IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

nancy..yup..triplets..

i hv to tell..no choice..my parents ferry me for my jabs..they were oso at NT scan to say hi to the babies. i cant go out now..depend on them to deliver lunch everyday too....

my mum oso call me everynight..ask if i m eating..how i feel...she has been nagging at me to stay at her plc during day time...she dun like the idea of me alone at home. i plan to do tht during 3rd tri..when tummy gets too big..

Singapoh
Thanks for the encouragement. The only worry is babies must grow well though mummy cant eat much. How come u not eating much still get gestational diabetes? I also hope to carry them as long as u did.

Pandawife
Wow...congrats with the triplets
Guess all mums are the same. I stay at my mum's when my hubby is out of town cause no one brings me food. I tend to eat more at my mum's cause she will nag if i eat too little. The only thing i can stomach without throwing out now is fruits. Let's jia you together

nancy,
dun worry. hope ur ms will go off soon. jus eat watever u dun throw up. her bbs' birth weight was gd. dun worry so much

Nancy,

my body no longer break the sugar and it can pass to babies. They can become very big. Other complications if I can't control. Lucky I can control with diet.

Initially I could only swallow noodles, green veggies and fruits.

pleasance
How come u are hospitalised at 6.5mths? Due to bleeding?
U stayed at hospital till u deliver? Or u bedrest at home?
Bedrest means lying on the bed whole day everyday??

When do i know i need to bedrest? Or i should stay home once i hit 6mths?

nancy i have been back to work since 8 weeks plus.

Pleasance when is ur due date? Another 2 days i will be 14 weeks

Dear ladies, I just had my 33 weeks scan today and seen Dr Loh.

My girl is 2.16kg in breech position and boy is still considered small at 1.65kg, transverse position. Dr Loh said most likely will be c-sect. Was slight disappointed as I hope to go for natural delivery.

Doc advised me to eat more as usual and hopefully the boy can gain more weight when I am due. My hb and I are praying hard that they can stay inside there for at least 1 more month.

Fashion Spree,
Did Dr Loh scan for you again when you consult him after doing the detailed scan 2weeks ago? I wanted to ask him how's the position of my placentas the last time, but our conversation was focused on the detailed scan results and we didn't have the chance to ask him this question.
Don't worry. Your baby may move up later. There's still some time to go.
The next time I see Dr Loh will be in 4 weeks' time.

BBhp,
Are you eating more now? How is the blood flow to your boy? I'm just curious why is one of the twins smaller when they are not sharing the same placenta and their growth are supposed to be independent.
I'm starting to eat more food that's rich in protein as my nausea and vomiting is much better now. Hopefully the babies can gain enough weight. I've already gained 9kg so far and look so clumsy now. Not sure how much has gone to the babies.

Bbhp, jus rest more. Getting there liao.
I also want natural but at the end caesarean but ok la. In hospital I attended those free bb caring class I look much better compared to those who had natural birth. They can't sit still ha ha..
With c sect, no need to wait in agony how long longer is the labour going to take.
My gynae said ok go for c section at 5pm and my baby is out at 7.25pm very fast ;)
of course when I think I can't see her straight away a bit sore but small matter la.
After that jus cuddle n latch them asap n as often as u want it.
Jia you..

Bing,

Dr loh did not do a scan for me after the 20 week detail scan as mine is only a day diff. The scan is done by the priciple sonographer.

Yup i did saw the pix of my placenta. it actually on the lower side. My next appt with Dr loh is 4 week too which is 28 this mth.

Hopefully can move up but according to Dr Loh and my friends quite unlikely to move up.

My friend was sharing with me in Tri 3 i will feel more pain cos bb pressing on it. and minimise walking on Tri3 due to low placenta.

Haiz any obstacles i need to overcome after the ocsar and amino.

Bbhp, elective c-section, u hv a choice of epidural or GA. If u pick epidiual, u can see your twins born & cuddles them. Only diff is cut is on the abdomen. Hubby can be with u too for elective.

Not sure if all twins deliveries are the same. I delivered naturally (assisted) in Operating theatre. Dh wasn't allowed inside. After babies are out, I only saw them for a second and they were taken away for examination. Didn't have time to cuddle or latch them there.

I was taken to the recovery room and stayed there for more than 1 hour.

It's very different from my previous singleton delivery.

juju78
ya i'm pregnant again ,this time is natural not planned
too fast .

baby
i have light bleeding then followed by heavy contractions. so was hospitalised immidiately for 2 weeks then best rest at home till delivery.Doc says i move about too much, due to low palcenta and also due to double weight-twins. i never expect things to be so serious but lucky all is well. suggest u take ur movements slow after 4-5 months to mimize risk

gan
my edd is abt 11 jan . urs?

Pandawife
Congrates ...wow triplets

pleasance hey our edd is close! Mine is 10 jan, 1 day diff. =) i am expecting one precious. =)

bing aunty eng called, she is here in sg tomorrow asked if i can meet but told her i am still unpacking coz shifted house. She very nice reminded me not to be around when they shift bed or nail things. By the way for the deposit, how much do we pay? Thanks

nancy, thanks! yes...must jia you together..i m sure in the next few weeks u will feel get better... i m sooooo looking forward to feeling well enough to go out and buy baby clothes leh....heheh.....

baby... Dr Paul told me by 28 weeks i will be like normal full term size....so after tht must minimise being too active... i suppose best is to bed rest... tht way babies can stay inside as long as possible. i ordered a book on multiple pregnancy tht talks about bed rest during the last trimester... its on the way to sg.... share more with u after i hv read it...

pleasance, thanks! congrats to u too!

Singapoh, I remembered that I only woke up when I heard Alvis crying coz I was simply too tired and jus slept thru while they were cutting, searching and pulling him out...hehehe...they brought Alvis to me and kept asking me to kiss him...so, I anyhow anyhow kiss him twice on cheek before they took him away and I fell asleep again while they stitch me up...

Vi, u did c-sect meh? How come I kept thinking u aso natural? U were put on GA?

Bbhp, discuss the option with Dr Loh. The troop of docs were at my delivery ward discussing which one to use coz I insisted on not using epi, but they were worried of using GA on this coz I were already administrate with epi earlier. Instead, they gave me something stronger than epi which numb my half body from waist onwards.....

Stb,

yr 3 day labour was long and tiring.

I was numb from my chest to toe. 2 person helped to push on my belly. I just pushed twins out. Son was vacuumed out. Dot came out in breech position. I was told that we were there for about 45 minutes.

Mummies with multiples, can remind me yr HCG blood test results when u tested BFP at d17 pl? My sis just strike with her first fresh cycle under Noel n her level is 4000+, wonder if it's going to b twins or more...

Singapoh, yeah...tiring, and I only managed to sleep for 2-3 hrs during the long and painful wait.....the pain came 12 hrs after they put in the 1st tablet......

Stb, is your threshold for pain very high? I can't imagine how u tolerated the pain for 3 days. I can't even take 30 mins of the pain. If I were u, o wld hv given up n ask for c-section

Delivery sounds scary, whether it's natural or c-section. My mum is asking me to go for C-section since I'm having twins and Group B Strep infection. I'll see what Dr Loh is going to say later.

Berrybaby,
my D17 hCG level was 1032 and I'm expecting twins.

Gan,
I gave Aunty Eng 100 deposit. I think the market rate ranges from 100-300. Oh it's also a practice to give an angpow to the CL on the first day they start work and just before they leave. How much to give depends on individual.

Fashion spree,
Don't worry too much about the low placenta.If your placenta is only covering the cervix marginally, it shouldn't be a problem. Don't exercise or walk too much. Rest as much as possible. Did Dr Loh give you any advice on this?

Stb, ya leanne was delivered thru c sect because gynae said worry baby is stress if induced. N she also told me better GA than epi c-sect for my case. That's why hubby can't stay inside with me.
Around 11pm that night I already kept asking where is baby. But nurse said still need to warm her or what. I think in the wee hours then she was pushed inside to let me breastfeed straightaway.

Ya lo I can't imagine if I have to be on labour for 3 days like you. That's why I agreed straight away with my dr when she told me to do c sect because I remember your story ;)
and bill is cheaper with elective c section if compare to induce then later still need to do C.
And that day was 18 June mah so I grabbed that opportunity too ha ha

Bing,

Delivery is not that scary la. Dr Loh told me there is a possibility that I might do a C sect if my dot who was in breech position want to come out first but I still want to try natural first.

I trust him and myself. I just gave my best shot.

Bing, my appetite in 3rd trimester is not as good compared to 2nd. I have only gain 1kg within 3 weeks. When I took my weight at ADC during registration, I was kinda of worried cos bbs might have stopped gaining weight. Fortunately, both are growing well and i guess my 1 kg went to them. I've gained 13.3kg as of now and the total weight of my bbs are 3.8kg now.
Dr Loh said that the water level and blood flow to the bbs are normal.

Vi4n, how do you feel during and after c-sect? I have phobia on C-sect but seems like I do not have any choice now.

Hazel, I hope to go for epidural so that hb can be with me during my delivery. However, Dr Loh will have the last say.

stb, yes I will discuss with Dr Loh on the options on my 35 weeks appt. Most likely I might be given a date for c-sect liao if BBs still refuse to change their position. Why you dun want epidural?

Singapoh, I also hope they will change their position in my next appointment.

berrybaby, my D12/13 reading was 500+ with twins.

Bbhp, why phobia?
How to know how I feel during c sect since I was under GA?
I was still thinking wah so on time ah said 7pm it really start at 7pm then next I know it was done I awake already ;)
no side effect of GA at all. Jus drowsy. Open my eyes on n off n coughed due to throat irritation of the oxygen tube. So when coughed bit pain la. Other than that I was ok ;)

Vi4n, how long it took for the pain from c-section wound to go away? must be painful thereafter for quite a while to walk, carry bb, etc. your threshold for pain must be quite high...

Singapoh, thanks for asking, bb Ryan is getting better n recovering well fr his hernia op. His wt is now abt 3.1kg at wk 38 or 2 months. This is amazing as my elder boy borned at wk 38 was at 3.095kg, so Ryan has been able to catch up on his wt well. How's yr twins doing? What's their wt now n how much milk are they drinking?

Hazel, how you define the pain go away? Till now my lower abd will feel tender when press or when I'm too tired. But the wound itself no pain for me. It is the internal soreness I would say.
For me, c sect was done at 7pm Friday, I think around midnight I carried baby already. But don't forgot I was on painkiller drip.
Next morning dr asked if I feel any pain I said no then she reduced the pain killer I still don't feel any pain. I can sit up to eat, cradled, latch baby n etc.

Sat eve drip was off then on ponstan. Sunday morning catheter was taken off then I straight away up n went toilet n showered. Then I started to walk around already. I can't keep still kind. From that day I did everything myself. I don't really feel the pain when carry baby n do my normal activities. Up n down squating bending n etc. I would say the binder help a lot. When I don't wear the binder with the loose tummy then I don't feel good. I don't wear it for 1 week already my tummy not loose anymore but not tight too. I haven't start to do sit up yet. Next month will see my dr again then will ask when can do such exercises. But I can wear my pre preg jeans already just still tight only ;)

I would say C sct is an easy way for me compare to natural labour. I was still thinking why they said need longer recovery time. ;)
I saw those with natural birth were more tired n in pain more than me. Too bad I can't experience it but no regret ;)

Vi4n
The c-sect internal wound need time to heal, so cannot get preggy again too fast compared to natural delivery. But having gone through c-sect before, I too think its more convenient.

Dr did tell me, for 2nd pregnancy, can still go VBAC, but if choose c-sect, then 3rd and subsequent deliveries will be c-sect, no choice.

Pleasance
Congrats on being MTB again !

vi4n, your experience sharing on c-sect helps to relieve a bit of my phobia. At least now i know c-sect is not as horrible as what most ppl described eg. long healing time, next day will be v painful after the painkiller goes off etc. Hope mine will be as smooth as yours.
Thanks for sharing!

Hi Mummies and Mummies to be...

I'm bleeding again... Hai~ Its a stressful pregnancy this time round.. I just saw my doc last fri and was told that baby is kicking my blood clot and cos my placenta is low thus I am constantly bleeding. Thou not a lot but it seems like I'm bleeding daily for the past week. Was also told not to walk too much and carry heavy stuff. Doc says that if placenta dun move up, I would have to go for c-sect. Was hoping for natural delivery thou...

Pleasance,
Read that your 1st pregnancy, you got low placenta too? Did you keep bleeding at that time when you were ordered bed rest?

Bubbybear, ya lo like in n out there is your baby ha ha.. No long waiting agony. And as i shared before I developed diarrhea when on antibiotic. So pratically need to clear bowel like 6-7times a day. So can't imagine if I have vagina wound..

Bbhp, if pain jus ask for painkiller lo. For my dr, I should feel a bit of pain. Can not like go painless kind. But my pain threshold is rather high lo.
As long I can move around I will say no pain. ;) if not my mil won't let me move.

Hazel, if I have a choice, I will still opt for natural then. My dh said my pain threshold is high coz I was tahan-ing the contractions which came every 2-3 mins for the 1st nite, only had the first pain relief in the next morning...but when labor pain kicked in when I was 7cm to full dilation, it was a different ball game all together esp when I cldn't feel the effect of epi at all......

Vi, ya man, my bill came up to be $8k but luckily 50% is covered with medisave.....and coz I went thru emergency c-sect, I have to pay extra for Alvis's too, another 1k using medisave....

Bing, delivery isn't that scary...err..I guess if u have high pain threshold or can feel the effect of epi, it won't be that bad afterall.....but it will be tiring coz of the pushing lar.

Bbhp, I don't wan epi during the c-sect coz I knew that it won't work for me after taking 4 big and 4 small doses when I tried for natural....my spine is crooked so epi wasn't spread evenly out for me...I cld only feel epi taking effect on 1 side and not the other side which Alvis was resting on....

Surprisingly, I didn't feel much pain from the c-sect wound too....and the wound heal v nicely after 1 week. The gp that I went to to change my dressing was also surprised that I heal so fast....the malay lady who did my massage aso commented that I looked so fresh as compared to some of her clients who went thru natural...thus, c-sect wasn't that scary afterall...the only downside I had was I didn't dare to carry Alvis immediately for the 1st 1-2 days coz I didn't wan to tear my wound....then my dh and MIL aso kept asking me not to carry him so much even after I came back till i heal properly.....

Stb,
The problem is that I don't have high pain threshold and had not done any operation before. And I'm also afraid of seeing so much blood. Being a first time mummy with no prior experience, it's even worst. Well, I guess when the time comes, every mummy will have the natural ability to put up with the process..

Singapoh,
Did Dr Loh perform episiotomy on you? Is it true that if you are carrying twins, usually the babies will be small which reduce the chances of using episiotomy unless the babies are in unfavourable positions? My mum delivered me with the episiotomy and she said it was very painful for her. And she had very bad contraction pain for almost 24hr. She didn't want me to go thru the pain that's why she's strongly encouraging me to go for c-section.

Bbhp,
Try to take more protein even is your appetite is not as gd as before. Hope your boy will gain more weight before delivery.

Fashion spree,
Don't worry too much. See how's the position of the placenta again at the end if the month. My friend who has placenta previa just gave birth to a healthy baby yesterday at week 37. ;)

tickles hope u r resting at home now or u r still working? Did dr ann said the blood clot is smaller?

Dr loh didn't check my blood clot the last time i see him so i have no idea if the clot has been absorped by my body. Certainly hope it has.

Do rest more and take care.

Somebody from this thread mentioned this maid agency called Lemann Employment Agency at golden landmark before? Any feedback on this agency?

tickles, how u r feeling better...did doc giv u more HL/MC to rest at home?? if not, mayb u shld consider taking NPL to rest at home??

hmmm...seems like alot of MTBs here share tht at later stage, placenta will move up.. so dont worry too much about it...still hv chance to go for natural delivery....

Bing,

I had a cut below but this time it's less painful and heal faster. Last time no epi so yr mum suffered contraction pain.

My twins birth weight were 2.6 and 2.745 kg each @36 weeks 3 days. I think it's the weight of an average baby but they were shorter. Only about 45 cm each.

Gan,
No leh. I'm at work. I'm fine. Just that I will always bleed in the morn and at night. Then day time will be slight spotting but at times will have light bleeding. The clot is smaller. But the placenta is very low and blocking the delivery passage. But I'm only in week 18 this week. So chances are might shift too. Keep my fingers cross. I visited Angela at CARE last Fri too. I ask if I should seek 2nd opinion on my bleeding episode. She did a scan for me and concluded the same thing, so she told me there isnt a need to go to another doc for 2nd opinion. Can I ask, for your clot right? Is it just 1 clot? Cos mine is 1 come and disappear thru the bleeding then another one appears again. So far, this current one has been with me for I think about 1 month plus with the size reducig, cos it bleed out.

I guess if Dr Loh, ddnt talk abt the clot, means its gone le.. Cos Dr Ann will always tell me abt my clot. Only Fri she told me abt my low placenta. I read that low placenta will cause bleeding in some cases.

I had a shock when I saw Angela on Fri, she told me she just came back from HK recently and when she was there she spoke to the gynae whom I saw when I was in HK. Dr Alex Doo actually told her that he wasn't very optimistic on my case when he saw me as I was bleeding very badly when I was there. But still he didnt tell me all the negative stuff and encouraged me. Phew~ So scary. He actually tot that my baby will not be able to make it when I was there.. I really think my baby is a real fighter.

When Dr Ann scan for me last fri, baby is very active, kicking all the way. But the good news is she is healthy and growing well. But I am still having contractions and Dr Ann says that my lining in the womb is quite thin. So mustnt walk too much and carry heavy stuff. Angela told me no cold drink and food and no liang stuff too. So must listen..

Now I rest as must as I can too. In office, I do not leave my desk unless necessary.. I'll just sit down and use my brains and mouth to do work. I was also told to drink more water as my fluid level is quite low too. I think its also due to the bleed. Cos when I have bleeding, its always diluted blood, so I suspect the fluid cam out tgt with the blood.