IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Clercler / Working wife,

Finally get to see Dr Loh at 530pm. Waited for almost 2hrs. But lucky KK has alot of maternity shops and makan... otherwise, i really dunno how to kill my time there.

Dr Loh seemed worried when I told him about the "pull". Told him I feel like contraction at the lower abdomen, though I never deliver before. Cause I couldnt stand properly when I got up from the sofa. I was hunching all the way to the room. He asked me if i feel my abdomen very tight last night.. I said "Not really".. and also told him I popped in my last two duphaston.

When I asked him what has caused the pain, he said it could be ligaments pulling, which is okay, BUT, if it is not ligament pulling, it could mean early contraction. If the same pain level happens level, he will ward me for further observation. Need to put on CTG to monitor baby's heartbeat and any contraction going on. Was ordered bed rest and given 2 months supply of utrogeston. Dr Loh also checked on baby's weight - she is weighing 407gm as of 21+weeks. Water level is good... all is well.

Working wife, actually, I also feel the cramps before, especially when i know now our uterus are expanding... in fact, I feel suan suan feeling frequently. But last nite's pain was terrible. And I did not want to go down to 24hrs clinic, as I was unsure whether I am 21 or 22 weeks. In KK, when you are 22weeks and above, you will be treated at the delivery suite. Scary leh..... thats why I insisted on seeing Dr Loh today. Lucky I managed to pop in 2 duphaston - "an tai". Dr Loh says if I still have duphaston at home, i can continue. But I told him i already pop in the last 2 tablets last night. Lucky I managed to get to sleep last night. Talking about wind, I have more wind during my first tri... keep farting all day long. for second tri, i experience more constipation, thats all.

Babychloe,

Hehe.. happy for you too.... yeah! very touching to hear baby's heartbeat.

JJ,

Welcome! You have made it! Congrats to you too! Rest well! I have been taking annum (for pregnant ladies) since BFP. every morning, 1 cup a day. comes in vanilla n chocolate flavour... not sure what otehr flavours are available.

During today's scan, my baby gal is in breech position. Is it something that I should worry about??? Now I am 21+weeks.

JJ, Babychloe,
Congrats and welcome! Glad to see new members joining

Bbhp,
Persevere and don't give up on brestfeeding! Your milk supply will slowly establish. I think it's also affected by your diet and emotion so make sure you think positively and don't despair!

I'm enjoying the remaining few weeks of the pregnancy and hoping that the bbs can stay in my tummy until full term. Wanna make sure that their weights are good and they don't have to stay in NICU or SCN. Though I don't stay with elderly, I understand that there's always conflicts when people of different generations stay together under one roof. But once you have babies, it's always good to have parents to look after the kids cos you can't just leave them to the maids.
Now I really start to regret staying so far away from my parents.

How's your boy's nappy rash? I hope he's much better now. I thought the nurses at SCN are supposed to look after our babies well and not cause them to have such bad nappy rash?

Nancy,
My CL asked for 1800 for twins. Mine is cheaper than market rate. I guess it's thru my friend's referral that's why she charged me a lower price.

babychloe, congrats again!! happy for u too!

just faith, glad to see ur update... rest well and take care!

JJ, there are different views about taking the milk powders. at CARE, we were told tht such milks are very fattening.. unless u r having bad MS or cannot eat normal meals, then can take as meal replacements. otherwise, taking normal low fat hi cal milk is sufficient.

Fashion spree,
Could your early contraction be due to placenta previa? Dr Loh ever mentioned that you have low placenta right? My friend who had placenta previa also had contraction and bleeding at 30 weeks. She was hospitalised in KK for 1 week, eventually discharged and was ordered to have bed rest until delivery. She just delivered a healthy boy at 37 weeks.
Do rest more now. I think the last trimester is quite crucial. Dr Loh told me that the greatest challenge for me now is to hold the babies until full term. If your job is very stressful, maybe you wanna ask Dr Loh for MC to rest at home?
I'm seeing Dr Loh this Thur after doing the U/S scan requested by Dr George Yeo to monitor the conditions of the enlarged lateral ventricle. I hope everything will turn out fine.

Hazel,

I did 2 HPT a day earlier was quite surprise to see 2nd line appeared almost immediately and dark. Went to do BT the next day.

wah 1L of milk per day! that's alot... my fren also drank fresh milk n her girl born heavier then her boy... hmm ok thanks for the input gers. currently the support prescribe by kkh is sufficent as adv by the nurse

Just Faith - hi hi finally see u here too.. take care & rest well during yr mc try to think positive!

Just Faith, Singapoh, PandaWife & Bing,
thank you for the well wishes.
So comforted to see my baby's heartbeat.
Wishing all MTB a very beautiful & smooth pregnancy.

Nancy,

I have 2 single strollers. I think it is easier to push around. I have no problem getting into a lift or up the escalator.

My hb or I carry 1 twin (my gal coz she is the lighter one) in a sling when my big son gets restless. Will put him in the stroller to zzz. He's 15 kgs. Can't carry him for very long. Haha..

Initially I bring fm out. Now I just bf them one by one. I bring nursing cover so I can bf anywhere and anytime. Timing is crucial coz u dun wan to hv 2 babies to feel hungry at 1 time and both wanna drink. Will be chaotic.

Just Faith,

Glad to know your baby is ok. So this time the pain is more intense than normal eg. you cannot stand up straight to walk? How is it now, has the pain subsided? Do take care and rest well..

Skies,

Thanks for the info! My next visit is detailed scan in two weeks time so they will measure the weight then. Is the detailed scan in 3D?

BabyChloe,

Congrats!! Do take care now and enjoy the pregnancy.

Singapoh,

I know you talked about this before but can you remind me again... did you buy two cots or one cot for yr babies? If you just bought one cot, then when did you move them to separate cots? If they eventually need to move to separate cots, means that I will still need to buy two right? Trying to make a list of things I need to consider/shop for in the next two months.

babychloe,
congrats!!

JJ,
agree those preggie milk powder is very fattening. if u're eating well and drinking regular fresh milk then no need to drink those milk. i hv a few friends who drank those preggie milk faithfully and their bbs were very big, dr ask them to stop drinking.

Just Faith,
20+ wks is very early to start worrying abt breech. around 34 wks is when u get worried.

Bbhp, 110ml is good lor....I remembered mine was less than 100ml 2 weeks after delivery lor...

Oh, as for latching, I was constantly fighting with my son to get him to latch on for 1 mth plus hor...during confinement period, I called my appointed LC and sought for advise, and almost wanted to make an appointment ($60) to figure out y my son refused to latch....it takes a lot of practises for mummy and babies....don't give up now...keep trying and "forcing" them to latch too.....

Vi, maybe coz ours are boys? I think Singapoh's daughter aso drinking ard the same as urs...

We used to burp Alvis when he's halfway through the feed..but he's so much better now that he can burp on his own after completing the whole bottle or I don't even need to burp him after the night feeds...

I'm back to office after 20days of HL !!
Ahh Torture sia ..
Now the 1st signs of pregnancy haven't set in yet ... just feel heavy at womb area ...

Just Faith,

You so luck to be self employed :) I am quite worried about taking so many days MC. Feel bad about it. Hope you are feeling better.

Panda,

For the olive oil, do you use it daily? Once? Just rub it on tummy area?

Thot of getting one from the AMK outlet. Must prepare to look nice nice even after birth.

clercler,

apart from preventing stretchmarks, the other purpose of it is to keep the skin supple..so tht it can stretch more to accomodate the babies at later stage of our pregnancy...esp multiples ....they will need more space..

i use it 2-3 times a day.... on tummy, bust, thighs inially.. now everynight i hv to use it on my back too... coz i start to feel the skin on the back being stretched as the tummy grows...

i also bought from amk outlet. its a residential distributor..u hv to call her to ask for address n check tht she is at home

Working wife,

I have 2 baby cots at home in separate rooms.

They shared 1 cot till I started training when they were abt 9.5 weeks old. I put them in separate room. It's much better this way coz they cries are very infectious.

When they zzz together, both took turn to fuss and cried. Both were colicky. It was a tough time for us. Now both zzz through Liao.

pandawife - is the olive oil oily ? i mean after application ??
I will be going to the chinatown branches to buy ... maybe start off with the smallest size 1st

u bought the 100% Pure Olive Manon Virgin Oil ?
have to get correct cos it does not specifically state that its for stretchmark purposes ...

JJ, yeah..the pure olive oil... its a waterbased oil, can be used on the body or even hair... the lady told me next time can also use on bb backside to prevent nappy rash..

its ok.. not oily...i use it to massage ..until its all absorb into the skin..quite fast....

i read that doing long circular massages on tummy can calm n soothe baby....so i do tht everynight before sleeping...

Wah ... sounds nice to massage ... I will trial out the small bottle 1st ...
Good that its not oily cos i don't like having a feeling of something on my skin ... even moisturizer i use the back of my hands to apply to other parts of body ...

now my V area there feels full & heavy ... is that normal ?

Just faith
Glad to hear all okay
Rest well and eat well

Babychloe
Congrats
Have a smooth pregnancy

Singapoh
Oh ya, what is 2 wanna bf at the same time while outside? Timing is crucial u are right
U must get some more rest now the twins can zzzzz thru the night after ur "training"

Working wife
The week 20 scan will let u have report of the measurements of the organs etc. Dr cheng will explain the range to u. I also asked the sonographer what's their weight and to confirm their genders

Singapoh, no la, your gal is so chubby. Leanne is firm ;) her cheek is not so chubby le. No tummy too.
See oxidised babies wow cheek like going to drop ha ha

stb, ya maybe because of boys. N about 3-4 weeks older than Leanne le ha ha

Gals
went for my detailed scan today... im expecting two princess! no luck for long feng tai...heehee...
but im just as happy! both bbs are growing well.. everything normal... in fact their weight is heavier than expected for 20 weeks... one is 380g and the other is 366g... the sonographer says normal weight is 320g for 20 weeks... she say bbs are absorbing very well...haha... probably i ate too much and too well liao....hee

i also went to pay for the antenatal classes... paid $192 for 2 lessons + dr talk... class on 28 sept... at amk..mrs wong class...

panda
yr detailed scan is tml right? can know yr 3rd bb gender liao... excited? rem to ask for their weight ok...

btw gals... after delivery.. what kind of pads should we prepare? maternity types?
buy from Mothercare is it? the lochia is it very very heavy type? not like menses?
the flow last the entire month?

baby, wow! thts good news...u can play barbie doll w 2 princesses! very nice ...hee...

i read in the multiples book that twins or triplets have the tendency to be growing faster than singleton of the same number of mths ...this is due to the shorter time that they will be in our womb.. very very amazing leh... so far true for urs n nancy's.

yeah..tmr is my scan..hehe.. looking forward to it... esp since it will be 3D scan...do u know how they measure the weight huh?

i will also go n sign up for the classes tmr..

baby, i bought pureen maternity pads leh.. the sales auntie says just buy 1 pack..standby in case very heavy flow for 1st week..after tht lighter flow can use normal pads....

i went to buy disposable cotton undies too...

panda
really ah... i always tot multiples will grow slower than singleton... i dont know how the weight is meansured leh... yours will be a 3D scan ah.. so amazing... mine is only the normal 2D scan... Dr cheng is a very famous dr in fetal assessment... u are in good hands...
but i think his charges also quite high... i paid abt $240 for my scan today...

the class u will be signing up for the full 6 lessons right?
i didnt cos the first few lessons talks abt labour pain...breathing techniques... where its not applicable to me as im gng for c sect... somemore not very interested in the exercise...hee...

panda
the pureen maternity pads... its adhesive ones right? with wings? oh the lochia flow is only heavy for the first week ah... then after that use normal pad can liao??
where u buy the disposable undies? which brand? i dont know which kind to buy leh... totally clueless...

btw u bought the pigeon waterproof cot mattress from taka fair?

baby,

initially i oso thot coz more babies, their growth will be somehow slower...but after reading the book, i found out its otherwise! i m now trying to catch up w as much reading as possible...esp baby care knowledge...after bb come out, will not hv time or energy to read ...

yeah...coz its 3D scan..alot more exp. one bb is $260 for the scan.. there will also b video recording..can bring a dvd back... tmr's visit to him will burn another big hole in our pockets..keke..

did u get a report immediately after the scan?

yeah.. i will sign for full 6 lessons..coz marginal difference in price. but most likely i will skip lesson 3 on labour. lesson 2 i thot will be relevant to know the signs n symptoms of labour...coz 1st time mummy...

i m keen in the exercises ...but hor..heheh.. i doubt i will b able to do much w the tummy getting bigger..hahahaah..

baby,
maternity pads can just buy from supermarket. Kotex brand also hv. usually they're thick cotton and no wings cos the plastiky material might irritate the wound. but i vaguely remember seeing winged maternity pads recently, can't remember where though.
u prob only need one pkt cos when u deliver the hospital will open one pkt for u and u can bring the balance home with u so u will hv 2 pkts. after that can switch to normal pads.
the flow will last for abt 2 wks only, slightly heavier and slightly longer than normal menses.

i bought my disposable undies from OG. the aunties there are very helpful

baby, yeah..the pads are self adhesive. no wings leh... i oso dunno if it will be heavy for 1 week or more.. i suppose it depends on individuals... auntie says some pple dun hv such heavy flow..so no need buy so many...i suppose if later really need, hb can buy for me....

i bought the disposable undies from watsons.. no brand one..haha.. i just took the biggest size and 100% cotton..thts gd enuff...

i din go back to taka.. most likely will buy from kiddy palace or robinsons at later....

panda
my gosh... the scan so exp ah... aiyo.. really big hole in yr pocket mann...
i didnt wait for the report... since i already know everything is well and normal...the report will be sent to my gynea clinic...

grumpus
oh kotex also have maternity pads...didnt know...
the lochia flow only last for 2 weeks? i see i see... i always have the idea that the flow is horribly heavy and last thru the entire month...
the undies from OG is which brand? get it from which section from OG? is it 100% cotton?

baby..yeah..very expensive.. bt we thot since the oscar was done on 2D.. we dun mind doing 3D for detailed scan. next time can show the kiddos what it was like when they were in my tummy...