IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

skies
Tell him how u feel abt his friends. Let him know that the first few month especially the first few weeks U need him to be there

Also tell him post natal blues do exist and U will need all the support from him as u may feel out of place staying with ur in laws during that period. Share stories with him on a light mode like while u all driving or preparing to zzz.

I got 2 gf with post natal blues last time. One went after her CL with a knife and the other wanted to throw her cry non stop baby out of the window. I tell my hubby such cases and tell him if i really cannot cope, we DO need a helper. I have to mentally prepare him first.

Yes going for the TMC one. Starting 5/9 since dr recommend that i go attend. Did u?

nancy,

Will talk to him soon..

Wow.. Yr gfs seems quite serious but I cant comment much la. Only hope I wont b a serious case. My gf did have abit of post natal blues and she flare at her ILs.

Nope. I didnt go for any coz my hb says he got no time and I dont want to go alone. To him, Im d one who needs d learning n he dont coz he helped to take care of his cousin when he was younger.

Just faith,

I heard some return 4 months after delivery for FET but u hv to stop bf first.

Yck,

I used 2 frozen embies to thaw 2. Left with 9 frozen and I just signed consent letter to discard them.

baby, not crowded when i went on sun noon time...

its until 22 Aug.. hmm..not say alot of bb essentials....and mostly pureen brand..but i managed to get some of the items tht i still need or hv not bought. the bb detergent for pureen comes in two types.. one for NB use.and one for 6 mths and above... both r with softener.. so no need to separately buy another bottle of softener...

if u need to buy lingerie, can go...n also beddings and toiletries.. me, hb and sil spent 2 hrs there...

skies, yeah.. agree... i told my hb about my concerns... he ask me not to worry about it... just focus on growing the babies now... coz my change in mood will affect them... so u try to relax too.. if really bothers u alot, talk to ur hb n tell him ur concern ....coz many a times, guys can be quite "lost" in how we are feeling.

many a times when i cannot communicate w my mil, i tell my hb to talk to her... she will listen to her son more than me obviously....

I was packing away some clothes that's too small for me now. May i know abt when can i fit into pre-pregnancy clothes after baby is born?

Hi girls, did anyone saw the baby mattress with coconut husk at taka babyfair? What do u think as compared to the usual foam mattress for bb? I went taka fair just now after work, hubby wants to look at baby cots and stroller. Saw this 4 in 1 bed and they are giving the coconut husk mattress....wonder how is this compared to foam mattress.

Pandawife/Baby what kind of mattress did you buy for bbs?

Nancy...i have put all my pre-pregnancy clothes into boxes...also wonder when i can fit into them again. ha ha ha.

Today someone in another office asked my colleague whether i have put on alot of weight or i am expecting. =S

Panda
The pureen brand where else can get? The price at expo v cheap compare to outside?

Gan
I hvt buy baby cot yet.. I also duno whether need to buy a better mattress not.. Cos most cot comes with the foam mattress..
What size u buying for the cot.. I intend to buy the smaller form.. Cos big one take up alot of space.. Somemore i need two cots..

Baby, most probably buying the standard size cot...i think dimension is 52inch by 28 inch. Saw it at taka fair just now. There is a smaller size one 50 inch by 25 inch.

Will u let bb share cots for the first few months?

There is a pureen shop in kkh. I can help u check the price of detergent when i go for my scan this sat

Gan, i bought the 6 in 1 from bb kingdom.. it comes w a mattress..but i top up $20 for one tht has holes for better ventilation. this cot is bigger sized than the ones i saw at taka fair. wanted something that can last longer as the babies grow...

baby, haha..i din really compare price.. happen to wanna go n buy my own toiletries.. and saw the bb products there... n there is a pureen sales person who was very helpful to explain the different products...i tink most of the items are about 20% off usual price, plus every $50 spend for robinsons card holder, will get additional $5 off.

i oso saw pureen products at metro before...bb kingdom too, but not full range...

nancy, i vacuum packed all my pre pregnancy clothes and kept them to make space for the maternity wear...

Gan
Think i saw the cot too. They giving the winnie the pooh coconut husk set is it? I have yet to decide on a cot. My sister in law is getting the canteburry 4 in 1 sold in OG and BHG. Anyone seen that ?

Guess like baby says i will buy a smaller one since i may need 2 in future. In the first few months can put 2 babies together

Pandawife
Wow, u vacuum packed ur pre-pregnancy clothes
So organised
Make space for maternity wear ....do we need a lot of them? Cause i have yet to buy any maternity wear. Wonder if my exisiting dresses can last till i deliver? Haha...

nancy,
i didn't even pack away my pre pregnancy clothes for the whole of my last pregnancy. i only clear one shelf for my maternity clothes...that's how few maternity clothes i have...haha...
actually after i delivered #1, i could fit into my pre pregnancy clothes after abt 4-5 mths, in fact by the time my bb was 8 mths i was even smaller than before pregnancy due to breastfeeding.
BUT i could not fit into my old bras anymore even after stopping bf.

After I delivered, I lost half the weight (6kg) I lost the rest in 18 days. Can wear regular clothes liao but chest area and belly a bit tight when I wear my old uniform :p

grumpus
4-5 months so after give birth still need the maternity clothes i guess. Hm......wow so ur breasts are bigger than pre- pregnancy la
Hee....I dun mind cause I started with cup A/B

nancy, yeah..coz my wardrobe was already super packed b4 pregnancy...so totally no more space..hv to vacuum pack.

i din buy any maternity clothes...2 of my gfs pass me like 50plus pics of dresses, tops n bottoms.. hopefully i dun need to buy more..
i hv some bb doll dresses tht i can still wear, but getting challenging at the bust area.. maternity wear is definitely more comfortable...

nancy,
no lah i didn't wear maternity clothes until 4-5 mths but had to wear 'bigger' clothes. like singapoh said, mainly cos of the tummy area. so i had to wear my 'fat' pants rather than my 'skinny' pants lor, if u know what i mean.

singapoh,
Hi5! breastfeeding really the best way to lose weight and to gradually cut down on the appetite also. i know a lot of ladies who didn't breastfeed hv probs losing weight after delivery partly cos their appetite is still like during pregnancy time.

i also dun like nursing bras! agree very leceh. this time round i'm looking for all the type that can pull aside one rather than unclip type.

Pandawife,
there are maternity ones, but i bought normal ones in bigger size. got mine from OG, lingerie auntie there say sure can wear after delivery. they've got a good variety of different size and quality, can go check out and see if anything suits u.

Panda wife,
I bought maternity ones cos they have more allowance for the tummy. Get those cotton cloth type as more comfy than the paper ones. I bought mine from JL expo sale last time.

The mattress with coconut husk is supposed to be more cooling than latex type. But I am worried about bugs though they said it's specially treated. So i got a latex one instead.

Grumpus,

For me is the other way round. My appetite was bad to normal during preggy.

After delivery, appetite damn freaking good. Always hungry in the first few weeks coz of bf. I am eating for 3 now. Haha..

Lose weight and eating more at the same time. How often can we do that?

Panda,

I wore my regular Lycra panties all the way, wear bellow my huge belly.

At night I wore aunty panty from CK. I think 1 for $1. Cheap cheap. Keke..

Panda,

I keep thinking of disposable maternity and after delivery type. Haa.. Actually the same thing.

I bought mine from KKH. wore them for few weeks till no more bleeding/staining

hazel
Will consider your suggestion on Hokkaido, saw a docu few days ago, its so green, serene and beautiful. Hook on Japan already.

nancy
Agree with Singapoh, bf loose weight very fast one, no need to exercise. Within one month I was back to my pre-preggy weight. I also didn't have much maternity wear. Only 2 piece of top and 1 pants, then also bought by my mum as I was wearing normal clothes throughout and she thought it was uncomfortable. I also didn't like the looks of maternity bra and undies, so just use the normal type.

Singapoh,
me too. throughout whole pregnancy just wore my normal panties below the belly.
now u will find yr appetite very good and yes is damn shiok to be able to eat as much as u want and still lose weight...hehehe

at one pt i lost so much weight that my mum was trying to fatten me up!!

cos after abt 6 mths i found my appetite also slowly decrease. by the time i wean my girl off my appetite was back to normal already i just didn't feel as hungry anymore.

Grumpus,

My MIL said I look so skinny now but I am back to my pre preggy weight, not any lighter.

Yeah eat without guilt. Ha...one of the reasons why must bf besides all the benefits to us and babies.

Hazel, thanks too for e info. Consider next year... Kekeke.

Ladies, just an update on myself. My baby not ready to come out, so inducing this fri... Not sure if bb will be born on same day as Bakaholic's. ;-) Bakaholic, must update me k, so I can go visit u & baby.

Stb, I recall ur labour quite long. Admit but deliver next day right? Do u also need to be admitted at 530am??

My friend said want to visit me in delivery ward before I give birth - is this possible??

DES, I admit on sat morning to induce but only go into labor on mon wee hours... U 40 wks Liao? I was only 38 n 1/2 wks n I guess bb really not ready then which is y I took tt long to bring my son to this world

Des,
Yah, me going in on Fri. So our kids having same bday.

Where are you giving birth? Me at tmc. I have to admit btw 7-8 and the procdure will take place at noon.

Bubbybear,
Hokkaido is nice and scenic. We diy our trip and we had a bit of tough time cos their english language is quite bad. It's very different compared to mainland Japan. But we managed to find our way and drove around.
If you doing diy, make sure you rent a car with English GPS and do lots of homework on the driving distance and itineary cos some places, the speed limit is different and it's hard to drive when it's dark.
Alternatively, you can go on a package tour. My mil went on a tour by ANA travel and she had a great time.

Des,
I hope you have a smooth delivery this fri! Are u having C-section with epidural?

Bbhp,
How are you now? Are the babies home now? I hope both u and the bbs are doing well ;)

Singapoh,
How I envy you, can go back to your pre pregnancy weight so soon. I'm the type who gain weight easily but difficult to lose weight.

Soon to be, yes, 40 wks tmr.
So, u admit at 530am also? And in e end, still manage to give birth to Alvis naturally right?
Sorry, stb, can I also ask - after e prostin insert, when does Dr Loh burst e water bag? And how many prostin inserts did u have?

Bakaholic, oops, thot u at KKH.

Bing, Bakaholic's gng for C sect while I'm still hoping for natural.. Dun know can or not..

Bubbybear, me & my hubby dun speak Japanese at all n the GPS in the car also on jap. But the pictorial on the GPS was gd! We nv drive at night either. We reached the hotel everyday by 5pm latest. The UOB travel agent did the f&e route for us, so we nv did any homework at all. There us anther agent that offer this. U can check out UOB travel website. All the routes n prices r posted there.

Is a breeze n no prob too despite the language barrier.

I missed Japan! Few yrs back me and dh travelled in Osaka ourselves, taking train. I planned A to Z before I left Singapore. I also have Japanese friends there. Met up for 1 day and they brought us to Kobe. Very nice holiday and cheaper. Prefer to travel our own time and target

If u are in Japan and u need to ask something and the person doesn't seem to understand u, write on a piece of paper! They are better in written than spoken English. Very helpful people

Bing,

I am not those who slim down fast type but this pregnancy, I lost weight fast in pregnancy and after giving birth.

I looked slimmer during pregnancy. Only my belly was growing fast. Keke...

Singapoh, yes u r right! Japanese are very very nice. We showed a passerby the car rental co which we were picking up our car, he walked us to the plc. First day, we hv no car, so we took train from airport to town. Too lazy to find where our hotel was, so, we showed a passerby the hotel we were staying n she walked us there too! So easy!

Despondent, stb had c-section in the end coz she was unable to be fully dilated after so many hrs. The insert will diliate the cervix, every few hrs one, until the cervix is fully dilated to 10cm. So, it really depends on indiv how many inserts is needed. Dr loh will only burst waterbag when u r ready.

DES, I admit at 930. They only broke my water bag on sun 3pm coz dr loh was away on sat n only got back on sun afternoon. I only hv 1 insert

Hazel, ur memory v gd leh..

Stb, huh? U admit only at 9+am? I wonder y mine was scheduled so so early... Btw, I read that e insert supposed to be given every 6 hours leh... Maybe that's e reason why u can't be fully dilated? I v worried now coz Dr Loh didn't tell me anything and I couldn't rmbr to ask today. Thot what I read is what will be practiced by him too... Oh dear..

Stb, how many days did u stay in total? And how much was your bill, and your chosen package is Premier A1?

My gf also went thru inducing, but by another doc at Mt A. Her procedure was v v different. Her doc induce her by bursting her water bag which I cld understand that Dr Loh wld not choose to do so for safety reasons. She was admitted at 9+am too and delivered at 4pm.

des,
it's diff for everyone. i admitted at 9am to be induced, actual contraction pains started ard 6pm-ish, 5cm dilated to 10cm in the last 30mins, my gal was out slightly before 11pm. bad contraction pain lasted ard 1.5hrs.

both my SILs had more than 10hrs of contraction pains for the 5 kids btw the 2 of them, max was close to 20hrs. $500 of epi was very worth for them