IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bakaholic,
it depends on the dosage of the folic acid u are talking abt.. not the no. of tablets... most of us may be taking 1 tablet but our 1 tablet may be equivalent to 2x ur tablet... anyway if ur doc wanted u to stop he would have advised u to... so continue with it until u see him or when he changed u to a multi vit which also contain folic acid...

there's pros and cons for both govt and pte hosp... and the pros for govt hosp has been much discussed here esp for complicated and pre-term cases... hmmm i dunno why ppl says that the charges at kkh and pte not much difference... but i do see the difference esp in terms of vitamins and medication...

Bakaholic, which hosp r u considering? I heard LC Cheng from TMC not bad...i have 2 frens with him.....I hope I got the name correct...n there's this gynae, I think Benjamin something, he's currently with KKH but going to start at TMC soon...my cousin in law was with him, u shld be able to see a thread on him.....reviews seems to be good too...

KKH or pte charges may come up to be the same if u are choosing ur own gynae...

Oh Ben Tham is very nice. He was gynae before during my endometriosis phase. Always very pleasant and fresh looking. heh.

Gan/Cactus - i'm not into salty or too oily stuff. Are those you mentioned generally like that?

spiffy i dun find them salty but slightly more oily than home cooked food. Both have 10 days trial so u can see if u ok with the food. Mum's cooking no msg as claimed.

Spiffy,
yeah he is... Always ready with a smile n he's quite upbeat... Quite a few of my colleagues r under him n all like him very much.

doctors like him can go into private practice, no problem...i think he will be recommended thru word of mouth..
oh gosh, so sleepy... is it the weekend yet?

Singapoh, when u first abt to become a mum, did u ever wonder whether u will be a good mum to ur son? And wat's the definition of "good"?

Singapoh, my low waist panty is giving me rashes maybe too tight. I bought maternity low waist but not big enough. To begin with i'm fat mah.. I prefer cover belly button type.
Bakaholic, from what I know Mary Krauff is not available for this year delivery. Because 1 of my friend sister Edd same with me called up Nuh to make appt with her n that's what the hospital told her. U may wanna call to confirm.
Up till now I'm still taking blacksmore pregnancy n breastfeeding supplement which also has folic acid.
Cactus, wah the maid run away in indo airport or what? Then your agency handling the issue well? How is this current maid?

Spiffy, tt's what will happen to me when I have too much free time on hand......

Anyway, when I looked at how my MIL spend her day at home, I wonder, will I be happy like her, simply cooking and caring for the family...and serve each kid like king and queen.....hmmm...i ponder

soon-to-be, if you have a maid, then there is always the option of other pursuits... like freelance work or volunteer work. if you are strictly a sahm, no helper, then well, you're gonna have to live with being a 'thankless slave' to the family. sad as that may sound, i remember growing up being thankless about those homecooked meals my mother made..now i think about it, her cooking is the best.

Soon to be,

I know I am a good mum.

During my first few weeks on my own with my son, I felt really overwhelming. I was feeling really exhausted but I didn't give up. Being a SAHM without any other adult at home is really seong. I remember one day my son was so cranky, I hit him on his legs. I felt like a bad mother and cried with him.

Other than that, I have been taking very good care of him. Breastfeeding was the best thing that I hv given to him. I also prepared all his food, never once given him purée food in a jar.

Spiffy,

even if u hv a maid at home, dun expect her to take care of yr kids. She also has to do housework. If we can't do all that, I dun think she can do it either unless u hire another maid just to take care of yr kids.

Then again, dun leave yr kids alone with a maid when they are very young. They won't be able to tell u if the maid has done something bad to them.

Singapoh, I already bought up to size 16 of bonds brand. But that was not too high n low waist hence with bigger tummy now it will fold down

Soontobe/singapoh, which maid agency you go to? Feedback? TIA
btw can clarify that only 1 of us need to take the online course n test n be the employer?

Vi4n, I have not decided yet. My hubby's boss wife is recommending theirs to us....ya, only need 1 to take the course and test....can complete within 2 hours......not so much of a test, rather a quiz....if answer wrongly aso nevermind coz it will give u chances till u get the answer.....

Hi Vi4n,

Yup the 1st maid I chose ran away at Indonesia airport. Told them want to go toilet & disappear, never board the plane. Turn out to be a blessing. Imagine if she actually arrive & disappear in Singapore, more headache for me. The agent was kind enough to refund me everything in full.

My new maid is quite good. Her main duty is take care of my twins & housework and she is doing a good job. She is able to carry babies, made them stop crying and put them to sleep which my mother dun have the patience. I dun need her to cook coz my mother is the one cooking.

For working sisters, pls take the maid test instead of asking ur dh to take. So that the maid can be registered under your name. For working mothers with young children, u enjoy sone benefits to the maid levy n that can also be claimed during annual income tax assessment when u declare.

I can't remember the exact tax benefits for working mothers with young children who employ a maid.. Lost touch Leow.. Guess I will go find out the details when I intend to get one

Spiffy, no prob...still thinking abt nationality, but likely not filipinos unless strongly recommended by relatives or frens who had them before..

Y u looking for tingkat? U not getting confinement nanny

Hazel,

dunno if it's the same thing u mentioned abt maid levy. My dh is the employer and we are paying only $170 instead of the $200+ because we have a young child at home.

Soon-to-be, Filipino r better in my views. They speak more proper English n are mostly catholic.. Of course got bad pts also.. Indo maids r mainly Muslim n few speak English well n they dun take pork, can be a hassle.. Of course got gd ones ard also like my mil's maid. She is from Bali so she takes pork!

Anyway, I feel like luck plays an Impt part here in getting a gd maid, be it wat nationality...

I am down with flu, feel damn lousy n breathless coz nose is blocked!! Didn't take the precribed safe medicine from GP as it does not help in my block nose... Super sian...

Singapoh, other than the maid levy, In order to encourage working mothers to have more children, govt gives additional tax benefits to working mothers, which fathers dun enjoy..I hv lost touch in the details already. Coz I hv not touched taxation for quite a while.. When I get one then I ask my tax friends..

soon-to-be, no i'm not getting a confinement lady..either my mother cooks or i get a confinement tingkat. I'm also looking for tingkat after confinement..so that my mom can help me with the kids and wont have to spend time cooking. Dont know, just checking menus and prices at this stage.

Singapoh, after confinement, i will take care of bb myself till i go back to work.. after which i will take care at night when i come home.. but my mum has been pouring me cold water n said i wun be able to handle singly.. also if bb keeps waking up at night, how am i going to work the next day since my job is stressful n demanding?!?

she said my dh will be affected too coz he is a much lighter sleeper than me...

Spiffy, after confinement & i return back to work, we will just get dishes from "zi char" place for dinner.. my dad will go buy.. coz with a bb & 2 young kids at home, i doubt my mum can cook.. so, my dad can go to different zi char place to tabao

i will need to get a part-time maid also to clean my house...

but my mum will still hv to cook porridges for lunch n dinner for the 2 young kids - my nephew n niece..

also, actually, i plan to go east shore peditrican for the bb's injections as it is so near my place.. but my mum told me bbs born in KKH enjoy free injections at poly clinic! ask me why i so stupid, free one dun wan but wan to pay a few hundreds...

i wonder if the free injections at polyclinics is true meh...

Spiffy, after u return back to work, wld there be any other adults around other than your mum taking care of the twins?

If not, do u think she can cope? what happens both twins cry for milk? she can feed both together? what is one poo & she needs to clean up n the other twin starts to fuss n need attention also?

if it were me, i dun think i can take care of a pair of twins singly... 1 bb already makes my hand full.. actually, a comfortable ratio shld be 2 adults : 1 baby...

my mum will help me take care & my dad is retired. n 1 kid will be Pr1 and the other kid is very obedient & well behaved & goes to K2 also.. but i believe, with my bb, my parents will be very super biz.. coz they are not young anymore....

just my thoughts. hope u dun mind

Hazel,

yr mum knows u better than yourself. Keke...she must be thinking "how my big baby gonna take care of her small baby?"

Actually 1 adult to 1 baby is manageable but when u have 2 Babies at the same time, it's different story liao.

KKH babies get free jab? That's something new. My gf went polyclinic last year got to pay for her jab and extra if she wants the GP to check her baby's development.

Singapoh, ya loh, my friend's bb was delivered outside kkh told me the injections cost at kkh children department not much diff from pte, so he went pte so less queue.. that is what i thought so until my mum told me kkh will tell us to go polyclinic for free standard injections. but if u wan extra, like hep B injections, then got to pay ourselves.

but, i wonder where got so good one.. then, my SIL is a super "cat" person & she told her...but of course that was like 4-6 yrs ago...

i will confirm that with KKH after delivery.

actually, i am quite an independent person. i m not a big bb leh... just that, my threshold for pain is super low, fussy, impatience and my wound heals slower than normal people.

so, to my mum, she dun think i will be able to breastfeed at night during confinement with a wound that is causing pain.. coz i will be whinning away!! n since i am impatient & fussy, after confinement, if i were to take care myself, i will sure get agitated & u know man.. will just sit there n watch tv or read newspapers when return home.. i will sure pick up a fight with dh!

n dh is super light sleeper... so light until u cant imagine.. so when bb cries, even if he does not get up, he will not be able to sleep.. n when he does not sleep well, his temper wun be good either.. So, it will be war zone at home!

anyhow, am fortunate that i hv a good mother.. she told me if i really cant handle at night after i return back to work, she will help me to take care at night... the 2 kids at home are all taken care by her from birth.. till now, one 4 yrs old n another 6, also sleep with her & my dad every night.

Singapoh, and am atocratic. i do things my way.. even dh also bo bian me. b4 CNY, mil's maid came n did spring cleaning for me.. yes, she is good but then different pp have different ways of doing things. eg the arrangement of my things is not the same as before after she cleaned. she mopped the yard floor but not dry enough to my liking.. after she left, i called my mum & she has to come over n spent another 2 hrs to rearrange the things back to their original position n dry the yard floor for me! :p

even when hanging clothes, i hv a way how clothes shld be hanged. at times, dh will hang, but after that, i will take down n re-hang n then nag at him! even folding clothes, cannot anyhow fold. eg all t-shirts irregardless of size n length, are to be folded into 1 standard size n stack nicely.... :p

ya... so now u know how fussy i am! :p

Hazel,

I m sure u can bf at night if u want to. Just find a comfy position. Even if u dun wanna bf at nite, u will still need to get up to pump every few hours to keep yr supply up. So might as well latch directly and let the rest zzz. Dun forget yr mum is 4 yrs older now and still got to take care of 2 kids during the day.

Better tell yr dh having a baby means yr life will change especially the first few months whether he likes it or not.

Hazel,

I always think if fussy hor better do ourselves. U hv to lower yr standard when yr baby is here. If not u will feel very frustrated and can get post natal depression. Worst of all is it will affect yr milk supply.