IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Stb, hang in there ok.
Your maid got attitude issue also la can told u that no one can scold her?? Wow ..
I hope she will improve her attitude if not def will give u more problem.

Btw during prenatal class we were told to only nurse 10-15 mins per breast. But in real life how long u really nurse for each breast? Like stb spend 45mins?
N how u know after that Alvis still need another 60ml?
Not worry of overfeed him?

Btw stb, keep wanna ask u this after delivery now u still experience hand joint soreness?

Linda, ah now it is your son turn to get phototherapy?

Spiffy, I was told the baby is ok n can breathe on his own already but of course still in incubator n feeding tube.
It is really miracle n bb is very strong. Can't imagine if the scheduled check up still another 2 weeks kind.

Today I went LS 4 times made my hubby stress because of the above case. Kept asking me whether am I ok ha ha..

vi4n
ya.. my son also kena neonatal jaundice la, hopefully his blood level will go down tmr then can discharge liao

wa.. maybe ur gf mistaken tot was jus diarrhea but actually was water bag broke liao.... btw when the water bag breaks, u reali 'can" feel the "warm warm" feeling gushing out fluids from ur vagina.

stb
wa ur boy reali a big eater hor..and u reali got so much breast milk...so far i only managed to express 20mls of bm each time only, very little hor...so all tis while got to supplement my boy with formula.

Stb,

It's like that one lah. Can't really rest when you have a newborn and home. Unless you opt not to breastfeed lor.

I told my dh that I don't feel like I am doing confinement. I am wearing shorts, sometimes bathe twice a day, do some housework,etc....

vi4n,

It's normal for newborn to latch on longer. They are still learning how to master the skill of suckling. The feeding time will become shorter with time.

Linda,
Are you pumping after each feed? It should be able to increase your supply if you do so.

Singapoh, ic.. So I should not stop baby after 15mins on one breast?
I jus done my breast massage n yeah today can feel some wetness after each massage & nipple pulling ;)

why are u still doing housework? Hope u can settle your maid n cl issue quickly.

Linda, she did has diarrhea lo but maybe it burst during her pooping time that she thought it was urine.
Anyway thanks God baby is alright lo ;)

Vi4n,

if bb still wanna suckle, let her la. We only worry if bb dun wanna suckle.

My maid is not in automatic mode. My son has just recovered from cough, flu and now got rashes. So I took out his bedsheet to wash la.

New CL will come on Tues. My current CL told my maid that we are paying over $2k to hire her. No wonder my maid was moody that day.

Singapoh why changing cl?

Stb if it's any consolation, we r all going thru the same pain of the early months together.. Must all keep positive and take each day at a time.

stb,
try to close both eyes to mil & maid. anything, try to go thru ur hb. u focus on bb & try to get some rest.
ur maid so hi-class, y becum maid. dun bother abt her. at most, chg her or dun wan maid niah

vi,
newborns, jus let them suckle as long as they wan. it's ok de.

singapoh,
hw can ur cl tell ur maid dat? aiyoh...

Singapoh er why mil hasn't seen dd yet??
Ok going to bed now to catch some winks b4 next feed.....I feel life just revolving around milk and diapers...can't even leave the house...

Spiffy, Juju,

my dh thinks she is a troublemaker and a kaypoh. Also very dirty. Saw her scratching her feet while carrying my bb.

She carried both my twins down the staircase.
Told me to giveaway my dog. 2 nites ago I saw her spitting in my yard. Suspected she spat at my dog. She said my dog is mad when she saw me.

She thawed frozen meat outside room temperature. Today she left frozen meat to thaw next to fresh fruits.

Throw food in baby's room dustbin.

Told my relatives I dun give enuf formula to my twins. Everytime they cry, she wanna give formula until I hv to keep formula in my room.

Talking bad abt her past employer using vulgarities.

Tell her not to do certain things but still do it.

I was zzz, she just went to my room to put herb water for me to bathe and left my bfast in my room! Dun always knock before she comes in.

Badmouth abt my maid. She said she saw maid hiding $ under the sink. Dh couldn't find any.

Spiffy,

I also wanna know why MIL has not met my dot yet. MIL's arm still in sling but she can still walk. Anyway she prefers boys.

Singapoh what a nightmare?!? Supposed to look after you and not give you more stress. Do u hv to pay double now that you're changing?

singapoh,
so terrible. yes! muz chg her. can get compensation frm agency or not? oh dear...
hope the next cl is a lot better

Singapoh, that CL is really terrible. Hope the new one will be a good one.
Stupid CL to tell your maid about the pay. She is really a troublemaker.

Despondent,
nope the pampers on promo in giant is not the comfort one. It's active baby... the more expensive one... I've bought some to keep... Really worth it cos normally a pack almost $20. Now it's 2 packs for $25.

twinstar,
i din buy any si shen fen... what is it for har? i bought organic brown rice cereal (brand : happy time) from ntuc as first food. only need to add emb and stir. after i hv introduced a type of fruit (apple, pear, banana), i will add it into the cereal to make it more tasty. i hv since then moved on to introduce barley cereal and now oat as breakfast. my boy is having 3 meals now. I cook porridge (chicken, fish or pork + 1 type vege either spinach or broccoli) as lunch. i blend everything together to give a smoother texture. sometimes i will add ikan bilis powder (prepared by mil). dinner will be pureed food (combination of pumpkin, potato, sweet potato, peas, carrot). i dun really follow the 4 days rule for each new food. i found it too slow... if my boy has no allergy within 2 days, i will deem ok and start mixing the food. but for dairy products i will follow the 4 day rule

my friend also hv problems with her CL assigned from agency... she changed twice and in the end, did confinement by herself and hubby... so be prepared if anyone of u thinking of getting CL from agency

stb, let bb latch on more if possible esp for initial months if u want more ss... i fed very frequently during the 1st 2 months but got to sacrifice sleep

Bee-I bought it during the motherhood fair, no idea wat to buy, seems like can give bb this kind of food so I buy lor :p
Pureed food- buy bottle or self made huh? how to self make?
Think I will follow ur way intro organic brown rice cereal to him 1st, u just pour heated ebm into the cereal or put ebm into pot n boil together with cereal?

Singapoh,
hope the new CL will be better....

Stb,
u r already doing very well n doing ur best for ur son... It's normal to be more emo now.... initially my mum also not very experienced with bb n confinement.... I dun even have herbs for the first few days when I get home until I threaten my mum that if she still dun get the herbs for me on the 5 th day I'm going to take my bath whether there's herbs or not... After a week or so things got better. I was very stressed out plus my ebm was only like 5 - 10ml. It was another setback for me after I was unable to deliver my gal naturally. I felt inadequate. My gal dun latch well as I got short nipples. Even tho she drinks alot, she was willing to latch on me even tho I dun have much milk but every time I will get sores or even blisters so I had to stop latching n can only pump. I also saw the LC a few times. I tried fenugreek n medication from gynae but doesn't really help. Maybe I was impatient but after a month I gave up bf. One of the reasons being I was pumping for 5 - 10 ml of milk most of the time while others like my mum n hubby took care of my gal. I hardly got the chance to care for her or cuddle her as I was pumping. So I made the decision to stop after 1 month with the support of my hubby. Giving FM was easy but making the decision definitely wasn't. Wat I'm trying to say u r doing very well already even if u do not have enuff supply now n it takes time to know ur son's pattern. Slowly things will get easier as u learn to cope. As I told my hubby.... parenthood really makes us very active problem solvers... Constantly troubleshooting.

Hi hi, thanks for all e tips n encouragements. i've decided not to stress myself over e maid n mil issue for now.......got to stay focus on my son, n stay positive for my dh...

Dh n i hv discussed..during wkday nites, i'll jus pump out, then gv Alvis formula....daytime, i will try to latch on + ebm.....wkend nites, we'll try latch on too as dh is available to help me since he doesnt need to work next day....dh knows how much i wan to bf our son...so he told me not gv up tt easily...

Vi4n, 60ml is really trial n error after we tried feedin him w packs of ebm,,,,if he needs more, then we will make more...but so far, it's enuff w either latch on or 1 pack of ebm ard 50-60ml. My joint name soreness is gone, but can start feelin backache, i guess coz lack of slp n keep sittin up to pump or tryin to bf...

Linda, initially i aso 10ml of bm....as i try to pump every 3 hrs, the supply increases to ard 60-70ml..u may wan to try to b more diligent on pumpin...

My maid said CL reboil water to make FM for my babies. When my maid told her not to, she said she has been drinking like this for decades and won't die.

Stb,

try using both pump at the same time. Save time and no need to slouch for so long.

I just pumped out to feed my twins. Manage to get 130ml in total. Breasts felt full. Yesterday latched on a lot and long.

My throat is so sore now.

Hi, i'm feeling great now! Bf-ing my son now while typing this.....

I was actually pumping when he woke up n cried..went into e rm to carry in n abt to warm up my fridged EBM then decided to try latching on...surprisingly he latched on n sucked!!!!! hahahahahahaha...I jus wan to share this happy n wonderful moment w all......

twinstar
i self made all pureed food usually on weekends which are enough for a week supply. i steam, mash then sieve them (very tedious thus i bought a all-in-one food processor eventually. u can just get a mini blender). i will take out a portion enough for the day and freeze the rest using ice cube trays. i put the ice cube trays in ziplock bag as there are other frozen meat. once frozen, transfer them into ziplock bags or air tight containers... one food to one bag/container. though the frozen food can be kept for a few months (books/websites said so), i tried to finish them within 1-2 weeks

for the readily-made cereal, i heat the ebm using warmer (or just a bowl of hot water) and then mix it into the cereal, very easy and fast. if use hot water to heat ebm, make sure u dun over heat above body temp as it will destroy the nutrients in the ebm

stb
see, you can do it! wel done!
back then, i was worried that if i pump out and bb cries (he could cry anytime) then i will hv no milk for him to suck, so i nvr pump until he starts to sleep thru the night at 4th month.

Singapoh
mmm... ur CL gives u a lot of headache. her level of hygiene is different from urs... old folks are like dat and will not listen one. no matter what, u shd still try to do ur confinement properly else next time u will ache here ache there!

juju
3-4 times a day... that means abt 4-5 hrs interval? maybe tt's why ss decrease? i cant wait tt long to express bm cos i hv some small little milk cysts and thus get blocked ducts easily... hv been advised by experts to ignore them till i want to stop bf (-__-)

Singapoh, sounds like me leh, I also bath once or twice a day n wear shorts. even when I go hospital to visit bb Ryan I also wear short skirts n t-shirts.
Just to up date bb Ryan is off oxygen now. He had a lung infection last wk n was having some breathing problem, thankful it's clearing now. Wt gain is a little slow at 1.77kg today, hopefully he can be home in 10 days time.
Spiffy n oxidized, can I ask if your babies are given vitamins n iron?

Bee- self made puree very tedious wor, but i think i will try to make some for my bb during the weekend.
Btw i read fr internet, when intro solid to bb, a tablespoon portion will do and to give him after he has his milk, milk is still as per normal, solid is just like snack for them. Saw the 4 day rule thingy, troublesome to follow leh.
Stb- latching bb is a wonderful moment. I still enjoying latching my boy

Stb, happy for you!!! To e rest of e ladies, thank u for sharing your struggles & victories!

singapoh, pardon my ignorance.... Water cannot be re-boiled meh? That aside, totally agree that u shd change ur CL! I hope e agency blacklist her, man...

Spiffy, I just recovering from my flu. Starting kangeroo care again later today. Did u do that when yr bbies were in kk? Any idea how long got to give the vit n iron? How r u coping now? Must tell to rest when u can. How's yr bbies wt now?

hi hi...it's not 100% successful in getting Alvis latch on yet....but I'm getting closer and closer to it...8)

Mummies, jus wondering, what do you do with the leftover milk esp when you know that the bb will likely to wake up within the next 10-15 mins to ask for milk again? Throw away the EBM very wasteful leh....I am keeping the milk (either EBM or Formula) for at least 30 mins+- so as not to waste it.....is that okay?

Stb, jia you.. Great to read your spirit is up now ;)
good to know the joint pain gone with the birth.

singapoh, take care le. The weather is cold n hot now. I think u def lack of rest n sleep.

Berrybaby, hope your baby will gain enough weight soon n can go home. Take care..

Berry, hope ure feeling much better. For iron and vits - one for 1 month. The other 2 months. They're gaining wt every day. They r 3.2 and 3.6 kg now. Yes I enjoyed kangaroo care..kkh really encourages it.

These days I'm very very tired..sometimes I wonder if things would be different if I didn't have twins. Maybe I'll enjoy this more. For now I'm just taking each day as it comes. Some days / nights are good, some are bad. I've asked my mom's friend to help as a sitter soon, instead of only when I go back to work cos I'm getting cranky and I fear I'm going mad. I know I'm experiencing post partum depression. It's getting worse by the day. I thot I didn't want to go back to work but for my sanity I think it is best that I do. Oh dear I didn't mean to spill my heart out here.

Bee,

CL is charging money to take care of babies and me. If she's too stubborn, she is not suitable for the job. Should stay at home to look after her own grandchildren.

Actually I asked a nurse before about confinement practises. She said old already sure ache here and there!..haha...

Berry,

Hope baby Ryan can go home with you soon.

When I go out, I don't wear shorts lah. Only at home I do that.

Twinstars,

Very easy to make puree lah. Just make in big batch like Bee and freeze. Can just steam frozen puree. Don't even have to thaw overnight. All you need is about 10 mins or so.

Stb,

Once your baby's saliva touches the milk, don't keep anymore. Germs multiply very fast especially at room temperature. You can portion your EBM in few bottles.

I usually express out and keep EBM in my room at 25 degrees celsius till the next feed (max 4 hours only)

Can try a different angle to latch Alvis. Sometimes when your nipple is too wet, it becomes slippery so it's difficult to latch on. Wipe it dry first before trying again.

Spiffy, gd that bb is gaining wt, my paed told my premies will catch up with normal bb within 2 yrs, in fact sometimes the brain forgets to switch off the catch up mechanism n the bb risk becoming obese so much watch carefully. U must take care of yourself. Try to relax n enjoy motherhood. if need to let the maid handle diaper change n milk preparation. Think positive, at least u need not go thru morning sickness n the whole pregnancy process agan.

Vi, thanks. I hope bb can come home soon too. Oops forgot to congrat u, Linda, n Singapoh on yr new babies