IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

eskimo
thanks for sharing
ur daughter become more n more pretty liao

syann
i do heard some gynae (not those doing ivf) are quite stingy on HL etc...but afterall is urself knows ur limit can work until which extend...

sunflower/skies/gan/singapoh

Thanks. lost some 6 kg since tested positive. I cant even stomach a mouthful of liquid be it water, 100 plus or milo. I will just throw out. That's why the severe dehydration. Mine urine color is so yellow. Maybe have to admit again tomorrow. I am only in week 9 and not sure if i have the strength to continue this. I live by the hr not days........

nancy,

Can understand how you feel thou my MS not as serious as yours. Think I did lose some weight during 1st tri. Maybe eat anti- nausea pills if you cant stand it??

skies, i am on HL (this week is the 3rd week) coz of bleeding and brown spotting, so i can't go for walks.....i am only allowed to walk from sofa/bed to toilet, most of time lying on bed/sofa. Ya do quite abit of reading also surfing on hp. Maybe going back to work also let me feel my pregnancy is stable le and i can be more 安心. Tomorrow seeing dr loh again (!!) hopefully everything ok, maybe rest till end of this week, i can go back to normal life.

Nancy, press on, i know must be very tough but at least babies are growing well

thanks skies, been trying to be positive though i was initially very affected by dr loh's remarks last thurs abt us to hope for the best, was crying quite abit last thurs till sat but later tell myself this is not good for bb, i have to be positive, so am in much happier mood now. =)

Skies,
Can buy now if you can get good price during the GSS. Otherwise, can wait till after delivery since bb need to latch on for the first few weeks and it's better for bb to latch on to stimulate the milk production compared to expressing.

singaph - u must teach me how to let both babies latch on @ the same timing and you cld free ur hands for other purpose .... heheheheh

I went to Philips sale ydae. Was standing for quite some time but still undecided if I wan to buy now or after delivery. When I decided to buy, d pump I want is OOS. It will be sufficient to buy single electronic pump right??

Thanks Ladies....didn't get much sleep as our families, colleagues and frens visited......

Hubby is v proud of him, kept saying that he's v cute..hheheheheh

I managed to latch him on twice today, with the nurse help...going to try it myself later...

Gan,
my gynae is dr Benjamin Tham but he's just gone over to TMC this month. I really like him n might consider him again next time if I can have a 2nd bb

Linda,
thanks! Your turn coming soon waiting to see ur bb pics

stb,
let us see photo soon ok.... Try to rest as much as u can hor... Will help with the milk supply

Zaza,
Was there gd deal for medela pump at the last bb fair? Which model did you get? U bought both the sterilizer and pump from the bb fair right?

Skies,
I'm also wondering whether I should buy the breast pump or wait till after delivery. Also haven't decided whether I should get medela PIS or mini electric plus.

Nancy,
Your MS sounds really bad. Try to take small amount of fluid at regular interval. Maybe you can request for injection to stop your vomiting if it's really bad. I was vomiting badly after ER and the doc gave me an injection which stops the vomiting in 5min so that I could go home.

Singapoh,
I'm also interested to find out how you latch on both bbs at the same time. ;) My friend who just gave birth to twins 2 months ago told me that she'll latch on her 2 bbs one at a time at 2hr intervals. She didn't manage to sleep at all at night for the first month..

Skies,
r u with kkh? At kkh u can try using their breast pump after ur delivery during ur stay there. Then can decide after that wat kind of pump u wanna get.

Eskimobaby,
Which model of breast pump can you try at kkh? Usually they carry the more sophiticated model like medela PIS right? Do they have mini electric?

eskimobaby so u switch to dr tham and stay with kkh? Er is it abit paiseh....i mean how do u do the switch? U tell dr loh u want to go to dr tham?

stb,

Let your baby latch on every 3 hours so that your milk supply kicks in faster.

I just had my post natal massage. Now wrapped up like a mummy. :p

Zaza, Bing,

I bf both my twins in football hold position. Need plenty of cushions. Support their head with small pillows and your hands will be free

nancy, i oso hav bad MS ..had it since 2ww.. bt urs sounds many times worse.. oh dear... i lost about 3kg since bfp.. cant eat much oso...

hv u tried taking anti nausea pills ? it comes in two forms...if u can't swallow coz will puke...another type can be inserted thru the bum.. maybe will relieve ur MS.... talk to ur doc to see how he can help u...

Nancy, your MS is really very severe. To lose that much of weight too. Take care & I hope the phase will pass soon for you. If really can't take anything in I think u better get admitted lo.

Skies, mrs wong from TMC said parentcraft has pump for you to try. If u don't buy then pay $20 to test all sort of pump brands but if u buy then will be absorbed.

My friend got me the manual pump first. Only when milk flow establish then I will get dual electric pump most probably ameda.

Stb, sound great that you managed to latch him already. We are patiently waiting to see Alvis photo ok ;)

yes, gynae who doesn't do ivf won't give MC or HL so easily.
So if u like to get more on such leave you should stay with Dr Loh bah. If not I heard dr Henry Cheng at bishan also easily give MC but not HL since his practice is not at hospital.

Bing,
it's not those portable electrical breastpump that we get outside. I guess wat they use is hospital type. Kkh is using medela. They'll wheel it to ur room n they will give u a pack of disposable pump accessories n bottles for use during hosp stay. Pump function wise it's the same as wat we buy outside.

Gan,
dun have to tell the doc. U just make appt with new doc thru the hotline but the nurse will ask u the reason for the change. I just told them that dr loh too bz so I just wanna change to another doc. I think it's ok lah anyway dr loh really too bz n I really felt I had better attention from dr tham. However, when I need to do FET then have to go back to dr loh.

Ya ya...can c on my hubby's facebook. I'm jus too tired to take photos...furthermore, I can't get out of bed for today....v troublesome..hopefully the doc will clear me tmrw and I can walk around without pain....

Linda, good wt at 3.14kg 8)....going to grab some slp now coz the nursery is going to pass him to me for milk tomorrow morning at 8plus...

Stb, congrats.....!!! Finally, u see your son. U poor thing leh, struggled w contraction pain for so long. Didn't sleep a wink for 2 nights? Poor thing.

re: hospital pump used in kkh
it's medela lactina, whn i last used it in may09. looks something like this, but mounted on a wheelie so dat it's easily pushed around.

4046807.jpg

Thanks Ladies....really need all the encouragements that I need now...

Last nite, halfway thru my sleep, I woke up and felt the pain at my wound...and started crying...got a bit emotional coz I didn't expect to go thru this to give birth to my son..I kept telling my hubby if I can deliver thru the natural way, I will be able to care more for Alvis...sigh....I'm quite glad to have a a very supportive hubby who kept consoling me that it wasn't my choice, and not forgetting my cute son now...though I can only carrying him briefly when I try to bf him...

Hubby v funny yesterday...coz of my c-sect, I cldn't carry and handle the bb on my own..so he was changin the diapers and checking on him constanly when Alvis was in the room wif us...his fren actually took a video of him changing the diaper and threaten to post on facebook...hahahahha

Oh, Dr Loh finally came to see me this morning, and he agreed to let me discharge tomorrow...finally get to go home with Alvis....8)

Singapoh, I told my hubby to go home and slp since we havent slept from Sun early morning...without him ard, I cannot handle the bb on my own...so I told the nurse to let me rest for the nite.....I m going to c him soon..hopefully he's not going to complain of the smelly mum...I smell bad esp coz of my hair...later goin to tell my MIL that I must at least wash my hair today, I don't care liao...

stb - sweet hubby u gt there to change the diaper for Alvis and ensuring that you had some rest .... gr8 news that u are gg home today and even though u only had brief moments with him, I'm sure Alvis will undertstand that his mummy is one brave mummy who go thru so much for him .... I simply luv chubby babies

stb,
yea, ur hb chg diapers. dats sweet of him.
u r very brave mummy, gotta think positive so dat bb alvis can feel ur love, k?
be strong. all of us here will support u

stb,
Congrats on having Alvis and a sweet hubby !

Having gone through the same thing, just want to say, if u feel pain on the wound and cannot tahan, just take the pain-killers. You should feel painless after that and should be able to handle bb. Try to eat something too. Don't worry about the medication affecting bb bf. It should be save otherwise, Dr will not prescribe it. I went through the same thing here in Oz, and I think comparing spore and Oz natal care, spore is heaps better. We are given bb the moment he is born(provided everything is ok), nursery only open at 5 pm and u can only park there for for few hours, even at night, we got to take care ourselves, spouse are not allowed to stay in hospital. They also do not feed, change or bathe baby. So I really needed the pain-killers to help me. The pain should slowly go away, so just endure for a while. I showered from top down in hospital the moment they allow me to get down, nothing feels better than having a nice bath.

U are one brave mummy like everyone else here, enjoy your motherhood.

stb:maybe u shld get ur hubby's video uploaded then we can all show it to our dh. Ha.. Can motivate all the men. It's good that you will b home soon. Yeah..

Eskimobaby: I changed gynae cos I also feel that Dr Loh is too bz. Furthermore the Q @ KKH is v v v long. Even thought U can b early for ur appt, but u will only get to see him 2 hrs later. Faint.. The drive back home is also bad. CTE is always jammed. Really hate the feeling of being stuck in e traffic.

Gan: U must b positive. Actually it's funny to have those words coming out fr me. I do get v emotional v easily & I tend to cry easily when I have negative thoughts. Luckily I've a long-winded dh who will always encourage me. He always like to say " If U r upset, bb can feel it & she will start to throw tantrum." Let's us stay positive for our baby's sake.

Nancy: do take care. But if u look at the bright side, the more MS you feel, the better it's e bb's growth.

soon-to-be, you've been through a lot so take very very good care.. Your c-sec pain will go away within 1-2 weeks. If your hubby can be on leave for a few days it'd be good.

i didn't get to give birth the way i wanted and worse, it was totally unexpected & 2 months early so i know how you feel about being disappointed with how things turned out. But try to look forward to all the wonderful things you can do with Alvis and best of all, he is healthy and well.

How does it feel to be a mommy??

syann thanks for encouragement..i a,?now at clinic d waiting to see dr loh...waited 1 hr leh ut shld be soon coz just got sms that there r abt 4 patients ahead for me. Very nervous abt seeing bb again....hope bb has grown well and on track.