IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Fruitree, u wearing the support belt? so early u hv swollen feet... aiyoh.. i agree w ur doctor.. minimise ur activities.. if u need to walk.. take regular breaks to sit down n rest....

we certainly dun hv the luxury of full 2nd tri honeymoon period..

yeah..the pain is normal..i oso asked Angela about it.. she says its coz of tummy weight as well... smtimes i use a heatpack on the sides..to ease the discomfort before i sleep..helps too....

i use plenty of olive oil too.. apply on tummy n my back.. coz the skin at the sides towards the back is also stretching very much now...

Panda,

For u it's very challenging coz u have not 1 but 3 babies to bf.

Find out more abt bf. Get yr support from hb, family and friends who are pro bf.

When u r in confinement and being a first time mum, many people will give u different advices. It can became overwhelming coz u will be lost.

Decide if u really wanna bf. If yes ignore those kaypohs (including yr mum and MIL.. oops) Dh also tend to ask u to give up if he sees u suffer like this or yr bbs keep crying.

Panda,

If u r not sure abt bf, u can call Lactation consultant to check or bf mothers.

My hb also not supportive when I bf my twins even though I successfully bf my big son for 22 months. He didn't wanna work hard together with me and prefer to get his beauty zzz. I didn't give up for the sake of my bbs. Now he is very supportive when he knows how much money I m saving in bf. Ha!

JJ,
sorry but i can't help sniggering when u complain abt yr MS cos i remember just 1-2 wks ago u were so down and worried abt yr lack of symptoms and i told u that MS kicks in at 6-8wks so u still have time to hug the toilet bowl and now MS has hit u with a vengeance.
kekekekke....oops...my bad... :p

Singapoh,

yeah..i m reading up on all the bf related information.. and also taking notes of the important information.

i told hb no matter what happens, he must support me in bf... if really need help, we will call for LC home visits to advise...

mum n mil clueless about bf.... already told them best help to me is dun stress me! hahaaha....

JJ,
I also have this prob of puking stomach acid every morn in both my pregnancies. Mine lasted till almost recently then stop. Think its normal. I puke everytime I brush my teeth. Dunno is it the smell of the toothpaste or what. But I think its normal de. Cos my first pregnancy also like that. It will slowly go away de..

Panda,

My MIL told me not to bf twins befiore they were born lei. Lucky she is not staying with me.

Now I pump and freeze for 1 week (25 packets) for my gal and keep in her freezer. She complain not enough so now I increase to 140 to 150 ml per packet. My gal doesn't cry for milk before feeding time means she is having enough liao.

Singapoh, ohhh.. ur mil not pro bf...

hmm..mine never say anything..but i already informed her i wanna bf..so ask her not to make me all those "tonic stuff" during confinement..coz she wanna listen to the medical hall guy and buy all kinds of herbs.. very scary.....

i told her so long as my meals are well balanced and nutritious.. i will be fine.. no need to take additional "nutrients" from herbs....

u hv good supply leh.. i heard from many frens who have problems even bf 1 bb.....

i read alot of materials ....but i suppose nothing beats the real thing.... hv to try then will know .....

Grumpus !! u so bad .. remember my complaints ... = P

Ya .. but now even feel so bad .. i nvr wish for it to go off ... weird huh ...

Hard to eat small meals ... cos like lots of preparations ... if out side just go for teabreak & small breaks ... at home have to constantly fix a meal..

my stomach acids like orange/ dark yellow colour ... haven't brush teeth already start puking it out ... auto one ..

going for scan tomor !! (8th week) Gonna see the bb's !! Yeah

JJ, u can prepare simple snacks.. i ate alot of wheal crackers and muesli bars during 1st tri in betw meals...if u like nuts.. popping nuts also ok.. i had walnuts, hazel nuts, macadamia nuts..hahaa... i put all these beside my bed..coz too sick to get out of bed....

my small meals now are - nibbling on cheese, grilled cheese bread, biscuts, cold soba noodles, cherry tomato, fruits ...

so busy ... so far i haven't got taste for chips ... but i feel like eating western food & pasta for my every meals, think i aiming for the baked potatos & tomato sauce

Panda,

She claimed that she bf all her kids except her triplets. When I bf my big son, she "pour cold water" at me. I remember she said 2 days after I popped "yr boobs r small where got milk?" I was stunned and speechless. Never expect to hear this from a mother who had bf all her kids before.

Because if my stubborn nature, I tried my very best to prove her wrong and I did. Haha.. She said "wah so skinny also have a lot of milk" :p

I already know she is gonna give comment like "now that u are having 2 bbs, where got enough?" i know her well.

It's a lot of hardwork in bf. The harder u work, the more milk u will get. Maybe only a small % are natural cows. :p

Singapoh, wow... ur mil very discouraging.. luckily u r stubborn! hahaha.... otherwise she would hv said to u "see, i was right!"

yup.. bf is not easy...but as a mummy, we want the best we can provide for our babies.. so die die must try ..hehehe... angela also told me..if for some days, i m down w supply..dun worry.. just supplement w FM..and continue to to express/latch the babies as much as I can... dun stress..coz it will reduce the supply even more...

Panda, I still haven't gotten my maternity belt la. Hadn't had the time to go down to Mothercare. Must see whether today can or not. But my left side pain started already, soon back pain will start. Then must head home to get horizontal.

Thanks for the tip on the heatpacks. Think I shall try them. The other day, my aunt applied axe oil on my back when i had terrible back pain, it helped also. But office, nobody to rub for me, plus smell too strong.

JJ,

My appetite was really bad in 1st tri. Can only eat half bowl of porridge, very little meat but I was ok with noodles, leafy veggies and fruits. I couldn't even stand on my feet for more than 5 minutes. Had to lie down all the time :s

fruitree, the heating pack can use on ur back too... esp before bedtime..very relaxing, and ease the ache...

where do u stay? see if hb can help u to buy from nearest outlet? i cannt imagine going out w/o the belt now leh.. not to mentioned u r working! i walk from my house to hb's car, w/o belt, my hip already aching.

Yeah for our case is different as we have more than 1 bb to bf. My gal is not with me so I need to pump after bf my boy. Sometimes no time for that, supply drop.

In the first weeks, I supplement with FM and slowly cut down. Now I give 1 FM a day for last feed.

Panda, really ah? I stay in Hougang. If i can't get it today, will ask hubby to get it for me. Are there sizes or is it standard size?

it comes in sizes.. S, M or L... u measure ur waist...then ask hb to let the salesgirl know which size is suitable..

also check on their return policy if it doesnt fit, can change....

i started w Medium..now wearing Large..

the belt is a must have for us.. today i went for jab..nurse see my tummy..first thing she ask me is if i m wearing my support belt!

Panda,
Think u can sell away your M size belt liao.. Cos u also intend to close shop right? Sell away while its still new. Get some $$ back.

Tickles, yeah..i thot of selling, even kept the box.. but my hb went to throw away w/o asking me.. diao...

anyone here interested to buy my M size belt? its black in color
lightly used since i outgrown it very fast.

Went for my 24 weeks scan... Bbs are growing well...
Dr is happy with the progress... Bbs weight are abt 670grams..

Panda, tmc call me just now say my lesson changed to tml instead of next tue... Abit unhappy that they inform me at such last min thing... Btw, where is the lesson held in amk hub?

grumpus
heh u mentioned abt not using cream with essential oil. why huh? oh dear, i'm using crabtree moisturiser, think got essential oil leh.

Happyhippo
Cos some essential oil is not good for pregnant ladies.. Esp on direct skin contact.. But essential oil like lavender is ok...
How u getting along now? How many weeks are u? Didnt see u at dr f thread... Wonder hows yr progress... U still with dr f right? When is yr edd?

hi baby
thks for the info. i'm using the lavendar range, thank goodness its ok. yes i'm still with dr f. ya can never catch up on the thread, coz its so fast...haha. yes still with dr f. my edd is mid dec, but most pple say first baby normally earlier. i'm doing fine. thks! did u chk out abt delivery in glen e? like go hospital tour, whats the package, etc. i hvnt done any of those leh. dr f also didnt say much.
how abt you? how's everything with u?

Happyhippo
Haha... Lucky u using lavender.. I kind of suspect u using lavender cos its a popular essential oil.. Esp in crabtree and evelyn pdts.. I also using lavender oil aromotheraphy..

Im fine.. So u are abt 28 weeks now? My edd is also in mid dec cos im having twins so will deliver earlier...

I didnt chk glen e ward etc le... But i did see the package price for single and 2 bedded... Abt 1k difference..u gng for the hosp tour? Need to pay?

happyhippo,
alot of essential oils are not suitable for pregnant ladies so unless u are familiar with the different oils and their properties, is better to avoid.

Baby79,

the class is on 3rd floor AMK Hub at The Little Skoolhouse. Its in a child learning centre. When you reach the Little Skoolhouse, there is a sign directing you to a side entrance which you can use to enter the classroom.

Good to hear your twins are doing well! Wow... their weight is good, you must feel so heavy now.

Do any of you gals still have that bloated feeling and stomach hard like ball especially after meals and at night? I find mine is so uncomfortable after dinner every night, so hard. Any ideas how to relieve it? Doctor suggested drinking ginger tea, or taking charcoal pill or antacids. Any of you tried other methods successfully?

Working wife
Thanks for the info!
Alot people comment my tummy not v big for twins at 6 mths.. But lucky my bbs are of good weight.. In fact its slightly heavier..

U feel yr tummy v tight after eating? I feel that too when om abt 20 weeks cos i think ard that time our uterus are gettinh used to the stretching.. Now not too bad.. So maybe u can take smaller meals.. Dont eat too much at one go..
Eat often better than eat too much at a time..

baby79,

Yeah tummy feels so bloated and tight after eating. Will try to eat smaller meals and more regularly.

Check with you, did the positions of yr babies change in 24 wk scan vs 20 wk? I wonder if they remain in the same position ie. If one is on top of the other, they will still positioned that way? I'm trying to distinguish the movements now... And when i feel movements, i assume its frm baby A or B based on their position at my last scan. Sometimes v hard leh... If singleton, as long as there's movement then its ok. for twins, hv to constantly feel if i'm getting movements from both

Can I ask, where can I get adhesive maternity pads huh? the ones I saw so far are the loops one. I wanna get adhesive de. But cant seem to find it. Or is there any maternity pads recommendation?

Baby,

People also commented my belly looks small for twins until I hit 3rd tri. It ballooned overnight.. Ha.. During the last few weeks I attracted a lot of attention outside. People stared at my huge bump. 8 months look like gonna pop anytime :s

Tickles,

Any supermarket should hv Kotex Maternity pad. KKH used that and hv to use 2 pieces coz not long enough. Pureen is long and thick. I got it from Metro and KKH Pureen shop.

Tickles, i bought pureen brand maternity pads.. self adhesive ones..

got it from Robinsons warehouse sales..but have seen it at OG too...

Working wife, baby,

If u always feel belly hardening, u need to inform yr doc. I had that too and it was contraction. Are u on support pills?

singapoh and baby pple also says my tummy small at 24 weeks...in fact one colleague said her tummy at 3 mths is my current size now. =( tomorrow will ask dr loh if bb is growing well. No wonder no one gives up their seat to me on mrt or bus.

Singapoh,
If its Metro, its at the nursery dept is it? What colour is the Pureen maternity pad packaging?

Panda,
If OG its at the nursery dept huh?

baby, gan, i asked Dr Paul about this tummy size thing before... coz tht time angela also says my tummy is small...so got quite worried.

he says tummy small means ur abdominal muscles are strong..n holding the baby well..thts y the tummy doesnt "pop" out so much... so long as baby is good size, no need to worry about tummy size

gan, i went ikea on sun.. the eating place there was super crowded.. alot of pple standing around waiting for seats.. then this nice lady saw me...and signal me to go over n take her table as she has just finished her meal... haha.. hb says wah...must be my tummy attracted her attention...:p