IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bing,

I totally have no ideas wat brand is good for stroller, bb cot etc.
I also dont know wat i should buy first. abit lost.

Need all the advices from all sis here.

Btw have u done ur oscar test? Im doing it this fri at KKH? Hope everything is fine.

Fashion spree,
I'm also not so familiar with the different brands of cots, stroller etc..I intend to buy most of the big items like cot, carseats, stroller in June, then other smaller items will buy slowly over the next few months when there's good deal. I'll only be getting a good breast pump after i deliver cos I wanna make sure that i have enough milk supply first.
Maybe we'll need to some window shopping to compare the different brands first before we decide what to buy.
I'm doing the oscar test tmr. I've already done the blood test 2 weeks ago and will be doing the NT scan tmr. Let's hope that everything turns out fine for us

Twinstars,
My mum is doing business at a shophouse so she can help me to keep an eye on the maid and teach her how to cook. I'm just afraid that my new maid will learn some tricks from my mum's maid and get bad influence from her.
You only got your maid recently? You have been taking care of the bb yourself for the past few months?

Singapoh,
CL is the first thing I booked once I confirmed having twins. My friend recommended her and she's only asking $1800 which seems to be quite reasonable. Is it the market practice to place a deposit when you book a CL? Regardless of freelance CL or from agency? This CL is asking for deposit to confirm the booking but my dh is not so comfortable with placing the deposit since he said no service is rendered.

But that 2 weeks is jialat one, lost 2kg in 2 weeks. kept vomitting and felt so strange cos normally pple vomit n stop at week 12, mine started on week 13. I felt dizzy too cos not enough iron, gynae gave me iron tablet for 1 mth then stop, so I kept eating steak for iron intake.

Bing,

I paid $300 deposit to my previous freelance but in my mid/late 2nd trimester. I paid agency $500 when I confirm my booking.

My gf who just gave birth. Only able to reach her CL few days after she gave birth. Now her MIL is doing her confinement.

U better take down her Msia and Spore number.

Bing,

Your CL quoted $1800 for twins? For singleton, she only asking for $1800. But because I am having twins, she asked for $500 more. My sis used her early this year so I just booked her lor. I also paid her a deposit of $300 liao.

As of now, I managed to clear the computer room which will be used for babies & maid room. Bought a single bed for maid and ordered baby cot liao...next item on list is to source for maid which I think i run out of time. If really like what Dr Loh said to you, earliest delivery of twins is 1 month before EDD then I only left with 2 mths. @_@

Bing, oic then like that shd be okie cos got pple keep an eye on maid. But hor your mum got maid, jialat lah, maid normally like to gang up together one, I v scared my maid will pick up bad habits fr other maid (my sil got maid).
Ya I got maid recently nia, cos v tired to wash bottles especially after work. my mil helps me look after my bb, impossible I ask my mil to wash bottles for me, so after work still have to wash bottles, my hubby in charge of cleaning the hse, he also v tired cos last time he cleaned once a week, now like have to clean every 2 days, cos now mil lives with us, windows always open, hse v dusty. We also have a dog, now like neglect the dog, so hope the maid will look after the dog. Bobian have to spend $$ to engage maid.
Your CL is cheap for twins, but hor better dun give deposit lah. Me no CL, mil does the confinement for me. But my 2nd one; hope next yr got 2nd bb
I will engage CL, cos mil will be busy looking after my no. 1. PM me your CL contact leh, she is the cheapest I heard wor, will keep her contact aside when needed.

Singapoh,
Oh so placing a deposit of $300 for freelance CL is a common practice. I got both her Msia and Spore no. Will be meeting her soon to place deposit and also my dh wants to 'interview' her.

Bbhp,
Yes she quoted $1800 for twins. I told her that I'll be getting a maid to help her that's the reason she only asked for 200 more for twins i think. I'm prepared to give her a few hundreds more at the end of assignment if she does a good job.
You bought most of the essential bb items already right? That should be sufficient already. Leave the sourcing for maid part to your hb..heehee..That's what Dr Loh said the other time when he told me the story of his patient.

bing,

$2000 for twins is cheap...with maid deduct 200 is not bad...seldom see so cheap, its good to interview her..

I am in my week5/6. I havent eaten anything the past week except for few biscuits and bread. I will throw out whatever i eat and no appetite to eat anything at all. Throwing out is still okay the worse is the nausea that's with me almost the whole day. I cant leave the house or go to work. Is there anything that can make me feel better? Do i need to take iron pills? Thanks, ladies

Twinstars/Singapoh
Thanks for the advice. I will ask for some pills for the nausea when i see my dr on thursday. Didnt know first tri is so tough. Just pray that all these will ease with time. Also cried a few times, feel so helpless

nancy,

Went through d same as you. If you really cant take it, ask for anti- nausea pill. Try different type of food and see which type of food you can take. For me, I find tt gassy cold drnks helps me eat better. Maybe take some sweets/ chocolates/ sour stuff?? U going for scan on Thurs?

Nancy,

for most of us, 1st tri is the toughest part of pregnancy. I felt really weak in 1st tri. All I wanted to do is lie on the bed but got to take care of my active son. I sent him to MIL's for few days coz really can't tahan liao.

Thanks, skies
Oh and u still can go to work? Admire u. I find sweet stuff are not for me, so just suck some sour stuff. Yes, first scan this thursdsay am.

thanks for all the advices on food during first trimester. okie will try to eat watever i can manage. so glad to hv this forum to get all these valuable tips and views from all of you.

baby
aiyo pls don't even think of wishing for MS so tat u knw u r preggie. already i not appetite without MS, i feel so lousy.
i read pple with MS is really miserable. just think positive, count ur blessings that u got no MS. i'm sure baby is doing fine inside u. every single one of us is different. just enjoy the MS-free days and stop worrying okie.

Singapoh
Really admire u. Still need to take care of the elder one. Now i can really understand what mothers go thru. Mothers' love is the greatest
I feel much better now after ranting here. Thanks, ladies. I will hang on........

nancy,

No choice leh. If really too tired, will leave earlier or take urgent leave.

If can, try to take some milk but dont overdose.. Even now, I dont drink milk everyday. Sometimes feel I'm not a very good mum. Duno isit coz my appetite is not back yet plus weather is hot for past few days so it makes my appetite worse. Now trying to eat more fruits n less on cold drink which is hard.

singapoh,

I dont know leh.. Hahaha.. Coz that time i asked my gynea if can take HL milk coz milk powder quite heaty for me. He juz say try to have balanced diet n dont overdose coz milk quite fattening. But think you have been low fat milk right? So think it should be ok ba.

I think I should drink more milk/ soy milk right?? But I dont like HL milk leh and I find that even 1 cup will make my throat very dry like going to have sore throat. Does that mean it is heaty for me? But soy milk still ok leh.

Bing,
I am currently looking around for car seats and strollers.
Car seats have those from newborn-1yr and have handle that you can carry around or sit on the stroller. Otherwise, you can check out those from newborn to 3-4yrs old.

Strollers- if you are tall or have tall hubby, check out brands like Quinny, peg perego, maclaren, which have taller/extendable handles. Otherwise, brands like combi seems ok. i went to see combi but my hubby find the handle too short for him.

Skies,
There are other milk brands in the market. I am taking farmhouse low fat, high cal right now. Seems ok for me. I dun like HL milk cos it taste sweet.

Skies,

I m taking low fat HL milk. There are many brands of milk that u can try. If can't take milk, try soybean wz added calcium (not those freshly milk) or yoghurt.

I m not taking any calcium supplement.

Twinstars,
I've just pm you the contact no. of my CL. I think can't skip the deposit cos it's a common practice in the market. Actually if they run away with the $, we mummies-to-be will be the sufferer right? How to find another CL at the last min? But I trust this CL cos my friend highly recommended her.

Skies,

doc asked if I take milk. Since I got GD, I got to follow a special diet. Drinking milk 4 x a day, cheese and I also take spinach.

I dun need calcium or iron pills.
Just take multi vits. My diet is high in protein.

Bakaholic,
Thks for sharing. I was looking at the mothercare catalogue and found that there are so many different types of car seats. Front and back-facing types. And also those with handles like what you mentioned. I think those with handles are not so practical right. They are usually smaller and can only be used fro new born up to one/ two years old?

Bing, $1800 is cheap for twins! U found a good deal.
I still have some bb items yet to get. Thought of waiting for month end GSS then grab..hehe. Btw i wonder if motherhood fair is still on at expo next month. It was not publish on expo events website yet.

Singapoh, how come u still so active here today? Moving yet?
Jus finished teaching the maid to wash bathroom. I'm so tired and HOT...

Babe, are u reading the miserable state of the mommies who are having MS?? He he.. So jus be glad we don't have MS and have faith that baby is growing well. Pray to whichever God you believe in for perfect growth and development of the baby. I do that even till now when baby is moving every day.

In the ivf thread I think there are 2 new mtb also wishing for MS. Till date I think I only vomitted 3 times n I already felt that's very bad. So can't imagine those who will vomit on every meals daily.

Nancy,
I'm just having nausea all the time and the feeling is already quite bad and you have nausea with vomitting. It must be quite bad. Try to get the anti nausea pills from your gynae. There is also injection to help you to stop the vomitting if it's so bad that it's causing dehydration.

I asked my gynae whether I can take calcium or iron pills as I can't take milk and he said it's not neccessary to take in tri 1. He will only prescribe calcium tablets for me in tri 2.

Try to take more fluid like glucose drink, ribena or Milo to prevent dehydration and provide you with energy.

Singapoh,
My hubby is 183cm. He find the combi stroller awkward to push around.

Skies,
Greensfield milk is from Indonesia but the cows are from Australia so they always advertised it's Australian milk.

Bing,
The car seats with handles is from newborn to about 10kg, i think. I find it not practical to use it for about 1 yr and have to buy a new one. I do have my eye on the combi Corroco which is newborn to up to 40lbs. It's not as bulky so can probably sit another 2 adults next to it.
Usually newborn is rear-facing till 1yr and then convert to front-facing after that.

Bakaholic,
my dh is about the same height as your dh too. Combi stroller is too short for your dh? I better get him to try it out next time. Actually I shortlisted combi stroller cos it seemsquite sturdy and not too heavy. Can the combi Corroco car seat you mentioned be used together with the combi stroller?

Bbhp,
I'm not too sure about the motherhood fair but it seems like it's always held at expo right? Keep a lookout cos there should be publicity. I'm also waiting for GSS to start buying bb stuff and maybe maternity wear. Can't fit into most of my clothes anymore..

Twinstars,
All the best with your 2nd one next year ;) I think we should be around the same age..

Bing, thks
Me old woman liao born in the year 77. I envy those mummies who gave birth in their late 20s, cos mature and got energy to look after kids.