IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Brownie,
Brownie,
I used to get hungry easily a few weeks ago after my 2ww..Then my MS kicks in and I got no appetite to eat recently. I think it should be normal due to the hormonal changes and increased metabolic rate of our body when one is preggie? Maybe you should eat more nutritious food to store up nutrients for your bb since you have gd appetite now.

Sunflower,

wow...that's early! I only start to have the 'weird' feeling recently.

bakaholic, ya i still remember u!
Sometimes i also had the 'poke' feeling at my tummy leh..wonder what are the bbs doing inside. My hb v anxious as most preg women experienced bbs kicking around week 20 whereas I'm not certain if it's bbs movement...he even ask if i want to go dwn to 24hrs clinic to check. :S

babyhopepath,

when i just started to feel the kicks, i tried this in order to capture the happy moments..

lie down on your bed when u feel ur baby is kicking u..had a closer look at your tummy ...u will see your tummy tapping or throbbing..
ask ur hb to talk to him/her, will respond by moving or kicking ...

July, why don't u make appt at week 7 instead of week 8?
I saw heartbeat only at week 7. Week 6 only the gestational bag. I know can get very anxious waiting to see the hb. ;) because I was like that too.

The glucose test is for every pregnant woman who detected high reading during their normal monthly review. My cousin conceived naturally.
N I don't do that test ma because my reading were good each time. Clinic said the one I'm going to do on Thursday just some routine test for week 30. not this GD test lo.

Despondent,
The chinese pear is called "crystal pear" or "kong" li. If taking the big pear, just boil half. The small one should be the whole thing. Need to de-skin and de-core and chop into chucks to boil.

Sunflower,
I can't feel bb move yet. Just the blobbing only. Usually i get move blobbing when lying on the sides..

Sunflower/Des/Singapoh/Vi4N,

I was told to do the oral glucose tolerance test because I am age35 and I do not have any family history. Every routine urine test I didnt detect any sugar on the strip, even after I was diagnosed with GD.

Babyluck, really? I also 35. No family history. N I'm actually obese at the start of pregnancy he he actually even now also obese la but no need to do that oral glucose test le

My HL will end tmr! Finally can get to see the world outside and breathe some fresh air again! Hopefully Dr Loh won't give me more HL to bed rest when I see him again tmr.

Bakaholic, so simple-just Chinese pear & rock sugar? Btw, e Chinese pear is e yellow skin w freckles one? Keke.

Bing, ya, still having fever but more controlled w medicine. If not, like 3am this morning when medicine wears off, I felt horrible. Also developed cough & running nose. Still wondering if shd see doc to get medicine leh...

Jein, babyluck, which hospitals do u go to? I'm 35 too but counter nurse told me I need to do e OGTT probably coz of my family history. My dad has diabetes. So means probably age plays a part too.

Despondent, I am from KK. Dr Marinne Hendricks ordered the OGTT test for me when she help Dr loh with his patients.

Better go see a doc and rest well. Take care

bbhp - I also started to feel the vibrations this week even though @ times it cld be ticklish feeling

Despondent - we are not intending to know the genders as DH wants to maintain the surprise element but I can't wait that long so mayb I will psycho him to know the genders ... btw, how's ur feeling & UTI???

bakaholic - wow so the 3 of us are close to each other

brownie - my HCG was 700plus

bing,

i love HL leh.. no need to work..

babyluck,

oh i see.. are u in the Gusto program? im in it, maybe thats why i need to take OGTT regardless of family history or anything else.

vi4n

i went for my scan last fri, and prof scheduled for another scan on 5th May, which is next wed.. i've done some research and it says if we see a big gestational sac without yolk or fetl pole by week 6, then most likely it's a blighted ovum.. i'm extremely saddened by the information, and my case seems to fit the description of the blighted ovum..

tickles

i didn't get to see heartbeat on week 6. can i know when did you perform your ET?

Dear ladies,

Need ur advice here. I received my Oscar test report ytd. I'm low risk for down syndrome (trisomy 21) but relatively high risk for trisomy 13. Doc said dat bb wif such condition usu will not survive. However, the calculated risk for trisomy 13 is only 0.8%, doc oso asked me to do amniocentesis. But I understand dat amnio has a certain miscarriage risk plus I'm really scared of the procedure cos I watch a documentary on the procedure years back n it really scares me off.

I'm really upset wif it n has been crying since last nite. Shld I jus go ahead wif the amnio or go Camden for the detailed scan?

Dear ladies, I'm still feeling horrible but dh sugg seeing doc tmr for various reasons. One of them being that my MC ending only today. But I was just thinking, if earlier I see doc, earlier I get medicine for my fever, cough and sore throat. Or shd I simply take more MC and rest?

Despondent, thks. At which week of pregnancy can we start to do detailed scan at Camden?

Singapoh, ya, I'm thinking of seeking a 2nd opinion n I'm considering Camden. But Dr Loh doesn't seem supportive of me going to Camden, he said alot abt the Prof at Camden, which I'll not mention here. Did u do Oscar test for ur pregnancies b4?

StarBabies,

did u combine your results with blood test? which week did u do the test? usually week12 onwards more accurate.

Sunflower, my NT scan was done ytd at Week 11 while the blood test was taken at Week 9. The scan was ok but the adjusted risk for trisomy 13 wasn't gd for the blood test. The normal range was abt 1:150 but mine was 1.123, so the doc said he consider the risk as relatively higher.

starbabies,

alot pple had the same problem when they did their BT earlier than week11.. my ivf fren told me die die have to do it together with the scan, preferably wk12..because usually KKH like to do BT earlier, and this pull down the results.. u can ask to redo BT next week..ask them to re-combine the results..im sure it helps alot..since ur scan is ok, then usually shld be ok..just the early BT pull it down alot.

for my case, that time wk12 i only do scan because i want to save money...then the result so-so only.. nurse ask me to take BT..so i took it on the spot..and my results from 1:700+ pull up to 1:5000++

there is a difference between early BT and late BT..u try to ask nurse if u can redo BT

Ya, starbabies, take sunflower's advice. Meanwhile call Camden to book a time first. I don't have that problem coz I took e advice of ladies here to do my BT later (few days before my wk 12 scan).

Starbabies, m not sure wat dr loh said abt prof at Camden.. I went Camden for 2nd opinon n dr loh was quite fine with it. In fact he joked tt I shld go then.

But when my bb died in my womb, he was surprised n said how come when my Camden report said I m low risks of chromosomes defects bb. Then he started commentng how accurate r prof's detailed scan when bb is still so small at 14 wks...

Dr loh suspected that my bb has chromones defects & has sent my plancenta to test. Coz he told me for bb to die unexpectedly at 2nd trimester, it is either due to chromosomes or structural defects. The latter means defects in bb's major organs such as heart, brain, etc. We cant check for structural defects as my bb is too small n also I claimed back bb so no biopsy.

At Camden, scan is usually done at 14 wks plus. Prof wun do blood test as he does not believe in that. He will do detailed full scan, similar to the 20 wks scan done at kkh. All of bb's organs will be scanned to check for chromosome n structural defects. Coz organs r markers for chromosome defects.

From the scan, I was Told am low risk of all chromosomes defects, including DS kids. For structural defects, none was detected at 14 wks. I was told even if there r any detected at 22 wks scan, they will not affect bb's survival rate. Prof will repeat the same full scan at 22 wks.

I know some other sisters here went to Camden also. But if there is one case where bb died suddenly in 2nd trimester, how accurate is the scan there? Is just probability again. Low risk does not mean ok. High risk at kkh does not mean will happen also. Like some sisters here who were high risk at kkh but everything was okay.

I guess coz of my incident dr loh is not supportve of going Camden now.

This is just my sharing of my experience.

Des,
The chinese pear is the pale beige skin with freckles. But if you are taking doc meds, then better not take.
Also, drink lukewarm water all the time as it will control the cough and phlegm. I was carrying a thermos flask everywhere i go when i had the bad cough. Even now, i got used to it and carry one around.
You should rest as much as possible. Just go see doc and get mc to rest. Take vit c too.

Starbabies,
My oscar test done in NUH was about 12+wks with both scan and blood test. i dunno why kkh always do the blood test early. If you are worried, just redo the blood test, it's better than worrying yourself out. Dun be too negative yet. No figures are 100% correct.

Starbabies, for my next pregnancy, I will just do wat sunflower advised. Ie do the BT n scan later. There is a period these tests cld be done. I just make sure they r scheduled at the later stage of the allowable period.

For my bb, my BT was done at close to 9 wks. Scan at 11 wks. One of the factors for BT was no gd. For scan, bb's nasal bone was not well seen n I was told is common as bb too small. Next pregnancy, I will do BT at 12 wks n scan at 13 wks. Whatever results we will just accept coz end of the day is just a probability n not 100% accurate. No matter where the tests r conducted.

Starbabies, whichever choice u make, jus remember that nothing is 100% accurate, not even animo. Sometimes, u need to have faith in the decision u made...when I went to Camden and got my risks reduced, I know that there's still possibility of any mishap till I receive the baby in my arms...and even if I have him in my arms, there are still possibility of him getting detected for other things that may not be detected during all the tests *touch wood touch wood*.....but I tell myself that the 80-90% assurance that I got from Camden is good enuff...the rest is up to the baby's devt and the faith me and hubby hv in him....and we pray diligently to our God to bless him with a normal and healthy life.....

My cousin took the risk when the NT scan at KKH showed that the nasal bone is thicker than norm. They decided not to do animo..in the end, the baby is normal and healthy....he's already 4 years old, a heathly and chubby boy..8)

July, what is the size of the bag at week 6? n your Prof is?
My 6 week prof wong measured bag n said very good with no heartbeat le. So my hubby said prof should be experienced enough to say that based on the bag size. I was also reading a lot on blighted ovum n made myself worry sick.
Then maybe bb knew I wanna scan again so at week 7 I had spotting so was asked to go for a scan n there was the heartbeats.. ;)

oxidised, yumyum babies??? ;)

starbabies, redo the Bt. My 1st tri Bt n scan was at 12 weeks at Nuh.

Bakaholic, I guess I'm just desperate. Can't sleep off e cough & sore throat. Plus running nose.. And dun know why, all of a sudden forgot your home made remedy. But even then, that helps only w e cough right? Now waiting to see doctor, it's such a long queue~! So many ppl having fever & cough...