IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Can I check if anyone of you bought your breast pumps from the US before? I like to ask if breast pumps from the US are usable in Spore, in terms of the voltage? Do you know if there is any potential issue?

i understand there is no warranty. so not sure if it is worth the savings. anyone has sthg to advise?

Twinstars,
Cheong choon is at Blk 34 Upp Cross St #03-132
Tel: 6532 3855.
Take note they only accept cash or nets.

Bakaholic,
I'll apply the taka card soon before the baby fair comes. Hope that there'll be gd deals ;)

Happyhippo,
My friend ordered her Medela Freestyle from US a few years ago and had no issue using it. She just ordered another Medela PIS from the BP below and I'll be ordering one soon.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3696298.html?1278325571

She said can buy the voltage converter from most electrical stores. It costs less than $20. The only downside is that there's no local warranty. She told me that the battery of her friend's Medela pump was not working. Her friend went to the local office which told her that replacing the batt would cost $150. She wrote in to the US office and they actually shipped the batt to her FOC. Just that it took a while longer.
So I guess if there's anything wrong, can try to write in to the US office.
Anyway, Medela products should be quite trustworthy. But getting an electrical product depends on luck sometimes.

Bakaholic,

oh i see, usually i didnt check out the strollers or car seat at robinsons..

Hi ladies, may I know where do u bring your baby for vaccination? I was told to bring my baby back to KK for vaccination but it is quite far from my place. Also, what are the vaccination that is needed after the BCG and Hep B(1st dose) given after birth.

babyluck74,
my gal goes to polyclinic for her jabs.
u can choose any pd or gp near ur plc also.
the compulsory vacc will be listed in the bb's healthbook given to u upon discharge

babyluck74,

I'm bringing baby to PD too.
After the BCG and HepB 1st dose will be your option of 5in1, or 6in1, and optional of rotavirus and pervernar.

The 5in1 or 6in1 will start when baby is 6 weeks.

babyluck74
my boy goes to polyclinic for his jab.. but the last two jabs were taken by a GP cos we opted for 6-in-1. polyclinic only has 5-in-1 and polyclinic inject on thigh. GP injected on his buttock

bakaholic,
can chk today's papers. diapers also on sale!

babyluck74,
u r welcome!

bee,
hw cum dun hv 6-in-1? my gal gets her 6-in-1 at polyclinic leh

dr say one of my twin has low placenta... Covering the cervix opening... It may mean compulsory c sect... May experience bleeding... May have premature labour... Ordered no sex...

Anyone has experience this? Dr did say may not have problem at all.. But if have bleeding will need to go hosp.. Need to monitor closely...

Abit worried now....

baby,
low placenta can cause bleeding and premature labour if the part of the placenta that is covering the cervix gets detached.
did the dr mention how much of the placenta is covering the cervix?
sometimes only the edge of the placenta is covering the cervix, and as the baby grows the placenta can still move up to a safer position.

u're still quite early in yr pregnancy so that's still a possibility. rest more, minimise walking and stay positive.

Baby, how many wks r u? Spiffy has low placenta too & she has twin boys. If u look back the archive u will find her story. She has extensive bleeding at 29/30 wks n was hospitalized. Bbs are born premature.

U shld try to rest in bed flat as far as possible. Be positive n take care.

Baby,

if u are in the early stage of pregnancy, it's normal. Mine also like tat. Both placentas went up later but I can't remember which month.

Rest more and be positive.

baby, the placenta shld move up as u are more advanced in ur pregnancy, but if at later pregnancy the placenta totally covers the cervical opening, just make sure u have bed rest to minimise movement. Dun stress urself now, be positive. I am sure dr is monitoring u closely.

singapoh, i finally shifted on monday....was super tired. Luckily my SIL is helping me unpack some of the boxes.....else i really can't manage. Now getting use to climbing stairs. =p

gan..go easy on the stairs...climb slowly...

glad to see u hv settled down in yr new house...can start to plan n shop for baby things liao....

baby..angela oso told me the babies will move up later...coz tht time i was oso concern tht babies will b born pre mature.....me n hb hv agreed tht i will continue to go care for jabs since it will giv us higher chance of carrying them full term.

singapoh, yup, normally i will climb and rest for awhile before continue climbing....guess as my tummy gets bigger, will stay with my parents.

Today on mrt got pple gave up seat to me...so i guess my tummy is big now

gan...my mum already told me when i m in 3rd tri...day time hv to go her hse...she not letting me stay at home alone w a big tummy....

u wearing ur new maternity wear today? hee...

pandawife, today i am in 2 piece leh, but in maternity jeans lah. But guess the tummy so rounded and bigger than my bust....pple guess can't be fat, must be preggy. =p

i hope next week scan at camden can tell the gender of bb then i can start shopping. But nowadays i still feel tired after work leh, maybe later when i have more energy than shop. Oh yes i bot 2 bras from mark and spencer...2 for $49 tot quite reasonable.

I am staying on 4th floor of walkup apt....guess when i start 3rd trimester...can't climb stairs. Now take it as a form of exercise.

Mummies/MTBs can i start taking 'dong cong cao' now?

Gan, if it is for bb, need to wait till after bb then will start absorbing the herbs. 7 mths onwards can take more

hazel i am 13 weeks plus now, so if i take now go to bb? I ask hock hwa when i bot, she said can take now, good for bb lungs....but i am not sure she said that so that she can sell me

how abt bird nest?

Gan, of course now can take. But all these herbs r ex. So for me, I only take from 5mths coz bb bigger already will definitely absorb more. Bird nests can take also.

Now bb still mainly drawing from mummy's reserve.

gan...i ask nurse today...ok to take ginseng ..cordyceps n birdnest.....

2 for $49 sounds good...i went to see the sorella one...its like seemless t shirt bra kind...22.90 for 1..buy 2 get 1 free....

u still can go work leh...i m still bed resting...n cant take more than 10mins walk...dunno when i will feel normal....

U hv pregnancy application installed on ur iPhone? It will tell u how many wks bb can taste the food u eat. If I didn't remember wrongly, is after 5 mths.

pandawife, u r taking all these tonics now? The M&S bras are like tshirt bra. But sorella even cheaper! Today i had course at hilton, after course went ion, just go topshop buy a maternity top already felt tired...so came home. Wanted to shop more also can't.

Hazel, yup install the whattoexpect.com on dh's iphone. So got email updates...i always tot from 2nd trimester what we eat go bb. But never mind, bu myself abit also good

Gan,
4-5 mths onwards can take already. Black chicken soup, bird's nest, boil with pao sheng and/or dong cong cao.

Gan, yes..i m still taking.. twice a week.. going to stop the ginseng n cordyceps in another 1 mths time.. coz worry the 3 babies get too big... bt will continue with the bird nest..hee..

the sorella one looks very comfortable... i havent buy yet coz dunno wht size i need...since i hv not increase in cup size...

can take from 4-5mths onwards..to build up baby's organs.. for bird nest, i took from 6mths onwards when baby more developed...

thanks grumpus and sunflower, will take the cordyceps when i m 16 weeks bah.

pandawife why u afraid bb too big? i hope my bb can be 3kg at birth. kekeke

Gan/Pandawife/Singapoh

Hello sisters!!! I am back. Severe MS caused dehydration and was warded 3 times. Now better but still cant eat much. Throwing out 2 times a day now instead of 10 over times. SO far lost more than 10kg liao. I am so skinny only tummy a little bulging out. Am trying to eat but no appettite though i am in week 15. Btw I am expecting Twins.

Gan
Finally u have shifted. Take it easy with the stairs, rest if u need along the way

Pandawife
How are u feeling? Bed rest i read? I am also feeling very tired i sleep from 12am to 3pm daily.

Singapoh
Ur twins are 5 weeks already
Must be adorable. I have heard that having twins may need bed rest at later stage, am so scared. I havent venture out yet. I feel faint

Dr also say if only part of placenta is touching the cervix it may still move up... But mine is covering the whole cervix opening... So abit unlikely it will shift up...

Hearing abt what happen to spifty... Im worried... Which mth of the archieve should i search for her story?

Singapoh
Yrs is only part of the placenta that is low tats y it move up eventually?

Baby, spiffy delivered in April. If I didn't remember wrongly, she was hospitalized early April. Just bed rest lying flat n dun sit up or walk when tummy is bigger. Ask for hl. No pressure on the cervix it wun bleed.

Nancy,

Congrats! My appetite was bad in the first few weeks. I didn't have a huge appetite throughout my pregnancy.

My twins just turned 6 weeks yesterday。

I didn't get any order for bedrest. I walked a lot when I reached 35 weeks after Doc said it's safe for me to pop anytime

Baby,

I didn't ask which part of the placenta. If yr doc said you will be ok then please don't worry too much. Dun get affected by horror birth stories. Be positive...

Baby,

I'm in my 21 week now. Dr just confirm me with very low placenta too. Tell me 90% c sect. Ask me to be prepared.

Just hope that as bb grow bigger it will move up.

nancy,
dun worry. jus continue eating whatever u can stomach.
if u remember develyn, she also had MS very badly. her twins were born at a good weight. she jus look kinda anorexic after birth. on the day of her last chkup, her tummy was smaller than a lady who had a singleton in her 2nd tri

btw, congrats!

nancy congrats on having twins! So fast 15 weeks le, do u know the gender of the bb? I am excited to know mine so that i can go shopping for bb. =)

it's good that u have ample rest. I think i dun have sufficient rest! Hope although i felt body is tired, my baby is still happy and not tired like me

Gan, if 3 babies all very big.. i will have problem during last tri.. or run the risk of popping too early leh... most impt for me is they are within healthy weight range and i try to target for full term.

nancy, so long never hear from you... so happy tht u are getting better...and congrats on your twins!!

i m eating slightly better than before.. bt still not normal. same as u, i dun go out.. only went for my 2x weekly jabs at CARE.. coz i will feel fainting spells... my hb oso dun allow me to go out alone...walk for 10mins, i feel extremely unwell......

dunno if its becoz i bed rest at home for too long..now i try to walk around slowly at home more thru out the day.... gynae just gave me the go ahead yesterday to resume to normal activities..no need bedrest..

baby
last pregnancy Dr also told me that one i had very low placenta for one of my twins. was hospitalised at 6.5 mths , dr told me that theres onli 50% chance that my pregnancy will continue, if i deliver then, most likely my twins dun survive.

i had bed rest and i managed to hold till 35 weeks plus. so the most important is to minimized movement for multiple pregnancy esp after 6 mths. Also theres alot of ppl whose placenta will move up after 4-5 months.

gan
i'm also 13 weeks now. are u expecting singleton or multiples? we might be delivering abt the same time

nancy
congrates

singapoh
Hopefully can be like u hang on till 35 weeks like you. I cant eat much hope baby getting what they need.

Gan
Dun know gender yet. So far only did NT scan. U still working? Admire u, i cant even go out. got fainting spells like pandawife. I only shuttle b/w mum alternate week.

Pandawife
U got triplets? Wow...congrats!! Better rest rest rest. Have u told ur family it's triplets? I have yet to tell anyone cause my family so kan cheong abt me even till now. Will call and ask me if i have eaten or how i feel. Imagine if they know it's twins == double the worry. So we intend to tell them when it's 5-6 months

Juju
Yes, i remember Develyn. Didnt know she was so thin. I also look like aneroxic now. I dun look pregnant i look sick. Hopefully will get better as i progress. Thanks, juju

Nancy,

I didn't eat much till I hit 4 months. Appetite also not very good throughout but both were growing really well. When I was diagnosed with Gestational diabetes, I had to follow a 6 meal strict diet for 4 months. It was a well balance diet. I had to force myself to eat.

I popped at 36 weeks 3 days. Birth weight were 2.6 and 2.745 kg via natural assisted birth.

Jiayou ok!