IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

singapoh
yaya..my boy also love to kick me under my breast

dr loh is going in june ah? i think i better ask him on my next appt (18/5)

Singapoh, we can deliver together this mth...hhehehe....me targetin for May 26 or 27 (38th wk)....heheh

Linda, u did ur pre-ad yet?

Esk..yeah yeah..lookin forward to hold my little one in my arms....

can i chk wat chinese food we shd try to take during 1st trimester. u knw during 2ww, we all talk abt taking longan, wolfberry,chicken essence. but dont heard much dicussion on food for first trimester. is it ok to take birdsnest?

Happyhippo. ur first trimester try to avoid so call cooling foods and junk food. For some they will totally lost their appetite.

Just eat a normal balance diet with the daily serving of veggies and fruits.

Like for me now whatever used to be my fav food seems yucky for me. Nothing tastes good and appetite is lost for everything i see.

But still i will keep to eating 3 meals with soup or something.

Birdnest is cooling isnt it? I heard its best to take from 2nd trimester onwards.

Singapoh - I also Doctor Yong same qns as you ask Doctor Loh. She also mention if one of the babies head is down and then the other is breach then she is confident of dh natural birth for me but if both breach then no choice lor must c-section already ....of course as much as possible I wanted natural birth as faster recovery too

Vi4n - gd to hear that you are recovering

happyhippo - that is a gd sign

Mtbs that did ivf fresh...
After bfp.. Does yr bloated tummy gets better?
Cos before i tested bfp.. My tummy is quite bloated... Then few days later it starts to get better... Is that normal? Or it should get worst?

I have no kind of ms or sign.. Feel so normal... So wondering is it normal to be feeling this way..

Baby,

will feel bloated for awhile, also cramping. My MS said hello to me at 5 weeks. Vomitting once in few days. Ease after 12 weeks.

Do you think it's appropriate for my dh to attend his boss's MIL's wake? I'm not the 'pan tang' type but I don't wish to do anything wrong as we've come so far already and the bbs didn't come easy. I'm only stepping into Tri 2 on wed so don't feel so comfortable when my dh told me that he needs to attend the wake tonight. Anyone experienced this before?

Singapoh - They are still on top of each other ...I'm turning 23weeks this week but i KS already ask Doctor Yong during my last appt ...

baby - yes, it shld get better

Bing,

For me, I feel its ok for your hb to attend d wake but best is you dont go. Before he step into d house, put a small bucket of water for him to wash his feet, hands, face (juz splash will do ba). But if you are not really comfortable w him gg to d wake, ask him to talk to his boss nicely.

jeinthiangel, singaph
oh is birdnest cooling? i didnt know.

singapoh,thanks for the link. ya its probably easier to rembr wat not to eat.

my appetite is quite bad, dont really feel like eating much. every lunch time, dont knw wat to eat. dinner time also dont eat much, but then get hungry, so munch on chip, got appetite for chips last 2 days.

i quite worried i not eating much,hence not much nutrients for baby growing inside. so thinking if there is any "good" food that i shd try to take to compensate abit, and hope to still have some nutrients for baby inside.

during 2ww, got lots of advise on wat to eat. so now in 1st trimester like a bit lost.

jeinthiangel, i think u bfp just before me, so u r also in first trimester ya? how are u feeling?
how many scans hv u gone thru already, what's next for u?
i've been thru only first scan, 2nd scan coming up soon. first tri really blur blur, dont know whats the next step..just know dont stress..hahha

Babyhippo,

From what I know, bird's nest is neutral. Neither heaty or cooling.

My appetite in 1st tri was smaller than a baby but bbs still growing well. They take from our reserve, not food.

Tmr I will be 34 weeks
I gained 800 g

Happyhippo,
You can eat anything you feel like in 1st trimester, just avoid too heaty/cooling food cos not to fall ill and too cooling not good for body.
I was eating alot of fast food, esp. big mac and alot of cze char cos too tired to cook and i need strong tasting food. You can take pocari too to replenish the salts/sugars in the body if you can't eat much.
BBs has the strongest survival instinct so they will absorb what they need from us. Dun worry about not eating enough.

happyhippo i have gone thru 2 scans , 6weeks scan and last week was the 8week scan. everything is ok normal.

Now waiting for next month chk up as well the down syndrome test as well. I am under the GUSTO program.

My morning sickness has been bad. Last week my vomitting was very bad that it pulled a muscle ligament and left me with bad abdominal cramps.

I was so in pain and was rushed to KKH 24hr clinic and was admitted for 3 days. Now on bed rest kinda thing.

jeinthiangel,
Take care ok.

Alamak Singapoh, i'm so blur.. i thought today is Tuesday and still wondering why you still have time to post today.

Everything ready for the big move tomorrow?
Remember to be careful ok.

Za, thanks.. no more green discharge for me already. very silly hoh.. should inform my gynae earlier.

Babe, in the first place, i didn't have bloatedness to the extent that tummy big kind.
only the feeling of wind or gas if tummy is empty. No MS for me too, no extreme tiredness. But baby is growing well.

So don't worry too much ok. It is good that you don't feel the uncomfortable of the pregnancy.

I'm happy that i don't have MS.

There are so many other discomforts in pregnancy that you might experience other than MS. So doesn't mean no MS no discomfort.

How all your maids doing now?
I picked up the maid on Sunday afternoon (yesterday) so far so good. Been bringing her out yesterday and today and now she is too tired that she dozed off.

Tomorrow then will ask her to cook. So far she did show initiative to do housework, but not in speaking english to my hubby and other family members. This I have to encourage her a lot..

Vi4n
Thanks for ur assurance... It make me feel better..
No ms does not mean the baby is not growing well...
I should be happy that i dont have ms and can eat well..
I guess can only put my heart at ease when i see baby heartbeat... Then after pass first tri then can enjoy more in 2nd tri where everything is more stable...

Bing, such things are v individual.....for instance, I didn't attend any bb showers or wedding during tri 1....but I attended a close auntie's funeral (was even at the hospital when the doc pronounced that she's gone, and at her funeral almost everyday to help out) in tri 2...then i skipped all the bb showers in tri 3 again...

Vi4n, wah, ur maid so fast cannot take it and sleep liao har? Next tm, bb comes how?

Happyhippo, I was like u when i first bfp, v conscious of what i eat.....but when MS kicked in, my appetite was really bad..so a lot of my mummy frens told me to jus eat watever i can swallow, but moderately, so as to ensure i won't go hungry or too sick.......

Linda, which one did u opt for? Wah...v soon it's our turn to pop!! hehehehe......

Babe, oh yes.. Never ending worry.. I didn't announce to anyone unless those know i did ivf and asked for outcome until my tummy showed (unhideable) and that when I was in 5th month hoh. Even then I didn't announce unless they asked me. ;)
for me really no ms, no extreme tiredness, no moody, no sudden emotion, no cramp. I sailed through 1st tri smoothly ;)
then only confirmed feeling the movement in week 20-21 not as early as others maybe because I have thick tummy ha ha..
My reassurance is only every time the scan lo. ;)
so don't worry too much on what u don't feel it ;)

Stb, I think partly because she bored also. I didn't ask her to
do anything when we reached home. So she reading the so called dictionary I made for her then fall asleep. ;)

jeinthiangel, singapoh, bakacholic, soon-to-be
ok thks for all the assurance.
i just had Mac's chicken burger for lunch today. now everyday must spend some time to think wat i feel like eating...hahah.

last nite, while doing some ofc work on my laptop, my left side of my tummy suddenly got this very painful pulling. got me really scared, quickly lie down.
for that minute, i was so affected tat i was telling myself i will stop working and REST at home. tat moment was really very scary, it really made me feel tat everythg else can stop,the one and only impt thg is to take care of myself and baby inside.

lucky the pain went off after a while.. today back to work and super busy again..

btw, do u all know if dangui, longan, wolfberry -shd be ok drinking these during first trimester ya? tks

Skies, stb,
I've asked my dh to go ahead and attend the wake, but only after doing the NT scan this wed. I'll be in tri 2 by then. Just to make sure that everything is fine.

Happyhippo,
Just eat whatever you feel like eating in tri 1 but avoid those food that are not suitable for pregnant women.

I also have very bad appetite nowadays and can only take spicy food, even though spicy food is supposed to be bad for MS. Just like you, I used to worry that I'm not taking enough nutrients for my bb but my gynae said bb will only get nutrients from the mother's body reserve.

Danggui is no no for pregnant ladies according to my tcm physician, as it'll promote blood circulation. Any herbs that will promote blood circulation should be avoided during pregnancy. My physician also asks me to avoid taking longan, red dates in tri 1 as they are too heaty.

Vi4n,

I still haven't finished packing lei. Packed a bit already tired. My maid packed the kitchen.

Happyhippo,

Dangui is Chinese herbs. Better avoid.

Vi4n,
Your maid is quite fortunate. No need to do anything and just sleep and go out with you only ;)
Are you planning to teach her how to cook and do housework yourself?
I also start to wonder what's my maid going to do if I get her to come 1/2 months before delivery. Both my dh and I are working and there's nobody at home all the time. Probably I'll bring her to my mum's place everyday to learn to cook and do housework before the bbs arrive.

Singapoh,
Maybe you should just leave it to your dh and the maid to do the packing now. Don't make yourself so tired unless you want your bbs to pop early. I think Dr Loh will also tell you this ;)

Bing,

I told Dr Loh I m packing. He just said Relax. I m 34 weeks tmr. Safe to meet my twins liao but hope they guai guai stay inside for another 2 weeks

Happyhippo, don't take any chinese herbs for now.
Actually if u are not on weak constitution no need to 'bu'.

Singapoh, anyway it is not like u can't go back to this current house right? So take it easy ok. ;)

My maid knows how to cook.
Actually her housework also ok just that I haven't teach her how to use my appliances. But morning she did mop the floor, wipe, wash clothings, fold it, clear rubbish, tidy plastic bags.
Tomorrow morning already told her she can wipe clean inside fridge, kitchen cabinets n etc. ;)

what is danggui called in english?
ahh cant take all these? i was hoping can 'bu' abit to help support first trimester leh.
coz cant eat much and now also cant take 'bu' stuff... not sure if i got enuf reserves for baby coz i abit on the skinny side.

Happyhippo,
Danggui is called Chinese angelica.
I wouldn't advise taking any chinese herbs at this stage. Your baby will be fine. If you are worry about the reserves, just ask your doc when you see him next time. I am sure even skinny ppl got enough reserves for bb..

I didn't take any "bu" stuff since pregnancy. Just need to eat balanced diet will do.

Happy hippo,

I think nutrients wise, Anmum milk, folic acid chicken essence is actually good enough. If you want Horlicks as well.

Even your gynae would be able to advise you that dont overload too much stuff into your system now. Just go easy.

2nd and 3rd trimester are the ones you will need more nutrients as baby will start drawing from you.

Maybe the more experience sisters can advise you more. I am non chinese so I dun really know much about the tonics except for the longan red date thing.

If you get too heaty aso you can fall sick. Like me I was way too much in drinking the longan red date drink until now Im having a very bad non stopping cough with very yellow phlegm.. sigh....

Just wonderng, for the Great Eastern ivf insurance we bought, do we need to quote the policy number or show the document if our bb is staying at the neonatal/NICU? I can't find my copy anymore. Can we just give mother name and IC no.?

Bing,

yr maid only come 1/2 months before yr EDD? Very rush and risky. Are u having twins?

Some maids take a few months to learn.

Happyhippo,

Like Bakaholic says, a balance diet will be good. U get plenty of nutrients if u eat right.

I didn't take any Chinese herbs for previous pregnancy and this one. Only bird's nest after 5 months. U can take chicken essence for energy, preferably homemade. Just add old Ginger juice.

Anyone had been to the Motherhood Fair before? Can advise me if the bb stuffs are cheap and reasonable there compare to departmental sales.

I'm moving to my tri 2 end of this week. Since end of this mth great singapore sales start and i was wondering the bb stuff sell at Motherhood fair is it a good deals to buy from?

Bing,

Btw i enrol for the Jun anetenatal class but i will be going on the weekday evening as hubby needs to work on weekend.

Singapoh,
I think either Dr Loh has given up telling you that or he trusts you to be a organized and responsible mum to be able to take care of yourself..haha..

i'm planning to get the maid to come 1 or 2 months before delivery, not 1/2 month..ooppps, 1/2 means 1 or 2. Dr Loh already asked me to prepare to pop earliest 1 month before EDD so i'm using 1 month before EDD as my delivery date. Also booked the CL to come like 1 month before EDD. That should be sufficient right?

Fashion spree,
I'm also planning to start buying bb stuff in June. If you know of any good lobang, do let me know also
Do you have any idea what kind of babycot, stroller etc you intend to buy?
I'm going to register for the sat class tmr. Too bad can't meet you at the class..

Vi4n
After u tested bfp.. With no symptoms and ms.. Do u feel preggy at all thruout the first tri?
Do i have the usual sore boobs after u bfp?
I have no feeling... Thou i have sore boobs but only sore when i touch it.. The bloatedness gng away.. Can see my tummy flatter..
Quite hard to sail thru the 2 weeks till the first scan.. Its just as hard as the 2ww... Esp when nothing tells u are preggy.. I rather have some sort of ms to assure me...

Bing,

u need to book CL early. Last min u might not even get one. Good ones are usually booked 6 months or earlier. I booked mine thru agency as I am having 2 babies. Dun wanna take the risk of no show or uncontactable.

Bing, ya I think your maid shd come 2 mths b4 yr edd, cos like what u say u may pop 1 mth b4 EDD, dun think got any mummies carry twins till week 40 rite (correct me if I am wrong).
Maid needs some time to adjust and get to know when n do wat. My maid came for abt 1 week, now still learning, havent let her feed n change diaper for bb, cos I want her to know how to do the hsehold chores properly b4 learning other things.
I thought ur mum working, how to bring her to ur mum's place when nobody there to teach her? Maid must have someone to "jaga", dunno whether they will let strangers come in or not.

chinese herbs :

i took chinese herbs during first tri..becos mine wasnt stable. although i had suffer from terrible MS, but i had a bleeding and on-off spotting for the entire 1st tri. but mine is from tcm herbs, mainly to support pregnancy, not those dangui or bu yao.