leave me alone w the babies bah.... at least my mum and hb will not lah... if not i will really cry......

PandaWife - prob with own pple is sometimes they will go back on their word .. then chiam liao ...

Yr MIL & yr mother gets along well together ? My hubby's worse fears is that he has to mediate btw his mum & my mum and I will be bawling my eyes out .. 3 troublesome woman to handle...

hahaha .. so ask me to try to settle with my mum & ask her to take care ... rather then his mum ...

JJ,

I don't blame my mum for her suggestion coz she raised valid concerns lah.. her house is much more spacious and has a bigger service balcony which is very convenient for us to sun bb laundry. She even offered us her masterbedroom which is big enuff to accomodate 2 bb cots.

i dun tink my mum will back out of helping me.. so far she has been very supportive, definitely much more so than my mil..keke...

so far, my mil and mum's r/s is mostly based on occasional phone calls to talk about what to feed me ... dunno how it would be like if put both of them in the same house 24x7 for a mth...hee.. but its a risk we hv to take...

since we hv 3 babies, we need both parents' help.. if not, they will either go infant care or we hv to get 2 maids... dunno which is worse..

my hb kept telling me not to tink about this.... just focus growing babies and delivering in Dec...:S

PandaWife - Yup .. own mother I can trust. My mum telling me she will support me all the way. My own MIL I hesitate to ask her to take care of twins after I go back work. cos my own mum is much more flexible then my MIL. My hubbby prefer my mum cos any issues I can sort out with her myself ... whereas if its his mother he has to be the middleman

Yesterday i read the twins advice book & i realised I'm eating too little !! I already thot I'm eating quite alot !!

pandawife why not buy a dryer so that u dun have to worry abt space to hang bb clothes/diapers? I dun even have a proper service balcony, so we bot a dryer recently so that we can dry our clothes and bb clothes as we expect alot of washing. My colleague was also sharing with me that impt to have a dryer as later i am sending my gal to infant care, alot of washing everyday.

I've been advise by my experienced frens to at least get the 1st mth confinement nanny, for refresher course for both the new mum & the caretakers (own mother/ MIL)

cos our mothers & MIL hasn't taken care of newborns for close to at least an ave of 20yrs liao. They would have forgotten how to care for the bb's... happened to my fren's 1st born, she was assured don't need CL but in the end the in laws forgot how to take care & night feeds left to her alone .. till she break down & cry

My own mother that time told me night feeds I have to do myself. (O_O) hence i quickly booked the CL to 'tong' for 1mth ....

Better ask your mum/ MIL on night feeds better not to assume if not suffer is ownself

Panda
Actually bbs clothes dry up v fast... Cos usually the material is quite thin and small in size.. So it will dry up quite fast.. Not like adult clothes... But cos u hv 3 bbs.. Clothes will be more.. But if u wash them regularly.. Then i think u wont need alot of space to hang dry them..

Its good to stay at yr own hm cos u and bbs will be used to it... If u move bk to yr own hm aft confinement.. U need to adjust to yr own hm with the bbs... Else aft that u need to move all bb stuffs bk to yr own hm aft confinement..

Actually u should consider getting a maid when bb is slightly older.. Cos its really tiring to take care of 3 bbs.. Yr mil and mum will be v tired... An additional help will be nice to helpout around the hse so both mothers can rest more... Cos both mothers also not young liao.. U see them exhasuted u also pai seh and heartpain...

My hse has no sun totally at the clothes drying rack at service yard. Only 1 small patch of sun will stream in (enough to fit 1 romper) ... hence I got to use my dryer.

If not I will be like mad woman hanging all the bb clothes at my living room window there ... cos that's where the sun comes in

Speaking of which ... I have yet to do window grills .. ahhh .. how how ... any of u done yr window grills ?

My hse also totally no sun... So wont be able to sun bb clothes... Can only wind dry them.. No choice... So got to use anti bac detergent to kill bac cos cant sun dry them...

Yday my hb wash bb clothes... Within a few hrs... The clothes dry liao... So still ok... Maybe towel harder to dry cos thicker..

Btw if clothes kena milk... Need to soak them or can just throw into washing machine to wash? Or can just wash the milk stain under running water then throw into washing machine?

JJ,

that multiple book hor, the info is with reference to ang mohs..they are much bigger in built n size.. so must giv some discount also..
generally, i follow the guide of eating 3 + 2 meals.. you also dont want to end up with babies tht are too huge tht u hv difficulty going full term becoz of their weights..

initially we wanted to engage CL too..but after talking to quite a number of CLs, and also attending Mrs Wong's classes...we decided not to.
If we engage one CL, she alone also cannot look after 3 babies, we still hv to get mum/mil to help, n hv to pay this CL $3600-4000. Worse part is many of them are experienced from "handmedown knowledge".. not properly trained.

in fact i phone interviewed quite a number.. all highly recommended by frens/relatives. to giv an example, this CL says she is 100% supportive of bf..n told me if i hv difficulty she will help me. so i asked her, how long do i need to bf each bb..coz since there are 3... she told me normally 15 mins on each breast if 1 bb...but since i hv 3, just feed each bb 5 mins can liao.. after hearing this, i was like HUH???

Gan, dryer is an option.. i did ask my hb.. he old fashion, says if possible, its better to sun the bb clothes...

he wanna convert our balcony into laundry area...he says the svc balcony we will dry all the adult clothings.. bb clothings will be at the living room balcony... let him try lor..if cannot then he has to go n buy dryer liao....

baby, agree...i m definitely more comfortable in my own house..hehehe.. even now also ... i m still at home... the renovation going on at my mum's block giv me good excuse to stay at home...

if i go back to work, definitely hv to get them a maid... tht one no choice liao... but if i stay at home, we might be able to avoid one...will hv to see how after babies are out.

i m using cloth nappy..tht one need very frequent changes n washes... so i need a big space to dry all the bb things.... unless my mum gives up the idea of using cloth nappy when babies are out..... if too much work, i will switch to disposables...

baby, I do these as my son is v messy when he drinks from the bottle...milk will be flowing out his mouth onto the handy...so u can imagine the amt of milk on the handy....in order to get rid of the milky smell, I super ks....will run thru water after feed, then pass to my maid to soak overnight (with a bit of detergent) before she washes the whole load the next morning..

Panda
Oh ya forgot u using cloth diapers... Then that one need more space to dry them... Somemore with 3 bbs.. It will be quite alot... Hmm... If really v tedious to wash the cloth diapers... Use disposable.. But more costly la... Cos i think nb they poo v v often esp on bf.. So can imagine how often we need to change the diaper.. For us.. It will be x2 and x3 the load... So with cloth diaper... There will be tons of it to wash..

Maybe u can buy some disposable diaper to stand by in case the cloth load is too much...

I think we dont worry too much la.. With lots of help around us.. Everything will fall in place... We just focus on resting properly now so we can deliver as near full term as possible..

What u had for lunch just now? I had fish slice meehoon soup... Not v full... Now lying on the bed.. Hvt bathe yet... Will go bathe soon... Fridge still have leftover curry frm yday.. Can eat with bread...

Now everytime meal time v headache to decide what to eat.. V sian... Like not much choices.. Eat until so bored..

baby..yeah lor.. hb also ask me not to worry... just focus on my short term targets...haha...

we will standby diaposable diapers..thts on my hb's shopping list....

today i had baked chicken wings and brown rice huai shan porriage..

tea break hb bought me kueh lapis cake yesterday...

i just ate an orange.. wanna go n nap soon...

ur mum cooking for u now right? shld be better than going out to buy?

Good day MTBs!

I conceived thru IVF at KKH and i am now in my 7 weeks. Just to check if anyone has switched from KKH to private hospital after being successful in IVF?

I am contemplating between Parkway East and KKH. Really hate the long waiting time at KKH and after checking the consultation price at Private Suite, i realise it is not much of a diff compared to private hospital.

My hubby has just done a blood test at KKH last week and if i really decided to change to private hospital, can KKH mail me the blood test report?

Appreciate any advice.

AP - U can request for a copy of all yr med reports from kkh. Either get a copy from the medical records office (need to pay$$) or if u meet a kind nurse ask her to make a copy of all the reports for u .. that should be free.

Really up to your preference whether to stay with kkh or private. Most who stick to Dr Loh are mummies with multiples due to the high cost of pte's neonatal care, cos multiples tend to require neonatal care more often then singletons

Hi Rose - Fine, the MS sort of wean off liao... though got the occasional gag feeling.
Now awaiting gender & detailed scan in 5wks time.

Gers - would you guys be able to advise me if twin A is a ger, I will post the latest ultrasound photo where there is a obvious 3 lines at the bottom area...

those with gers ultrascan can give me yr inputs too .. hahaha

JJ,

u r 15 weeks now? if yes, shld b able to tell gender if bb is cooperative during scan.

U r right, if bb ger, will hv obvious 3 lines..boy boy will be smthing sticking out de..
when i went KKH for scan, the sonographer gave me a scan pic of boy and ger difference..

prob is my EDD that time very 1st scan appt is scheduled at 27 April 2011, then on 2nd appt with dr loh it changed to 3 May 2011 .. then maintain this date until recently I went private suite & got the pink booklet & they write there 27 Apr 2011 is EDD ...

Make me so confused ... Think I will clarify at detailed scan day, cos I need to inform my CL if there is any changes.

I post tonight let u guys see .. then advise me ... hahaha ... cos i see 3 lines but my hubby does not .. he like blind ...

Panda, yr lunch is so healthy...
I just had curry with bread... Mum made me red dates longan water...

Now usually my mum will cook lunch for me.. Then my mil wl cook dnr then my hb go collect... So my mum wont be so tired to cook 2 meals for me...

Both mothers always ask me what i want to eat so they can cook for me... But i always got no idea.. Sometimes home cook food eat until quite sian.. Thou i know its healthy.. Tonight my mil cooking lotus soup... Dishes dont know yet.. But sure have a fish dish... Fish again.. Haha.. Had fish soup for lunch only...

Which day this week u in yr 31 weeks? I think u are a few days later than me right? I will be 31 weeks this wed... Now i really look forward to every wed... My target is weekly target kekeke...

baby,

i will be 31 weeks on Sat.. actually i dunno how come the diference coz our ET was only 1 day apart....

i told my mum to cook whatever is convenient for her, no need ask me what i wanna eat...hehe.. so i dun hv to tink for lunch.. but dinner i hv to tink..coz hb dunno wht to buy if i dun tell him.

maybe will ask him to go either buy subway or mos burger...until now i cannot eat my mil's food leh.. dunno why, her food always got a "smell" to me....and i also cannot take chinese soups...freaks me out ...

i got my supply of red dates dang sheng drink today too... i put in the fridge..not so gross to drink when its cold ...i still hate the red dates smell.

Rose - I will post here tonight when i get back hm & ask hubby to scan ...
= )

My lunch super unhealthy, laska & 1/2 plate of chicken rice.

Panda
Our et is only 1 day apart? Mine is a day 3 transfer... U leh?
If yrs also day 3 transfer.. How come we have 3 days apart??

U dont like red dates smell ah... Must used to drink it non cold leh.. Cos u will to drink lots of it during confinement.. Cant drink it cold...

All the long u dont like yr mil cooking or cos u pregnant so certain taste irks u? Mos burger and subway is nice... U eat teriyaki chicken mos burger is it? I love their nuggets too..
Yr hb tabao dnr for u before he comes home every day? U stay in woodlands?

baby, mine also Day 3 transfer... i oso confused how come got 3 days difference. next appt i check w dr paul again... coz both dr paul, angela and dr cheng gave me the same EDD date..which is 15 Jan.... whts urs huh?

before preggie i m ok w red dates smell and also mil foods... in fact my mil is a very gd cook...

but since preggie.... both freaks me out

i take the mos fish burger..shrimp and fries..plus their milk tea..keke.....

yup.. hb wil go buy food everyday before coming back. staying in woodlands....

Me like so long never pop in liao. Been busy the whole of last week. I finally got the kids wardrobe from Ikea over the weekend and hubby fixed it yday le. Then yday I also ask my maid to soak and wash baby's clothes le. Maybe this weekend will ask her to wash the towels and bed sheets and I'm almost done with preps liao.. Feel kinda relieve after getting the clothes washed and getting the wardrobe. Had wanted to go furniture shopping but really too tired to do so, thus just stick to Ikea and got what we wanted to get but KIV for a while.

Panda
U see dr lc cheng also?
I forgot my actual edd... I only know my 37 weeks is on 22nd dec... That is the date my dr give me for my twins full term.. If yr edd is 15 jan... Then mine will be 12 jan...
Hmm.. So werid.. We should only be one day apart le...

I nvr eat mos fish burger before... Nice is it? i always eat
teriyaki chicken... And their peach tea... Nvr drink their milk tea before.. Next time can try..
Causeway pt have mos burger? Last time i also stay at woodlands... I stayed at blk 897... Opp the 888 plaza...

baby, not LC Cheng, Henry Cheng..coz he counted the EDD date when i went there for Oscar n FA scans...

My 37 wks is 25 Dec..keke... xmas day... Dr paul uses actual EDD date...but he says i can pop anytime in dec...so we hv to wait n see.....

i eat the fish burger coz thts one of the fish food tht i can eat.... but nice also.. better than Macs one. their ice milk tea very nice!

cozway pt mos close already. hb will go J8 and buy back... coz his office at braddell....

i m at blk 512, very near to woodlands mrt......

i like the 888 western food chicken chop leh...quite yummy...

Panda,

Me too!!! Used to like my MIL cooking, but ever since pregnant, I just cannot eat too much of her food, got a weird taste. Told my dh, but he said it tasted the same. The worst is lately, she starts putting pork lard to steam fish...makes the steam fish so oily and the smell...yucks.
But no choice, cannot comment, cos its my FIL who told her to put as he likes pork lard.

Panda
My dr also uses actual edd in jan... But cos i wont deliver in jan so i nvr take notice... I only rem 37 weeks is 22 dec...

Next time i shall try the mos fish burger and milk tea.. I stay in sengkang... Compt pt has mos burger...
Today my hb working abit late so my fil will be sending the dnr instead...

I moved out of woodlands abt 5 yrs ago... And i nvr try the western food at 888 before.. I seldom eat there...

Rose,

hehe..my hb response the same way when i say food got smell leh! everytime he pack food from mil's place back..he has to eat in kitchen..coz i smell already will lose my appetite.

baby,
i just finished my mos dinner... so satisfied..keke.. and very full! later if hungry, snack is polar's chicken pie :p

gosh.. baby only 1.2kg...very small! so poor thing leh....

No appetite to eat dinner just now. Head groggy, not sure is it cos my flu haven't fully recovered .. but force myself to eat something hot like hor fun...

now feeling better ... tabao 2 big fishballs up in case i hungry later

Panda
Me too.. I just had my dnr... Lotus soup, cabbage vege, fried fish w ginger, black sauce pork... V full mann...

I also have polar chicken pie and tuna pie in the fridge... But i dont feel like eating them..

Ya lor poor tin... Jamie must be heartpain to see baby so small... She deliver in glen e.. Bb need to stay 4 mths.. Cant imagine the hosp bill... Hmm... I wonder how come need to stay 4 mths... Cos bb born only 2 and a half mths earlier..

JJ
Maybe u should eat some hot plain porridge if u feeling nausea or no appetite.. Cos hor fun has v strong taste and smell.. Might make u feeling worst... Somemore after eating hor fun.. The after taste will linger in yr mouth... I hate that...

Or u can drink hot milk or hot milo.. Then when u feel better and have appetite then eat whatever u feel like eating...

Baby - the hor fun still ok for me .. though i didn't finish it .. still able to stomach it.
I ate porriage yesterday so didn't want to eat that today too.

I also observed that if i didn't eat enough the night before for dinner, I will vomit the yellow bile the nxt morning while showering

Hello, how is everyone? Been reading the posts on my phone but too lazy to write
Also, I see you all talk about food, I have nothing much to contribute there... my food v boring. haha. I am making a note now of some of the things that you all talk about that make my mouth water, and then later after confinement can eat

Nancy - how was your check-up today? Growth scan right? do update us.

JJ
Vomit during shower.. Cos u brush yr teeth during shower time? Cos during my early stage i also will puke when i brush my teeth.. But now no more...

Or u can drink something hot before gng to bed... Then can fill yr stomach and last till u wake up... Dont force yrself to eat too much at one go.. Else will make u feel bad.. How many weeks are u now?

Btw, regarding washing bb clothes, how do you all do it? First, wash the washing machine drum with the washing drum powder right?

For the bb clothes, must soak first before putting into the w/m? or can put straight? and when you say wash two rounds, after drying the clothes, then straight put into w/m again or must soak again?

Working wife
Long nvr hear frm u...
I didnt wash the drum.. And i only wash bb clothes one time without soaking... I use pigeon detergent and softener..
It depends on yr comfort level... Some prefers to wash two times... I think no need to dry them.. Can straight away wash the 2nd time...

Hows yr GD? Under control?

JJ
U already pass first tri.. V soon u will feel better.. Can enjoy more during 2nd tri... U expecting singleton?
Do more shopping during 2nd tri.. Cos by 3rd u may feel heavy and tired...

Baby - I'm expecting twins !
Feeling somewhat better already .. at least at night I don't feel totally drained out like in the beginning of the 1st tri.
Trying to shop but don't know their genders so abit hard

JJ
Congrats!! Im also expecting twins!! Welcome to the twins club! Hehe...

U can start to do window shopping first... Like go check out strollers.. Cots.. Car seats etc.. I strongly sugget u to buy all tins during 2nd tri cos u are expecting twins.. By 3rd tri yr belly will get v big to move around comfortably...

Like me, i cant go out to shop anymore.. Luckily i aldy bought most items during 2nd tri.. Only left a few small items will leave it for hb to go buy...

So u and hb prefers boy or ger?