IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Clercler,

Sigh... what to do? Dr Loh is always so busy. So long as no cramps, i think still okay. But I think 24hrs clinic should give you progesterone jab for additional support and peace of mind.

Since spotting has not stopped completely, how are u going to extend your MC? Did you call 24hrs if u can send your hubby down to collect the chit for you?? Take more rest until spotting stop completely.

baby..i duno whts the reading leh..haha..nurse only told me very gd...n ask me to sit down continue eat my bf...coz i was munching on crackers! hahahahaha......

Baby, there is still particular BP machine in KK clinic D that always makes me very nervous and end up very high readings. Ever since i move to TPS, my BP around 120+.....

In KK, for every visit, tested on urine, weight and BP.

Pandawife, i think TLC clinic also practises to pee on the urine test strip. I was from TLC clinic before switching to KKH.

Just Faith,

I will go to my GP to ask for MC. Think will wait till tomorrow to see if Dr Loh replies. Perhaps will go to 24 hr if spotting continues tomorrow. Did you collect the prog jab from 24 hr? Is it difficult to jab?

Thanks for the advice :)

Clercler,

It is available clinic. The nurse will jab at your thigh. Yes, it is painful cos it is oil-based, not water-based. But what is pain to IVF mummies?

Since u r thinking of going back to 24hrs clinic, u can extend your MC there too. No point making another trip to GP, just my opinion.

Clercler-Yes, good to go down to KKH for injection. For me, i switch to my pte gynae. FYI, KKH did not give me any MC despite of my spoting, which i did highlight to SF Loh. Even he shake his head.

Just Faith- Thank you. Me gg back on my support, reduced pill and will take them off slowly.

My clinic in TMC also check urine, BP and weight every visit. But the urine is pee into a cup then the lab will test.

pray hard, I also waited till first scan and saw hb before telling immediate family. Friends and other family members, only told them when I was pass first trimester. Only other person I told early on is my boss, cuz I had to take a lot of mc. Congrats to u!

Since I don' t know any GP, think I'll go to TMC walk in clinic... At least anything can just go over to my obgyn.

BB Rabbit-- Yes, I am thinking of switching too after this experience. Which pte gynae did you go? Is he/she experience in multiples or IVF?

Thanks for the information. Tomorr if they refuse to give MC, I will get hubby to make noise :)

clercler,

just wanna share tht I am with Dr Paul Tseng at TMC.. he delivers most of the twins n triplets from CARE. which is why we chose to stay w him after bfp.

Thanks Panda Wife. I just need to call up TMC to make appointment right?

If there is any emergency like spotting, do we get to see him?

I am really disappointed with KK. I was so traumatised when I have quite a lot bleeding on Sat but they just asked me to wait for my turn. Took around 30 min before seeing doctor although there were not many people.

Clercler, u can call 6254 2878 for appt.
His clinic is at #03-02, TLC Gynaecology Practice Clinic.
There is an emergency number that u can call for such cases outside of clinic opening hours.

working wife
Hee..time to change ur nick name. If dr cheng didnt mention anything abt the urine test should be okay right? I forget to ask everytime i go visit.

Prayhard
Welcome to the forum
I also didnt tell anyone not even my mum abt the bfp till I was hospitalised during severe MS. That was abt week 5-6. I only sms the bfp news to 2 gf that knew i was doing ivf.

Bbhp,

I also took over 2 months before my milk supply is enough for my twins. It is possible to bf 2 babies but a lot of hardwork and have to sacrifice sleep. I give 1 FM feed to them before I sleep.

Dun give up yeah..

ClerCler- I am with Dr Fong Yangf since i BFP. KKH frightened me badly on the day i was tested BFP. Immediately i went to him. Like most pte gynae, there is a emergency numbfer for us to call if there is anything wrong at nite. I tried 2X times, He called back within 10 min. http://www.mygynae.com.sg/
At least u waited for 30 min, i waited for like an hr. Best, the medical officer tell me nothing she can do and i must accept tt for IVF, threatened miscarriage is v common. No injection was given, no MC.

Clercler,

i'm with Dr LC Cheng at TMC (his clinic is WC Cheng & Assc. When i had bleeding at week 7, i called the emergency number, they advised me to go to TMC 24 hr clinic. It was 6.30 on Sun morning, when I reached thr, the nurse checked my bleeding, then said she will call Dr Cheng to come in. He came in by 7.10. He gave me the support jab and asked me to stay in hospital for 3 nights. During the stay, he came everyday to check on me. Another time, i had bad stomach ache at night, called the emergency number to ask what med i can take. They called dr cheng and connected the line, and I managed to speak directly to him immediately. So I think they're quite good.

Nancy - I also never ask abt urine test leh... But i think if he never say anything means all ok. He shld have the results alrready when we go into his room for consult.

hi ladies, i've got a nagging question. most of us from kkh after bfp will be prescribed with duphaston to support the pregnancy. but i read on some websites that duphaston has been discontinued since 2008 for some reason. is it then still safe to take it? how come the docs are still prescribing it to us?

BB Rabbit and working wife-- Thanks for the advice. Will discuss with hubby. He is still in hospital visiting my MIL who has a mild stroke. This weekend is really overwhelming.

Think likely to change doctor.Actually I have been thinking of going to TMC but thot it is better to follow through with Dr Soh since he did my IVF. Dr Soh's name card only has KK main line and fax. I think I really need prompt support when needed esp with my age. I always 'kan qiong' (paranoid) so must need all this assurance :)

My spotting getting lesser and more brownish. Hope everything is fine. Must really pray hard

Thank you once again to all sistas who have responded. Really appreciate it, ha ha hope I am not too mushy.

hopefully- I guess shld be okay. I did highlight to dr Fong what KKH give me. He said he prefer me to take the "U" support pill as it can be measure in BT. I think KKH is not the onli one giving Duphaston, some pte gynae also give for normal pregnancy.

BBHP, hang on there. Ur milk supply will kick in soon. As I m getting lazier to pump diligently, my milk supply is dropping.. Can't catch up w alvis's demand, will gv more fm n at least 2 ebm during daytime since I m back at work Liao...

Good morning girls!

Skies - wanted to check with you. Does Dr Cheng measure your babies weight at every visit now? When does he measure CRL until and when does he start measuring babies' weight? Or else, what does he measure now when you go for your checkup? Just wondering.... thanks!

Vi, My gal is drinking 5 x 100ml Ebm + 1 x 140 ml Fm. Her weight is 5.5 kg. From next week onwards I am increasing to 110 ml Ebm.

I direct latch my boy for 6 to 7 times a day + 1 x 210 Fm.

For nb under 1 month old, we need to nurse them every 3 hours, at least 8 times per day especially when bbs had complications after birth.

working wife,

What is CRL?? *blur*

He will measure d tummy length. Actually he started to measure d weight of d bbs at week 28. Other than that, is d bp n he will check for swelling on d ankles.

skies
oh no wonder dr cheng also press my ankle while walking to the right side to check the blood pressure. He didnt measure my tummy size

nancy,

I think he started measuring d tummy length ard week 24 or 28 ba. He mention that that is d uterus size so d length is equal to d number of weeks (for singleton), if I rem correctly.

Clercler,

How are you feeling today? FYI, i have quite strong cramps on my low left and right tummy area last night. I have never experienced this cramp before. I popped in 2x duphaston. I really dunno what caused the pull/cramp. Didn't sleep well last night.

When I woke up this morning, the cramp is still there but have gone off abit. I called up KK and make appt to see Dr Loh. Managed to squeeze in an appt at 330pm today, as I mentioned to the nurse that I prefer to be scanned by him and not 24hrs clicinc. She was nice and quickly put the line through. She spoke to Dr Loh and I was scheduled for an appt this afternn.

This is the second time that I squeeze in an appt to see him on the same day.

Just Faith,

I went to 24 hr. Actually my discharge is getting lesser. But some brownish thread like discharge this morning. I called KK Dial a Nurse Service n they refer me to IVF. IVF told me to go 24 hr if I am still worried adn to extend my MC.

I went to 24 hr. The doctor scanned and said discharge is minimal. Babies are ok. I am giving MC till 1 September which is my scheduled appointment to see Dr Loh.

I did not know can squeeze in the appointment. Or else I would also prefer to do so.

Take care. Update us after you have seen him.

Hi mummies, did my BT today & results came back positive ! the number is 938.4 !

took my 1mth's supply of FA & duphaston.

My 1st u/scan is scheduled for 7 Sep (Tue) by then i should be 6w 3d's ...

Pandawife - should i be starting stretchmark lotion liao ?? which is good ?? pls advise. = )
I see palmer & think that it's smell is too strong

Skies,

CRL is crown rump length, the length in mm/cm of head to bum bum of baby... Then he will say whether its normal for the number of weeks. Other than that, he also check ankles, bp. Last visit he did measure tummy length for me. I asked him abt the weight and he said that one only measure at later stage.

JustFaith,

I also get cramps off and on in tummy... Been to the doctor so many times because of that.. So paiseh also. They say its wind. If its on yr sides, cld be ligament pain? Do update us what doc said abt the pain. May i know why u take the duphaston for the pain?

Singapoh - I put 2 only ... so twins ?? yrs how much u remember ?? I'm preparing my dh for possibility of twins ..

Singapoh and Stb, it's already 2 weeks+ since I delivered. You mean that my milk supply haven't kick in yet?? Sometimes very sianz to pump every 3 hours and each pump is about 110ml. Even at wee hours also force myself to wake up to pump. During day time, the ebm still enough to cater for the twins. But when comes to night time, i'll ask the CL to give them FM. Envy both of you ever successfully tried latch on. I tried several times in SCN with the nurse's help also unsuccessful leh, they just suck for 1 minute or so and start crying liao. That discouraged me

bbph- I couldnt latch my boy for abt 2 mths (cant remember exactly how many weeks), then suddenly I managed to latch him, cos I try and try, so dun be discourage. For the 1st 2 weeks I supplement my boy with FM, be patient, becos urs supply to twins, so may not be enough, but u still giving them BM, Jia you

Bbhp, 110ml is good enough for first 2 weeks la. Slowly it will increase more. I can't remember at which week then I can get 90mls from each breast n till now around 120mls from each.
Don't take it as a chore but think about all the bm benefit for the babies and for your pocket ;)
supplement when necessary no big deal.
My gal only can latch on well after 5-6weeks.
now no problem already. No choking. Jus latch n suckle on ;)
jia you ok ...

Wah singapoh, stb, your babies drink a lot hoh.
Leanne like 100-120mls per feed regardless ebm or fm. But she drink like a lady. 50 stop burp 60 stop. ;)

JJ
Congrats on the positive results
and welcome

Singapoh
Hee....sounds manageable thanks
Did u use a twin stroller ? When u go out, u feed them fm? or find a place to breastfeed the twins?

JJ, i started using olive oil from week 6. din buy stretchmark cream coz Angela says olive oil is natural moisturiser.. so far so gd with it.

this is the olive oil if u are interested.

http://www.olive.sg/main10.php

just to share, i heard from the nurse at CARE, for twins, usually the D14 hcg is at least 500. of coz, there are also singleton w such hcg numbers..not 100% accurate until 1st scan

Bbhp,

Of coz kick in but my supply is more steady after 2 months. Dun give up yet. Continue to offer your breast to yr babies.

My gal stayed with my MIL during the weekdays and I was afraid that she might "forget" how to latch on. I bottle feed her ebm and she was very frustrated coz she smelled me. Only settle down when my dh took over. She still love to latch on :D

Can can - I will check our the website.
Lots to learn from u guys ..

Yup looking forward to my 1st scan on the 7th sep ... then will know for sure .. till then I'm not going to think abt it ...

working wife,

Actually I only know d weight of d bbs during week 20 detailed scan, week 28, and week 30. He did not measure d weight at week 24 n I forgot to ask him too. As long as he say everything ok, then I ok. Only when I stepped out of d room then it occurred to me why he did not measure d weight.

do any of u have hamsters ?? I suppose its safe to handle them & wash their cages right ?? I only read to be careful when handling cats only ...

PandaWife, Singapoh, grumpus & all,
wanna share my good news!
Went for my 1st scan today & could see baby's heartbeat! SOOooo happy!
I'm expecting a singleton!