IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Haha .. grumpus, that's the one I'm eyeing cos its so slim.

Any of u went to the bb expo (sorry panda) heard from those who went that not much stuff to buy.

discounts are mainly on cots & strollers

Pandawife, dun worry you will have lotsa opportunity to shop for bbs after they are delivered.
My shopping was also very rushed coz i kept having bedrest order during my second trimester, so everytime the order is lifted, i would do a mad dash to shopping centres and grabed whatever i think required for my bb. After she is borned, i will be tai tai, take it slow and buy more stuff for her.

Talking abt kitchen utensiles i got no idea if i have sufficient.

Grumpus do CL need a lot of pots and pans for cooking? mine are all stainless steel, i need those non-stainless steel pots for cooking confinement food?

Gan,
actually they only need the basics lah. so a big enough pot for boiling red dates tea. a thermos flask to store the tea for the day. a wok for steaming, plus the stand for the plate, and plates that can fit into the wok and suitable for steaming. plus a few extra pots here and there so they can multi task and cook more than one dish at a time. then a double boiler if they are going to boil those herbal soup.

my prob was that my utensils/plates only enough for 2 (hb and me). but during confinement there was the CL plus my mil and fil having dinner everyday so not enough. also i hardly cooked so didn't have the steamer stand and my plates couldn't fit into the wok. didn't prepare the double boiler also....

errm not too sure abt the stainless/non stainless steel pots lei...

the other thing is to make sure u got enough pails etc for bbs clothes, cos cannot share with our clothes mah...then if CL going to handwash bb clothes they need at least 2 pails, one for soap, one for rinsing. and a small stool to sit on when they are washing. cannot expect them to squat for so long mah....

Aiyo grumps ... when i see u list all the items down I'm thinking I don't have so many !!

Think my mum's hse then have all these.

I only have only a 3 tier electical steamer, 1 small slow cooker, 1 rice cooker, 1 small oven toaster, pots big ones abt 3, small pots abt 3 also .... plates & utensils really limited to abt 5 pple the most.

my pails are small ones cos I don't usually soak my clothes. how how how !!

JJ,
hahaha now u know why i had to borrow from my mum and mil too :p
u still hv time to either buy or borrow lor.

actually 3 big pots and 3 small pots sound ok ah. so u just need the thermos flask. maybe the CL can make do with the 3 tier steamer for steaming. u probably need a wok or frying pan for stir frys. err some bigger pails if u plan to bath with the herbs water. and new pails for bb clothes.

grumpus, thanks! but see the list i got headache ar....i dun even have a wok at home...mine is those frying pan, no double boiler...definitely no pails coz my pails i had was for mopping floor...
Ok will have to go shopping and buy all these soon. Dun think can borrow, coz if i borrow from my mum and mil, they can't cook!

Gan,
really ah, i borrow from my mum and mil they still hv extra. that's how well stocked their kitchens are!
but still the 1st wk my mil was going to whampoa mkt everyday buying these little things like pails and stools and steamer stands...cos when we prepare for bb we usually never think of all these! hahahhaa....

Diana,
if u usually cook at home then yr kitchen shd be fairly well stocked lah....we all are the never cook type so when come to confinement find that kitchen not well equipped.

speaking of kitchen item i also dun have much... i only have oven... ceramic induction cooker... rice cooker and slow cooker... my MIL already ask me to buy wok for her so she can cook for me but my ceramic induction cooker cant use any wok...

grumpus...i better make a list of what to buy and start buying soon. and shopping for such stuff is definitely not as fun as shopping for bb stuff. =P

grumpus > i seldom cook de so my MIL come my hse she keep ask me buy pots and wok for her... i use whatever i have to cook but you know lah old ppl like wok to fry food

I will most prob loan a wok frm my mum cos new wok cooked food wont taste nice must use a seasoned wok then will have flavour

Kitchen items
dun forget to buy things like seasame oil, rice, soy sauce etc when closer to due date. Happened to one of my gf that seldom cook she has no rice and rice cooker at home when the cl doing her first meal

grumpus
thks so much for searching for ginger wine. thks link, very useful.my relative said ginger wine leh. so i also blur.
rice wine is used what type of dishes.
oh the vinegar, yes tat one i heard of the dog brand.

baby
our dr said drink more water to avoid leg cramps. think he also mentioned banana/potassium if i rembr correctly.
oh the sheares cot u got, how many levels can it adjust to? does it allow baby to use up to like 3 or 4 yrs old?

ladies, saw in other thread there is philips fair 30-31 oct
http://view.newsletters.philips.com/v/8AAE55P/KF2TJ/97TMIZJ/DBLHRA/MAILACTION=1&FORMAT=H&HOSTED=TRUE

good morning gals...

JJ, i saw from ur FB tht u cook...hehe.. i tink ur kitchen definitely better equipped than the rest of us who dun

I am also planning to get the combi coccoro...its very compact and easier to store in the boot too ...

nancy/gan, thanks, yeah lor, no choice, shopping have to wait until babies are out.... or i continue with online ones...which are not as fun, coz cannot touch or feel...keke....

hmm.. i thought of smthing else before i fell alseep last night... remember to buy ziplock or air tight containers for the freezer leh.. for storing meats/fish.. coz we will also be storing the EBM in the freezer..

Diana,

still have plenty of time to make the rice wine... we only told my hb's aunt tht i was expecting after i cleared 1st tri... n the rice wine is ready now.

panda,
better to use the ziplock/containers to store meat/fish AND EBM so everything is double bagged. in separate bags of cos.

Panda,
if i store in reusable glass containers or bottles then i just use a piece of scotchtape and marker. write the date/time on the scotchtape and stick on the bottle. during washing just remove and throw.
if i use milkbag then just use marker to write directly on the bag cos the bags are one time use only.

Hi working wife, I happened to go there ytday & rcvd a list of baby items fr the shop. They items are indeed cheaper than anywhere else n can bargain too. =)
The contact no is: 6254 8883 (Hui Heng Garments Co)

Morning gals!

Happyhippo
The shears cot can be adjusted to 3 levels...
The cot is not those big ones where can convert into jr bed.. So it depends how big size is yr child... I think sleep till 3 yrs plus should be ok... Afterwhich has to buy toddler bed liao...

U can go see the website on the look of the cot.. And the dimension... I dont have the link but u can search under shears cot..

Drinking more water can ease leg cramps ah... I tot leg cramps its part and parcel of pregnancy.. So i didnt even ask dr f abt it... Maybe i really didnt drink enough water..

Hi Leapgal, thanks
I checked, they don't have the Combi stroller I want.

Nancy,
yeah, I called Cheong Choon, the lady is very nice
They have the Combi stroller at same price as BB Kingdom. I wanted to check if Whampoa is cheaper before I make a trip to CC. I know we can order without going there but the promo on the stroller is cash rebate so I want to go there and see what else I can buy with the rebate. Thanks!!

Pandawife > hope it will be ready coz m MIL breakfast lunch n dinner will be cooking that for me plus DH and her eating so need alot hehe... but i think after my Confinement i will stay away from that for a long time :p

talking about pails, i already stole 3 new pails and 1 laundry basket from my mum... din know she stock up so many. cos my mum usually get her 7th month goodies in those pail form, so everyday, she will stock up the new pail... LOL. For those mummies who get 7th month goodies, maybe can ask them if they do stock up any at home... LOL.

I have lota woks and utensils at home. Enough for 20 pax. But too bad, my mum will be cooking at her place, not mine. hehehe.

Mdm Khoo,

congrats! I am also from KK. Now 29weeeks+ liao.. Expecting a gal

Welcome to the thread!!! You better enjoy eating now before MS kicks in.

baby, i also din know bananas can help leh.. hehe.. i eat 1-2 bananas daily to ease constipation....

i also not drinking enuff water... still hate plain water... try to supplement with all kinds of other drinks.....

Just Faith, enjoy the appetite! hee... sounds like u are having a good time

Just faith
Whaa... Yr bfast so yummy mann...
Makes me wana eat roti prata too! Long time didnt eat prata liao... I prefer plain prata...

I ask my fil to buy roast chicken rice for my lunch... Also soon kueh and carrot cake for my tea break... Hee.. I love soon kueh.... Eat with black sauce and chilli... Shiok!

Today sat... U gals didnt go walk walk ah? Today and tml i will be staying hm... Hb not free got to work... Me home alone...

Grumpus,

I have been good in 1st tri and 2nd tri... been controlling not to eat soon kueh becos of the "soon"... but this tri, i dunno why, cannot control anymore.. ate ice kachang, ice cream, soon kueh and those "no-no" food. Told my hubby during baby shower, i want to order a few boxes of soon kueh and indulge .... LOL.

Grumpus mummy, let me eat lah....

Pandawife, ya, so happy. my appetite is back. Hope to put on some decent weight for little one.

Nancy, your babies are of good weight. Very well done!!!!

Just Faith,
hahaha i never say cannot eat wor. i just telling u wat ppl say.
i myself eat everything! i always buy the mini soon kuehs from whampoa mkt hehehe

grumpus, is the mini soon kueh nice? I saw the stall at whampoa, it's the one near the famous rojak right?

Just faith ur appetitie really good! I eat 4 chwee kuei and 1 milo already full

Soon kueh is ok cos there is no soon inside soon kueh... People uses muang kuang instead of soon...
I eat everything leh.. Rojak i also eat... Watermelon i also eat... Barley water i also drink... As long as not everyday eat should be ok one bah...

Panda
U have constipation? Maybe its the iron med..
I also dont like plain water taste leh... Cold one still ok...
But drink other water got sugar le..

Gan,
yah it's the one near the rojak stall. i find the soon kueh quite good, only a bit stingy on the sweet sauce must always ask for more. one box got 10 i think, i always buy and keep in the fridge. next day re-steam and eat still shiok

baby,
ah? nowadays soon kueh not made of soon but mang guang?

baby, i used to hv constipation... but now with alot of fruits plus the daily banana.. ok liao.. and dr paul also change my iron tablet to smthing thts gentler to the intestine...

same here... i simply just cannot drink plain water at room temp... cold one is alright... i buy berries syrup to mix flavour in my water... so tht can control the sweetness....

watermelon i also eat leh..haha.. very very nice! esp cold from fridge...LOL.. n last two days i drank sugar cane juice... coz my mum says can help prevent jaundice in babies wor....

grumpus, k, maybe later ask hubby buy some back for tea. that day he tabao 1 box of rojak from there and ate in front of me...kept telling me very nice.

Gan,
the rojak is very nice!! can eat a bit lah...
everytime we want to buy rojak we will see who is making. if auntie make, dun buy. if young man make can buy. if old man make, buy bigger pkt!
i even keep my rojak in the fridge and eat later when it's cold. super shiok!

Just faith
wow ur breakfast sounds so yummy
glad to hear ur appetite is back. Eat more while u can... My hubby now calls me " eat non stop" wife. I try to eat more so my babies will put on weight and need no nicu in case they chose to come out earlier

working wife
did u try tai sing ? Distributor for combi ....

Grumpus,

Wow... mini soon-kueh ah.. I never notice there is a soon-kueh stall there. I will recce the stall nx time. Hubby and I like the duck rice nx to the rojak stall. I think it is the best ever duck rice stall around.

Gan, ya, my appetitie super duper good. Hubby very scared when I am the one ordering food. We will agree on the "main course" but when the stall holder start to deliver other food, he will keep asking if i got other food? anymore? can you finish? LOL.

Anyone staying at jurong west street 52? please try the fish soup nx to blk 527... i had fish soup and carrot cake for lunch just now. now main course not enough. i need side dishes. LOL