IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, maybe he was rating the goodies that I'm eating leh? Heehee..but I'm really happy that he's making all these movts, coz that only tells me he's healthy and happy inside mummy's womb..8)

Happy New Year to all, glad to see you guys here.

Have been waiting for the miracle for so many years.

Hazel,

mention abt names, I m really upset. My in law gave me just 1 name for my son, just like the last time. They told me there are 5 names but when I ask to see the rest of the names, I was told no such list exist. However I can give any name to my daughter.

As the mother of my babies, I should have the right to choose their names.

Singapoh, I understand how u feel.. For some traditional families, they hv a list of names grandsons have to follow.. But u can choose ur son's English name.. Pick one u fancy.. Dun be sad

singapoh,
prob like my hb's family. there are designated names alrdy. and the names r given out only when a bb boy is on the way. cannot choose de

I am having a bad sore throat n blocked nose since yesterday pm after finishing half s bottle of fried shrimp cookies.. Very moody now... Go see GP also need to clear the medicine with dr loh first b4 can take??

Thanks ladies.. But I will only get to c him next wed.. Duno if my bbies can wait till then or not.

My concern is that if I choose class b2 or c, dr loh won't b the one delivering for n it will b a mo on duty who I dun have much confidence in it. So was thinking if can choose b1 first then if bbies need icu then downgrade them?

hi eskimobaby, are you in labour?
all the best! pray for safe and smooth delivery of your bbs!

hi babyj, i m seeing dr loh next wed noon too. i heard from the nurses that appointed drs are only for a and b1 class. for the rest, it is dr on duty. talk to bbs and keep on praying. u have your admission bag ready?

Hazel, when i was down with sore throat, cough, cold early in my pregnancy, i told the GP i was pregnant so he gave me very mild medications - mild enough for infants. Said they posed no risk to pregnant women too.

Hazel,
I went to my usual GP for my cold and cough. I requested for the senior resident doc who is more experienced. Make sure you tell them you are pregnant.
The meds will be very mild though. Have to take for a very long time before you can recover.
You can google the meds before you take just to be sure.

Spiffy,

I actually chose an English name for my elder son but my hubby didn't like it so drop the idea.

Hazel,

u can try to email Dr Loh and ask the name of med to get from GP.

Yumyum,
I wish I'm in labour hehehe. It's my usual gynae appt n baby is not showing any signs of coming out. Doc says she's too comfy inside with lots of amniotic fluid n placenta still working great. If she still dun wanna come out by 22 feb which is my edd then will induce on 24.

Lina, thanks!

hazel,
just go to ur reliable family doc n tell him u r preg. They will know wat medicine r safe for preg women. Just dun self medicate.

singapoh, oh so no christian name har? i've thought of names already but not the chinese names yet.. maybe i'll let my dad decide..

eskimo, singapoh, spiffy & bakaholic, thanks. i went to an old doc near my house. i know panadol & chlorpheniramine are safe. but the doc dun hv hte latter, he gave me buclirzine instead & told me it belongs to the same family...

i wrote to dr loh, hope he replies..

spiffy, we hv also thought of christian names also.. 1 for a girl & 1 for a boy... chinese names will ask feng shui master to give so must wait for bb to be born...

he also cut the panadol intake to 1 tablet each time only. he said i can dun take the medicine if i dun wan to. he said i just need plently of rest & water....

Hazel, if u have told the doc u r preggy, then the med that they prescribed shld be mild for u lar......

Singapoh, finally completed my online course for the maid..can go find 1 liao!!! hehehehe...

Juju/Hazel - My hubby is not the traditional sort.. anything goes! The other day he was asking if our kids must study chinese..

soon-to-be - There's an online course to sit???

Soon to be,

remember I said that the GP prescribed med that is not safe in pregnancy for me? I told him and checked if it's safe. Lucky I emailed Dr Loh first. Before that I called KKH Ask a nurse hotline. Nurse told me not to that it.

I m Not taking the medicine.. The old doc said is not necessary to take medicine If i dun wan to, since I dun hv fever... Just lots of rest n water..

He quite kapo asked me if I started exercising,.. I said I waiting for my gynae to clear me to go to the pool.. His views were dun swim though cervix is closed coz he said we nv know if the water is clean... He said walking is the best form of exercise for pregnant ladies

Girls, yesterday i took a walk after dinner to nearby shops and i literally could not continue after 10-15 mins. the strain was so bad around my lower pelvic area.. i think i'm carrying too much weight in my belly..Had to sit a while before going back. No more walks for me!

Singapoh, ya i remember urs....So far, my experiences with my GPs are okay. I have asked Dr Loh before about takin med from GP. Then I was in 18th wk? And he said something that baby already in a stable stage that those mild medication will not be harmful to him. But nevertheless, I'm still v careful with my med intakes, will double or triple confirm with the GP and aso while getting the med at the counter

Spiffy, yes, v easy quiz..U r looking for a maid too?

Spiffy, me getting backache nowadays...whichever position i sit or sleep, no position is comfy...have to keep changing position...

Spiffy, ur dh sends u to n from work everyday,

My walking a day exceeds 10mins when I go to work. Dh sends me to mrt in the am n picks me up from work if he is not working late... My place walk to mrt already need abt 8 mins...

Spiffy, if u feel the strain now, u better exercise more... Be it in watever type if exercise, coz 3rd trimseter will be worse

hi ladies, shd i start buying clothes for premies now for my bbs? my mum kept telling me no. just buy for 0-3 mths will do. i m concerned tt clothes are too big. (a kanchiong n short triplet mum2b)

Soon to be,

I also checked with the counter staff when I collected my med. He said ok. Dun think he will say unsafe since it's the doc who prescribed them.

Spiffy,

is it sharp pain at the pelvic bone? If yes, try froggy style swimming. Not sure if the gym bicycle helps to ease yr pain.

Singapoh, ya true too..the last co GP I went to, the nurses were tellin me not to take the med unless necessary..

Hazel, every weekday morning, I spent ard 15 minutes to walk to the mrt station for work. I took the bus during tri 1 coz of MS, but once it has gone away, i started walking as a form of exercise....

Yumyum... I have oredi packed my bag liao..that y now I quite headache lor.. So which class would u choose later???

soon-to-be, haven't decided yet but i dont think i can deal with being responsible for a 3rd human being right now..:)
And yes! i agree with sleeping body aches..PLUS each side i lie, the baby on that side will 'protest' it seems, and wiggle around a lot.

Hazel, how long is your journey to work? i hope you get a seat on the mrt?

yumyum, your mother's right. buy 0-3 months..they'll grow into them. you mean there are premies clothes? must be tiny!

Spiffy, dun take too long to decide hor...coz we are 3-4 mths away from receiving our little ones??? Must still go thru the procedure of selection and training your new helper if u r getting 1...

My hubby got his ex staff to shop for babies clothes in the US. Think we will get supply up to 1 year old since they r so cheap there..furthermore, there are always colleagues traveling there, so I m not worried abt clothes for my boy. Anyway, will b goin to the taka baby fair to buy the missing items....I was standing outside the fair last year, and messaging my hubby asking him when will it be our turn to visit the baby fair....8) To think I'm going to be there this year!!!!!

spiffy, i oso dun want to buy small clothes. i hope my bbs all big big. called up mothercare n only kkh branch has premies clothes.

babyj, you have the great eastern insurance for bbs? i am quite manja+clumsy whale and need hubby with me when i deliver so high possibility i pick A class. if i deliver any earlier than 32 weeks, i pick b1. do we need to decide now or upon admission? hope i am lucid enuf then to choose. otherwise, think dh do the choosing.

cannot find disposables that i can fit in. watsons and kiddy palace both too small.

anyone knows where to get XXXXL disposable panties?

Yumyum,

dun buy premies clothes first. Now that u know where to get them. Check wz the hospital whether they provide clothes for their stay. If they do then yr dh can always get them since They won't be discharging so soon.

Yumyum, NTUC also has cloth disposables but er dont know how large they go or if they have high waisted sort. How about buying real undies instead?

Nctgrace, call his office during office hrs n his assistant will pick up. Tell her the problem n she will look for him.. His no is at the KKH website under look for a doc. Key in his name...

Hi yumyum,
I posted my babies photo b4 in the Dec achive.

For those who are deciding your ward. My advise is go for the lower class first. It is easier to upgrade than downgrade. Downgrade is subjected to means testing. I was told by the nurse sometimes you wait until discharge, there is still no bed available for B class.

Fo me, I opted for B1 initially for fear that babies will be born prematurely. Since I managed to hold my pregnancy to week 38, on the day of delivery I asked to be upgraded to A class.

Nctgrace, u can try telling her tt.. The other time she asked me to copy her, so she can print the email n show dr loh as he may not be free to log on....

Cactus is right, to down grade after admission has to go through mean testing n takes time n may not qualify for downgrade also.. I already shared that in my earlier posts.. But seem tt is not convincing enough.. :p

Wow..you ladies are fast! I haven't thought of any name for my twins yet but more anxious to know the gender in my next appt with Dr. Loh.

I will engage a confinement lady after i deliver. After which, I'll be getting a maid to help my MIL look after my twins at home. As it takes time to train a maid, not sure if by the time i go back to work, she's able to handle the hsework and help my MIL with my twins. Initially I thought of getting the maid before my EDD so that when I deliver, she can also help out a bit. But hb is reluctant cos he said I already have a confinement lady so what is the maid going to do...hmm...:-/

Bakaholic,

CL only takes care of u and babies. She may cook for yr family but she will only wash yr clothes and babies'. She will do light cleaning like sweeping and mopping the floor twice a week.

It's better to hire a maid months before yr EDD. u need time to train and monitor her. If she's not up to her job, u will hv time to get a replacement. A new replacement takes about 4 to 6 weeks. Unless u want to take a transfer maid.