IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi chloe & Rachel,
Congrats again!!

Rachel,
I changed gynae halfway, ard in week 8 or 10. Cos don't like the KKH's system & the nurses in Clinic D. I didn't inform the KKH gynae at all & when I didn't turn up for my appt, nobody called me either. However, mine was SO-IUI.

TTBS could be right....cos u wld have stated or signed some documents b4 u embark IVF in KKH? Read properly to see if they state that u can or cannot change hospital.

missmoon,
Yep. i'm going for dtailed scan in 2 wks' time, praying hard that bb is healthy.

curious,
U can go OG or Robinson, both hv 20% sale. I bought lots of bb stuff from OG-Abert. Thinking of going OG again soon to stock up more. Anyway still got time cos GSS ends on 23 Jul.

Hi Chloe,
Congrats, waiting to hear good news from u.

Rae,
R u with Doc Loh? The nurse did mention to me before that we can change gynae if we want but better to wait till everything has stablised. Maybe u want to wait till after ur 1st tri?

blue rabbit,
thanks, ok I'll try those places u mentioned. oh GSS end 23 Jul! I thot it ends in June.

good morning ladies!

congrats and welcome to chloe & Rachel. I switch to my regular gynae once tested positive. I did check with KK nurse, they say it is upto me however didn't ask with regards to the insurance though. I do remember at that point of signing up the insurance, they did brief that if we choose to give birth in other hospital, we need to inform the insurance company. Not really clear, something like that.

I was given a form to show my regular gynae. If I do remember correctly, it does state what medicine is required for 1st tri. My gynae doesn't hv that particular medi and prescribe me another which is similar to KK.

can i check do U all take any special chinese food during the 1st trimester? Beside those pills
that are prescribe to me, i hvnt taken any special food. I try to eat more fruits and veg and avoid
cold drinks. Can i take soya bean drink now?

hi summer
during my first tri, i watched wat i ate...no chinese herbs still. and i avoided soy products because they made me even more bloated!

hi all, thanks for your response....i hv to re-check the policy issued by the insurance co again....

hi blue_rabbit, am with Doc Sadhana but Doc SF Loh done the ET for me while Sadhana's on leave...

i agreed with curious on KKH's system & Clinic D... as advised by the nurse with KKHIVF to get a timing at Clinic D for the scan on 27/6 with Sadhana yest, her schedule's fully booked so hv to settle for another gynae but i will b paying subsidised rate for it.....

yes we went to KKH cos the IVF cost is lower than pte hosp but the services do not justified... but i dun mean IVF ctr is no gd, their nurses r great but i ct say the rest in KKH....guess can say i pay peanuts & i get peanuts.....
kekeke so i preferred a pte gynae for my pregnancy & delivery.... this is oso requested by my HB....

My MC extended by another 2 weeks. Last week, i bleeded 3 times... i think my cervix very sensitive, i tend to bleed when i clean myself after passing motion... But dr said should be ok as long as it does not come from the uterus. i will be using up my MCs for this year... Will be considering to cover myself till end of the first trimester (6 more weeks to go) by using my annual leave.

i think my MS has started. Feel like vomiting but cannot vomit. No appetite... i only feel like drinking milo with biscuits... Any idea wat kind of food will improve appetite during this period. Dun feel so well nowadays... oh no, i scared it will get worse!

hi chloe
pls take care of urself. is it constipation that's causing the bleeding? cos i had quite bad constipation during my 1st tri. i took 60 days hospitalisation leave that i was entitled to, to stabilise the pregnancy.

as for MS...i guess for me, i had very mild one and i took small meals through the day, and ate dry toast whenever i felt like puking. shld get better during the 2nd tri. i was told sourish food will improve appetite? not sure cos i didn't have any cravings of sorts, and the thought of eating put me off cos of the bloating.

hi missmoon

Check with u, for ur hospitalisation leave, do u need to be admitted in order to be eligible? And is it inclusive of sat/sun?

chloe
no ley, the nurses told me so long as i have entitlement fr employer, she can give me hospitalisation leave without being admitted. yes, it goes by calendar year, so includes sat/sun

hi missmoon

ic, if need be, i think i got to activate my hospitalisation leave liao. i think must check with my dr to see if he is ok to give me. With my condition, i very scared if i go back, i will bleed again, so scared...

Rachel, my bleeding stopped liao, but just have to be careful lor. Cos bleeding, even though from cervix, can increase risk of getting infection. Now my MS is building up so fast!! Cannot eat the whole day, so just eat bread with luncheon meat. i know very unhealthy, so have asked my mother to cook soup tommorrow for me. Now even if u ask me to eat dragon meat, i also have no appetite, whole day tummy bloated and feel like vomiting...

Now that u are just tested positive, better eat watever u can, else later on got MS, u may not have appetite. heehee... but no matter how terok it is, i think it is a happy problem for us!

missmoon

u mean even if there is a sat/sun duringur hospitalisation leave, it will still be counted as 2 days har? aiyoh, like that very lugi leh...

havent had time to log on for a while..hope everyone is doing fine.

Can see that there are quite a few new MTBs - Chloe, Summer, Rae, Diveera - welcome & congrats!

Hi summer, u were asking about soya bean products.. my doc has told me that there were some research done on whether soya bean will affect fertility and it seems that if baby is a boy, the sperm count of the baby may be affected. Non conclusive, but just fyi.

Chloe,
When ur MS is bad, just eat whatever u feel like eating, be it milo or biscuit or bread, better than not eating anything at all. I used to take the "su tar bia" with milo when my MS killed my appetite

Any mummies using stretchmark cream from palmer? I got rashes all over my tummy and breast after using it for 2 weeks. Think i'm allergic to some chemical in the cream.... very itchy....

chloe, happy to hear tt the bleeding stopped
at least u cn still eat bread & luncheon meat... mayb can try eating "su tar bia" with mile as suggested by blue_rabbit for a change?
i like it too.... yum yum, simple but nice

i tried to eat as much as possible now but aft my dnr earlier, i feel my pants gg burst.....

blue_rabbit, tink for me still early to use stretchmark cream? when is the best time to start using?

hi blue_rabbit

Any idea when is a good time to start putting on stretch mark cream? Btw, have u started wearing maternity dress?

Hi Rae/Chloe,
I think a good time to start is wk 12 onwards. I was using my normal moisturiser until wk 16 when I switched to stretchmark cream but alamak, now I'm in agony, suffering from itchiness.
My tummy is all red and patchy now.

Chloe, I didn't start wearing maternity until my 2nd tri. My tummy started to show this wk at wk 18.

thanks blue_rabbit....tink it's difficult to buy & wear maternity clothes during 1st tri... cos neither here nor there....

chloe, ya, weekends counted also...bo pian.

blue rabbit, i use palmers also and there's no problem ley. since u reacted to it, better stop using liao. but hor, during this period of time, i also had very itchy tummy ley, cos it's stretching mah, and after applying the cream or oil (i alternate between clarins and palmers) it feels a bit better.

hi missmoon

like that ah, if sat/sun counted, then i think i might used up all my MCs liao. Will have to use leave to cover already. But then, if that is the case, by the time my 1st trimester over, my leave also used up... No more MCs and leave, dunno how... My husband asked me to try applying for no-pay leave. Advisable? Some pple said that if no-pay leave then not entitled to maternity leave?? Any idea?

chloe
i think mc, u can avoid weekends, right? otherwise bo hua. but for hospitalisation leave, different lo...dun recognise that we dun work weekends.

i know that so long as u've served more than 180 days in the company, and is covered under the employment law act, then u're definitely entitled to the maternity leave. can check out website

hi missmoon

thanks for the info, i have checked the MOM website about the 180 days of service. For my case, should not be a problem then. As for my MCs, will have to check with HR lor. See wat they say lor.

hi all, fyi:

Hi Rachel,

Q:Do we have to inform KKH, the hospital of our choices and Asia Life of the switch? If yes, when do we need to inform?
A:It is not necessary to inform either parties of the transfer. We will get to know after we receive your claim form.

Q:Does the policy apply to other hospitals within Singapore too even though it's stated KK Women's And Children's Hospital
A:It is not necessary to have your baby deliver under the same hospital which you have your embryos transferred. Any other registered hospitals in Singapore is acceptable.

Helen Wong
The Asia Life Assurance Society Limited
(Company Reg. No. 194800055D)
Group Department

missmoon,
I remember u mentioned b4 that ur friend is selling a brand new Avent pump? How much is ur friend selling? It it the Avent ISIS UNO?

morning chloe, ya nt a prob at all....i like TMC, so may go back to eunice chua since she had done pap smears & IUI for me....
feel comfortable with her too....

hi mtbs, can i take essense of chicken?? cos been feeling tired lately, esp in the morning. wanted to sleep during working hours....

Hi, how's everyone doing?

Though I have been on leave whole of last week, I am feeling sooooo tired. Can't sleep well at all and seem to come down with a cold. It's getting really draggy now. I keep counting down the weeks. Then again, also afraid how to handle the twins when they are out.

tch
when u returning to work then? i can understand...will chicken essence help at this stage? some MTBs told me it'll boost energy level and will help later during labour.

did gynae give u a timeframe as to when it's safe for twins to be out? heee, i'm sure u can handle it lah, together wif hb. u've got experience already, just that now, it will be double the work...well, triple considering u already hv a boy now

i'm feeling the weight bearing down on me now. and i still have 2 more weeks to go. this is my last working week before going on leave to rest.

wow missmoon, last working week liao! So good! Have u prepared packing the stuff to bring to hospital?

My MS getting worse, vomited 2 days ago... i think the stomach seems to have problem digesting the food i eat. Stomach feels very hard leh...

tch, twins should be fun.
So do u need to buy 2X of everything, like baby cot, milk bottles, etc?

chloe, hee, cannot wait for this week to be over. i've packed most of the necessities liao, still waiting to pack in toiletries only, i think. haha...

do u feel bloated? do u break up ur meals to smaller portions through the day? oh noooo, i hope u feel better soon. hope MS will go away in no time.

hi chloe, ur MS sounds bad....
hope u will get over this soon....
i walked past pasta mania at cineleisure & i feel nausea so quickly popped a sweet...

Looks like I'm not the one suffering from MS. I think I'm one of the unlucky one to feel nausea even in 2nd tri

MTBs, fyi, I heard from other mtbs that the 20% sale at kiddy palace has ended already. I was still thinking of going there to buy my beast pump now cannot liao

missmoon, I am back to work this week.

Last time, I used to tell my husband that nothing will be tougher than handling my no. 1 was he was quite a noisy and difficult baby....Well, i was wrong..now I am gifted with 2 babies!!! Not that I am complaining..

Chloe, most of the things I already have 1 set cos of my first child. I have bought a playpan and got an old baby cot as a standby. I think I will put them on the same bed for the first few months and see how things go.

For those having MS, sorry to feel that but it should pass...Blue Rabbit, think you are really unlucky to have it in Tri2. Even with twins, mine stopped at 2nd Tri. Pity you...*pat pat*

There was once I felt so miserable that I cried and cried in the bathroom cos it was so upsetting that you want to eat but you can't, and keep throwing out.

I think eating dry food would be better. I ate a lot of sandwiches during my 1st trimester.

missmoon,
wow so fast! jia you ok....all the best!!!

btw, chloe dun worry abt MS. it will fade off gradually. mine stopped around 12 wks or so. now my appetite is much better. i'll try to eat when i can. cos i believe in 3rd tri, the bloatedness will come back.

rae
shld be all right, i think. i continued waxing my legs and went for facials through my first and second tris.

hi missmoon, thanks... kekeke, preggie mums still hv to look gd... :p ya, planning for facial & waxing next week......
slept a bit late last nite & this morning, dun feel rite, head heavy