IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Vi4n, my Edd 9 jun. I m tellin my son to come out 2 weeks earlier then will b end may bb...errr, dun ask me y, jus a preference

Ju, which one don't look pregnant?

Stb, he he u also want earlier by 1 week plus? Mine will be early by 2 weeks. But as long around 38 weeks then ok already lo.

vi4n,
none! maybe bcos u wear baggy clothes

Hazel, mine was 6 wks gap / saw dr at 14 weeks, then 20th week. In between, I was wondering if bb growing well too as no feeling one, no tapping etc and tummy didn't grow much. Before I cld ask him, he asked if I cld feel bb movement and I said no. He assured me it's ok and that I'll feel it at 22 weeks. Amazing, after seeing him, that day or day after, I felt bb movements but nothing strong.. It's v light... And tummy and weight then grew horrendously (which I shared w u ladies in earlier posts). Maybe 20th week really big milestone... Or bb heard dr loh talked abt him. Next scan in 5 weeks time.

Juju, that's maternity dress mah. The one in Jkt can not see also?

We will always worry this n that. Only singapoh so cool n seasoned Liao ;)

Hazel, thanks for reminder. I'm gng to drink my bird nest now.

Stb, I read from wat to expect website that bb grows to like wat mummy eats! So ur bb will b a fan of coke!

hi Kitty,

briefly, I had one MC in 07 but i din have to go thru DC. my hb has low spem count and low mobility too which my gynae said is common problem for men. so long as it is not zero there is still a chance to conceive as all you need is one strong soldier. so she din suggest any further improvement/test for my hb. hb has been taking supplement (recently changed to blackmore). Since we have been trying for a year and still no result, my gynae suggested a detailed test for me and found that i have one blocked tube and abnormal uterus. meanwhile, we actually went to see another gynae for 2nd opinion and the 2nd gynae suggested hb to do detailed test which was very costly. after much thought, we chose to stay with first gynae...

I went thru an ops to remove the blockage (apparently still blocked) and rectify the abnormality in Jul 08. Then, after 2 months of rest and 3 months of trying naturally, I went straight to IVF Dec 08 as my gynae said our chances for IUI would be very low so no point wasting time and $$. I was lucky to conceive at first fresh cycle. My boy is 5 months + now

my reason then was very simple, i dun want to waste any more time/$$ doing all sorts of test and try months after months in agony. furthermore, i was going 35 then. so hb and I agreed on a timeline b4 we embark on IVF

Bakaholic, I keep forgetting to call e studio to start arranging for my first Pilate class. Usu they r busy too during lunch time... Argh.

I don't know why I can't upload photo using iPhone to forum. And I forgot to take the photo. Rushing out.

Spiffy, didn't le. I didn't update photo in what to expect apps. Jus my own blog. ;)

Sorry to interrupt again.
Selling urgently:
Large baby cot (approx. 52" x 28") by Kids Paradise, 2+years
Converts into a toddler bed.
Sturdy wood in good condition with protective guard against teeth bites at the sides.
Comes with removable and lockable wheels.
Some stickers on one side each of the end boards.
Selling:$100
Please sms 96342161
3823748.jpg

I looked fat in pix.. took one the other day and i was like "FAT" and deleted it.. haha.. maybe must try sideway shot or something.

I have this strange sensation for the last few days, abit like lava lamp with the wax going up like a bubble blob. It's not continuous but once at a time. Also, i get this squirmy movement occasionally. Comes and goes. Is this bb movement?

Singapoh,
I switched to tmc cos my gynae is based there and he has a night clinic in the west. Easier for my DH to come along after work.

Btw, is it normal to sign up for delivery package at this stage? My concern is that if there is any complications, i might just head sraight to govt hospital and not go tmc anymore and the private package will be wasted rite?

Kittlyn,
As long the sperm count is not zero, you can still go thr ivf to conceive. It's easier for us ladies to do the ivf then asking DH to go under the knife. The risks are higher in ops. Morever, getting the ops may/may not work.

Why not get a second opinion before making decisions?

Bakaholic, if got complications u head straight to restructured hospital? er.. U better think twice if u hv been going to pte. Firstly, the hospital does not hv ur records n backgrd. 2ndly, the popular gynae may not be available to see u at such last min, etc. Is diff from if u r his patient from the start.

Despondent, I read after 20 wks, bb's progress is faster n will move more.. Maybe that is why?

Hazel,
If i have to go restructured hospital, then i guess I have opt for ward b/c becos the fees will be lower. Otherwise, the higher wards would not have subsidies and probably not worth switching hospitals.
But you are right about the gynae cos we can't choose. it would have to be anyone on duty.
Hmm.. have to wait and see then. I think too far liao..

Stb,

why so paiseh to ask yr dh to take pix of yr belly? My dh said wanna take me in nude. Kaka... I think will think out Porno siah..

Stb,

My SIL ate so much bread during her pregnancy. Now her son loves all kinds of bread.

I had plenty of Assam fish too and my son eats spicy snack now.

Vi4n,

me seasoned?? Sounds like I am a mother of many kids. Kaka...

Worry inside nobody knows :p

Pix taken by iPhone is too big. Need to shrink till really small before u can post here. Easier to post in FB, copy the link at the bottom and post here.

Someone asked wats the disadvantage of sleeping on back... I remember reading that sleeping on back may cause additional stress on kidneys as baby is pressing on it so preferably to sleep on sides.... I couldn't sleep on back anymore in the 3rd trimester and will feel breathless.

Kittlyn,
from wat u describe u seem to be seeing a pte gynae... Usually pte gynae will give u many options n suggest this n that. I find it very stressful n confusing when I was seeing a pte gynae... Maybe for me I know time is not on my side n I'm the ganchiong type. Seeing a urologist may allow u to find out why ur hubby has such problem but it doesn't mean it can increase ur chances of conceiving as ur hubby's sperm quality may not improve n also depends on wat problems u have too. Why not ask ur gynae abt the ways that can help u to conceive like IUI or IVF? This is just personal opinion n may not be sound medical advice but wat we want is to be able to conceive n not spend tons of money on it.

Soon to be, singapoh, am bleeding right now w contractions..am already on max drip. If it doesn't stop may need to deliver.. Something I've heard a few times the last few days..

I tell myself God has a plan for mr and I'll leave it in his hands .. Bbs r doing fine...which is most impt...

Vi4n, we can compare evil bosses... My boss asked me to email a few ppl can u believe it?! Both my hands have drips, and my torso is all strapped up! I got dh to email her instead w the info she needs. I wish she'll

Speaking of lying on back, I can't lie too long either. Will turn slightly to left or right to ease the pressure. All the books also adv against lying on the nerves and blood vessels anyway.

Wah I can do with a nice cold Orangina right now... Food in normal ward is not bad but labour ward is q awful...

spiffy, hang in there. May I ask how many weeks are you now? Mind to share how severe is your condition? I'm also diagnosed with low placenta (which is covering the ors) and I started slight bleeding episodes since 19 March and had contractions too. My gynae told me to have more bed rest, but how?? So when the bleeding stops I went back to work. Now the bleeding has stopped but I keep having contractions. Having seen your post, I'm really concern and worry about going into early labour too as I'm only 25weeks now.

Berry,

I think Spiffy is 30 or 31 weeks. Did u tell yr gynae about your contractions and are u on support pills? Mtb with multiples are given 2 support pills since 20 weeks.

Try to lie down as much as u can. I lie down a lot or sit in a recline position with my feet up when I m at home
eventhough my gynae didn't order bedrest for me.

Singapoh, I told Dr Fong since week 20, but my contractions are not regular, maybe about 10-20 per day. He did not give me support pills. What pills are you on? Is one of them Salbutamol? I've requested to work from home 3-4 days a week, hopefully the condition will improve.

Thanks for the encouragement....

Berrybaby, my first bleed episode was just abt a week ago. Very dramatic, gush down the legs and all. At first still can go home but it got more and more frequent until I just stayed in kkh. One of the twins placenta is low lying, covering the os, like yours. it's called Placenta Previa Major.

In many cases of low lying placenta it moves away as uterus expands so don't give up hope. Bleeding happens cos the placenta gets stretched. Then this bleeding irritation brings on
contractions, then the contractions brings on more bleeding... Chicken and egg situation really..
Are u working? If u r, try to tie up loose ends as much as u can each day. Create a handover list in advance..just in case.

Berry, salbutamol is the drip that they've been giving me in kkh to stop contractions.

Are u expecting twins?

I'm week 30 + 3 today.....

Berry,

I m on Progestrone and Nifedipine pills.

Yr contractions are 10 to 20 times or minutes a day?? I get belly hardening few times a week so the dosage is still remain the same.

Berry the support pills are Duphaston (dydrogestrone) and Adalat (nifedipine). They've been giving me loads of the latter for contractions since I've been admitted.

Getting another blood transfusion now cos my blood count is very very low..

Oh my GOD Spiffy, it must be a scare for you. I started bleeding after going to the bb fair in March. Not as dramatic as you, but my panty n pants were all stained red. Then I had a big blood clot about 50cts coin which I freaked out and started crying thinking I must have lost the bb... Luckily it was ok. Now I still get light spotting on off if I walk too much. No medications support. My contractions is quite painless (I think its more like hardening) about 10 times a day, lasting about a min each time. Is this the same symptoms you have? I'm having singleton. My first pregnancy was also similar, but the placenta moved up about 5 months so I did not have any bleeding. Yes, I'm still working, and in fact didn't think too much about it until I saw your post and realised how serious it could be, so on Monday I requested to work from home, going office only once or twice a week. Hope this is manageable as I still have 3 months to go and I feel bad about being away from office for too long.

Hang in there spiffy, I'll pray for your boys to stay longer in there.

Singapoh, what is Nifedipine pills for, I thought that is for heart conditions?

Berry,

Dr Loh told me both support pills are to soften the belly and prevent preterm birth.

Belly hardening is contraction. Sounds like yrs are quite frequent.

Singapoh, I just did a quick google and found that adalat is for hypertension and chest pain and salbutamol is for asthma (I'm allegic to the latter as I get severe palpitations (very fast hard beats).

Spiffy, are you always having low blood counts or is it due to the bleeding?

Berry I had hardly any contractions or maybe I was oblivious.
You r right, my gynae said that it tends to happen again in subsequent pregnancies.

Ok this is it.... Im going in for surgery!! Later!!

Singapoh, I've been having hardening (contractions since about 13 weeks), but its getting more frequent, even during my last visit to Dr at 23 weeks, he did not give me any medications, he just told me not to walk too much, and interestingly, if I work from home, my contractions reduced to about 2 or 3 a day. By the way, do you feel painful during the contractions or just mild discomfort like me?

Berry yes nifedipine is commonly known as a high blood pressure med but someone must have discovered it also helps prevent pre term labour!
Ditto salbutamol, it's in asthma inhalers!

Berry don't worry over things that have yet to happen or which u hv no control over..