IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

tickles,
i can swim but not everyday. washing hands is ok as long as i dry my hands immediately.
the worse is showering, cos that's a large area exposure plus everyday must bath mah.
end up last time everytime after i shower my back and tummy will get red patches and very itchy.

now i actually hv a chlorine filter attached to my shower so that i can bath. my girl also got the same allergy.

Do you gals have the hot sensation on your back? Is it due to the duphaston or part of MS? Lately the hot flushes seem to be getting more frequent and it also accompany with some nausea. Anyone experienced that? Any ways to make it better?

Rose
My edd is mid dec... That is based on 37 weeks full term for twins. But i may deliver earlier as one of the twin has low placenta...

Gan
Glad u have booked a cl... Its really v difficult to get one.. Cos i only start looking when i hit 12 weeks.. Alot i called aldy booked. And im reluntant to use agency.. I prefer to use one that someone has used before and have good reviews.. Esp as im having twins..

Panda
3 bbs are not easyto handle.. Maybe u wana consider getting a cl to helpout yr mil and mum... Esp when our mothers has lost touch in caring for new borns..

Sisters here
Hope someone here can give me contacts for good cl which u gals have used before.. I do not need her to do hsework as im gng to get a maid.. She only needs to focus on my bbs and to cook...

BB rabit: Yes i did my scan today but Angela cant see how many are there... 2 or 3 she aint sure...she said def all 3 implanted but the 3rd one is very small and might not be viable...
so muz wait till next week...think its too early la...

baby, thts wht i thought also...bt all of them insisted no need CL..they say no want an outsider around... my dad, mum and mil will b here...so they wanna handle one bb each...

my gf told me new borns will sleep alot during 1st mth..so dun need to worry if dun hv CL...since i hv them helping me.

our EDD very closed...mine also based on 37 weeks....

Has anyone taken nifedipine before and experienced discomfort?
Dr Loh asked me to start taking 3 times a day. I took twice today and have been having headache and gastric problem. Have been struggling at work today. Just took my blood pressure, it's 108/54 which is really too low. I dare not take the medicine anymore. I'm only seeing Dr Loh in 3 weeks' time. Not sure whether he will reply me if I email him on this.

Pink-D- wow,high chances of TRIPLET! Me also went for scan today 'cos last min v bad cramp
Managed to see the sac, but yet to hear heartbeat. Abit disappointed, but Dr said still early, wk5d7. Looking forward to next week visit.

BB rabit: how many did you see? My scan is fuzzy...i also dun wanna think abt it until i see the heart beat...which is late next week.
Are we both in week5?

Pink-D- Only 1, i put in 2. Given my HCG level, 1 is expected. I am happy enuff. Tom, I am in my wk 6. Quite worry abt heartbeat, cos read before usually 5.5wk can detect. But gyane said shld be fine. Keeping my finger cross. U shld be in your wk 5 and X days now right?

BB rabbit,
when i was preggie with my daughter, i scan at exactly 6 wks still no heartbeat. scanned one wk later at 7wk then had heartbeat.
my dr told me actually 6.5wk is more accurate for heartbeat scan.

Grumpus- THANKS for your assurance. I love this forum and hope can stay here for the next few mths. The assurance i get is wonderful. Every scan/BT feel like a hurdle to clear. Staying positive for now

panda
I did tot of not getting a cl.. Initially only tot of getting confinement food cater.. But in e end decide to get one in case i cant cope.. Esp when i have two bbs.. Somemore im a first time mum.. But its nice to have own people to help u..
Will u be getting a maid to help u? Esp after confinement period? I will be getting one to help out in hsework..

I have not start to do any shopping yet.. Will wait till i know the bb gender.. But i will buy early in case my tummy gets too big.. Somemore cos we having multiples.. I thk got to bedrest more in 3rd tri.. U getting 3 strollers & carseats??

BB rabit: We are quite close.
Im Sure can see healthy heart beats soon! All the best!
I hope for one or twins! Keeping fingers crossed!
Update us again!

Baby guess u have to get a maid early so that u can train her? Just some nice strollers at united square. There is a cotton on kids too and baby top at $5 was telling hubby we will buy from here coz not so ex.

BB Rabit this old gynae also told me see heartbeat at 6.5 weeks

pink d triplets sound cool!

Gan, when u transfer 3 tt time, did u think abt if y strike 3 who will take care? U be sahm, send to infant care, or? Just curious wat's ur thought then...

Fruitree, who will take care of your triplets?

Hi PinkD- just happen to passby this thread n see ur post here though im not bfp, wanna congratz tat u r having twins or triplets, so happy for u.

Today having appt with Angela from CARE but she wont be ard in the noon so hav to postphone our appt till aft National Day.

Bing- thks, we decided not to buy that combi carseat, reason being, we let our boy sit in the carseat in the store n feel that the carseat does not seems to be able to fit a 4 year old kid, I have a infant carseat, so meaning this carseat I can only use the most 3 more years, in fact i think will be less than 3 years, maybe 2 years nia, so we are looking at other car seat.
Ladies any recommendations for carseat?

Hazel: thks for yr info. So i will go on 14 wk and 21 wk to have a detail scan. Decided to go Camden the reason being if doing Oscar test may fail the blood test because of age.

Hazel, when i transfer 3 embbies for my FET, honestly i didn't think of striking 3. coz i am already 38, so the possibility of all 3 implanting wld be very low percentage. In fact i read a book and the book says put in 3, the chances of having triplets is only 5%, but chances of getting pregnant is 50%.

but i did think of having twins becoz having 1 child could be lonely. if i have twins, i would send them to infant care, similar to the current plan. hmmm if 3, i guess i still have to work coz got more children to take care but then mayb have to employ helpers and asked my mum if she can be grounded for a year to help me take care the 3 babies. But i would think i need 2 helpers to help my mum coz it won't be easy taking care of 3 babies. I can't really rely on my MIL as she is 70 plus.

Live how old are you? how many weeks are you preggy? Age does pull down the ratio....my age risk is 1:133...

baby, we plan to get a maid only after i go back to work..otherwise the house like very crowded leh..hahaha.. meanwhile i will get the part time helper to come more often....

yes, i also hv to start shopping early, plan to complete all the essentials shopping in the next 2 mths...

3 car seats are must haves...no choice leh..hehe...
strollers we will go for 2, and sling one of them. i dont hv a storeroom in my house..so storing all these bulking items is a problem....
beds we will get one playpen and one cot for a start.

Gan, is it worth making a trip to United Sq? alot of bb things to see?

I plan to go Baby Kingdom this wkend... my gf told me can buy most of the big items there, and they will give additional discount ...

panda i only go see the strollers at basement...but very ex...and cotton on kids. They do have some shops selling children clothings but i dun think cheap lor, though i didn't really check out those shops.

For car seats, strollers think cheaper to go baby hypermart.....maybe can ask the mummies here. I guess i will make a trip to the baby hypermart at balestier later this mth.

there is a baby hypermart nearby the baby kingdom at kaki bukit..both in the same area.....

if i can sustain the energy..i will try to pop by both... if not, hv to make 2 trips.....

Gan, these are the addresses:

Baby Hypermart
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Ind park

Baby Kingdom
85 Kaki Bukit Ave
#01-00
Shun Li Ind park

baby kingdom has products listed on their website, u can browse browse....

gan,
other than cotton on kids, fox baby has really nice and affordable bb clothes too.
for the big item stuff i did my research elsewhere first then went down to baby hypermart one shot buy car seat, stroller and cot. they deliver all together.

grumpus, on the average, how many sets of NB clothes do we need for 1 baby for home wear huh?

some told me dont buy too many...some said NB needs to be changed very often coz will burp milk, wet pants etc etc... so i m confused liao....

Gan, thanks for the sharing. anything can happen depending on luck n god's will. Dr loh said if transfer 3 n try naturally also to increase chance, 4 can strike though rare. My sil's friend transferred 2 but ended with 3 heavenly kings! All 2 embyros implanted and one split though the probability of spitting is very low.

Panda, for home wear, can consider getting those from the neighbourhood which sells very cheaply for a few pieces at 10 bucks. Since bbs outgrow very fast. More economical that way. Just a suggestion.

panda,
both are correct. dun buy too many cos they outgrow really fast and then wasted, my NB clothes all still look so new. but at the same time it is true they do need to be changed fairly often esp if u hv one of those burpy babies. usually pants won't get wet but shirt, yes.

i bought abt 5-7pc day time wear shirts and 5 set long sleeve shirt and pants for night.

plus i do laundry everyday so that i will hv enough clothes. when my bb was bigger i switched to laundry every alternate day only.

hankies i used ALOT. think i had like 15 hankies cos everytime feed milk and burp i'll use the hanky to protect the shirt, then need to change hanky. when bath also use hanky and change after every bath.

i bought all the home wear and hankies from those neighbourhood shops so is like 3pc for $x, 5 hankies for $x

hazel, thanks...was planning to check out the shops at amk ... tinking if i need to get 10 sets per baby? too many? haha.. i feel like a lost mtb smtimes....

Panda, just get per Wat u planned. Neighborhood sells very cheaply. If 10 bucks can get u at least 3 sets, 50 bucks per bb n u get 15 sets. So 3 bbs will just cost 150. Cheap cheap.. Buy buy

grumpus, thanks!!

i tink i will need to buffer abit more...coz also using cloth nappies.. just in case cannot clear laundry in time or on rainy days the clothes dun dry as fast..babies still hv clothes to wear....

u dun use bibs for burping? or u use both hanky n bib?

Panda, i agree that shopping in neighborhood is no fun. Ask mummy to help buy. Tt was my plan then. Wear at home not nice nvmind. New born clothes cam only wear for a mth. Some grow fast, a few weeks later can't wear already. So it is always better to buy 1 size up for most clothes.

hazel..hee..its an experience even if no fun.. i will go with hb to buy...:p

i tink all the adult clothes hv to bring to my mum's place to wash.....

panda,
i also use cloth nappies, everyday my washing machine is almost running non stop.
the good thing abt bb clothes and nappies is they dry really fast. morning wash by afternoon 3-4pm dry already. and i dun hang mine outside to dry. then i can hang out the adult laundry to dry overnight. next morning clear for the new batch of bb laundry

i dun use bibs for burping. too ma fun. newborn so soft sometimes screaming for milk already, how to slowly clip the bib around them still. i just use a hanky fold into half and tuck it under their chin, much more efficient.
i only used bibs when my girl started on solid food.

Gan: I am older than u :>, I am now 9wk ++. That is why I want to avoid blood test, don't want to create unnecessary worry if possible. Since knowing some sisters mentioned on this Prof then just thought to do the scan with him better.

Btw, is that the reason you repeat the check with Prof Anandakumar after knowing your age risk? Hope your details scan turn out to be good and further reduce the risk.

panda i am buying a dryer....coz scared no place to hang clothes especially my current home no yard!!! Can't imagine clothes all over the already small living room. =p

grumpus...u used those traditional cloth nappy or those modern ones?

i have been browsing n trying to figure out if the modern ones are good.... from pics..looks like quite thick n difficult to dry....

gan, i tink my last resort is the balcony.....which is unsightly to me..:p

live, i did my NT scan and blood test at kkh. I am a borderline low. Dr kwek who did the scan for me did not advise me to do amino since i am a borderline low....my ratio is 1:339, the passing is 1:300. But he advised me do a doppler scan to check the blood flow to baby heart to reasses the DS risk. Suppose to do when i am 14 weeks, but i decided go to camden since prof scan also checks blood flow and also other details and the scan more thorough. So i missed the doppler scan appt with kkh and go camden tomorrow.

Adeline: Thanks for yr wishes!

I will still pop by the old thread once in a while

Ladies: When i put in 3 embies,my aim is to maxmimize my chance of getting preg. I seriously did not think how many I wld get.
Until yday when Angela said that there is a possibility of triplets, my heart really skipped one beat! The whole night I started to wonder how to take care...even until now...
But i feel its unfair to the poor embies...i dun wan it/them to feel unwanted by me

panda,
i use traditional nappies, they r so much cheaper that u can afford to buy a lot. i remember one pack of 10 cost only abt $10-$12. the modern ones are so much more ex and like u said look so thick. the traditional one when open up is a big square so dries very very fast.

after i had my daughter my hse look like aunty hse lor, i hv bedsheets, towels hanging in the kitchen. clothes/nappies hanging in the living room on those multi tier clothes hanger plus extra multi line hangers hooked on the windows. but that's only for the 1st yr or so lah...later on they dun use as many clothes and nappies.

before my daughter my hse got the clean chic designer look now it looks like a kindergarten :p