IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Gan,
Act lor.. For what items to buy, u can go isetan, childres/ baby dept and tell any stuff u want the list of items to get for new born. They will give u a list. Consist of what u need to buy and the quantities. Also gt a list of things for mummies to buy for herself for post delivery. I find that quite useful. But then that list, the quantity to get is for singleton, but mummies with multiples can also get them for ref on what to buy. Of cos somethings, I see liao I also feel its not really necessary la..

tickles i just shifted home, so when they were fixing our new bed and shifting mattress...i was not around. Both MIL and confinement lady asked me to stay away when they do the shifting

Tickles,
hb can move the bed when u're not ard.
how u manage to assemble the new bed ah? also not supposed to do when preggie.

Tickles,

Better stay away when things are being moved to avoid injuries. Not being pantang or what.

I moved when I was 34 weeks preggy. House still under reno. Everyday drilling :S

Grumpus, Gan
Hubby say he will assemble the bed when I'm not ard.. When u say I must not be ard. Do I need to stay outside the house or just maybe stay at the living room while they do it in the bedroom which is on level 3? Just want to be sure.. Cos hubby say better be pantang given my condition. He dun want anything to happen then regret.

Singapoh,
So u mean you are staying at your new place liao and house still under reno. everyday gt drilling?

Tickles, Tat is wat the old folks believe. Not just bed, all furniture in your bed room shld not be moved. Also, they Aldo believe cannot set up new bb cott until bb is born. End of the day is whether u believe. Singapoh shifted house when she was pregnant also, which is a no no to old folks.

Live, 1st attempt at ivf also ah?

Hazel,
oh cannot set up baby cot till baby born arh.. Opps, I didnt know. My #1, when the delivery guys deliver the new cot, I still stand beside them and see them do it. Lucky nothing happens man.. Phew..

But for this pregnancy like always not very stable so my hubby say better be careful.. Thats why I'm asking u girls..

tickles thanks for telling me abt isetan, will ask them for the list for a start. I was shopping when they were shifting.

tickles,
when i bought the cot for #1, the delivery guy told me to wait outside the room, didn't ask me to leave the hse.
so i guess u stay in the living room can already.

tickles...my mum says cannot move the bed at all leh....mine is storage bed...she dun even allow us to lift up the mattress to get the things stored inside...she ask me go buy new ones if need to use....

this is one thing she v v insistent...she says dun take the risk.

panda noone tells me abt the no no in shifting....we sold our flat just before i started my FET. Was joking with my hubby maybe after we sell our flat, i get pregnant. Interestingly first 3 weeks pple came and view...no good offer. I got worried coz starting ET soon...and who knows the sunday before my ET, this lady came and 10min made an offer. Still remember i was at dr zou being poke when agent called.

Only when we r to shift, i was told not to be around when they do the bed etc

Panda
Baby hypemark and kingdom is it located at the same building? Cos the address is the same at shun li ind park...

Btw which hdb area sells bbs clothes? Amk area have?

baby,
baby hypermart and kingdom are just next door to each other. when u get to that area u can't miss it.

amk or toa payoh hv bb clothes.

Talking about shifting of furniture..

All along I tot I couldnt shift d bed or be at home when there is drilling to be done. I did not know that we couldn't shift any furniture at all until recently. But during this period, we were shifting my sofa here n there coz we needed some space in d living room for MJ session and when I was doing some housework.. Even now I am still shifting my sofa. Juz crossing my fingers that nothing will happen.

Tickles, if u want to be extra careful n pantang for this pregnancy, I propose u don't move anything in ur room as far as possible until u deliver. Be it u around or not around.

On hingh sight, I shld hv guai guai stayed in spore when I was pregnant. I thought after 1st trimseter is safe... Well, some sisters will tell me if it is meant to happen it will even if I m in spore. But if I m in spore n unfortunate happen I wun keep thinking what IF I nv travel I may not lose my girl right?

So, be on the most prudence side. Since Every one is different. Some r more blessed, some hv 贵人 to help. There were drilling in my bro's new house last time but my sil dun believe n went still. At the door step b4 entering she experienced pain n quickly left. N pain stopped miraclly. We said she had 贵人. But me, I experienced discomfort too one day when I was overseas.... But I no 贵人. If I had I wld hv said some prayers n maybe my girl will be fine? Well... I will nv know.. I only know next pregnancy I will stay put here n listen more to the old folks... Dun wan to ask asking me 'wat if' again when things happen...

Oh no, later the air con people are coming to do the usual routine cleaning.
Hubby usually will lift up the mattress to lean it against the wall so that the water would not drip... if the mattress cant be shifted...how?
Just last week, my hubby changed bedsheet and he shifted the bed...he always shifted the bed so that it's more "even"... but i was not in the master room though...

*worried*

Bing, I'm kiasu type n I don't wanna sterilise so often on the same things, so I have n used 7 125ml bottles, at least 30 storage bottles. He he he.. I have 7 medela pumping heads now. ;)

Old folks believe in alot of stuff we youngsters think is supersitious. But end of the day like pink-destiny said we will regret is something were to happen.. M a gd eg

Stuff Like drilling, painting, etc, may not hurt the bb, but old folks say tt may affect bb's physical features. Eg, born with a birth mark on face.

So, just listen for the sake of bb if it does not require too much efforts from us. My HOD told me he nv buy any bb stuff until his wife is near to delivery. He said he is just being prudent as anything can happen along the way. He n his wfe tried veey hard for a bb n bb came only after 7 yrs of trying. He said wife tummy too big he can go & buy coz prior to tt has done window shopping. He said in spore as long as u hv money, 1 trip can settle all.. Well he said was true..

BB rabit: After i saw the thread, I have decided to ask the air con ppl not to come!!
Better play safe man...coz our babies are super precious!!

bb rabbit..i hv curtains..bedsheets n maternity wear in there...hahaha....bobian...all get new ones lor...i treat it i do advanced cny shopping..keke...coz my mum v serious n stern when she told me cannot lift the mattress....

hazel: I agreed. MY grandma told me a horror story that one of her friend's daughter always liked to test pen ink by scribbling on her palm on her palm... and her baby was born with a birth mark...
My grandfather was drilling a hole to hang a picture and my uncle was born with a hole in his ear. Serious!

We are educated and we laugh at superstition. But at the end of the day, knowing how much heart pain we went throug to conceive, we better subscribe to these "beliefs" and adage than regret.
A question to ask is "can i forgive myself later if sthg happen". Hence it is always gd to be prudent.
The funny part is im Christian...and i ridicule such things...but now I am very cautious. When we know sthg we've better learnt not avoid, rather than laugh and dismiss than regret.
Just my 2 cents worth.

Pink-D/Hazel/Panada- I decided to do the same as well. The last time i open the bed was during 2ww, 2w, after i tested BPF taking my nephew bed out. Hope all will be fine. Jus called my hubby and said we go buy new bedsheet and quit, he agreed. Our little one does not come easy. I will not move anything in my bedroom for the next 8-9mths

BB rabit: I was also trying to contact hubby to ask air con staff not to come...
heee... i guess our rationale here is "play safe". Thats the safest bet!

Pink-D - that is the same thing my hubby ask me " can i forgive myself if sthg happen". Not just to belief but also to taking leave now to rest. I said i feel gulity to leave all the work to my boss now since it is FY reporting. He ask me tt.

Pink destiny, my hubby is a catholic. He nv believe in all these nonsense. But after my m/c, he told me next time guai guai listen...

hazel: Hubby and me catholics too... actually hor some catholics also quite pantang la..hee...
U know I went for a wake after my ER and I regretted? I was soooo scared...kept praying...and even took the red string although I did not know what that was for. Play safe lor... heee....
Now I pray every night but also exercise caution.

BB rabit: I believe we can function better at work when we are at our best.
I extended my leave just to rest for the 1st tri.
Financially it is not easy coz too used to two persons' salaries..but then we alr spent so much on the babies...and what abt the psycho-emotional turmoil that money cannot compensate?
Hence now im quite kiasu. Anything im not sure i call my aged ah ma for advice...heee...

Pink-D - I want to but after thinking 'cos i m sitting down most of the time. The onli worry is climbing up 2 flight of stair to the washroom. Iprefer to take leave toward the 3rd tri as i m abit heavier, more prone to pelvic pain. Which i am already suffering from now. for now, i just relax at work, taking cab daily, taking leave whenever i feel tired

Hazel: Thank thanks for the advise. Erm.. After hearing so much. I guess I better be guai too.. Will let hubby know tonight when I get back see what he say abt getting my girl used to not slping in the cot 1st. Cos we dun want her to think that mei mei comes along and snatch her baby cot.

When I first moved in, my house still under reno. Everyday drilling. Now of coz finished liao.

When I was preggy #1, my fridge spoil. Fridge company loaned a fridge to me and took mine away. My MIL said should wait till I give birth but fridge spoil how to wait???

Hazel: no, this is my 4th attempt and both hb and I think it is the gift from God. After I join my hb go to church from this year,we pray together.

PD: I think air-con services is ok, because no drilling and you can just stay living area. What you need to do is just to cover your bed in case you worry water dripping.

live: My concern is that hubby will lift up the bed to lean it against the wall. Ok now I go find clean sheets/towels to cover...or either that, they dun come at all ;p

Pink, i am also having the aircon man in few days time. But I will not be in the house, may be seated outside far far away.

I feel that its the air we breathe in day and night, hence better to have clean aircon.

PD: You can go to the shop (selling pain) and buy the cover sheet very big. Same as Rose, because can't wait further otherwise at night can't sleep. Most of the time I will be the one to do all the coordination work when service men come but this round asked HB to help.

Pink,

sent my fridge for repair. No choice.

I m so glad that I moved house before I popped. Really can't imagine moving house after the arrival of my twins. So tiring.

heee thanks Rose and Live.
Rose: Where are you gonna sit? In the hse or outta the hse?

My HB is the in-charge for this and the servicemen always come when im at wk...
this is the 1st time they are coming and im ard (im on leave you see)...
Shall go cover!!!

Singapoh: indeed. Imagine the hassle! Wow.
But you are brave to go ahead with the moving when preggo.
many of my Catholic frens dare not move when their new houses arrive...stayed with parents until BBs born...

Singapoh,
I think I should have enough bottles to last for the first few months, probably try to get 2 more medium size and get a few glass bottles from KK for storage.
You are quite fortunate that your bbs don't have nipple confusion. Hope mine won't have any confusion too as I can't afford to latch them all the time.

Vi4n,
Wow! You have 30bottles for storage? That's quite alot. I have a friend who had a collection of about 50 bottles before her baby girl turned 1. She told me that her girl is quite fussy about the brand of bottles that's why she had to keep changing different bottles.

yup.

I just ate a plate of mee hoon at 4pm, now hungry again...

Ladies, any ideas which week will we be eating slightly normally? I am week 9 and have been eating said like every 1 hr plus interval...its so tiring.

Rose, i started to feel less hungry all the time about 11weeks.....bt its varies with individuals....

now i just need a mid morning and mid afternoon snack...