IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

someone just gave my office a whole orange chiffon cake from bengawan solo.. it's really delish! Deceptively light too..

singapoh/soon-to-be, i think i gained around one kg this past week. Didn't really eat a lot but somehow the weight has crept up on me. From what I read from the What to Expect app, this is the period when the baby builds up fat stores, so weight gain will happen most now..

Spiffy,

I love Begawan's orange chiffon cake but I can't eat now. I hv not touch even 1 piece of CNY cookies. I think my littles tigers will drool a lot next time. Waaaa

In ST today.

'Test tube' kids are healthy
 Top Stories|Updated 4 hrs ago
By AP
SAN DIEGO - MORE than 30 years after the world greeted its first 'test-tube' baby with a mixture of awe, elation and concern, researchers say they are finding only a few medical differences between these children and kids conceived in the traditional way.

More than 3 million children have been born worldwide as a result of what is called assisted reproductive technology, and injecting sperm into the egg outside the human body now accounts for about 4 percent of live births, researchers reported Sunday at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The majority of assisted reproduction children are healthy and normal, according to researchers who have studied them. Some of these children do face an increased risk of birth defects, such as neural tube defects, and of low birth weight, which is associated with obesity, hypertension and Type 2 diabetes later in life, the researchers said.

'Overall, these children do well,' said Andre Van Steirteghem of the Brussels Free University Center for Reproductive Medicine in Belgium. 'It is a reassuring message, but we must continue to follow up.'

Carmen Sapienza, a geneticist at Temple University School of Medicine in Philadelphia, noted that few of these test tube children are older than 30, so it's not known if they will be obese or have hypertension or other health problems at age 50 or older. She said researchers found differences in 5 per cent to 10 per cent of chromosomes between assisted reproduction children and other kids.

What's not clear is whether these differences result in some way from assisted reproduction techniques or if they stem from other factors, perhaps ones that caused the couple's infertility in the first place.

Soontobe, u meant your face only rounder now? Oh no, then I must have put on too much weight! Colls already noticed my rounder face since I was like 10 wks... And my belly is quite round too! But I rmbr my sil starting to show her belly only around wk 20...

singapoh, i think ppl have too much faith or hope in what stem cells can do.

uh i think roundness in the face is just a matter of time..if not now, then at the end of pregnancy? unless you're really lucky..

Spiffy, I dun want bigger babies. I want healthy babies... That mentality of bigger babies may have all e weight put on by mummy not baby... Too scary....

despondent, certainly we do want healthy babies, but if one is expecting multiples, i'm also speaking about not having small babies esp if they have a likelihood of coming out earlier...just speaking from the point of the book i'm reading on this.

Spiffy, but hor, mummy put on weight does not mean bigger bbs either...

Despondent, see doc on fri. I put on 1kg plus as at now... Lost 1 kg 2 wks back.. Dunno why

hello all, long time no talk. happy cny all! talk abt weight gain, i put on only 4kg which was measured the last appt i had on 4th feb.

Cny all relatives all keep saying same THING over n over again, "WAH u so small.."urgh. Anyway babies are at the right weight so im not worried.

talking about cord blood anybody doing? sf mentioned something about safety the last time i asked him. not sure if there's any use of not..

today bought some big items for babies. like strollers, car seats..

Oxidised,

wah really long time no hear. Gong xi fa cai. Wah yr weight gain is even lower than mine.

Did u get a twin stroller? Side by side?

singapoh; bought 2 combi strollers . miracle turn. purple..damn cute..hee.. bought one from overseas but sold it already cos SO bulky!

yah lor, but sf never say anything so im not concerned la.. babies ok what.. not like i never eat..

i swim with my hub all the time also, not really swim la, jus a few laps then play with water haha.. u knw when mus stop or not? or can swim all the way?

how much is ur weight gain leh?

Oxidised,

if I m not wrong stop when hit 37 weeks coz cervix might open. U dun wanna get infection from the pool water. U can check wz doc.

I hv gained 5.5 kg. Need to watch what I eat coz I hv gestational diabetes

Oxidised, u making me envy ah... I want the miracle turn but at $600plus one hubby said no. So my next choice is combi ur300y at $300plus.
Busy Monday for me. Morning training work till 8pm. So sleepy n tired.
Morning travelled from woodlands to novena stand in front of reserved seat, no one bother at all.
Then return to office our admin lady said I don't look bigger than 3 months ago. Haiz...

singapoh: u gained so little how come got gestational diabetes? thought gestational diabetes u get when u put on too much, too fast? my uncle say one..

my friends say from behind i dun look pregnant.haha..

Vi4n: actually at 600 plus i can buy quinny. cos i got disc, my friend's mom can get for me.. but cant join together and also heavier too..so thought get combi la, anyway also very easy to use n keep.. i think most impt is light la, got so many things already.. then got bulky stroller .. will die. one baby still ok. 2 babies.. better not..haha

vi4n: hey u can try buying off singaporemotherhood forum. other moms selling their old miracle turn.. sometimes quite nice n quite good deal.. if u dun mind a few scratches n all..

my hub n me always buy 2nd hand stuff one..haha, jus that this strollers i "demanded"new ones..hehe

Oxidised, no need la. The other combi is good enough.
I'm so happy n teary because finally hubby managed to feel bb movement.

spiffy: my idea is that twin stroller quite "fan" and cant detach.. so going crowded places quite irritating.. with single strollers at least we have the option of removin or attaching.. what i feel lah..

singapoh: oic..so better be careful what u eat..

vi4n: everytime i feel kicking let hub touch they dun move! but he did feel a couple of times n also see the stomach pop up.. haha

Spiffy,

I hv 2 single strollers now. might buy over my gf's side by side Mclaren stroller in future.

Oxidised,

i think it's easier to push a twin stroller if u go out alone with the babies.

Oxidised, singapoh, I've been trying to get hubby to feel it but bb always stop moving lo. Then the other night when bb kept moving n hubby hand was there BUT he was snoring away. Cheh.. So tonight is the first success feeling for hubby. Bb movement def getting stronger but still no poking out for me.
I'm getting breathless easily now le. Leaning back on bed also feel breathless can't imagine how when getting bigger. Any remedial?

vi4n: i also breathless. plus i feel my heart beating so damn fast even when i m not doing anything strenous!

think the babies funny one.. my hub put hand there they also stop kicking.. but once i talked to them in a loud voice n they started kicking like one left one right.. dunno coincidence or what. haha

vi4n..i think the only thing you can do is take it easy!

singapoh, i forgot you already have a stroller..haha.. The other day i saw a family with triplet infants..father mother and maid were all tending to a baby each..so cute!

Lately my son like to rest on my belly. Wanna sayang titi and mei mei. How cute.

Yeah can't imagine going out alone with 2 babies. Hee...

Spiffy, cute because u see only ha ha.. Yumyum will be like that soon

leaning on pillow not taking easy enough ah.. Ha ha it us the top of tummy 鼎住 lo

vi4n: no leh.. i thought normal so next visit then tell him .. but i guess it's the body's normal way of reacting .. of course work harder cos got 2 more little lifes in me ..