IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

re bra
have been wearing nursing non wired ones since 3rd tri... but i think i need to change size. haiz! what brand/type is good har? i bought mine from mothercare (gd, but i dun really like the thick stripes, high cup), kiddy palace (stripes thinner but find the additional inner piece a nuisance) and mothers en vogue (not cotton one). cant seem to find a perfect one leh!

oopps! spelling error, resend

re bra
have been wearing nursing non wired ones since 3rd tri... but i think i need to change size. haiz! what brand/type is good har? i bought mine from mothercare (gd, but i dun really like the thick strap, high cup), kiddy palace (strap thinner but find the additional inner piece a nuisance) and mothers en vogue (not cotton one). cant seem to find a perfect one leh!

I actually bought a couple of non-wired cotton bras after 1st trimester. Was very uncomfortable havign the wire pressed into the chest. I got those really cheap ones like 3 for $10 from neighbourhood stores. No point getting too expensive ones cos we will outgrow them really fast.

Btw, i had my detailed scan yday and it's a boy. I had suspected it long ago due to changes in my temperament and my colleagues also think the same way. I must turned really feisty.
And, the not so good news is that they detected Bilateral uterine notches during the scan. Doc put me on aspirin and hopefully my blood flow will improve and bb will be fine and i can carry him to full term. Otherwise, i may be induced 1.5mths earlier. Keeping my hopes up and fingers crossed!

July,
Dun be upset about the jabs. I am sure you can whisk through it easily. It takes a while to get used it. Remember that it's good for your bb and nothing is impt than ensuring your bb is well-supported.
I would rather go through the jabs again than to know my bb is at risk.

bing,

hmm, 1800 for twins is real cheap..seriously, i never hear so cheap before for twins.. usually for singleton , the market rate already between 1700-2000. So you better state all your conditions clearly, else she tot she only need to do the basics like helping u to look after baby. if you need her to cook confinement food or handwash baby clothes, need to let her know in advance.

Sunflower,

CL's basic job is to take care of mother a d baby. Usually popular CL's fee is very high. I m surprise that she charge so low for 2 babies.

Hi Bing, everyone got different style in managing maids or CLs. My mum stays far from me and has 2 grandchildren at hand already. My mil is aged too but enthusiastic to help.though old, CL cannot mess arnd with her. So long we are receptive to advice (got to see which applies) then, we shd be alright.

I got maid and CL too. Maid first cos I am on bedrest early in pregnancy.CL dunno yet. My best gf CL did not do her job and pushed work to the maid, napped more than my gf and start teaching the maid how to skive.in the end she survived confinement with parents help and maid. But she has singleton only.

A lot of teething problems. My mil came to stay with us later, again teething problems.think cl comes, also got problem again.you will have your preference in your motherhood journey. One step at a time lah.

CL-mine is thru agency. Popular one too. Booked since 4 mths cos the contract spells should there be any reason for termination before 20 weeks, full refund on deposit plus pantang lor. Contract spells she is responsible to take care of 2 and my maid to assist with the 3rd.

I send maid to mum place for training for 1 plus mth but my mum is stay home mum.

We all learn as we go along. So post your questions and worries here so the sisters here can help. It might not be 100% your solution but it certainly sheds light for your situation.

So many pple can, you sure can do it too.

Hi bee, you have any news on orangey? She is just before me on the list.

Hi sisters, I m planning to hire a 2nd maid. Hope she can arrive when confinement about to leave. Dh looking out and my current maid recommended her relative. Qualifications good (midwife) other than english jia lat. A bit scared they gang up on me and bbs. Gd part is that they might work better together. Dh chin cai. Mum and mil say better not. Me kan chiong for solution as usual. Tia for ur advice!

Starbabies,
There is a chinese table in the August 2010 MTB thread which predicts the gender. Seems to work for me and some of my friends but a few didn't work though.. Haha..

Thanks Singapoh!

Yumyum,

long time no hear liao. I guess yr maid is better now. Yeah I also think dun hire her relative.

Orangey gave birth not long ago.

Personally, I find that the role of a CL and maid is very clear cut. Maybe it's because I had a CL without a maid before. I will brief the CL when she arrives. I dun want her to push everything to my maid.

Bakaholic, congrats that it's a boy! Is that what u r hoping for? For me, I chin chai. Got bb happy Liao!

btw, what's that condition u have? Does it endanger u or bb? Take care~

Yumyum, ur current maid myanmese right? and is she really really sincere kind? I oso scared they may gang up even if there's a family ard w e babies.. even if that's yourself.. U know lah, coming from a more rugged background, they may b stronger than us and we need to protect bb lah and there r 2 of them lah.. Haha... Quite scary hor? But then, u r right, if they r sincere to help & having someone they know may mean better cooperation and more productivity.... But I recall ur maid is e first one who added smth to ur drink, right?????

Yumyum, how are u? How long more?
Ya I also don't agree to use her relative.
The other time when my neighbour maid heard I'm looking for maid, she told another Phil maid at my block n that maid approached me to hire her niece. Which I don't consider also
even if I'm going to hire a Phil maid. U won't know later they will visit eachother or what. So it is a no no for me.

Bakaholic, congrate.. U are one having boy among so many having gals these days ;)
so dr gave u any specific instruction to follow on your condition? Take care..

Singapoh, any reply from spiffy?

yumyum, you missed my earlier post.. orangey has given birth on 5 apr! you will be next as i have not heard from Maggiemee long long time

congrats bakaholic

Wow that bravado bra is expensive. ;) don't think will wanna spend so much for bra. Me cheapo ha ha i bought sorella seamless bras since Jan. Comfy n good support.
For breastfeeding bras I have wacoal handmedown from my sil. ;)

bakaholic, ya agree. i also bought some cheap ones during 3rd tri, but has discarded them cos i cant stand the itch anymore... well, my boobs itch during pregnancy, strange place to itch

sunflower, thanks for the link

Actually I thought 1800 for looking after twins is considered quite a gd price. My friend recommended this CL to me. She and other friends engaged her before and found her gd. I'll speak to this CL again to confirm her job scope like some of you suggested.

I thinking after listening to all your experiences, I'll let the CL take the main role in taking care of the bb, cooking etc. The maid will be doing the housework like washing clothes, cleaning the house, helping the CL to prepare food for cooking and assisting the CL in taking care of the bb. I'll probably bring in the maid 2-3months before EDD as Dr Loh said he'll try to hold my delivery to 3-4weeks before my EDD. But it's still too early to say anything. It all depends on the fetal development. Thanks for sharing your experiences. I always feel better talking to all of you

Yumyum,

When you signed the contract with the CL agency, did you list down all the responsibilities of the CL? There is sure to be conflicts when different people stay together. We must learn to manage conflicts. I hope your CL will turn out to be gd. But since you employ her thru the agency, you can request for a change if you find the CL's performance is not satisfactory right? Maybe that's the advantage of getting a CL thru agency?
I think you shouldn't hire the maid's relative. They may just gang up against your family and come out with many 'patterns' in no time.

Bee, my breasts also itch since start of pregnancy. N will have those small pimples. Don't say la I see my breast very sad but hubby said it's ok.
Today plan to wash all the handmedown breastfeeding bras lo. If really doesn't fit me at least I still have time to search.
Who will go to the bb expo that singapoh posted couple of days ago? I'm thinking if can get good buy there.

Singapoh,

you plan to let your maid continue with her usual household chores and take care of your son and let the CL take care of your twins when they arrive? Are you going to let the maid assist the CL?

Ju, believe u will go on Friday mornng again? ;) i still can't decide.
Bee, wah I thought mine was bad already. But once hit 2nd tri the itchiness ok wor now hit 3rd tri the itch return. I think hormone lo.

Bing,

I m planning to put my son in Childcare centre after I move house next month. My maid will hv time to assist CL in cooking, cleaning, laundry. That's her usual housework.

Btw if u plan to breastfeed, it's easier to zzz with babies at night. U will still need to wake up to pump milk so might as well direct latch them.

Singapoh, oh I'm so confused ha ha..
Ya loh if need to breastfeed at nite better sleep with bb. That's why I put sofa bed in bb room then won't disturb my hubby. ;)

Singapoh, Vi4n,

I plan to breastfeed my bb for at least 6months so that they have better immunity. Is it possible to pump out the breast milk, store in milk bottles before you sleep and let the CL feed the bb from the bottles? If I sleep with the bb, then I think both my hb and I won't be able to sleep well at night with 2bb around. It will be fine for me but my hb need to work in the day. Then that will defeat the purpose of engaging the CL right? I have 2 extra bedrooms and actually plan to give the CL and the maid a bedroom each, with the baby cot in the CL's bedroom. Not sure whether my plan can work out well.

Bing, can.. U can expressn store n tell the cl to give the store milk. I think for this experienced mommy can explain betterthan me. ;)

Bing,

of coz u can pump out for CL to feed yr twins. FYI, your milk will flow when it's time for feeding so might as well latch them directly.

I read that bf twins at the same time can prevent engorgement
When u bf 1 side only, the other breast will leak. U can either use a collecting shell (every drop is precious) or pump the other side. U will get more when bb is suckling on 1 side.

Anyone putting the baby cot together with maid in the same room? Now I headache over space as my own room is quite small only can fit a playpen but my gal is very scared of heat n I think a playpen ventilation not as good as cot... But I really can't bear to put my baby n maid in the same room :p