IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

finally find time to post here liao

had finally received my little precious prince Ethan Ting on 2/6@0709am, Wt 3.015kg.

on 1/6 @ 1030am when i had my 38weeks appt, my BP was sky high , so Dr loh afraid i had severe PE, so he arranged me straight to labour ward for induce and he said hopefully can go natural if not got to c-sect and he said he will delivered me no matter wat.

At 1330pm, me at the labour ward, and Dr loh came at 3pm to break my water bag and epidural inserted at 5pm, and IV induce started at 530pm.

At 7pm, contraction set in, SO PAINful. and it lasted on and off till next day 5am. cervix was able to fully dilate 10cm when nurse checked for me at 5am on 2/6. and my action started pushing baby since 5am to 7am, tis is another PAINful part. finally Dr loh went in at 7am, and i said i wan vaccum, and finally with the vaccum assisited i delivered my little baby at 0709am

linda, a big congrats to u and thanks for sharing your delivery process!
It will be useful to first timer MTB like me on what we should be expecting when we're due.

Bubbybear,
If the panties are stained with blood, i can't wash it with other clothes. Have to soak and wash separately. Very troublesome.
Normal time i combine with other clothes.

Linda, congrats again. So u were induced due to high bp.
Why u still feel the pain after epidural?
And lastly photos up already ? ;)
baby weight is good ;) u should be home already?

dear all

vi4n
yes..i was induced due to my high BP 170/100... but after arrived at labour ward, my BP normal liao

yes...still feel severe pain depsite epidural, and dr loh is amazed that i able to go thru natural labour...but is reali reali painful

dear all
has uploaded my son's pic in fb liao
enjoy

vi4n
yes... stay one night in labour ward and one night in ward. was discharged yesterday liao.
next is ur turn liao

congrats,linda
curious.. during preg,you got high BP?
me too..dr loh also happy I had a natural delivery without assisted or even induction (due to my high BP). I got bleeding so rushed to the hosp.. then dr loh decided to break my waterbag instead of waiting for the induction date
ya stitches painful and got up & walked rather very slow like an old woman.. heh

linda, once again congrats!

vi4n, take it easy, everyone has mil problems... thinking back, i should hv locked/closed my door when i bf... i was a little uncomfortable when she popped in to watch :S she still does so when i bf my boy at their house in their room. as such, i always feed my boy in the dark if i need to do so at their place

I am new here, just did my IVF transfer and waiting for the 17 days for pregancy test. My husband so excited, he saw the recent expo exhibition on discounted motherhood stuff and want to buy the breast pump...any advise whether is it too early to buy (if there is expiry date for breast pump) and what brand is recommended? I have totally no clue on what features etc to look out for...

Rose dun rush to get things for now, you just did your ET , wait for the result and wait for 1st trimester be over first before you hunt for bargains.. There are couple of baby fairs and sales thru out the year. What you head for now is maternity wear and those comfy clothes.. these are more needed for you now.

Breast pumps no expiry dates but there is warrenty date for it.

Breast pump you should get 1-2 months before your delivery so that so you ample warrently period during your usage.

All the best to you for your 2ww.. Enjoy and rest lots and dun forget a good nutritious diet.

dear all
thanks for all e greetings

vi4n
when the anesthetist asked me for epidural feedback yesterday before i discharged home, i gave him a frank feedback (not very good score in terms in effectiveness of epidural)

spiffy
my episiotomy wound still hurts at times, but bearable...now at home totally taking care of baby by myself, cos my mil will cook confinment menu for me and she also must do housework.

Congrats Linda!
Wow your blood pressure was so high! It's good that you could still go through natural labour and deliver your son with gd weight ;)

Linda,

Poor thing lei you. You felt painful when Dr Loh stitch you up?

Epidural didn't work for me in my first delivery. I took gas and painkiller.

This time it works for me. I had to sit upright for the doctor to administer epi for me. I instantly felt warm and pain free. Didn't even have to press the button for extra dosage but I felt pain when Dr Loh stitch me up.

mm...1st time i heard epi not effective... dosage too low? how many units were inserted? i was pain free thruout and both legs were so numbed till my gynae has to advise to reduce dosage and even cut it off totally so that i could push

Linda it's good yr mil is there to support you in terms of confinement food... Enjoy motherhood.. These early days r so tiring but isn't it what we all wanted..

Thanks Bee....Baby Alvis is back home...and is a little Terror!

Hey, Epi aso didn't work for me AT ALL! I had to press and press, used up 4 big n 4 small ones! Still no use....was crying father and mother in the delivery ward....hehehehe

Vi4n, U r asking ur MIL to do confinement for u right? Let me share my 1-day experience w u....I'm regretting it! My MIL has not cared for a baby for 30 years...so meaning she's completely helpless and clueless wat to do with the baby! All she knows is keep telling us to wrap Alvis when we were trying to change him when he poo and/or pee or constantly crying for milk...damn *@#$ pissed off with her....I didn't get a good rest at all...really regretted not engaging a confinement lady...

Stb, ooh baby Alvis is home? Is yr mil prepared to take on all the tasks of a CL? Is it a case of diff expectations?

Can anyone who's been to the Motherhood fair share if there r good diaper deals? And worth going or not? Is it like the Mother and Baby one in March or better?

stb,
u nid help? see if u can get cl frm agency asap. else, call me. i can come over if u nid.

spiffy,
yes, much better offer. pampers at 2pks for $20 for m & l size, nepia at $14 per pk till end of the mth, offer prx for huggies, sealer & eq diapers (see my fb). no fm promo.

singapoh, the agent which u go to engage your confinement lady is PEM? Which mth of our pregnancy do we inform them we want a confinement lady? Thks

stb, vi4n
if cl is mil sure have complains, conflicts... cos we as dil can't really "instruct" her to do this and that or ask her to talk softly not to say keep quiet or say not like this should be like that etc... back then, i looked forward to the last day of confinement which i thought was a month... then she said shd be 40 days :S i can only say "ren", if really can't, vent in on hubby and get him to talk to her. take care!

Stb, bee, I'm a special one ha ha I can instruct n not obey my mil. If I choose to do what my mil ask is because I jus want to keep the peace n I can do it jus the most grumble a bit. But those I can't accept I will object n tell her directly. If she not happy she is welcome to leave I have maid anyway. ;)
I signed up my mil for the feeding n bathing class n she can't wait to show off that she know how.
My mil character is kaypoh n always wanna feel that she is needed n important. So the problem I foresee is she will insist to do everything herself n don't let me do which I will be upset lo.
Last night she upset me. She saw that maud shower in the evening n also in the morning. She then asked me whether necessary. I told her I was the one insisting for maid to shower at least twice a day because I wanna make sure she doesn't have body odour n be cleaned when caring for baby.
I reminded my mil that maid sleep in non Aircon room. So def will perspire when wake up in the morning n she only shower after she cleans the house n mop. So what's wrong with that?then my mil kept quiet lo.
I'm very outspoken one with my pil. N they also used to being objected by the children including me ha ha.. I'm with this family for 13 years already ;)

Ju, u wan to work as part time confinement nanny?? hehehe....this week, my dh is ard...and he's asking me to be patient....we'll c next week when he goes back to work......

Ju, confinement nanny not so critical...but I need a MILK nanny coz my son is drink more than 100ml per feed and I'm only producing 50-60ml now..................hehheheheh

STB, how you know he's drinking so much? You supplement w FM?

Bing/Sunflower, I think i ku-ku one.. Went Kiddy Palace last round, forgot to check on sterilizer and milk warmer. Realised they have good discount - $95 for Pigeon Rapid Steam, and $60 for bottle warmer. Avent's warmer $87.20. I think I am getting Pigeon's Sterilizer after reading that Avent's one difficult to clean leh. I'm still utterly confused. So, I think I am just going to get the cheaper one (but am I sure? @_@)

Des,
I just came back from the motherhood fair and got the Pigeon sterilizer bundle with food warmer and 3x240ml & 2x160ml bottles, 2 packs of bb wipes and bottle cleanser. It costs $199. I think it's still cheaper to get the bundle cos if you get the sterilizer and warmer separately at Kiddy Palace, will cost $155 already. I decided to get Pigeon sterilizer cos it's bigger than Avent and more flexible. A few of my friends are using Pigeon sterilizer so it shouldn't go wrong ;)
If you spend $250 and above on Pigeon products, you will get a set of Pigeon baby spoons, forks & bowls as free gift. (UP $30+) Too bad I already bought alot of Pigeon products at the Isetan sale.

stb,
all the more u shld latch him so dat ur body will take the cue & produce more. whn u supplement, ur body think the current ss is enuff & wun produce more liao

Bing, I bght e sterilizer & milk warmer from Robinsons today. Same price as Kiddy p but still got rebate lah. Bght it coz I was there & also bght e bf pump, so take cab home... Hee hee. Btw, I bght NUK bottles already mah.

today I went to robinson then Expo, super tired.

Juju-I bought pampers L size 3 packs (38pcs) @S$45 leh, not 2 packs @S$20 leh.

Bing-U bought the Pigeon sterilizer which can be food warmer? I even ask a lady in forum whether it is gd to use or not, she said gd but 1 yr later spoil, maybe becos it is non switch type, there is electronic component inside so spoil easily. So better handle it with care.

Despondent-I got Pigeon rapid sterilizer and milk warmer seperately. To be frank the milk warmer is under utilised cos we always use hot water in cup to warm ebm, we find it faster, milk warmer took a longer time to warm the fridge ebm, bb cannot wait so long, always cries for milk.

btw Bee/Juju/singapoh,

I bought eu yan seng brown rice with si shen powder, cos my bb coming to 6 mths, gonna intro solid to him, but hor how to add ebm into the brown rice powder wat portion shd I put huh.

btw I bought a stretch mark cream called plagentra fr korea @ motherhood fair, saw the pic after 4 weeks stretch marks lighten a lot, I bought 1 tube, hopefully it works :p