IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh,
yes i remember! yr son is very well trained
i'm just happy to get my girl out of my bed and into her own bed.
one step at a time.....

vi, thanks! i sign up for the class tht is starting 11 sept...coz suppose to start after 20 weeks.. anyway..thts the earliest availbable wkend class....

sil working in philips..can get 40% off their products during the june/dec staff sales..so i tink its more worth..my babies are due in dec..so just nice to stock up then.....

nancy, i digest with one fresh orange every night...if not i cannot sleep! n before sleeping must drink 1 cup of milk..if not will wake up at 4-5am super hungry!

u can get the pigeon products too... the wipes, tummy binders, little mittens n booties.... at 20% off, ok to buy...i even bought their nail clipper, nose cleaner n pacificer...:p

there is another higher priced avent monitor tht is on sale at kiddy palace... usual price $299, now selling at $149/159....cant recall the exact price....

baby, i cant wait for detailed scan leh! hehehehe.. meeting angela this thur for chit chat to ask her some qns...so tempted to ask her scan again to try and "spot the gender" ....hahaha... abit pai seh.. but hb says nevermind, just ask her to scan...:p

Baby
Oh the monitor sounds interesting but didnt see it. Will check out if i go again. Our delivery dates are pretty close. Hope can carry the twins till at least a good 34 weeks

Too lazy to test but need to register the products for warranty online. And remember to keep the receipts. www.philips.com.sg/familyrewards

Pandawife
wow so lucky got sil working in philips. Sometimes i also feel hungry in the middle of the night hee...wonder why
will check out the pigeon products

Nancy
Didnt really test out the monitor.. Only get it based on what the lady says.. Cos Already intend to get one.. So saw avent and get it..

Oh need to register waranty online ah.. I didnt know..

I bout quite alot frm pigeon... Wet wipes.. I bout a carton since on promo.. Cos i know will use alot of these wipes esp when i have two bbs.. I also bout powder.. Normal and medicated.. Cotton balls.. Ear buds.. Waterproof cover for baby cots.. All frm pigeon.. And also bottle detergent..

But hvt buy laundry detergent yet.. Thinking of getting kodomo brand.. Heard it smell quite nice..

Baby shampoo and wash may get frm watson.. Those organic baby pdts.. Not sure how much it cost..

Panda
Haha i also cant wait for the detailed scan to find out the genders so that i can start to buy them clothes..
Yrs not so crucial la.. Cos u aldy have a boy and a gal.. The other doesnt matter la.. Hee.. U wish for two gals or boys?

re: pigeon breast pads & wet wipes
dun nid to get frm taka. same price as ntuc.
if stay near amk, can get frm bb shop near polyclinic. it's cheaper thr

Baby
Wow, what a shopping spree
Just realise my bundle has a advent baby body and hair wash inside. Blur , dun even know what i buying. Ya, need to register online. Keep receipt remember. I also expecting twins like you. What is ur taking care of babies plan?

My hubby dun like maid at home so cant help wondering if i can cope since i first time mum. If i cant cope thinking of giving them formula instead of BF but that makes me a bad mum hor.

When i discuss with my hubby sometimes, he says i think too much.

hi tickles
thks for sharing. gd idea to trial and error on the babywipes. for diapers-i'm thinking of using cloth diaper, very ambitious hor, hope can cope with the washing...hahha
looking for disposable breast pads also - i heard pigeon is the cheapest. have you tried?

pandawife
im due in december, looks like either i buy now or got to wait till mar. besides taka babyfair, do u knw if there are otr babyfairs? tks

Nancy
I will be getting a maid.. Thou i hate having stranger ard but no choice.. Dont think i can cope alone..
Will u have any help? Like yr mother or mil? If have then maybe u wont need a maid..
I need the maid to helpout in hsewk and those not related to taking care of bbs directly.. But will need help in maybe preparing bath water.. Washing of bottles etc..

I will definetely try out bf.. Cos once u miss it.. No chance to have it back.. I hope to able to latch bbs directly instead of pumping.. I hope to have the bond and closeness.. Somemore bf can let us shed those excess weight! U may wana consider bfing..

Des,
Your case is similar to Vi4n's. Both bbs find it too comfy inside the womb and refuse to come out

I wish my bbs can stay as long as possible inside me and pop only after 36 weeks.

My friend is going to give me her cot and I've bought another playpen. Neither the cot nor the playpen can fit into my master bedroom too. And my room is far away from other bedrooms where we intend to put the cot. My hubby and I decided to put the playpen just ouside our room so that we can do night feeding.

Did you manage to find a suitable crib today?
Oh did Dr Loh give you HL or you are using your ML? My hubby asked Dr Loh when should I start resting at home and he said that everything's fine for me and I can continue to work for a while more.

Vi4n,
I bought 4 pyjamas with front openings from Robinsons yesterday. A mixture of 1-piece and 2-piece.
Baby Leanne really loves to swim huh? Why don't you get a portable baby pool for her so that she can play at home? My friend just passed me one. She got it from BP after she found that her bb loves to swim.

Baby
Ya, the maid will do the housework and we concentrate looking after the babies. Mil and mum can help but they dun stay near and also heartpain make them travel here. Guess if i insist, my hubby will give in to a maid lor.

I will sure try BF first cause it's an experience plus all the benefits of bonding like u said and nutrients and the list goes on.....

thanks for sharing...

Ya, my case similar to Vi.. But I really din want a c sect.. I'm so thankful I got no strechmarks, so if c..., quite wasted right?? 

Btw, Bing, I just started my ML. Dr Loh won't give HL one I think , except for those carrying multiples. I found quite a suitable crib but website say until 3 mths old while salesgal say until 5 mths old. So really in a dilemma whether to buy. Alternative is to put playpen in my room but outside my bathroom (kind of block passage way). Sigh.. I dun I dun know. Shd I buy or not buy?

If to put playpen into my room, think got to dismantle & re set up coz can't go thru e door.. But to have to spend a few hundred for just a few mths, worth it not? Some more e mattress in e crib is thin thin type, maybe half an inch only... *sulk*

Bing, go my fb to see the reason why I don't get the plastic bb pool ha ha.. ;)

des, since dr loh already suggested induce then don't thinknu need c sect unless ur case also like stb ha ha..
But c sect now the wound is in bikini line, with my fat I don't even see the line

btw can get the bb chair for bb to sleep in your room if u have limited space. My room can't fit in bb cot or playpen. I used combi bb chair. N once bb outgrow it, it can be use as high chair. It can be used up to 4yrs old depending on your bb size.
If u have those motherhood or baby & me magazine u can see that model. If not go taising website.

Side track, I'm helping 1 mommy to ask anyone interested to get preloved medela PISA warranty until next year May. Anyone can PM me so I can refer you to that mommy.

Btw re: pigeon wipes u can get 6 for $19.50 almost everywhere like kiddy, Tom & Stephanie.
For breastpad now kiddy no promo, tom n stephanie n robinsons also 60+12 @$13.90. But remember for robinsons card got further 5% disc.

Ladies, do your homework ;) compare prices before u buy in batch.

what I do last time is I will go to all these places n jot down the prices of each item. So u will see me walking around with my iPhone on hands ;)

Pandawife, are u sure Phillip has avent stuff like lotion n soap? From what I know only teats n hardware kind. But of course if really have then good for u.
If not also u can always ask her to get teats ;)

vi, yup..they have.. coz she already pass me some of the mother n bb skin care.. but dun hv the body and hair wash. and i just sms her last night to check if the 40% discount applies for skincare. keke.. kiasu abit...:p

how often does teats needs to be changed? i m abit confused coz their teats comes in various sizes.. does it mean i need to get some of each sizes? so far i only got 4 125ml 0 month teats bottles... sil ask me not to buy too many coz need to change to bigger ones quite fast... so in dec i shld b buying 260ml bottles....

baby, hehe.. still curious to know 3rd bb is boy or ger..now when i talk to them, i call them boys n gers...hahaha.... hb oso gan chiong, wanna know... he prefers 2 boys.. my mum prefers 2 gers...keke...

care told me if i hv 2 boys 1 ger, i break their long standing record, coz so far their triplets is always 2 gers 1 boy.

the komodo detergent, u hv to use the softener separately.. troublesome.. i bought pureen..which is 2 in 1. my gf recommend this...one of the few brands tht has 2 in 1.

i din buy very much wipes..coz some babies can get rash from using wipes too! gf told me best is to clean bb with water and cotton when changing nappy.... so we will do tht ... wipes for going out use...

happyhippo, i m also due in dec...do most of the essential shopping now...

my gf told me the piegeon breastpad is very comfortable, highly recommended. i will be popping by the amk shop to buy the pads when i go for the pre natal classes at amk hub....

baby, oh i just remember smthing, be careful when using powder on babies. not good for them to breathe in the powder ...

i hv not bought...coz i worry my parents n mil will start puffing the powder when using on the babies ....so was thinking maybe no need to use powder...

Panda there is liquid talc which I will be using for my gal. If I remember correctly mothercare sell that coz went with gf long time ago to buy
recentli I got a sample of kodomo lotion powder when I bot the motherhood mag

Panda,
the teats have a guideline, 0+ mths, 1+ mths etc...
that's for avent teats. but all teats hv guidelines like S for 0-3 mths etc....
u need to change teats every 2-3 mths or once they become soft and discoloured.
as for bigger size bottles, depends on how big drinkers yr bbs are. if yr bbs are on bm, they usually dun drink as much in volume cos the nutrients in the bm will change according to yr bbs age. usually fm fed bbs then tend to drink more and more.

my girl was a super small drinker and was still drinking from the small bottles up to abt 8 mths. i suggest u dun buy the big bottles first, just in case yr bbs dun like avent. the small bottles will last u at least 3 if not 6 mths.

oh and i didn't use wet wipes to clean my bb bum at home too. just use plain water and cotton. actually dun find the cotton balls useful, too small. ended up using those square facial cotton.
if it's those really wet and yucky poo i also just hold her over the sink and wash with running water like Singapoh, then just use her bath towel to pat dry.

grumpus, thanks for the advise. this bottles thingy is very confusing. i suppose hv to try out first..otherwise will not know.

wanna ask u about the cloth nappies.. did u use those protective pants over the cloth nappy huh? or just the nappy with the snap pins?

grumpus, how about powder? did u use it on baby?

i din buy cotton balls...bought those tht comes in a roll instead... dunno if it will be a hassle to use...

panda,
haha ya, some things better dun stock up too much cos it will be trial and error when the bbs are born. u can slowly buy as u go along, gives u an excuse to go out for awhile with the bbs too.
before bb can crawl dun need to use those protective pants, but on the cot i lay a thin waterproof changing mat so that her pee dun soak into the mattress. when they start crawling then u can consider using those pants cos otherwise they leave wet patch everywhere. but i also didn't use cos everytime my girl pee i change straight away, plus those protective pants are quite hot!

i didn't use any powder on my girl, not until recently cos powder is really quite bad for the nose. even i sneeze everytime there's powder around.
for bb, less is more. i just used a thin layer of diaper cream after her bath. in between nappy changes i dun even use any cos if u use cloth nappy will not get rashes one so it's overkill

hmmmmm.... i bought some of the protective pants.. coz the sales lady told me no need pins or snaps..just wear the protective pants...so i was wondering how many of it i will need....

i bought the pigeon rubber changing mat...so cannot be used for this purpose... the waterproof changing mat u use is big enuff to spread the whole cot? *scratch head*

one more qn... u use nappy liners w the cloth nappies rite? is the a difference in the various brands? or it doesnt really matter? i bought pigeon and also a cheaper brand called anakku ..

panda,
i hv the pigeon rubber mat too, it can be used but problem is it has like bubble cushioning so if bb lie on it they won't be lying flat cos i only place the rubber mat on the butt area. no need to cover the whole cot lah, newborn bbs sleep in one position only. the same thin changing mat i fold up and pack with me in my diaper bag when i go out.

as for nappy liners i used all the various brands before. dun find any distinct difference so i just stuck to the cheapest which is anakku. only thing is anakku comes in one flat pc so u need to fold in half first then place on the nappy. whereas pigeon one already come pre folded. but is not a big deal lah...

grumpus, cool! ok..then i can stock up more anakku... coz i was tinking will use the liners quite heavily... i only bought 2 boxes of pigeon n 2 boxes of anakku... which probably cant even last 1 mth..hahahah.....

oh yeah..i forgot new born will not turn...but i will still need to cover half the cot...coz i putting 3 babies in one cot for a start....

Panda,

Great to share

Babies dun need powder. It's bad for their lungs.

The CL used dry tissue paper then wet wipes to wipe after pooping. I think that caused my son to have red and swollen skin at the anus area! I used nappy rash cream and it didn't heal. Then I used aloe Vera gel. Could see improvement everyday. Slowly heal but effective.

Nancy,
So far, I saw the maxi cosi new born basket type of car seat those can use tgt with the quinny stroller type (0m - 1 year). Or maybe I'll get this china brand baby car seat. Also use from 0m - 1 year. The material and quantity looks qute ok also. And its only $69 at the baby hypermart. Was thinking of either one. Cos I already have a 9m -4years car seat. So I tot just buy those new born basket type of car seat and can switch when my #2 turns 9m.. If you're looking at maxi cosi new born car seats. I saw a lot at the baby hypermart. U can go there and see. There are also many other brands there too.

As for steriliser, u buy so early arh? Meaning the warranty will also start early leh.. Should have bought when u're nearer to EDD, else warranty very bo hua. Anyway, u can test the steriliser and warmer nearer to your due date. Its ok de..

Singapoh,
Wa.. How did u train your boy to slp alone? My girl is more timid. Dun think she dare to slp herself in the room. BUt anyway, I will need to pack up the room b4 I can convert the room to be her future bed room..

Happyhippo,
I think even if u are using cloth diapers, maybe still stand by 1 packet of disposables just in case. Esp ight time, better to use disposables so that u got more time to rest.

tickles, since u brought up disposables.. hehe.. i wanna ask which brand is good... :p

this is another confusion... n i read also depends on babies right??

my cousin passed me a pack of NB huggies.. i heard hospital will also give a pack.. i suppose i will need to also buy some to standby.......
*scratch head again*..hahahahahah

Panda,
My choice is def pampers. Keke! Huggies new born I never use b4.. I know I find drypers a bit small. Huggies S size I use before, I find the cutting a bit like bikini cut at the side. So I still prefer Pampers. Oh, when i use Pampers for my girl, no rash, use drypers will have rash. But my frens who use Drypers, they find it ok too. Depends on individual. I think hor, just get 1 packet of new born to stand by. Cos hospital def will give 1 pkt too. By the time u finish, can promote to using S size le..

Panda,

I also put water proof mat under the bedsheet. There are sizes to choose from.

U will need a lot a lot of nb diaper! They poop and pee whole day especially bf bbs. My gal wore nb born size until she was about 8 weeks old.