IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Despondent, dun worry too much ok. You are in gd hands. Dr Loh is very experienced n skilful.

I was induced also when i m/c, yes labour pain is very painful. But pls dun let that scare you. Soon you will carry the bb in your arm. So whatever the pain, it is worthed it.

Des,

Induce is painless. Waited so long for action. Kind of boring. From the contraction to delivery, it took me 7 hours. Quite fast for first timer. I induced from zero dilation.

Hi Skies - thanks for sharing your experiences here. Reading about the potential issues and decisions one faces closer to due date makes me realise that I need to consider alot of things in the coming months
Hope all goes well for you. As for natural/c-sect, I would say to go with what you feel most comfortable with, and what Dr Cheng recommends. In the end, these are YOUR babies, and you are responsible for them so you should make the decision

Nancy, Skies- I am also with Dr Cheng. I'm going to 17 weeks now with twins. Since the last two appts onwards, he said he only needs to see me once a month. May I check, did you also see him once a month during this period?

Skies, when did your appts switch to twice a month? I am always so anxious to see him, if I can have my way, I wanna see him every week! hehehe... Miss seeing my babies on the screen

Skies - did Dr Cheng advise you on bed rest after 30 weeks? Or its everything as usual until you pop? And how is your energy level? Do you find that its difficult to move around now with a big tummy? I'm trying to envision what it would be like in the third trimester, and what I should be doing (eg shopping for stuff) before that. Thanks for your advice

Hi ladies, btw I heard that there is a CL agency here... I have no idea about CL and don't have any recommendation/referals... any idea how what is the contact for the agency?

Errr... I was fully dilated, but had to emer c-sect coz I cldnt push my bb out. Dr loh did warned me tt I may hv prob delivering naturally coz my passage way a bit too narrow when I was 7cm dilated.

They didn't insert 1 more pill is coz they wan me to wait for dr loh to b back in sg. They burst my water bag once they knew tt dr loh is on e way back to kk. But I only got to c him ard 11pm

working wife,

3 more weeks, you can confirm d gender le. Excited?? I'm not sure if d bbs will turning again anot but both of their heads r down now which makes me wonder will it b easier for me to go through natural birth. But I guess will make d decision when d day is nearer.

I'm seeing him once every 2 weeks after week 28. Of coz, you can see him every week but need to pay since it is not scheduled appointment.

Right now, he did not mention anything bout bed rest. Maybe coz I have not exp any contractions yet *touchwood* but on d safe side, I'm having oral medication n jabs to calm d womb n boost bb's lungs now. Dr Cheng's patients (w twins) will b having this fr week 28 onwards.

But I feel aching on my right side more than left side so now trying not to walk too fast/ too much. I still find it ok to move around coz I'm quite big- sized. Energy level is better than 1st tri but still I will doze off in d afternoon. Hahaha.. If you fraid tt you will feel v tired in last tri, maybe buy d big stuff 1st. As for toiletries, can get them fr neighbourhood shops/ fair. I feel that I have alot of things which I have not settle!!

Skies - so before week 28, you saw Dr Cheng once a month? Did you try to go for more regular appts on your own?
I wonder what he will say if I show up so often (even if I pay on my own)

Yes, super excited! Well actually in an earlier scan, could see that one is a boy, the other one legs crossed, so shy
So waiting for detailed scan in 3 weeks.

working wife,

Yup. I wanted to go for an unscheduled appt after I had a fall. But I decided not to since I don't feel any pain or bleeding. Of coz, will keep thinking if they r ok coz tt time still cant feel much movement. Even now sometimes they r v still, I will shake my tummy to wake them.. I v bad hor.

You try to hint him next time la. Hahaha.. But think I read somewhere that too much of scanning is not v good for bb. Not sure if it is d detailed scanning or d normal ones.

Maybe ger ger.. Nice to have a boy- ger combination..
Before go for scan, keep telling d other one to b more cooperative..

Gan
I will buy two cots at once since they need to slp on their own cot when they grow bigger so might as well buy at once..
I intend to buy the smaller version.. Cos big ones take up too much space..

How u find ikea baby cot? Its the smaller type right?

Poor STB, I'm just wondering if all these cld be avoided if Dr Loh had planned properly eg. measured e pelvic width beforehand and arrange for u to be admitted only when he's in Singapore. Sob sob.. I think I would break down if these happened to me. Now, I wonder if I shd propose to him to measure my pelvic width or it's probably too late given that arrangements been made.. Think e US may have this practice given that WTE website talked about it.

Working wife, though I dun have a CL, I heard from colleague and some ladies here mentioned PEM agency. You may want to check it out.

baby, my hubby was just metioning abt checking out ikea cot this morning...i have only seen the cots at taka fair. Maybe this weekend will check out ikea or other places for the cot.

Ju, singapoh, hazel, forgot to thank u for ur sharing too.

I'm v confused why dr loh had different practices.. Yes, it shd differ on each patient but what happened that makes him decide for patients to admit at 6 or 9 am? Why 12 hours apart and not 6? Hmm... Maybe coz he thot Singapoh shd be fully dilated on her own soon? Or maybe I think too much.. :p
Jittery jittery now... :p

yck,
have you invited all the mummies I suggested to you in fb? You still remember them?

Nice to see your picss and family photos there. Your twins are very adorable and you are really a beautiful mother! Were you a model or beauty queen?

Despondent, at times dr has his reason for doing things differently. He wun explain too much to us patients.

Eg, I read one sis said dr loh told her natural n medicated FET have same success rate. But I also read tat another sister said dr loh told her natural has higher success rate. So, every parient is diff, dr loh will use the protocol most suitable for the patient.

My colleague's cousin is a junior gynae is KKH. I recommended her to see dr loh so she asked her cousin on him. Her cousin told her dr loh is a good n skillful surgeon n he is very accurate.

I hope I make u feel more at ease now.

Hazel, thanks. I think I have no doubts that Dr Loh is skillful. Just not sure if he cld be too busy to overlook some details and probably didn't do as well in e dept of planning (which I'm just guessing).

I wld love to have doctors to be calm & explain and even in case where patients forgot to ask, offer to ask if explanation is required. I know this is far from reality in Singapore, so just airing my grouses... :p

Hi Gan,

I did went to facial when I'm pregnant but pls make sure that they know you are pregnant, they will know what to do. No machine, No aroma essence, only certain aroma is suitable for preggy. So best is dun put aroma.

working wife
Hi, like skies mentioned i seeing dr cheng once a month now. Next at week 24
I think u can schedule to see him twice if u wish but i feel that at this stage scan every 2 weeks see not much diff.

Dr cheng also did not mention any bed rest to me. He just say tummy may get too big in third tri and some ladies cant wait to let babies out from week 34. BUT the weight must be okay first then he will see the situation. So best is to hang on till 37 weeks he said
So that is my target hee......

Everytime, before we go dr cheng will ask " Questions????" And my hubby and i will look at each other, dun know what to ask

Skies
Oh from 28 weeks need some meds and jabs. So u have the jab while seeing dr ? When u starting the maternity leave? Last stage need to rest more

Singapoh
Can i get one baby cot and a playpen for the twins? After the first few months, one twin can sleep on the playpen. Is it advisable? Thanks

Singapoh, ya, can imagine how boring it's going to be. As it is now, I'm super super bored!!!! May watch some DVDs/online movies later. Heh heh.

nancy..if i m not wrong, playpen has a lower weight limit. so it probably cannot last very long ...eventually u will still need a cot/bed.

Hazel, Singapoh
Couldn't agree more on Jap hospitality ! Simply the most hospitable people around ! The hardcopy street map provided is not very good, only name of major streets. But the train system is easy to follow, all color coded. No problem doing F&E on their transport. Must try the self drive though, I think will be challenging. Day dreaming on holidays liao....

Talking about language, we also don't speak Jap, so ended up ordered some food incorrectly from the picture, one was some curly internal organs, not sure whether pig or cow, ended up not touching it, looks gross to me. The other one was ramen with chopped up fats, almost fainted when I saw it, no choice got to eat it, cos hard to filter the fats, it was so finely chopped to pieces, but it tastes really good.

Despondent
Enjoy your pregnancy, go shopping, go high-tea, enjoy some tai-tai lifestyle, when baby is out, no chance and sure you won't complain bored.

Bubbybear, was smiling reading your post.
ya, I was hoping for that too, but dunno lazy or too tired.. Walking without purpose gets me tired earlier. Eg. I tend to laze around at home playing w iPhone.... :p

Nancy,

Why not? My twins were sharing the same cot till they were 9 weeks old. Not because running out of space, it's because I separate them. 1 baby zzz in another room. Their cries r very contagious and taking turn to cry at night. Aiyoyo never ending until I put them n different room. The one who zzz through zzz in bb room while the other in our room.

Now my MIL takes care of my twin gal and she zzz in the playpen. We bought a mattress for her.

Panda,

The weight limit on the bassinet level in playpen is 5 to 6 kgs if I am not wrong. Multiples tend to be lighter so it can be used for at least 10 weeks for my case.

My dot is zzz at the lower level of playpen now. Backaching for adult only.

Bubbybear,

I have not been to any holiday since I preggy in 2007. Malaysia is not counted coz it's my hometown!

My son has never been on an airplane and daddy works in the airline. Faintz~

singapoh
With a toddler and twins.. U have any help? Eg, maid or mummy?
Im thinking whether i should engage a maid now.. Thou i really dont like the idea of having a maid.. But i scare i really cant cope alone.. Can share me yr experience?

nancy,

He did not mention anything bout bed rest to me either n bout letting them out ard week 34. But I was hoping to aim for week 38, am I greedy?? He did say d womb size is equal to d number of weeks for singleton when he measure d tummy. So my tummy size is like week 33 size. I kept telling them to wait for another 8 weeks n to share their food equally. Hahaha..

The jabs are to boost d bbs lungs n oral medication is to calm d womb. he would prefer take precaution 1st than to let it happen. But will burn a hole in pocket n quite painful too. The jabs are taken after his consultation. The nurse told me his patients w multiples will have this fr week 28, guess he will inform you when its nearer. But I manage to drag for another 2 weeks coz no contractions exp b/w week 29 n 30.

Singapoh, yeah..i was thinking the bassinet will only last a few mths, and without that, its abit too low. i was told tht even the lower level of the playpen has a weight limit.. about 15kg ...

Baby,

My 3 year old goes to full day CC. Even with a maid, I felt tired all the time. She is busy with housework, not very automatic type.

I finally surrender after 11.5 weeks and wanted to put 1 baby in IFC. Only then my MIL offered to bbsit for me. Now my twin gal is with her since Sunday.

Panda,

My 3 year old is 15 kg. Not many 3 year old wanna stay in a playpen. :p

Many bbs end up zzz in their parents' bed. Cot become a white elephant :s

Bing, I'm fine just that had slight cough and runny nose. After I delivered the babies, I realised it's really not easy to be a mummy especially first time mummy. My son, Xavier just discharged from Special Care Nursery(SCN) last Saturday. Before that, I had been travelling to and fro KKH to see him and deliver ebm to him. On the other hand, I also had some problem with my CL. I chased her off and got a replacement on the following day. It was very tiring and I'm glad its all over. However, things does not stop here. We found out that my son's buttock had bad nappy rash which SCN did not even know or alert us. Without hesistating, we brought him to see a GP. After applying the anti-fungus cream for several days, the nappy rash is almost gone. *phew* As my twins have slight jaundice, KKH asked us to bring them to polyclinic. The jaundice level was climbing up on the 2nd appointment. After hearing advices from some mummy friends, we decided to bring them for morning sunbath for 5mins. Fortunately, the jaundice level dropped quite a fair bit and there's no follow-up appointment anymore.

Sometimes I wld miss those days when they are in my tummy, as least I can have proper and peaceful rest at night. Do enjoy yourself now while your babies are still inside.

hahaha....my girl is one of those end up zzzzzzzzzzzz in our bed. when she reached 2yo i managed to move her to her own super single bed. so cot is white elephant now.
at least i still can hope that #2 will use the cot.

Singapoh
thanks for sharing. Was thinking maybe have a playpen next time can use it for it while when the twins are older. How do u decide who goes to IFC if u decides too? Next time if they found out, they will say " Not Fair !!!" Haha....but guess no choice la

I did think of sending one twin to a babysitter if i cant cope. Which twin? Maybe draw lots hee..

Nancy,

Playpen is useful to keep them inside while u got to do something very quickly like showering, cooking, etc.

I chose my son coz he fuss a lot. And I thought if I send him, MIL would offer to help coz she prefers boys and it happened! Oops.. Haha..

Grumpus,

My son zzz with us for more than 2 years. When we moved house, I put him in his own room from day 1. I decorated his room. He loves his room

Bliss,
Thanks for your compliments
me not any model or beauty queen. Im just a normal woman who work in an office. I also have my "auntie" side. Btw, managed to add a few of them in fb. Wow, all the babies are so cute. Mine are e oldest among our batch. I miss their baby stage.

Nancy,
U really reminded me that dr cheng always ask "question"? Me and my hb also same same. Look at each other dont know what to ask. Btw, enjoy while babies are still in ur tummy. I missed it. When i was from 32 weeks onwards o felt so heavy and breathless. Hoping them to come out soon. Spend time dating. U will be very sleep deprived And no time for hb when they are out. But of cos u will enjoy motherhood too. Btw, check wf u, ur this pregnancy is fet right? Natural or medicated?

Thanks Nancy and Skies for all the advice! Yeah, I think I will try to 'tahan' and not go so often if everything is ok.

Yeah, exactly! Dr Cheng's standard question... any questions?? For me, its usually when we first go into his room. He will start with how are you? and then any questions? and if none, its ok... let's see your babies! Before each appt, I will note down my questions in my mobile phone, then when I go in, I bombard him with them
Usually its things which I read abt on the internet. I think soon, he will ban me from surfing internet!!

Singapoh, u r right. my gf's boy starting climbing out of the playpen at 18 mths! haha.. he climb up, and got stuck....started crying for help...hehe... gave everyone a scare.

hmmm..u can bear to separate ur twins ah? hmm... my mil wanted suggested to me if she can bring one of the babies home to look after in her house... i told her NO... :p

working wife, seems like once every 4 weeks is quite normal until reach certain number of weeks... my appts now also once a mth....wait until my neck long long...kekeke.. luckily still can pop by CARE for quick scans just to say hello to babies...