IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Soon-to-be, u go to Chen Junrong for your son's name? I also thought of that but wonder how much is the charge esp i'm having twins. He needs the bb's DOB and time of birth right? If that's the case, you can only look for him after you gave birth? Based on what I noticed from the website, he will provide 5 chinese names for selection. Would I be able to see the master himself or is it online service?

I am in the midst of doing IVF in the next forum, hop over to ask u mummies 2 questions. Hope u can advise Thanks !!!

I understand the first 3 months of preganancy very sensitive/baby "ban dang". Did u only u tell the good news to close family members only? Friends?

Another question, is it true that no good for 2 ladies in the same family to be pregnant at the same time? like 2 sisters or sister and SIL?

Sorry ask these silly questions but in our case got pregnant in such a difficult journey must be very careful . Thanks ladies...

nancy,

I only tell my parents and best friends. But my hb's clan n close friends knew about it. So actually it depends on individual. If you are pan tang, then juz tell both parents and tell d rest after 3 mths. Or if got ppl ask, then say you are preggie ba.

Hazel,

Actually dun make much difference if yr SIL becomes yr baby's Godma. She's not going to take care of her right? Just meet up occassionally. Won't influence much.

Soon to be,

My son used Pureen diapers for day and Mamy Poko at nite.

Ntuc dun sell Pureen diaper. I bought from Giant, KKH, etc. Now changed to Huggies pull up pants coz wanna potty train him.

I wash the pump with soap water and sterilize. Wipes only outside when u can't wash and sterilize.

Nancy,

why so pantang? And u can't stop other family members to be pregnant at the same time. Just take care of yourself during pregnancy.

Soon to be- so mums & babes sell the pump wipes huh, I did surf medela website and saw the pump wipes but could find them selling in SG. How much is the wipe huh?

Nancy, I think no need to be pantang, cos my whole office n family and some frens know that I was pregnant the moment I got my BT result (they all knew I m going through IVF, hence very concern abt my process, I think it is fine to let them know cos they will give us their blessing). I think some pple pantang is becos 1st tri very risky, wait miscarriage very troublesome to go round tell pple not pregnant liao.

Nancy,
We kept it from our parents almost to the end of the 3 months before we tell them. We are not being pantang but to minimise any grief in case it didn't work out.
Even now into 2nd trimester, we didn't go round telling everyone cos we dun see the need to. We will just tell if someone asks.
I feel it's double happiness if someone in the family is expecting as well. It's great to share the joy.
Do take care of yourself and refrain from too strenous tasks.

nancy, it really depends on how comfortable you are. Pple are selective in who they tell because the 1st 3 months is more fragile. i only told my family and some very close friends.

For those of you who did IVF with Dr Loh from KKH, how long did you have to take the Dydrogesterone tablets? 1 month from the D19 BT? Did you have to continue when some of you change gynae after BFP? I'm just curious as i'm been having gastric pain since ER. I'm not sure whether it's due to the painkiller they injected or the Deoxycycline. If possible, i wish to discontinue with this Dydrogesterone. I'll check with Dr Loh when i see him this Sat for the Week 6 ultrasound and consultation.

Did you guys manage to get back all the ultrasound films for all the pregnancy scans you did until delivery? It seems that it's not the practice of KKH to give the report of all the tests you do at KKH unless you ask. But even if you ask, you can't get back certain results like HSG films etc, when private hospitals will give you everything.

Thanks lovely ladies for sharing. Just wanna get myself ready when the time comes. Thank you !!!

Bakaholic
Think some time ago we were in the previous forum at the same time. Glad to see u here -- you made it. Take care

soon-to-be,
i bot my pureen toiletries in bulk at expo bb fair last yr. still have stock now. haha! kiasu me! anyways, i jus topped up some stock last fri when i went expo.
as for the wipes, i only use them in the office/outside if i'm pumping away frm the washing facilities. if thr's water, i will do a rinse then sterilise when convenient. after 6 mths, i jus wash wif water when outside.
at hm or in office, u can wash the pump wif water & bb dishwashing liquid. it's a lot cheaper than using those wipes

Bing, I faithfully eat watever med Dr loh prescribe to me cant remember I took how long, me no gastric prob, you have gastric prob b4 pregnant? If so maybe u shd wait for sat n see him and tell him abt it. Dun think it is advisable to stop the med bah, maybe u can try calling KKH and ask them to check with Dr Loh. but I think u will be fedup calling them, or maybe their service change better, no harm trying. U r visiting TPS rite? they do give the scan photo, but other test results they dun release one. you have to write in and request, they will mail it to you. if you r with Clinic D I think need to pay $. I call them n request for reports n they said I have to write in, free as I m with TPS. that is the prob with KKH you pay for test but dun have a copy of the results.

Nancy, like what other said it is individual about the pantang. I don't so everyone know. ;)

Spiffy, for English name we have chose Leanne from ages ago. Chinese name Le En. Because I want the child to always be happy n grateful. I can't find God's gift name that has not been used by my closed one. So since it is a girl we stick to this name. Hoping next one will be a boy then will be Evan meaning God's gracious ;)

talk about godma, mine is my ex boyfriend mother le. Ha ha
n we are very closed to each other lo.

bing, am STILL on dydrogestrone! my prescription was never stopped..

soon to be, Kiddy Palace has Pureen stuff...the one in Jurong Point has a 15% sale on all full priced items (every brand). Maybe you can check with the other outlets if they are also having a sale.

bing, am in my 28 week already, Dr said they will not stop dydro for the entire pregnancy as it can help prevent pre term labour.

Spiffy,

Dr Loh told me the two support pills will be from 20 to 34 weeks.

He also said deliver after 34 weeks, survival rate will be higher.

thanks sisters! after reading your suggestions yesterday, i thought thru a lot. i hv given bbs engish names, according to their positions A,B,C. my hubby called them working names. kids can change them when they grow up.
no biblical name, cos dh does not agree.
for chinese, names, so long they dun sound wierd n bears the right meaning, i m fine. will discuss again w mil till another time.

i like the "en" word too! thank you bakholic, bee, depondent, eskimobaby,hazel, singapoh, spiffy, soon-to-be, vi4n for your cool advice. i told dh he got to thank my mummy openly so both mums get to hear it. oso the fact my mum was upset. we r now trying to mend the bridges.

hazel, my bbs got godmother too. agree tt the chosen person must have good character. o/w like the show "Godfather". as for the blink blinks, let sil know, u also want your daughters to be as capable as she is, able to buy their own diamonds. thank her for thinking of your kids but your kids no need diamonds to love family members. you will prefer your kids to love family members sincerely and with their heart. let outsiders do the 'sucking up to her'. unless she is debeers, diamonds will run out one day. sil shd keep diamonds for herself. dun spoil the kids.--> she will know she cannot use $$$ to pressure you. what's the history behind your dh and his sis. maybe you can listen to his stories loh....

skirt wise, sometimes pple old already love to wear youngester clothes.

my sis wanted me to be her boys' godma too but i rejected. cos i am their yee yee and will love them anyway. no need to be godma to give them big ang bao or buy them clothes, toys etc. oso, confusion for the kids.

fashion, i take neurogain PB S cos the DHA:EPA ratio is 1:10 n doc recommended that.

Yumyum, I already told her via msn once subtly tt my daughter has to buy her own diamonds if she wants n tt she shld not spoil her with these. She ignored my MSG n continues making tt remarks always.

aiyo hazel...think both of u seriously different wavelength. how come leh? love for free no good meh. she likes to throw her diamonds away...can donate to Thong Ji. agree tt your dh got to settle it or like wat singapoh said, hope she dun meet up so often next time. less conflict.

vi4n, kiddy palace discount until when?

Yumyum, my mil can just make a harmless comment tt the dinner took so long until she missed her tv program. She heard tt straight away gave an ugly look. So wat u think

Yumyum, very cool the concept of A B C. Tell u what u choose English name based on the meaning u want n dint tell hubby the meaning. Jus tell him sound nice n u like it.
This morning my fil jus showed us that he bought book on how to choose name (Chinese). I told hubby, he better don't have the intention to change our bb name. Hubby said he won't care n won't listen to his dad too. ;)

The kiddy palace doesn't tell till when but according to my friend normally 1 month. U better check it before end of this month ok.

Oh if your mom is upset then yes your hubby better show his feeling openly too. We can't change our mil behaviour but if we show our gratefullness to your mom she will be happy already

Nancy, were you the one i met at TMC? i only told family members. As for close friends/colleagues who knew abt my treatment, i always tell them i will let them know when the time is right cos i dun want the news to spread (u never know) and then the next moment it's gone. i am not the pantang type, but i delivered in Nov 09 and my sis due date is Jun 10 and we still meet at my mum place.

Fashion, i took the supporting pills and crinone given by my ivf doc till week 12 and started fish oil and multivit from 2nd tri onwards and have annum milk throughout since BFP. my gynae said 1st tri is more to ensure the preg is stable and 2nd tri onwards then focus on bb development

Soon to be, u can also buy pureen at kiddy palace and tom & stefanie. i am using nepia for day and pampers at night... i hv tried drypers, huggies, pureen but they dun fit my boy's big thighs now :p

skies, i went back to my gynae after week 8 as advised by the ivf doc but i have to continue his medication till week 12. in fact my gynae was the one who referred me to the IVF doc

Bee
Yes, it's me !!!
After the last time we met last feb, i rested for a year now going back to fo my first FET. You boy is 4 months already. How time flies ! Are u back at work or taking care of him full time?

Skies
Are u still seeing Dr cheng at level 5 ? Or are u changing gynae? Sometimes the queue at level one to see him can be quite long.......

nancy,

Im still seeing Dr Cheng at L5. Will so- called graduate this thur if everything goes well.

I'm still considering leh. Coz Im having twins so I wanted to find a gynea who is good in multiple births although I'm not sure if any gynea will do.

I feel quite comfy w him thou d waiting time @ L1 is quite long. My hb is telling me to keep to Dr Cheng but he is having 2nd tots now. Wat Im fraid is twins might hav complications n d charges may b quite high. Also, towards 3rd tri, hav to go for checkup weekly. Travelling can b quite tiring unless take cab.

Did consider KKH coz can ask my hb's aunt to reco a gynea. But KKH also travelling problem. I find TMC more convenient for me if taking public transport.

NUH is near my office so going for check up is quite convenient. But not sure which gynea is good.

Haiz.. Really duno how leh.. I v troublesome hor.

it's funny how these things work in cycles. now we're seeing more ppl having twins again...

Hands up new MTB who're having twins? how exciting for you all!

Skies
Yes, better to find a gynae u are comfortable with and can handle mutiple births. Complications is if twins maybe, just maybe born premature and have to stay at the ICU for a few days, the bills can mount up to be a big amount. I am not sure what the neonatal insurance they ask us to buy is and what it covers. Maybe u wanna check out.

Nowadays dr waiting time can be quite long but i think it's abt the same everywhere. Maybe when third tri comes, u have to take a cab there since tummy can be quite big for twins. No choice... Your health and babies come first. List down the pros and cons before u make the switch. Take care
Btw have u put on any weight?

bbhp, they charge $388 (b4 GST). I think need to register first....they have already sent me the form which I will only do it in Apr. They will suggest the names/characters and share the rough guide on his/her life path...

nancy,

Ya.. Will see how ba. Think after this scan, I will need to wait 1 mth for the next scan. So I have 1 mth to think.

Not sure if I gain any weight coz I havent been eating alot coz lack of appetite. I tried to drink milk powder but only half glass.

soon to be- wah that is ex man.
Juju- maybe i shd get the anti bacterial wipes from pigeon. cos sometimes me not at home nor in office, not access to detergent n hot water, feel that the pump is not clean, wanna get the wipes to stand by. will look out for the pigeon wipes.

I jus had a prenatal massage with the Malay lady I booked for my postnatal. Nice.. My water retention gone already

Twinstars,
i'm seeing Dr Loh at Clinic D. Do you think they will give you the scan photo if you see Dr Loh at Clinic D? If not, i would change to TPS now and save the trouble. i haven't been having gastric pain for more that 10years but it's coming back recently. so i suspect it's triggered off by all the medications i've been taking since i started IVF 2months ago. i'll check with Dr Loh this Sat. How many weeks are you preggie now? Expecting twins?

Spiffy,
i thought we only need to take progesterone for the first trimester. i didn't know that we need to take for the entire pregnancy! i read it somewhere that after the first trimester, ivf pregnancy will not differ from natural pregnancy?
are you expecting twins also?

twinstars, yes, v exp..tt's y i'm asking the mummies here what are necessary and what are not..

Juju, ok...will check it out...I aso bought the pigeon bm storage bottles from NTUC yesterday, after discount only $10-12 only...if buy medela, $31.50 leh......

juju,
thanks!!

find it very siong.. my girl very fussy.. a little bit wet have to change... must find a good and cheap source... kekeke

Nancy,

I think there is no prob for 2 sisters getting pregnant at the same time. My sis n I delivered our babies 2 mths apart and my mum was v happy cos she boiled all the tonic and both of us drank together. save her alot of work! But she poor thing lah do confinement for us back to back! hahaha!

Hi Nancy,
Were we previously in the same forum? Haha.. my memory seems to be failing. All the best to your upcoming FET. Hope to see you popping up in this thread soon.

Skies,
If you are looking for gynae in NUH, PC wong recommended YC Wong. But do take note that gynaes in NUH are not always at the clinic everyday and you have to call the hospital to contact your gynae or whoever is on duty if you have questions.
As for the charges, I am not sure how cheap it can get cos the NICU charges published on the website is rather high compared to TMC, unless one opts to be in B2/C ward from the beginning. Downgrading from private is subjected to approval.
I have switched to private gynae, may opt for tmc or mt.A for delivery.

esk,
if ur gal dun hv sensitive butt, can try cheaper brands. i was using ntuc brand in the day, then bliss told me giant even cheaper. since jodie's butt not sensitive, im using giant for day & nepia for nite. saved us a lot of money!

bbhp, I dunno whether there's special rate for twins..will suggest that u call and check..my hubby was telling me that his staff went to him too and only pay $100++ without the lifepath thingy...I quite confused, but will only clarify when I register later...