IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Yumyum, spiffy, singapoh, r u gals getting the numbness feeling yet? I woke up this morning feeling pain on 1 arm, and those "suan suan" feeling.....i read that fr 24th wk onwards may start getting these prob

singapoh, aunty panties? HAHAHA!!! ahem..how does your husband feel about them? ooh meat pau.. yum..

soon-to-be - my legs always go numb...when i'm walking!

Singapoh, I'm bbhp...hehehe

Yap exactly. It takes time to train and monitor a maid. After deliver, I'm not sure if i stil have the energy to do that if I get the maid later. Another headache is i do not have enough space for both the confinement lady and maid, that's also the reason why I can only choose one.

Spiffy, u didn't drink enuff water?

Singapoh, no lar, I got to keep switching sleeping position coz of the aching leh.....will monitor it myself....

Ladies, I have been taking lots junk food during this CNY....and soft drinks too.....

Spiffy is same like me..cannot walk too much ever since preg. In the past, I can walk from Scotts orchard to Centrepoint. Nowadays, I walk or stand barely for 30mins already cannot tahan liao. Must find a place to sit down and continue the journey.

The best part is my work place is 10mins walk from nearest MRT station and the journey from home to work is another 40mins mrt. People also dun give up seat for me, perhaps my tummy is not that obvious yet or they pretend not to see. This means I got to stand throughout the 40mins. There are a couple of times I felt giddy and fainting in the train that I have to dash out to grab a seat to rest.

babyhopepath, aiyo, so poor thing.. i find that pregnant stomachs = instant sleep for mrt commuters. Very frustrating. Usually it's another girl who gives up the seat to me, not the able-bodied men who just stare/sleep.

singapoh, oh you're so naughty!!

soon-to-be, does water help? i do drink lots of plain water. i think it's babies sitting on my blood vessels and cutting off my circulation!

Spiffy, you are right! Those men simply ignore me, either just stare, sleep or read newspapers.

Singapoh, i must discuss with my hb when to get maid liao, before or after delivery. But he seems quite firm to get either one, confinement or maid.

Spiffy, I'm jus suspecting is urs cause by water retention? If by retention, I heard need to drink more water to relieve it leh....did the class teach on this? Perhaps u can speak to ur gynae or ask during the lesson....

I'm attending my 1st lesson this sat, but I guess I'm going to skip all part 1 lessons since i'm already at 25th wk liao

Singapoh, dr loh replied n said the medicines given by my GP safe to eat... LAst 2 emails on NT scan he ignored me..now i know why Leow

babyhopepath, you confirm your confinement lady oready?

soon-to-be,
i got numbness on the right side, shoulder. it came and went. i slept so much on left side of my face till there is dislocation feeling of the jaw. oso ok now after 3 weeks.

now fingers become very stiff at the joints. right side more serious than left. fingers become swollen and numb/stiff. if i put feet down longer than 30 mins, they get swollen for next few days unless dh help to squeeze blood back towards heart through massage.

singapoh, good and cooling idea to sleep with 1 less clothing

Yumyum,

Poor thing lei. Are u doing any exercise? How abt stretching when u get up from yr zzz?

Yeah 1 less clothing to wash too. Ha

Yumyum, wah, ur one quite bad..but all r worth it coz of 3 lovely babies...8) Try and drink more water..and like wat Singapoh suggested, try to do some exercise....

Singapoh, u slp without panties? Hmmm, I slp without my bra..heehee, but my gf is tellin me better start wearing after delivering otherwise will snag....hehehe..

Yumyum,

try squeezing stress rubber balls, not yr dh's hor. Hee

Soon to be,

that was last time la. I also go braless to zzz. Unless yr breasts are huge then need to wear when u r at home.

Sleeping definitely get more difficult now. N for me with air con still hot hot hot.
Numbness is normal according to dr since our blood circulation increase.
Hazel, 1st thing I do when reach home is take off bra.

me wearing grandma panties now ha ha.. I can't wear low waist panty, rashes very bad

Just wondering, are you still taking folic acid after you hit 2nd trimester?
I am seeing doc next wk and I am wondering if i should continue taking and what is the dosage. I was previously taking 2 per day together with dupheston.

Singapoh, u only stopped after 20 wks? Dr Loh asked me to stop at wk 13 liao leh....

Me wearing a mix of granny panties and low waist maternity panty...

soon to be,

Yes wor. I told him I have a lot of folic acid at home. He said can still take but I stopped. Then he said my dh can take. :0

I just weighed myself. Gained 5.5 kg. Don't know why stop gaining weight lei. Could be my diet now is low fat and calorie??

kekeke... ladies, i din know this is quite bad. i tot it is normal. thks for picking tt up. my only bit of exercise is walking to the toilet now. will try to include some stretching exercise.

soon-to-be, i remember you want to hire a maid. do you have any relative or friend who has trained up a maid and wanted to transfer? at least you know the character of person n also there is less language barrier.

these days economic situation not too good. some of my frens din want their 2nd maid or kids big oreadi and she dun need the maid. cast the network wider and have more choices lor. who knows right? ask no need money mah...frens or relatives might give recommendation on good agency oso.

singapoh, you are right tt training a good maid is very taxing, especially for mums-to-be. pple usually want to keep their good maids.

Yumyum, there was 1 really good one when an auntie passed away in Jan...initially the family wanted to pass her to us. But then, they liked her so much that they decided to retain her when the other son's maid work permit expires....

Then, my fren's ILs want to transfer their maid out coz of some home situation, heard from her that the maid not too bad, jus that hubby said rather to look for a new one ourselves, so the search continues lor.....

Singapoh, u wan to transfer urs to me?

eh soon to be, let me ask hubby. i think his colleague's parents maid is being let go after a few years. Filipino but very experienced and very automatic. You interested?

Spiffy, any reason y the employer is letting go of the maid?

Singapoh, u get new one and train lar...by the time u r done w it, u can set up a maid training agency liao...earn extra income leh...8P

i'll ask my hubby... but very hard to get him in the mornings becos running clinic.. let you know later okay? i just remmeber that we were told she was good and whether we wanted..

I m also still taking folic acid once a day at 13+ wk, dr loh also told me to finish it.. That is the only med I take now... Duphastan I finished last wk already...

I guess I will switch to 1 tab/day then.
I think my doc will give me some multi-vits when i see him next wk. Otherwise, I will just get some prenatals and fish oil that some of the forummers have mentioned.
Now hunting for gynae cos PC wong doesn't do delivery.

Singapoh, precisely that you r gog to hv 3, expenses will be v high, so must help u c whether can earn extra income or not mah.....furthermore, can train them to take care of babies.....and do household leh...best training grounds!

Spiffy, thanks...u sure u not taking? Anyway, will need to confirm w hubby...he doesn't seem to be v keen to take a transfer maid. But if I were to insist, I don't think he will object....8)

soon to be,

I think you really underestimate a newborn. How much work involve. Wait lah when your time comes, you tell me if you have energy for anything else. Ha ha..

Singapoh, I really dunno leh....but I'm aso looking forward *neck getting longer* to receiving my son......don't scare me for now....

Bakaholic, ya, y dun u check wif ur doc? Anyway, folic acid causes no harm, i think it's actually good for the baby anyway....

soon to be,

Not scaring you. Just telling you the truth. There are "difficult babies", hard to handle even by 2 people or more.

I hope my twins stay inside for as long as possible. Keke...

hi bakaholic,

I recommend Mary Rauff, she was the one who delivered for me. She & PC Wong works as a team, they cover each other when one goes on leave.

To those hunting for a maid, my advise is to start early. Just want to share my experience. I wanted my maid to arrive just a week before I gave birth. I chose one brand new one at the end of Oct, supposed to arrive 1st week of Dec, guess what? She ran away at the airport. Imagine how I panic! Just the week before I delivered, went back to the agency to choose another maid. This time I told them I need the maid urgently. Eventually my new maid arrived at the end of Dec, after 3 weeks of my confinement. Luckily hubby took 1 week of leave. My mother and I struggled on our own for 2 weeks. Very tiring indeed. So pls dun wait too long to get your maid.

Hi Spiffy,

I ever used Neo Garden & Select before, both ok, not too bad. Neo Garden is more generous with their serving but always got one dish of fried food. Select has more variety but serving not so generous.

spiffy i have tried mum's cooking and ban heng. U can google for their website and they come with the menu. both food i find not bad, mum's cooking is more ex. Ban heng is an old teochew restaurant

Singapoh, soon-to-be,
I am seeing prof only next wk so i am wondering what to take in the meantime. Anyway, i googled and 1x folic acid is fine for 1st trimester and has no effect after that cos the neural tube is fully formed by then.

I did consider mary rauff and prof biswas. However, i realized for gov hospital, it's hard to contact them directly if i have quiry. Have to call hospital or go A&E. And their charges are not any better than private gynaes.
So, I am in dilemma now.