IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Despondent,

I got my Medela (Europe) from the distributor at Motherhood fair (Expo). I think It's held in June every year. If I m not wrong, their office is at Jurong.

Is yr Medela from Europe or USA? u can find out by checking the voltage. If from Europe, u can check with the lady selling Medela in KKH pharmacy. If it's USA, go to First few years.

Singapoh, I dun live is fairy land la. Like wat spiffy said, support is impt. N I hv support from my parents. Am lucky. So wun be in the situation of a cranky bb alone often :p

Singapoh, the medela pump is gd? I heard gd comments from my colleagues leh. I know it's more exp compared to other brand, will check out the prices during the fair.

Soon-to-be, my sis also using pigeon sterilizer and milk bottles. FYI, if you are a OG cardmember, you will receive a cut-out coupon for a private sale on 17 March for pigeon sterilizer(up to 6 bottles), a packet of wipes and liquid detergent at $99. It's quite a gd buy leh! ;-)

Singapoh, i got a sterilizer from my SIL, however it has not been used for 6 years liao. I got to test it whether it's still working this weekend. If not, I will get 1 from Pigeon package then get more bottles....

Despondent, cannot on music at 2am plus lar...hubby sleeping and i don't wan to wake him up which is y I will jus lie on the bed even if I can't sleep....err...the music to my ear is his snoring!!! He has been snoring v loudly ever since he took on the new portfolio......sigh.....

someone is spreeing medela pump and accessories..u can check out the spree thread..quite good deal.. cheaper than u buy in singapore..but then becos its from US, so no local warranty.

Like to share an upcoming event on Breastfeeding. It's free admission as it is organised on volunteery basis.

Calling all expecting mothers and young parents!

The Parent-Support-Parent (PSP), a parenting network initiated by a few CHC mothers, is organizing a Breastfeeding Talk this weekend. This meeting is not limited to CHC members but open to all.

Details of this event are as follows:

Topic: Best Feed Forward
Speaker: Dr Lena Goh (Vice President, Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group)
Date: March 13, 2010 (Saturday)
Time: 3 p.m.
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 1, Conference Room 4

* What is most natural and perfect for both baby and mother?
* What is the most economical & environment-friendly milk for baby?
* What lays the foundation for deep and secure bonding between mother and child that will last a lifetime?

This session is conducted free-of-charge and serves to educate parents on how to achieve the best nutritional source and emotional bonding for their precious child that will give him/her a headstart in life. The whats, whys and hows of breastfeeding will be addressed and there will also be trained BMSG counselors available after the talk for consultation.

Kidz@Play will be opened for those who are bringing children aged 3 – 9 years old.

Please register via http://www.chc.org.sg/psp/

For more information, you may email your enquires to [email protected]

soon-to-be, you mentioned buying detergent..for clothes? Is this necessary?

anyone has any recommendations for breast pump? i'm in two minds over what brand, what kind (manual? electric? single? double?). I'll have to do it at my desk (luckily only females in my office!) so i'll most likely get electric..

I heard that Medela from USA is not as good as Europe. Because of the different voltage, u will be given a transformer and it spoils easily. The price is cheaper than Europe made but repair and replacement are ex.

Electric dual pump is good. When 1 side is stimulated, the other side will leak. U will get more milk when u pump 1 side and bb suck the other side.

I didn't use my pump for long coz I direct latching.

Spiffy, all my frens said better, as the detergent is less harsh on the baby's skin since the clothes will need to come into contact w the baby....I bought a small one to try so that I can get my maid to wash the hand me down and new clothes....hehehe, only bought detergent and forgot to buy the softener......i read from other threads that pureen brand is better but i don't see it during the taka fair..so i bought the pigeon one first....

singapoh,
i also pump when bb latching. more yield in the bottle

spiffy,
me too. use bb detergent for her clothes & bb dishwashing liquid for her bottles, cutleries & my pump accessories.

soon-to-be,
pureen brand got booth at expo bb fair.
no need softener though.

Singapoh, u bought the bb dish detergent har? I was thinking whether necessary, but we bought a small pigeon bottle to try too..hubby said try first, if baby ok, then we buy bigger bottle next time..he doesn't wan to save on such money since the saving isn't that much on such items....i was thinking of using normal dish detergent leh...hehehehe

Juju, really? Hmm...me will be going to the expo baby fair too....still hv a lot of small items to get..hubby was saying how come I never brought along the list yesterday...i was like...err...err...it was so last min that we only left our house at 815pm to go to taka...n he kept saying to leave the small items to closer to EDD then buy...now like everything my fault...sigh....

Juju, pureen is better than pigeon? I went for a job interview w Pigeon as a pdt mgr with them last year but didn't get in...sigh, otherwise, I wld be able to save on these costs!!!!

think ur hb & mine can shake hands liao!

i bought pureen cos they hv discounts if buy more. so i hv lotsa pureen dishwashing, detergent & bath/shower items. now im using pureen shower for myself too. cheap & smell like bb! hahaha!

soon-to-be,
i think personal preference la. i din see pigeon booth at expo fair dat time, so bot pureen instead. & johnson's booth items out of stock. din wan to go hm empty handed. lol...

Soon-to-be, its a different package compared to OG private sale. if i decided to get pigeon, maybe will use the cut-out coupon to get from OG. Mums-to-be here will be busy with shopping recently..hehe.

berrybaby, i just received the OG private sale booklet yesterday night when I opened my mailbox. there are many bb items on sale too. you can consider getting things from there.

Singapoh, thanks for the explanation on the different types of pump. I will check out the price n if it's really too exp, I might grab one which I can afford.

Juju.....sigh.....i dun wan them to shake hands, coz that will mean that they become good frens and probably share more bad habits w each other...hehehe.....

bbhp, but it's quite similar right? anyway, i hv no OG card....but i got to check n make sure my sterilizer is spoilt then can get new one! heee

I use Tollyjoy brand to wash bottles/equipment and laundry. We are using Pureen shower gel. Bought from Pureen store in KKH. 3 bottles for $13. Very cheap. UP $6+ per bottle.

I dun use softener.

Men are like that. My dh puts everything in my bag like camera, measuring tape,letters, bills, etc. Can ask why my bag is so heavy :p

bbhp, it's my pleasure
Good to find out more b4 going to the fair. Www.medela.com.sg

soon-to-be,
lol...

singapoh,
ya lor! very cheap!
my hb also! buy things, eat, got receipt, give me. mail & everything else in my bag...

last yr's pureen pricing :
- 5 x Pureen Nappy Liners 100's (BB Expo) : $24
- 5 x Pureen Fragrance Free Wet Wipes 2x100's (BB Expo) : $30
- 2 x Pureen Changing Mat (BB Expo) : $10.40
- 2 x ABD Liquid Detergent 1L (BB Expo) : $9.90
- 2 x Pureen Liquid Cleanser Mint 75CL (BB Expo) : $10
- 1 x Pureen Liquid Cleanser Orange 75CL (BB Expo) : $5.50
- 3 x Pureen Baby Head-To-Toe Wash 75CL (BB Expo) : $14
- 3 x Pureen Baby 2-in-1 Shampoo 75CL (BB Expo) : $13
- 2 x Pureen Baby Bath Regular 75CL (BB Expo) : $10
- 1 x Pureen Baby Bath Peach 75CL (BB Expo) : $3

soon-to-be,
for cleaning bb during bath time in the first month. if u go antenatal class, the nurse will demo bathing wif cotton wool

Juju,

Pureen KKH is selling Wet wipes 2 x 100 for $11.60. So 5 will be $29. $1 cheaper than the fair. Msia even cheaper. Only Rm10.50 for 2 x 100

soon-to-be, yes the content of the package is quite similar. Better get ur friend's sterilizer to try first n if spoilt, you have a good excuse to go shopping again...haha

Singapoh, i surf the web and found that a good medela pump cost S$720. That's exp...

Juju,

I used to buy Pigeon wipes for mouth and face. So ex. Then realise can just just fragrance free wipes for the same purpose

singapoh n juju, looks like i must have my sleep buffet now. very "dark" times ahead for me lor...

i m still living on seeing my bbs smiling at me or latching on to get me through. mentally prepared tt i m in this alone w 2 maids cos hubby has to work 3 times as hard to bring back the dough.

hazel, i miss going to work. with bedrest since october 09, i miss talking to my colleagues/ lunch kakis n even if my subordinates/peers do call me to check me out. miss the adult contact n mental interaction. sahm is like entrepreneur 24x7. i have no experience but i saw what my mum went through. do u like ur current work environment? consider during the later end of your maternity leave to consider changing n environment? if you can afford it, consider no pay leave or even become sahm to find out if it is really for n for your family. who knows where it might bring you in your pursuit of happyness? do note we r now very emo due to hormones so dun make career debilitating moves now.

Yumyum,

how's yr maid now?

Yeah lor. U better enjoy yr quiet moment now. Hee... Remember to take it easy hor. Lower yr expectation. Ask or accept help when others offer to u. Dun feel paiseh one...

singapoh, she is putting in a lot more effort. my mil is coming down fm kl to look after me n i m letting my maid knows of her standard of hygiene (super high) in a +ve way.

in my condition, i missed out all the sales

luckily i got a great gf tt help me buy the crucial bb stuff - milk bottles n teats.

assuming, i m a dairy cow n i use dryer, is 12 cloth diaper per bb enuf for bf bbs? i intend to use disposables at night only.

singapoh, can share revised maid schedule with twins around? hope clueless mummy not on emo rollercoaster then... bbs n dh no need go sentosa for a ride then.

Soontobe, what make u buy pigeon bottles compare to avent? I'm still deciding btw the 2. Combi stroller any promo n selling baby cot there? TIA

Yumyum,

so sweet of yr MIL. My mum is coming next week but not to look after me. She said she can just relax and play with my son since I got a maid now. Keke...

How big is yr place? I hv not prepared the new timetable for my new house yet. Basically must keep the common area clean like living/ dining room/ kitchen as well as bb room. The rest dun hv to clean daily.

spiffy n singapoh, tk you for the pillow tips.
i hope can dun use pillows too. one less item to wash. hubby said can use folded cloth diapers.
my mum says use pillows. wonder wat the confinement nanny will say?

oso, can use preloved pillows? they look really new. i got both normal pillows n those round ones with a dent in the middle.

singapoh, my place has 3 bedrooms - single level. the official maid room is filled with my barang barang n it became cat's bedroom long time ago. plan is for bbs sleep with maid until they cannot fit in 1 big cot or they can sleep with me too. also parking 1 bed at mum's place and in kl.

going to custom make storage space for additional maid n bbs. on installation day, i go rest at mum's place.

how about cooking n marketing leh? 2 bbs night shift is tough. not forgetting your boy is at home then. dun get angry hah but childcare sometimes means he bring back home more virus too.

Singapoh, thanks for e medela website. Now I'm totally confused on which to buy! Hee... Not sure how frequent I'll use it yet and I suppose cost would b a huge factor too... :)

bbhp, where do u find e cost?

Yumyum, I asked my gf to help me get 36 cloth nappies for my singleton.... Coz no dryer... Can u imagine my mum wants to hand wash them?? I told her no....

Vi4n, I bought pigeon bottles coz the sterilizer that I got from my SIL is aso from pigeon.....so i thought just get their bottles lor.....can can go there and compare the bottles lar....ya, they selling combi strollers too....

Yumyum, u dairy cow??!?! wahhaahhaha....i like this one! Ya, I haven't decided on the nappy yet...my mum said she's going to take out the old ones which my nephews used and wash. I need to pass her some of the detergent that i've bought...

soon-to-be,
my mil washed all the clothes by hand during my confinement.
tell her to use washing machine, she complain wash very long & waste water + electricity. lucky nvr use nappies, else she sure wash until hand skin tear

despondent, 108 cloth diapers to handwash for my maid... think she will sleep in toilet liao...
got washer cum dryer for diapers cos no place to dry clothes. adults got to wear disposables?
wakakaka!

soon-to-be, got to stock take lor. my nephews r10 year old now n my mum said she recalled she has lots of hand me downs. turn out to be 17. she went to buy 1 pack:12 piece n said it is a lot, forgetting tt i haf 3 kids - means less than 10 a day or 10 change per daytime or wash must dry immediately.