IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, apple body? No. My fats are at tummy but coz of bone structure can't see.

ChoY! No one in my family has heart diseases. My father has many sibings n his elder brothers r still very healthy other than high blood pressure. My grandma is already 90 plus! Still healthy n moving around.. Aiyah, end if the day genes still play a part. My daughter will hv the bad genes of my dh side in her blood. But no choice. I will just make sure I take gd care of her to delay the onset.

Even my Co GP told me both his parents r diabetic. He said he can only take care of his health to delay the onset. He said is just a matter of time he will get it. N if he lives long enough he will get it.. He was so funny

He also asked me to be careful of my diet coz can get GD. I told him no family history on that. He agreed my risk is then greatly reduced but of course not eliminated. But is gd enough already. My diet is quite healthy most times too. Coke n soft drinks I nv like. Sweets I also rarely take. This AM I had mee hoon with fish cakes. Lunch I had sliced fish noodles. Dinner I eat at home.

I dun take 菜饭 outside at all. So that's gd as other than the steam dishes, the rest got sugar as 1 of the ingredents one.

I just came back from KKH for my glucose tolerance test, 20 week detailed scan and saw doc. It's a long day for me and hb. The ADC at KKH is very crowded too.

The sonographer confirmed I have one gal and one boy.
The happiest person is my hb and finally the clothes we bought earlier for our boy can be put to gd use liao...hehe :p Although during the last scan, the babies position were not very good and doc can only confirm one baby's gender, he said he think it's a boy and the doc was right, indeed a boy and a naughty one...haha. When sonographer wanted to take measurement of his face features, he put his hand on the nose and because of his position, she could not scan his spine. Thus have to make me turn left and right to see if the boy will move...hehe.

I was concerned that I only gain 4.5kg from the day I'm pregnant so check with the doc. But he said it's ok as long as my babies are growing and I'm gaining weight though it's slow. He also prescribed "reduce contraction" medicine for me to take.

Bbhp, u having contractions meh? Nv hear u say b4. So u passed the glucose tolerance level test? Congrats. Can close shop Leow :p

Bbhp, no need to be Too concerned abt ur weight gain. Each bb is abt 280g now. 2 bbs is 560g. U put on 4.5 kg is more than enough coz it means the remaining 4kg goes to ur fats, aminoic fluid, etc.

Hazel,

eventhough genes play a part, I think end of the day it's the lifestyle. Also not every generation will get the disease.

Big bottom is good for childbirth. Hee... My mum was really fat from school till she was diagnosed for diabetes in her 40s. She freaked out and started to changed her diet and lost a lot of weight.

I m nothing like her except looking like her.

Stb,

for snack u can drink milk/soybean milk and wholegrain roti, crackers, fruits, meat/veg pau.

For lunch and dinner, make sure u hv enuf carbo like 1 medium bowl of rice, plenty of leafy veg and 1 palm size of meat/fish and a fruit.

I seldom feel hungry unless I swim.

Juju,

I was eating for 2 when I bf my son. I lost weight without dieting but it took 2 years to go bk to my pre preggy weight. Last 1 kg was the hardest to lose.

After I stopped bf, I lost another 1 kg to my Kebaya weight

Singapoh, ya ya, lifestyle is impt. I also know big bottom good for child birth.. N easier to deliver also. Too bad I dun hv..

At least ur mum makes an efforts to lose weight. That is very gd already.. Anyhow, pp always says diabetic is 富贵病。

Bbhp,

Congrats! Dun worry abt weight gain if yr bbs size are good. I only gained 4 kg when I was 20 weeks. Now close to 8 kg at 29 weeks. From my back I dun look preggy at all, just like my previous pregnancy.

Singapoh, u hv been eating right so u dun feel hungry. Milk keeps u fuller for a longer period of time. So do whole grains n multi grains. That is why some snack alot but some not as often

My girl very active today. now still moving. First time I feel her movements at this hr... I told her daddy she is too excited over the nice clothes I bought her today. Hahaha

Hazel,

before I start following the diet plan, my appetite was worse. Didn't feel hungry at mealtime.

When I had to eat 6 meals a day, I was struggling. Got to force myself to eat! Even now I dun really feel hungry at snack time.

Bbhp, congrats! Oh, u did OGTT at 20th week? So mant things to do today, must b tired.. I'm doing it in my next visit.. Dread it.

Wah, u ladies can still wear ur pre pregnancy tops?? I have sent them to be frozen "cold palace"..

Spiffy, all e best and hope to hear from u soon!

singapoh,
cos few of my colleagues bf. those who bf, they either stop or only nite-latch when they start work. i was the only one pumping away in office.
also kena teased for being moo-moo cow...
dunno why, bfg makes me more hungry than when preggie. even now, i still need to eat a lot.

Juju,

I thot so too...

Dun bother what other ppl say abt bf la. U are doing this for yr gal. Some mothers can't even do it coz they gave up too soon or find it too hassle to pump at work.

It's very normal to feel hungry when u bf. I also ate more than when I was preggy.

My maid told me Poor Indonesian take a lot sugar but they dun get diabetes coz they work hard at the farm. The lifespan of their men are much shorter than the women. Usually die of sudden illness.

singapoh,
ya, i jus stop eating wif them. only eat wif ppl who dun criticise wat & how much i eat. anyway, ltr on i was trfred to another dept.

Bbhp, congrate... ;) that must be exciting ..

I also no problem wearing pre pregnancy top some even looser now. I'm fat mah so my pre pregnancy clothing also baggy2 type ;)

ya these 2 days in office I only managed to pee once in the whole day.

Bee,

thanks for the update. Congrats Orangey!

I downloaded Starhub tv app in my iPhone. Can watch HK drama in Cantonese.
It's free for Starhub subscribers..

Juju, me eat a lot too, more than when during preggy. bfing really makes me hungry. everytime after pumping i will feel very hungry.
In office, I am also the one person pumping milk, not so busy will pump twice in office, super busy only pump once in office.
Colleagues did comment that I eat a lot, but i didnt bother cos if dun eat my body will feel weak (cannot concentrate working lah).
Vi4n, me also fat b4 preggy(in fact over weight lah), b4 i pop i still wear pre preggy tops
Me only gain 8kg b4 poping, 1 week b4 popping gain only 5+kg, gynae said bb growing well so no need to worry.
5 days after popping, went for gynae visit I m 0.5kg lesser than pre preggy hahahahaha......

Congratulation to the new mommy ... ;)

Twinstar, I hope I can be like that too
even with 0.5kg less than pre pregnancy weight I'm still overweight ha ha..15kgs less than pre pregnancy is more like it. I can wish only.

Singapoh, when busy really can't move lo. Very stress. But as long I don't stand up normally I don't feel the urge but once stand up then first stop must be toilet

Vi4n,

dun hold yr pee for too long. There's a risk of UTI. I believe u need to pee many times now that u are in yr 3rd trimester.

Bakaholic, he gave me laxative on standby. Take more fruits. I take alot these days so not often as bad until it bleeds.

Singapoh, wats the medicine name huh? Am outside now. Can't recall n can't check. Thanks

Congraz Bbhp! Don't worry abt ur weight gain, coz I'm probably ard that during wk 20 too...

Congraz Orangey! Another mummy!

Very soon, will be our turns..8)

Stb, my photo is uploaded in fb now. So where's yours? ;)

actually sitting down I can hold very long. Only standing then I will need to go very often. Let's see later during scan whether bb is really very low. Because I can feel the bump very low kind. Above navel not so hard lo

Vi4n,

no news from Spiffy.

Eh u sound like guy lei. When they sit down, no urge to pee. That's why kidney stones are common among taxi drivers.

Vi4n, mine? Waiting for Ju to go out w me then she'll take mah..hehehe...ok ok lar, due to popular demand, i'll ask my hubby to take this weekend..hehehe

Hazel, it should read..."Good"...8) Aiyo..don't be so kan cheong lar!

Singapoh, last time not like this only this 3rd tri like this. Like now I'm travelling in bus n mrt. I sit down no urge, once I stand the urge is very urgent kind then I sit again in mrt n the urge disappear too

Stb, I take your word ha ha..
U said my bump small ah.. My friend who is 5 months bigger than mine lo n she also having a bb gal but 2nd one.

Vi4n, I heard 2nd one usually show faster and bigger, depending how much has been lost after the 1st one...

I was telling my MIL that I feel hungry v easily nowadays...so she said I must eat more rice...*faint*...

Vi4n, I'm the opposite of u....stand up and walking have urge, sit down no urge liao..hehehe