IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

re breastfeeding vs rest

singapoh is the most experienced mum.. she bf her boy for like a good 22 months.

for me, i was so scared tt bb will be confused over nipple and btl sucking (my boy din latch on well for the first month), so i dare not let him drink from btl for 4 good months. then when i wanted to btl train him (in case if i need to be out for >3 hrs alone), he refused to take it from me (of course). but hb seldom free to btl feed him. pil not staying with us, troublesome to train him at their place, anyway, i dun want to also. a little regret tt i din introduce btl earlier but then since i am not working, it's still ok esp when i save $$ on btl and time washing/sterilising them. now, i am trying to skip btl with teat and introduce sipping cup instead.

my boy's cot is in our bedroom. its is definitely easier for me since he latch on day and night. my hb continues to sleep in the same room, refused to sleep on the sofa bed in bb's room. i guess he wants to share the burden with me though there is nothing much he can do. i appreciate that cos it can be quite stressful esp during the first two months when bb can cry for all reasons. my mil is my CL and she din stay overnight untill the last week upon request from hb which i think it is not necessary

now my boy can sleep thruout the night... yeah! we are happy but i still hv to wake up to pump out the milk
np for me as i have gotten used to sleeping more but shorter duration.

i guess if you are first time mum, you should discuss/sort all these feeding/sleeping arrangement with hb.

Singapoh, I plan to try naturally in 1st six month. If success good if not then fet with that 2 frozen embbies lo. Then see the result then decide next step lo. Hubby said 2 enough. For me see how many God will bless us with ;)

eskimobb, I like your dog... ;)
bb Chloe so cute..

eskimo
once they can do their first turn, better lower the level and dun leave bb on our bed unless someone can check on him every minute... my boy fell off recently in his sleep. got a bump on his forehead. he cried, so do I. very heart pain and i felt so bad!

Bee,
yeah I told hubby I die die dun want baby in maid's room. If my own room then most prob can only fit a playpen n will be quite squeezy. Even now at 6 weeks old I dare not leave her on my bed alone as sometimes she can wriggle herself off position already.

vi4n,
thanks.... My dog old liao... fur no longer so nice sigh... I can't bear to think of the day when he won't be with us...

Bee,

from the start, I already giving my son bottle coz I supplement wz formula for the 1st 2 months. He had no problem taking my breast, bottle or drink from the collecting shell. But I remember there's one period he just refuse to suckle me. I had to keep giving him till he accept lo.That was the early days.

From 2 months onwards I bf him totally. Expressing didn't work out for me so I direct latch him.

Hey ladies,
Is it cos of IVF, our tummy will grow bigger faster even if its singleton? Cos yday me and DH feels that my tummy seems to be protuding already and I only just tested positive on Thurs leh. So by right only 4 weeks. The funny part is the protuding part is on the left side near my belly button. I rem when I had my #1, my tummy does protude that fast lor. Or maybe is it the effects of the utro, prognova, crinone etc med that I am still taking? Can someone enlighten me on this? Thanks!

Seriously I feel giddy most of the time since my 2ww, even till now, I still fell giddy most of the time, I guess its also the med. cant wait for 2 weeks later to go to my DR to scan for bb hb. I 'm hoping to see the hb soon to have a peace of mind...

Tickles,

I heard that after 1st bb, we will show very fast but not always true. Mine quite slow even with twins.

It could be all the jabs u have been taking? Better rest if u feel giddy. My MS hit me at 5 weeks. Felt so weak and giddy. I wanted to stay in my bed whole day.

Tickles,

saw yr post in IVF support group. I think KKH storage is not as expensive. Hey I hope u strike twins this time then can close shop and save the storage $ :D

Congrats bakaholic!

Hi bee and singapoh, happy for orangey!

Sunflower, how are you now? Long time no msn.

Hi tickles, the rising progesterone can make you feel giddy too. I din haf ms so dunno how tt feels.

Thanks for the suggestions bee, bing, despondent, singapoh and vi4n. told my dh and he agrees too tt we shd not hire the niece.

Despondent, u gd memory leh! Yaloh, kanna hair and dirt in my milk. Till date I still check every drink she serves.

Singapoh,she did improve and with my mil arnd she dare not wake up late too, mil will check on her now and then.can share what you going to tell CL? So far I am told to prepare 2 crockpot - 1 big, 1 small, 1 big pot to boil herbs, 2 pots to boil pig trotters vinegar (yums!) and the chicken wine

22 mths of bf? U sure get nominated for moo moo mummy of the forum

Vi4n, seeing doc in week 33. He looks quite positive to push me further. Now I am taking 1 day at a time.

Bing, CL contract did spell out the responsibilities. Shd she be (touchwood) sick, they have already a standby. Only get to see photo of her with some twins and preemies. I personally dunno wat is gd or no good. Hope my mil helps to inspect her. So long bbs r ok and cl is hygenic, I m ok. I know whether or not it is hired helpers responsibility, I will also hawk arnd in bbs' rm to see how they are at nite. A twin parent told me to plot out an activity/ feeding chart to monitor bbs' food intake n output. Dunno if it is good?

Eskimobaby,
Y bb cannot sleep with maid? Cham liao, maid sleeping in my bbs' room too.

Tickles, yes a lot of my friend who has second show much earlier. As early as 5 weeks.
Rest well now.

Singapoh, he he I prefer one at a time. ;)

Ju, let's see if we will bump into eachother on Friday if I'm going.

yumyum, jia you.. U can make it ;)
whether maid sleep with bb or not see what situation suit you ok. Especially u are having 3 le.
My friend the 2nd child sleep with the maid since first day home. Ok la the maid cares for the child. But no close door lo.

Yumyum , which week u are in now?

Eskimo, ya very sad when our pet left us. But the good memory will always in our heart.

Yumyum,

Yes I would love to be a moo moo cow once more for my twins. Keke...

I will tell CL that my maid will handle housework, not the babies.

Singapoh, ya I will have to accept the risk of having twin. ;) leave it to God for how many he will bless me with lo. Like this round though worry will have twin but when confirmed singleton I also sad that one didn't make it.

yumyum,
u have 3 babies leh... so inevitable that baby gotta share with maid dun worry... i just told my hubby that i'm like the tigress... will be jealous of my maid if i let my baby sleep with her.. kekeke... even now i'm not really comfortable with my maid taking care of my gal... but i gotta learn to let go somehow lor when i go back to work... must start to train her to take care of baby....

vi4n,
same here... when i did my BT my hcg level was really high... high chances of twins... was stressed when i heard may be twins... but ended up with singleton after scan... so kinda feel sad that the other embie didn't make it.... sometimes i look at my gal and wonder how my other embie will look like if it did make it... kekeke... i have 13 more embies being freezed... cannot imagine if all of them can implant.... kekeke.... i still keep the pic of the 2 embies that were transferred... can show my gal next time that she's actually one of them! cool huh...

i also wonder if i can't conceive naturally for 2nd one... if kena twins with fet how.... well..... worry abt twins.... but maybe i should worry more abt if possible to have 2nd one at all? maybe none of the remaining embies are fated to be mine? who knows....

tickles,
i had very bad bloating due to ohss after testing positive... tummy was like 5 or 6 months pregnant... was so uncomfortable that i couldn't turn to my sides to sleep... maybe it's the excess hormones in ur body that causes it... but everyone is different... some ppl show very early...

Yumyum,

im good..hope u are fine too..

tickles,

for my FET, not much effect leh..maybe u having too much medication, thats why..

Singapoh,
not possible lah keke.... Dunno how many can survive thaw also... anyway still very early to say now must handle my gal first :p

Hello Bakaholic, I went for my first Pilate class today. Really siong. Stretch my spine, train pelvic muscles & even my thigh muscles, now v seang.. But feel quite shiok right after e exercises. I got a trainer who is also due in aug & she is consultant of babycenter.com, so understand wat's needed for me v well. How's ur yoga session?

Singapoh, when u bght e medela pump in e fair last year, do u rmbr seeing them selling e tubes etc.? After seeing all e posts, I think it may b better for me to buy one but really expensive leh..

Sunflower, thanks for e links! Will check them out.

Despondent,

can't remember seeing spare parts for the pump but u can try calling the them few days before the fair. Check out the price and ask them to bring to the fair for u to collect. Not sure if they will do that but no harm trying right?

bee-when u latch your boy, normally how long he takes huh? mine sometimes suckle for 5 to 10 mins stop liao n i have no idea how much he drank n whether he has enough or not. when i go to work, he is being bottle feed n can drink abt 160-170ml per feed, last time can last 4 hrs, now 2.5 or 3 hrs, he cries for milk. if direct latch him i will automatically latch he after 2 or 3 hrs b4 he screams for milk.

Twinstars,

newborn takes longer to drink milk coz they are still new at it. When my son was 2 months old, feeding was like 5 to 8 mins then it will last for 3 to 4 hours. I too was unsure like u until the lactation consultant told me.

To see if yr bbs are having enuf, for older bbs, at least 5 wet diapers and poop everyday. Also gaining weight.

Eskimo, my gynaevtold me that if fet the bb also will be the twin of my bb now since from same age embbies. Cool ya..
At Nuh we are not given the embbies photo le.

eskimobaby (eskimobaby)
I dun really feel very bloated, but i kept burping and farting.. Haha! so I guess maybe its the medications..

Singapoh (singapoh),
Thou not cfm yet, but CARE did mention that looking at BT results most likely is singleton.. Haha! So cannot close shop yet.. wahaha! seem like cannot save the $$.

yum yum,
oh.. its the rising progesterone arh... no wonder, I think cos i'm still using inserts and taking the utro plus my body's own produced progesterone, no wonder I feel giddy so often..

vi4n,
Haha! I took a pic of my tummy liao.. I shall see if it grows bigger next week.
But I think mot likely like what the other ladies here say, its the medication and progesterone..

Singapoh, yes lo ha ha ;) all your embbies are very strong ;)

tickles, don't worry about the tummy size ok. Now u have it, show it off ha ha..

twinstars
singapoh is right. my boy used to suckle for 10-15mins each side at early stage till abt 2 months. i diligently fed him every 2-3 hours in the day. at night, i fed by demand which was still abt 3 hours interval. as he grows older, he seemed to be more efficient and by abt 4 months, he only takes 5-7mins each side., interval is still abt 3 hrs. sometimes > 3hrs cos dun want to disturb his sleep, sometimes less cos he is in cranky mood and need to suckle to sleep.

did ur boy fall asleep after he suckles for 5-10mins? if yes, then you could switch side before he falls asleep or burp him to wake him up then continue. if no, then i think he is probably tired... it takes more work to suckle nipple than teat. hmm... if u really want each feed to last longer perhaps you can consider btl feed in the day and latch on at night

tickles,
i was like you... it's the medication. my tummy was abt 2-3 months bigger than normal thruout my preg... when i was in 3rd tri, most colleagues thought i was carrying twins! i wish though... :D

eskimo, if ur maid is well-trained, shd be okay but i agree to tt maid's room must be left opened. of course, u must be comfortable with it first. personal choice la, i wont unless no choice like yumyum... triplets, definitely cannot hv all of them in our bedroom unless i stay in big house which i dun :D