IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

biting nipple is not bb greedy, it's incorrect latching.
when i was working, i pump only once or twice at work, i.e. if i reach early, i pump before starting, then pump during lunch. dun nid to go toilet, if got spare meeting room, also can use

yes, bfg is up to individual's preference. no point getting stressed cos it will affect bm quality. but, it will be good if the mother can try to bf

There is only one meeting room in my office n is always occupied. Thus, if mothers wan to expres, has to do in the toilet. Yucks! :p

Yes Hazel, thank u v much for e confinement tips!
but my mum said ok to use water heater to shower?? But last rinse w herbal water??? Hmmm... Sounded I'm in e washing machine... :p

Pump once or twice during work hrs wun hv enough for bb. Still needs to supplement with formula. N BM nurition comes from mummy. Mummy takes outside food once she return back to work n we know how unhealthy these food r. So, mummy dun take healthy food BM wun will nuritious at all either

There's a way to pull nipple out from baby's mouth after bf so that baby dun "bite" the nipple. Antenatal class will teach.

hazel,
otherwise can use nursing shawl.
i used a shawl to cover up & pumped at my desk before. as colleagues now dat i'm expressing, no one bothers

hazel,
dat's during work.
i also pump once when i wake up, twice after i get home.
bfg is nvr easy esp when the mother is working. a lot of sacrifice needed.
outside food not healthy, true. can try to eat less unhealthy food too

Singapoh, thanks for advice, I'm juz trying not to b too hopeful w wat my dh can do... When I lack sleep and start throwing temper, think he will know wat to do... Ke ke ke.

hazel,
but since u wun be bfg whn u go bk to work, dun nid to bother alrdy.

singapoh,
yes, insert the last finger into bb's mouth & slowly remove nipple

biting occurs when bb's mouth dun cover the whole aerola, thus bb only sucking on the nipple, no milk, they suck harder, bleeding occurs easily

Despondent, pls dun use tap water to shower during confinement! U r not allowed to okay. Later u got body aches n these will be long term. U ask any CL they will tell u to bathe in boiled herbal water only.

I n not using herbs for shower. I will use rice wine instead coz is easier to pour these rice wine into boiled water to shower than to boil herbs. U go any medical shop n ask it will tell u Also abt the herbs or rice wine.

Anyway, I leave it to my mum to settle all these. She did a few confinements already for some friend n my sil 2 kids. She told me she will get ready for me All these things including herbs which I hv to take during confinement, cook with food. When my CL comes everything will be ready also.

She said she will get for me bb's clothes too, those for wearing at home, cloth nappy, etc. I just need to get clothes which bb wears out n those bulky items like car seat, stroller, milk warmer n breast pump.

Mothers r always the greatest!!!

Singapoh, if no full breasts, how bb get full huh? Will cry?

Juju, when expressing using nursing shawl, can still do work at same time? :p paiseh.. Real ignorant here....

Despondent,

sure lack of zzz lor..

Besides herbal bath, u need to prepare light long pants to wear during confinement. And not to forget bedroom slippers.

despondent,
can, do simple paper work lor. but when i pump before starting work & during lunch, jus concentrate on pumping & play games lor. hee...

Yeah Juju wrong latching can cause sore nipples. Dry nipples will crack. I didn't wash mine with soap, just water to prevent nipples from cracking

singapoh,
ya, wash wif water. then can express abit of bm to rub over nipples & aerolas, air dry, then apply some nipple cream.

Juju, am an auditor. I m not in office all the time. Can be at client's plc. So bf is not practical once I return back to work.

Despondent, My mum told me to shower at home quickly b4 I go hospital for delivery. N she said dun shower in hospital after delivery. Just endure till return home. Coz hospital room is airconed n we can't off it. The moment we shower n walk out of the bathroom, we will immediately get the chill from the aircon which is very bad for the body.

Also, during confinement at home, no fans shld be blowing at u. Hot on aircon. Fans can cause bones to ache

Despondent,

Baby cry can mean anything. Not always hungry. U can tell if bb is getting enuf by the no. of diapers a day. At least 5 wet and 1 poop a day. Newborn will poop more often esp when u bf. Weight gain. Baby looks contented.

Did u buy anything from bb fair today? I bought 8 pairs of netted mittons from BHG. $1.50 per pair b4 20% discount.

Juju,

Ouch! Lucky I didn't hv that. When my son has 18 teeth, I was like putting my nipple into a chopper everytime I bf. Wakaka... Scary siah

singapoh,
she's been having itchy gums for very long. dun wan her to teeth so soon either, hehe... i'm enjoying the boh geh times

Wow.. Singapoh, got to know how many wet diapers or poo poo per day ? Does antenatal class teach that? I hope they do.. Coz then will b in e notes. :p

I mean, if not enuff milk (which will happen to me), & yet i read we shd try not to supplement w formula, then will bb be hungry? Hmmm.. Hopefully e class will teach that too!

Oh, in e end, I didn't go to any fair.. :p felt lazy to drive that far (dh not in town). So went to nearby Giant hypermart. Spent few hours there coz finds it too tiring to walk! Sat at e benches during many breaks! In e end, only left there w a punnet of strawberries.. Ke ke ke. I had hope to find some cheap sleepwear there but think sold out...

e mentioned Medela brand's free style is dual pump? Too late liao, promised my gf I will buy hers over. I dun know wat brand or model that is... :p but she said dual pump.

Despondent,

I didn't learn all that from the antenatal class. The lactation consultant taught me when I went to see her for my mastitis ( breast inflamation)

u can supplement with expressed BM.

Which Giant did u go to?

Despondent,

actually he hardly bite. Only after he had a few teeth, he's not used to having teeth so bite me accidently.

I wanted to stop after 1 year but he rejected formula. When he accepted formula at 18 months, he refuse to wean off my breasts! So drag till 22 months!

Also need to stop bf b4 I can do FET.

despondent,
upon discharge, u will be given a breastfeeding booklet. they will have info on wet diapers & poo, how to express by hand, how to latch bb, even got sample timetable for u to note how often bb latch, for u to establish a pattern
why so fast say u dun hv enuff supply? drink plenty of warm water, milo, mummy's milk & soupy stuff. have confidence & tell urself u can do it.
i din hv much in the beginning but i'm still bfg now, my gal is 10 mths old le

Oh singapoh! That's v useful info-tat we need to stop bf b4 gng for FET. Hope not to wait too long coz already feeling old...

Juju, coz mine small mah.. Ok ok.. Dun flame me, I know it's not true.. Juz lack of confidence. Will b hopeful.

ok, good night ladies, need to zzzz now coz tmr has to wake up earlier for work. Sweet dreams to all.... And thank u all for e wonderful concern & sharing.... God bless u all...
Zzzzzzzzzzz

hazel, your mil's maid is drawing salary already? mine is still on her $20 per mth cos the agent took the rest.

i recee on cost comparison and found out that using lan line and icc will save cost for her the most. as she is from myanmar, it costs $1 per min for her to call home - singtel, starhub, not including telco charges.

singapoh, does it mean you have the intention to foot for her icc card bills during her contract period or just first few? tell you something, i kept my first maid despite all that happened. it sounded stupid, right? my dh is still wondering what happened for me to change my mind.

Yumyum,

u r too kind. Hope she really change her attitude for good.

In the house rules, she's to get her own card to call. Since she's not calling very often, I will let her use mine. I use it to call my parents in Malaysia.

My maid's salary is $10 for the next 7 months coz she's paying back the loan to us. We are waiting for the sum to reach $500 before we can open a bank account for her. Dun wan her to keep any cash. She even ask me to keep her angpau money.

Money part is not houserules right? Why $500 leh? POSB account izit? Yours is filipino and do you know how they remit money home? i heard of western union but dunno what it is all about.

yumyum,

Agent told us have to bank in minimum $500 to open an account. Not the same for all banks?

She's an Indonesian. No idea how to remit money home.

Sorry to barge in ...

Is it those u heat once then take it off the burner & put it in its thermal jacket for it to self cook ?? My mum has one...

1 time she cooked stew then left it in the thermal jacket .. till forget that there was stew there ... think left for a few days ... until we noticed a weird smell ... then discovered the 'treasure' AHHH ...

Think she didn't really use it much after that incident.

JJ,

OMG how can she forget? Hee..

Yes heat on stove for about 10 mins then put back to the outer pot. Let it cook without gas or electricity. Save a lot and no need to watch the fire

OG got sell ... I saw before .. I also thot it was useful ... but ... must remember to check on it .. after same case as my mum .. hahaha ...

Its esp good for stew, soup ... the food will be soft & tasty ... yum ...

Currently I am using Toshiba rice cooker to make soup and porridge. Too small for soup coz my son loves soup.

Wanted to get the biggest 1.8L but I already have 2 Toshiba rice cookers. Thought of getting thermal cooker. Maid won't be free to watch the fire when babies are here.

despondent,
singapoh will tell u size dun matter

singapoh,
i hv a tiger thermal pot, very gd. can retain the heat for at least 12 hrs. but when mil use, heat only last abt 5hrs

Yeah Despondent,

You don't need Pamela Anderson's breast size to produce milk.

Smaller breasts just bf more often lor. Mine are small and 1 feed can last for 3 to 4 hours