IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

working wife, r u getting a maid? or just ur mum if u go back to work?

we are trying to avoid having a full time maid.. dun mind part time helpers though...

hb says if we hv to employ a maid to help look after the babies, he rather i stay at home....

u r right.. i just need a job for some income, and use the brain abit.. no need advancement ...
i might wanna try out relief teaching for a start.. can work near my house and shorter working hours.... so i can get back to the kids earlier..

oohh..just now the parentcraft lady called me.. coz i din attend lesson 3..n offered to schedule make up class leh! i din know their service so good..heheheh... i told her no need.. it was "deliberate" absence..hehe....

Just Faith, your massage lady can do one/two sessions? If so, can send me her contact too? My post natal massage lady not free now, & I'm having lower backache and wrist pain. Think gotta do w my posture when carrying e bb and probably washing my hands too often. ;p TIA!

working wife thanks for the info on the latex mattress. I didn'y know can upgrade for $129 coz the sales person told me $169 for the latex mattress! Since i m on leave tomorrow, will call them and asked abt the latex mattress. Btw if u have tangs citibank card, can have 10% rebate

Working wife
I havent buy cot yet.. Did u check with tangs when will the promo ends? Cos gan says the promo already ended..

Did u feel the latex mattress? Is it better than the foam?

Dont know who bought mattress from ikea for $69.. Is it latex mattress? If yes, maybe u can buy from og then buy from ikea...

baby, bing n i bought from ikea at $69.

despondent, yes, she does 1 or 2 massage session also... i will PM you her number.

Just faith
Oh i see... So ikea one is also foam mattress?
Btw, i just ordered the bp frm amazon.. After i order.. The amazon website show 2 in stock.. Before that was 3..

After i place the order.. The page show email will be sent to me.. But i havent receive it yet.. Its not immediate?
Anyway i cut and paste the order page and sent to vpost.. Is that ok?

Now i just need to wait for vpost to send email to me for the shipping cost right?

Working wife
U mention tangs can upgrade to husk mattress... Its the hard type right?
U intend to buy at tangs or og? Tangs promo till when? Cos the saleperson told gan its the last day when she bout it that day..

Baby79, I asked Tangs.. they said that promotion will run until stocks finish. Yesterday I called, they said still got. I told them I'm going today, they said they will take note.

Same goes for OG, promotion also lasts whilst stocks last.

I'll go see again the husk mattress before deciding which one to get. Actually I read online, there are pros and cons. Pro is that husk mattress is good for bb because its firm and hard, good for their spine. its also breathable. But con is that urine can seep thru and this might cause it to be moldy.

Latex is not as firm as husk, but better than foam. also breathable (must choose those with holes in it). So will decide again later when I'm there.

I also ordered the bp from Amazon yesterday nite!! Haha, before I ordered there were 4, so u must have ordered after I did
But i got the email from Amazon almost immediately leh. And then I selected print invoice and saved an online copy of the invoice and sent to vpost. This morning, I got email from Vpost saying that they have received the invoice.

You might want to check again? I checked the shipping charged from vpost using their calculator... its about SGD53 (DBS card got 10% off).

Btw Baby 79, have you bought nursing pillow? I tried to find the twin nursing pillow but so far cannot find in any shops here. Decided to get from Amazon as well... the EZ 2 Nurse twin pillow. My friend who had twins recommended it... its very useful to bf twins.

Price on Amazon is about USD51, so I think including shipping, it should work out to be about SGD130.

Pandawife,

My mum has an Indonesian maid who's worked with her for 9 years, so she knows the ins and outs of our whole family
My mum will be bringing her along to help take care of the bbs.

Working wife - i read on bb mag they did a comparision of the different mattress & stated that for husk mattress 1 pro is that its breathable then if kanna urine can raise it thru with water to clean it better

but then i think got to sun it ...

erm ... i only remember abt the able to wash through with water ... then i forgot abt the rest liao ... i read it frm bb mag at kkh clinic d .. was so bored that time so read everything but nvr absorb

if u guys want hard mattress, won't sea horse mattress be hard enough ?? do they have bb cot sized ?

Working wife
If u scare the husk mattress will kena urine.. U may want to put a waterproof protector... I already bout from pigeon.. Its waterproof yet its cotton on one side where bb can sleep on it.. Will not be hot...
Hmm... I may get the husk mattress... I like that it is firm..

I just go chk my mail.. Got the mail from amazon liao.. Also got the email frm vpost.. Now only wait for vpost to notify me when the shipment arrives.. Do let me know if vpost notify u ok.. So qiao we order at the same time yday haha...

I also ordered 2 nursing pjs and confinement shower gel and shampoo frm the motherhood thread...

Btw, when u went tangs to chk out the cot.. Is the wood solid and the cot stable?

Working wife
I dont intend to get nursing pillow leh... Cos i heard frm many say its not v useful.. Can use normal pillow...

JJ
Horse mattress also have quite hard type.. But dont know have cot sizes not...
I dont mind horse brand if they have hard ones.. Actually i nvr heard of husk mattress before...

Working wife
If u go tangs today.. Can help me ask whether they still have stock for 2 after yr purchase? Cos i cant go down today.. Maybe can go down tml... U intend to get 2 cots right?

Baby, working wife, i just called Tangs, think the saleslady gave me wrong info on Sunday when I buy the cot. the special price is still available for the cot.
But to upgrade to latex is $149? Anyway Tangs is checking with agent can let me upgrade since i have already bot the cot on Sunday.

Gan
Working wife says to upgrade to latex is $129.. Husk is $149... Did u chk the price with tangs just nw when u call?

just want to share with you..i have twins, and the single my brest friend nursing pillow is more than sufficient to latch 2 bbs...dun have to get the twin nursing pillow...cos its so ex.

for me i used normal pillow and my back was aching like crazy even though i was sitting in a comfy armchair and used about 4 pillows...so i ran out to get the nursing pillow..it helps with back pain and a stable support to latch both bbs.

i have an almost brandnew nursing pillow deluxe to sell. in pink. it has extra soft baby plush fabric & velcro strap. + an additional pillow cover deluxe in green, all for $50. Retail for pillow is $90 and $45 for the cover. reason for selling cos i am not breastfeeding anymore.

PM me if interested. thanks.
pics can be seen here
http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

baby yes i asked them abt upgrading the mattress coz the sales lady on sunday didn't tell me there is special price for upgrading...she quote me $169 for latex on sunday which is usual price u buy without the cot.
If we buy the cot, to upgrade latex is $149 and fibre..the coconut husk one is $139. Abit different from what was quoted for working wife.
Anyway i am going down soon to check out the mattress and buy the mattress since can buy at the special price since can deliver together with cot.

Gan
Hmm how come yr price is different frm working wife.. So werid... Better confirm their pricing.. Else end up paying more.. Update us later after u go tangs ok..

Gan - really? Hmm...

Baby - I will be going there this evening, will check how much to upgrade. But in any case, whether its $129 or $149, still cheaper vs. OG. I will also check how many more they have and let u know tonight.

skies,

I dun think so... no harm giving her a call. If she is available, she will take up the job. She stays in Bedok. She has lota customers staying in sengkang, punggol

Working wife
Ok update me tonight la..

Happy shopping at tangs! Besides cot.. Is there alot of baby things at tangs? I totally didnt know tangs has baby section...

Panda
Yo gal.. Busy shopping? Didnt see u post here...

Gan,

I also arranged for the baby cot to be delivered to me in first week of December. Hope MIL will not be pantang etc etc.

Baby, Gan - so qiao the Tangs saleslady called me right after I read your post
Told me that they quoted me wrong price yesterday! Maybe because Gan asked them, then they checked and now clarify with me

Anyway, they told me to upgrade to latex add $149, to upgrade to fibrelux (husk) is $129. they got it wrong way round yesterday.

Baby - I asked them if they still have alot of the cots, they said should have stock. If not, they will order again from source, at the same price.

baby, working wife, was at tangs...kekeke think the sales are confused abt the pricing coz the supplier give them diff price. Anyway when i was there fibre is $129 and latex is $149 but their samples are from another brand, not from shears. Understand that the supplier will send the sample for mattress and also cot sheets this thurs. So i will buy after seein the samples coz scared diff feel from the other brands on display. Moreover need to buy cot sheets to fit too. So will come ack tangs to check this weekend.

Just faith sorry why pantang? I tot better for the baby to air the cot

Gan,

In fact, the first time when I was at tangs, I already asked how come they dun have sample for the mattress and cot sheets. That was why hubby and i decided not to buy without seeing the sample. Thanks to all of you that they decide to bring in the samples.

I also told hubby, i dun want to wait until baby come out liao then deliver the cot. Cause i worry near to CNY, they might have more orders or shorthanded and miss out our delivery.

But MIL says no installation in the house from now until I deliver... you know very xin-ku for us, cause hubby and I are excited about all the shopping. Lucky my mum and hubby both supportive that december is the latest timing we should get the cot in. Just the other day, my hubby bought the swivel armchair from Ikea, also for me when I bf the baby. But MIL was so against of us installing at home, asked hubby to park the box in storeroom first.

Actually, if you look at my house now, you cant tell that we gonna have a baby soon.. cos nothing is being displayed. I hid most of the baby stuff in my wardrobe. I dont even feel like sharing with MIL. But when my sis or mum comes over, I am always so excited to share with them what I bought.

Gan,

Do you know I have to postpone the opennet installation because of my MIL? Lucky opennet allows us to postpone our installation to next year. Just need to produce my kk bill to support my deferment. Otherwise, need to pay $200 the nx time we install.

Just Faith, ic, so ur MIL pantang lah. But I think it's being practical to have the cot delivered in early dec. I heard pple always say first baby may come out 2 weeks earlier...so if that's the case, we could be delivering around christmas, so at least air the cot for 3 weeks so that there is no smell.
Actually my home (though I have not returned for the last 4 weeks) dun think have anything displayed lah coz i asked my hubby put all our daughter's clothings, nappies, towels etc in our wardrobe. We have set aside space in our wardrobe for her.

Gan, ya lor. Super pantang. But I really hope she will understand when I deliver the cot in December lor. I dun want to hear negative comments from her, though I know she mean well. Especially aft my m/c episode last year, everyone in the family so conscious of what they are doing at home.

Just Faith,

I guess now u are more than 5 months now, pregnancy should be stabilized liao.

Better to be prepared b4 baby arrives. My MIL also against me moving house. But if I move after delivery, dun think I got the energy to move and unpack with 2 newborns and a toddler.

I moved house when I was 34 weeks. Unpacked everything. House still under reno. Abt 2 weeks later I popped. The timing was just nice :D

Working wife/gan
Ohhh... Then i dont go tml since the samples will not be there yet.. Probably go check out during wkends..
Thanks gals for the info ya!

Just faith
I also intend to get chair for breastfeeding... Which one u bought? How much?

Those who intend to get avent bp from amazon... Pls take note currently there is only one left in stock... I believe prices might go up after this last one is sold.. Cos beforehand the price is us249... So hurry go place the order ya...

Err....as long as you eats and rests well and takes good care of yourself, don't worry so much.....I helped hb installed the maid's bed, re-set up the storeroom shelving, attended an auntie's wake and funeral during my pregnancy

Girls - just a question... do you know where I can find a good family clinic? Just wanted to know for normal illness which is a reputable clinic?

Is the AMK polyclinic good?

baby, no lah.. i not shopping anymore!

my gf came to visit and hav lunch with me..she just left today....

i bought a sofa reclining chair w leg rest.. can sleep in it now..and also use for breastfeeding next time. salesperson told me that the back support is very gd.. full leather one.. cost $599.. from full house furnishing.. bought the wardrobe and chest of drawer there too....

this thur the wardrobe n drawers will be here... so i can start to do washing of the baby things...get it all done before i feel too heavy to do anything....

gan, mine is hand me down from gf.. its lucky baby brand... its a mobile bath tub, changing table cum storage all in one.... so my mum/mil can bath bb standing...

i also hv one of those red color traditional one..tht was given by my mum many yrs ago! haha.. can also put that on the vanity top in my bathroom to bath bb...

Hi gan,

Do u know Dr Loh's email? I wish to ask him about my spotting problem, still have brownish spotting everyday...

Thanks million.

Panda
The chair so exp ah... I tot of getting a cheap one for bf.. Tot of getting frm ikea..

Gan
I bout my bath tub frm ikea.. $15... I find the size just nice.. Not too big... But maybe when bb gets bigger.. The tub might be too small...

baby..i start the chair shopping at ikea.. but try all of the chairs n couldnt find smthing comfortable tht i can sleep in ...

the past few nights, i m so uncomfortable sleeping on my sides..that i actually slept on my back unconsciously! and when i woke up for my pee breaks.. my back is hurting so much from the tummy weighing on it that i cant get out of bed :S

initially din wanna buy the $599 chair too..i find the price steep as well.. but hb n sil see me so big now.. made the decision to buy the chair coz i was sitting in it very comfortably when we were browsing catalogue in the shop...

Girls, just came back from OG. I've finally bought some stuff! Avent digital steriliser, Avent bottle warmer, 2 bedding sets, baby wipes, waterproof mat, bottles and teats, washing liquid and washing brush for bottles, washcloth and nappies. 20% discount.

The Tangs saleslady called me to tell me most likely by tomorrow they can get the samples in. But she told me the latex mattress sample is already at the display set, tomorrow only the fibrelux mattress sample coming in. She already booked two cots for me so no hurry, I will probably go this weekend to Tangs.

Went for my bf lesson just now... Bf doesnt seems easy.. The engorgement, sore nipples.. All looks so painful...
I wonder whether i can really handle bf not.. Esp with twins..

Working wife
Wow u did quite abit of spending.. Did u apply the og card?
Next time can get 10% for blue price tag... Do u know when will the og sale ends?

Gals
These two days my boobs abit sore.. And i notice my nipples quite dry.. Got abit of peeling... Is it normal?

Working wife/just faith
Just saw amazon site the avent bp is at us265...luckily we already ordered... I only ordered yday nite... One day difference can cost ard 100 sin dollars more.. Initially i still lazy to go order...

Singapoh,

Thanks for your advice. Thats why initially I really have no mood for confinement... really feel like going back to mum's place where I know I will be properly taken care of. But mum says, since I am staying with MIL, I must respect MIL. So I keep hanging on. You are right, must get most things prepared. Moreover, Gan and I EDD are close to CNY. More shopping to do for CNY, then need to think of venue for baby shower etc. Lucky hubby is understanding and supportive. So I try to do my shopping moderately.. just making sure that I dont over-tire myself.

Baby, I also feel my nipples are dry for the last 3 weeks... so dry, sometimes I feel itchy. Now 24/7 must wear bra.. cannot suka-suka dun wear. Nipples seemed more sensitive when I only T-shirt at home.

The armchair I bought is from Ikea. Chair $160, cover $39. http://www.ikea.com.sg/en/catalog/detail.asp?art=90160918&q=b1r13&b=1&r=13 You can see the sample swivel armchair when you enter the store at Ikea Tampines.... During my previous shopping trip, I almost dozed off in the chair while trying on it. I didn't buy any bf pillow... Intend to use our existing pillows.. We have total 6 pillows on our bed now.