IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

thks for advice on the stretch marks cream.
u knw during the 2ww, everyone talks abt taking brazil nuts, ensure, egg whites, etc... how about first trimester? do u know what are the impt food to take?

during the first trimester, do u knw what can we do to check ourselves to assure that baby is growing fine inside us? cause some mornings I feel my tummy flat, then sometimes bloated, quite erratic. gets me a bit worried at times. was thinking if hubby can try to listen to heartbeat, but think he will hear my tummy growling instead..hahha.
so wondering what we can monitor ourselves to be more assured and be alerted in case anything not so right.
thks !

Twinstars,

yeah stretchmark depends on genes. But I think if dun apply anything belly overstretch and we tend scratch it. Very uncomfortable lo.

Happy,

in 1st tri, foetus will absorb from our reserve, not our food. So even if yr appetite is bad, it will still be growing.

Just eat a balance diet everyday. There's certain food that u hv to avoid during pregnancy. Basically no undercooked food including eggs.

Nothing u can do to monitor bb's growth on yr own except to rest well and see a doc if u have spotting / bleeding. No way u can hear the heartbeat now, not even with the hospital machine.

happy hippo think the only way we can monitor if the little one is growing by the MS. Thr higher the hormone level the more MS. thats wat I was told.

Oxidised,

u so good hor no MS at all. Mine was terrible. For my son, it was much milder.

Btw, it's safe to sterilize bottles, pump together.

yea dr loh was "impressed" that i didn't have any ms. i also thought i would definitely have. but nothing leh. everyday happy when i wake up..hahaaha.

wanna ask u.. so if i sterilise like say last night,i use one set pump. leave the other there, it's ok? then after i pour hot water over.. or is it better to put in fridge in tupperware.

and next time with teat n cover i set it up and put in fridge ah? if going out? can jus put in tupperware n pour hot water over? and also how long can it "last" before i need to sterilise again?

jus tell me how u used to do it.. what's ur practise..

Oxidised,

I will just leave the other sterilized pump inside until I use it. I didnt re sterilized it.

If u are outside, u can rinse with hot water. Bring a flask of hot water or Medela wipes (very expense) For me, I already store EBM in the bottle so I just warm it up in a bowl of hot water and give to bb. I didn't use this method for long coz I direct latch my son. No need to sterilize my tits. Keke..

Re: how long will the things inside remains sterilized? It depends on the brand. Maybe can refer to the manual or ask the distributor.

Vi4n
Thanks. It's not painful but like "suan suan". Need to lie down then will keep better for a while. Is there anything i can do to ease it? Thanks

Nancy, can not use those muscle reliever cream hoh. I used to apply deep heat till my gp said NO.
U can use heat pad, small pillow on your back when sleep.

Me too no stretch mark but rashes. These days so itchy le the tummy. Use cream also no use. I can scratch n scratch like monkey.

Twinstar said can keep outside for 24hrs after sterilize after u fixed it up.

No way can know bb is growing well in 1st tri other then going scanning lo.
I jus take folic acid, spirulina, no raw food, cooling food, cold drink, eat beef still for 1st tri.

Sunflower, starting tomorrow. Thanks ya ;)

btw me too no MS on 1st. Bloated yes, no extreme hunger pang. Practically don't feel any much different. Time to time will have that lower tummy twitching pain lo. Uterus expanding.
One thing that start early for me is hip bones pain when sleeping facing side ways. But not like my hip is getting bigger le. Good for me also la ;)

just don't lift anything heavy during 1st tri ok.

Happyhippo,
my gynae also said that the bb will survive on mother's nutrient reserve for the 1st tri. Just have a balanced diet will do. Frequent small meals will help to ease MS as well. Avoid alcohol, caffeine and cigaret smoke. My gynae also said try not to use lip stick as it contains lead. Keep away products which contain retinol A as well.

there's no way for you to monitor your bb's growth in 1st tri I think. Your gynae will monitor for you so don't worry. Even the doc will need to use ultrasound scan to monitor the growth. There's no other gd way to monitor I think. Maybe weight gain towards the end of 1st tri shows that the bbs are growing.

Oxidised,
how I envy you! Carrying twins yet no MS at all! I was telling Dr Loh that I'm having bad MS the other day and he said that he's not surprised as I'm carrying twins.

Happyhippo,

ya, me gynae also say 1st tri, bb get nutrients from yolk sac reserve..no need to worry..

me didnt eat much on first tri..baby continues to grow..so dont worry.

bing: yes it's quite "shiok" to not have MS.. haha.. even dr loh also say i "bounce" in his office to see him, always with a cheery smile.. haha

Happyhippo,

dun worry if u are not gaining weight in 1st tri. It's normal to lose weight in first tri and bb can still grow well.

Eh I think yumyum wz triplets also no MS. Amazing!

Happyhippo,
I took weekly yoga lessons at Como Shambhala. Can only start after 2nd trimester.

Usually antenatal classes is recommended from 20wks onwards, that tmc's recommendation. If you take too early, you might forget the stuff. Also, it's better to do it after the detailed scan so that you know everything is fine with bb and we can start planning stuff to do/buy.

For 1st trimester, just eat balanced diet or anything that you can stomach if you have MS. Multi-vits are not essential at this stage. I had craving for hor fun and fast food during 1st trimester cos of MS. Just take vit c and folic acid. And lots of rest and take it easy.

Nancy,
Backaches are usually caused by bad posture/mattress/pillow. i know most pregnant ladies have the bad habit of standing and protruding their belly. Have to constantly remind yourself to stand straight.
Mattress/pillow issue have to monitor. Usually firm mattress is recommended.

thks so much for advise on the food intake.
my appetite not so good lately, also can't eat much, luckily baby don't depend on my intake.

is stress very dangerous during first trimester? my upcoming work project is going to be stressful. getting a bit worried if it will cause any harm to baby growing.. read somewhere baby can tell when mother is stress coz of the stress hormones..

Congrats to all mtbs here!!
Im frm the ivf thread.. Just hope to find some encouraging stories here...
Has anyone who succeeded to have bfp after two failed fresh ivf cycles? Bfp on the 3rd fresh?
Cos been feeling v discouraged to not bfp one the 2nd fresh attempt and need courage to try the 3rd...

happy,

dont stress dont stress..its no good for your body..i also start to have more things to do, but i try to bo chap some of the things, everyday go home on the dot. i dont really care so much now becos baby more impt since we have come so far.

baby,

i think someone in ivf ttc thread did 5 fresh cycles and succeeded..

Why so quiet today? Singapoh, stb, vi4n all busy preparing for delivery?

I was having bad MS today. I could only eat very spicy food like laksa, curry and tom yum soup recently. My mum said that we are very fortunate already. Preggie ladies can just buy what we like to eat based on our food aversion. During her times, there wasn't so much food available everywhere and
vomitted after every meal..

I developed fever yesterday, now still havent subside.

Oxidised- for my pumps after i sterilised I will keep them in the covered container, not need to put fridge. After 24 hrs all capped bottles n pumps and teats have to sterilise again.

Baby,
I had no such experience so can't really comment. Don't mind me asking this but have you tried to find out from your doc what's the reasons for your failed cycle? Maybe you can try to retify the problem based on the findings to increase the success rate of your next attempt.

There are many success stories of couples who failed their first few attempts in the ivf support group thread. I got my
motivation from them too. Don't despair and success will be on the way. All the best to you!

twinstars,
if i don't take spicy food, there's nothing much i can eat already. that's what i told Dr Loh and he gave me the green light to continue taking such food. he asked me what's the population of thailand and chongqing and said that if all the preggie ladies there can take spicy food and have healthy pregnancy, so can i! i feel so relieved after listening to him

oh dear..are you taking any medicine for your fever? rest well so that you can recover soon..

Bing- thks, i took med liao, hopefully fever will subside so that I can give my bm to my bb, I poured away yesterday milk after I realised I got fever. now the bm can only last till 2mr evening. I miss hugging my bb

Bing, I was out and batt went super low. So can't chat chat here.

Anyway, I will rest till maternity leave liao which will start on 24 may.

Twinstar, take care. Drink more water ok.
My hubby also sick.

Baby, I can't comment on the ivf failure but understand that first time success is actually very lucky. So it is common for couple of try before success. From what I read Celine Dion is trying for her fifth ivf for 2nd child.

Bing, I have 1 friend on her first pregnancy she also only can ate spicy food to curb her ms. This second pregnancy she can't take any. So take whatever u comfortable with

Bing,

actually spicy and oily food will worsen MS, also give u heartburn/gastric. Avoid or take in small amount.

Those ladies in Thailand, Chongqing grew up eating spicy food, their stomach is immune liao.

Twinstar,

did doc ask u to throw away yr bm? When u hv fever, flu, u can still direct latch yr bb. Few days before yr fever/virus breakout, yr bb already expose to them.

Yr body produce antibody to fight the virus and yr bm will pass the antibody to yr bb.

Singapoh,
i'm aware of that, that's why i only take in moderation. if i don't take spicy food, there's really nothing i can eat already..other food will trigger vomitting..

Vi4n,
quite 'shiok' to be on mc and can still go jalan jalan right? i'm starting to enjoy my HL now that i don't have to be confined to my house. at the same time, don't have to worry about work at all..but i'm expecting tons of work waiting for me to clear once i go back office..

Vi4n
Thanks. Luckily didnt apply the Yoko Yoko my hubby suggested i apply some. The backache seems to come and go. Today better already

Bakaholic
Thanks. We were once in the same IVF forum years back. Glad to meet u here
Which stage are u at? I am used to sleeping facedown since young but since after the ET till now i dun dare to sleep facedown. So maybe that's partly why got insomnia and backache

Wah.. Vi4n, I thot ur HL has ended. I also want ! Dreading this week where I'm supposed to face e useless but wicked boss. Sigh.

Tmr seeing Dr Loh, can't wait to check if bb is alright. Just told my dh that I fear bb get my stress.. Haha. Lucky he know he's to pray for me & bb.

My fever and cough are still not willing to leave me alone... Sigh.

Nancy, try sleep on your sides. If no bolster, try get one & helps get u into position? I used to crack my back prior 2nd tri where tummy starts to bulge and website advises me not to sleep on back or do exercise on back.. :p but really shiok.

Singapoh, zzz zzz already??
if twinstars' taking medicine, still can give bm?

Twinstars, take care oh. Drink more water and have more rest where possible (I'm repeating my GP's advice here. :p). Just realized today when I'm back to office that many colls were down w viral infection too. So, I wasn't e only one on mc last week. Heh heh.

Nancy, I have insomnia during 1st tri too but can't really pin point if due to pregnancy though website do indicates this as 1 of e symptoms. My dh plays soft music for me and that helps a bit.

des,
it depends on wat kinda med. doc will usu give bfg-friendly meds, so dat mummy can continue bfg.
it's essential to continue giving bb bm, cos it contains antibodies which will be transmitted to bb