IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

yumyum,
we dun use nappies. SIL told us can give away if we r not using.

hazel,
hand expressing can be very tiring & time consuming for some ppl, so pump is better, more efficient. i tried before, rather let the pump do the work

soon-to-be, i did not go taka today leh so cannot compare. Hands full and legs very suan. so did you get anything today? ;-)

Hazel, oh...taka fair till end of March ar! Then still got time to look around first. I saw the capella and other brands at isetan today, having 15% off but still not cheap lor.

singapoh, chickpeas, you boiled from the dried ones or get canned ones? i kinda of miss eating kachang puteh from cinema too.

exercise and pump milk - will milk be salty? hehehe...

Hazel, did your mum say can powder bb's butt? read from bb care books, only use diaper cream, nothing else. so different from what i saw my mum doing for my nephews.

Yumyum,

of coz boil from the dried chickpeas. Dun even know there's canned chickpeas.

Salty milk ok la. At least it's natural. Wakaka...

Hospital won't encourage u to use powder on bb coz powder can get into their lungs. I use nappy cream for backside and lotion for body.

bbhp, babycare festival at expo starts next Fri. so dun gancheong, compare prices first, esp the big ticket items

juju, so for a start, can use hand express first. if really need then buy breast pump. correct?

yumyum, my nephew n niece both taken care by my mum. i dun recall they hv bad nappy rash. actually i think my mum took care of the 2 kids very well. since birth, they nv get any serious falls or sickness....

yumyum, last time our time, where got cream to use. our parents all use powder on us,

bbhp, i bought the smaller items like nail clipper, the round cotton buds, diaper liner, etc.......n 2 t-shirts for my nephews..hehehe..feel good to spend money, but now feeling upset coz quarreled with hubby over money too....sigh....

He didn't anticipated the amt of money that he has to spend with the baby coming and the employment of the maid, as if I never warn him b4.......feeling quite disappointed w him now...said I am "eyeing" his bonus when I was jus stating the facts he shared w me how he wan to use the money to help his mum and sis in their reno...I stopped him then coz I warned him of the outflow of money.....after i married him, i haven't really bought anything nice for myself, coz I know his habit of being overly generous..so everything if i can, i control my expenses...when he can always buy things that he wan, thousands to modify his car and generous to everyone else (including on me too lar)...sigh....the more i write, the more upset i'm getting........

Okay okay...i better go and rest, and make myself happy so baby won't feel my bitterness towards his dad....

soon-to-be, my mum told me round cotton buds hospital may give a pack as free gift... you using cotton nappy? she told me diaper liner is needed only when using cotton nappy. so i was told not to get any.

dun be upset with your dh. bb's arrival usually cost alot of money. i did a rough sum, it may come up to 20k, if u include delivery cost & cord blood banking for 20-21 years.

btw, u are working also. baby stuff u defintely will chip in also. so, wun be as bad.

oh ya, the govt 1-1 benefit for kid's edusave account is 6k, but that means we need to set aside 6k first. though, we can take a few yrs to top up to 6k to enjoy another 6k from the govt, my gfs told me, dun save for the govt, quickly put in 1 lump sum, govt will give 1 lump sum n total of 12k can earn interest.

so, that is cost to us also (ie 6k)

hazel, there should be another Taka baby fair in Aug/Sep...there're 2 every year.

soon-to-be, i just told hubby that everything is adding up to quite a lot of $ too but i realised that most stuff already bought except for breast pump and we're under $1k still.. stuff we dont need to get yet i wont get now.. no space anyway.

yumyum my DH's relatives are also asking us to save some things for them to buy, but we bought most of the stuff ourselves anyway..just easier!

Is anyone throwing a baby shower?

hazel,
ya, if u like to hand express lor
diaper also can use liner, to save on changing diaper so frequently. also good to use when bb poo a lot.
yes, we can put in 6k lump sum, dun hv to worry abt remembering. btw, bb bonus of 4k is given in 4 instalments every 6 mths. they dun give as a lump sum

soon-to-be,
yes, hving bb cost a lot of money. not only now, but also until they start working & earn enuff to feed themselves.

juju, liner so thin, can absorb bb's pee? my mum told me, when bb is young, just change the diaper when it is wet, or when bb poo, then less chance to get nappy rash. maybe that is why i dun recall the 2 kids at home never had much nappy rash.. though they use diaper 24x7

my SIL always buy the diapers in bulk.. she dunno order from which supplier. she said buy in bulk cheaper.

think she told me must change every 2 hrs. if bb poo, change even more often. i actually wanted to buy the nappy liner just now. 150 pieces but just a few bucks. so cheap. but luckily i called my mum n she told me no need to buy since using disposable diaper. *phew*

oh, i did not know 4k is payable in 4 instalments. thanks for telling me

spiffy, yes, children is costly, is a long long term commitment. imagine, when they are born, we need to buy insurance for them, need to set aside money mthly to save in their account, etc. i counted, when they turn 21 yrs old, they will hv a substaintial sum of savings! last time, our parents where got do all these right? :p

bbhp, i just read the website on hand express of breast milk. not too difficult. guess i will just try that first. anyway, KKH sells medela breast pump also. my gf told me cheaper than outside. so, after delivery, want to buy still quite convenient.

if not, if bb is to latch on n i dun use the pump, it is really a waste of money...

hazel,
it helps. but more useful when pooing esp first mth when bb poo so much.
first 2 mths , we used nepia & pampers. after dat, we use giant for day & nepia for nite. guess i spend a lot less money on diapers than my peers alrdy.

hb wanted to save money into bb's acct every mth. but i stopped him. her ang pow money is enuff for her when she grows up. & we prob wun let her noe abt this acct. hahaha!

my gf was just telling me a few days ago that she hand expressed too. She found it not too difficult but more importantly she said 'less wastage'..

juju, ya, u r very right. i work out, 799 over 4 mths, will be 200/mth n that works out to be 50 bucks a week, even more ex than milk powder! ha! i know cant count like this. but profession hazard.

manual pump pain or not huh?

wow, ur kid's angbow so much ah? so good! i told my dh must set aside 10k a yr for bb. 21 yrs old, she will hv 210k! but then, inflation, that amt maybe immaterial leow

spiffy, wow, ur parents so gd.. my parents dunno these things. said insurance is waste money. must as well they save themselves. actually, i only believe in medical insurance. endowment funds, i computed, not worth, coz the payout is not significantly more than the premiums we paid. just my views.

so, when i say i will buy insurance for my bb, it means medical insurance. healthy is the greatest wealth. medical cost is freaking too ex, cant afford to get sick. as for her education next time, i will set aside money for her mthly in her account.. of course,some may say, anything happen to me, that's it. then too bad.. hahahahaha

hazel,
less than 1k. she got 20 yrs to build up. we r alrdy spending money on her insurance. i dun believe in doing so much financially. not as if we r not gonna feed & clothe her.
savings is jus something for her to fall back on during rainy days.

juju, yes, i agree is for rainy days. but to me, it also means to save for her education next time. 20 yrs ago, 500 bucks is lots of money, eg can buy a rolex watch but now, with inflation, the same amt cant get u much. so i believe, in 20 yrs time, our 10k wld worth little also...

hazel, 10k a year?? i'm with juju on this. I'll get the insurance and pay for their university education (cross fingers dont have to go overseas) but savings will just be ad hoc ang pows etc. Or does your 210k includes education fees?

spiffy,
10k a yr is a lot to us, we dun even hv so much to spare even if we dun spend at all

hazel,
no idea. i only use pigeon manual. each pump session differs. depends on individual. yield also depends on whether mummy is well-rested or not, ate well or not, drank enuff water or not. so, very hard to say.

spiffy, means hv to set aside from part of bonus loh, no lavish holidays, cannot buy too many branded bags, etc.... yes, includes education fees. now locally, 4 yrs normal university course already cost abt >20k. in 20 yrs times, dunno how many times is the inflation. if go overseas, will cost alot more. law & medical school cost even more

actually, if u break it up into mths, 1 mth $500. 1 yr already 6k. bal top up using bonus. not like setting aside 10k at one go.

if u get the insurance to pay for university edn, is not cheap either. coz the higher the payout, the higher the preminum u hv to pay. am not surprised ur premium will be abt 10k/year too for a few hundreds Ks payout. so it works out to be the same wat.

hey, the indian girl who told me abt hand express, she said last yr, the 2nd taka baby fair was in July! n she bought her things there. i checked taka website. no details yet...

hazel, i meant, i'll buy their insurance, and (separately), also pay for their education..
Talking about money is quite depressing..
Taka's events are usually out the month before or week before..quite slow..

juju, ya, bonus is gd. i just got it last mth. coz bb is on the way, so i nv buy anything, not even a small item, to pamper myself, unlike previous years.. everything set aside for bb.. to cover bb things, delivery, etc. though i know dh will pay also.

my birthday last mth, i also told dh dun get me any present.. coz i want him to use the money to pay for the tonic.. cordycepts, bird nest, etc.

now, the prority is bb... all parents are like this.

spiffy, ya meh. kids are costly!

I was browsing thru e various posts about feeling like a cow... I felt like a pig though, eating non stop today. Just had my supper of chwee kueh. Hee hee.

Hmmm., now I'm wondering if shd get pump.. Really expensive leh... If get e 2nd hand one, got to buy so many spare parts.... But then again, I've saved money as getting hand me downs for big items such as stroller, car seat, and hopefully a play pen/ bb cot.

Hazel, I also never thot of saving especially for any particular kid.. V siong and stressful.. Maybe just save in general and really not enough money for education, they find their own means! Wakaka.. Isn't that what happen to our generation too? I paid for my own education leh. I'm sure their generation even more resourceful right?

Spiffy, no, too early. i am only delivering in Aug. No space to store. i just go there to see see look look. the expensive items are bb cot, car seat/stroller & breast pump. the rest, are small items, can easily get. stuff like wet tissue i wld most likely get last min. buy too early, will dry up one.

Despondent, where u get chwee kueh at this hour? am hungry now too.. but think i better go sleep away the hunger. tomorrow must wake up early... our kid's generation will even be more stressful. maybe then, a degree is not enough. may need a master.

i just do as much as i can since i give birth to her. that's all i can do.

Despondent, am not getting the pump now. later buy leow nv use is very wasteful. i saw the videos on the website n the techniques to hand express breast milk. is very easy. may be just a bit slower. i will only get one when i am sure i really need it after delivery.

Hey ladies, thanks for your consolation..i'm still feeling a bit sore abt his comments last night as if I'm only after his money....not that I'm not going to chip in but I earned much lesser than him now n have not gotten any 13th mth or bonus for past 2 years coz I have been changing job...1st time change coz too stressful, 2nd time change coz mgt is extremely lousy...and I took quite a fair bit of pay cut to get out of the 2nd co.....sigh......

Talking abt endownment for the baby, my hubby actually wanted to pay $1k mth which his agent did a cal, after 15 years of payment, mature on 20/21st years would gv us approx. $400k....for his overseas education...and I told him "no"...my hubby does think long term, but not a complete pic....he doesn't think abt the expenses during his growing-up years and expenses for a 2nd child (I wan 2 kids)....I haven't done a cal, but I tot putting aside $4-5k a year in endownment will take care of part of his uni expenses. Then, we will still invest or save in other ways to ensure that the expenses and growing up needs are taken care of....sigh..so much money to spend...

Sorry that you ladies hv to bear with my grumbles early this morning...coz I don't think I'm going to speak to my hubby for a while since I'm still upset w him...i cannot always gv in to him...*pout*

Hazel,

if u close the wet wipes properly, it won't dry up one.

It looks easy when u see others express milk by hand or bf. No doubt bf is easy and FOC but the initial part is all abt hardwork. Means u need to work really hard to increase yr supply by latching on more frequently or pump in between. And u also need yr bb's coorperation to latch on.

After supply meets the demand, bf is a breeze

We bought insurance for our son and savings are from angpau. I think our job is to pay for their education and after that, they should go out and work to earn money.

If they want branded stuffs, they hv to work for it. I flew for 1 decade, dun own a piece of LV, Prada, Gucci, etc

Singapoh, wow! U r a rare SQ girl who does not own any of these bags! Ur dh so fortunate to marry u

Just bags alone I spent alot a year. Used to like LV n gucci. But now, the craze is on BV. anyhow, bb on the way. Cannot spend money like this anymore....