IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Actually twins or not both pros and cons ley. For people like us who have to work harder to conceive, having twins is of course good becos can close shop earlier and rest earlier. But singleton also good esp for firstime mom like me, easier to manage, hehehe. I scared i will 'garang gabo' if have to handle more than 1, heehee.

hey hazel, my belly is sorta smooth..belly button sticks out slightly, but not in a big way..

sunflower seed, my HCG level was very high..it was 8300+ on D22...i was overseas so only tested when i came back..

Congrats Sunflower seed,

Really happy for you !!! am glad that you proceed with the FET the other time although you said that your linning was not optimal at that time...

Take care and enjoy the journey ahead !

Hi Sunflower seed,

i think my HCG was 209 ard Day14 after ET.. yours is consider normal level already becos usually HCg is tested Day17-19 after ET. so dont worry.

my MS started at week5, and peak from week5 to week8. it ended at week 11. it was horrible for me and i was hospitalised. until now, my appetite for dinner wasnt that good, cant eat much. i am 15 weeks,but didnt put on any weight.. Everyone sees my tummy today commented that i dont look pregnant! so please dont hope for MS.. There are also alot pple without MS gave birth to healthy babies.. so dont worry k.

Thanks Spiffy for sharing
I was counting if my HCG double nicely, by my D22, i should have 3800+. Hopefully its around there.

Thanks Judebabe, ya its really divine intervention. At 1 point, i was thinking to abort cycle liao then i saw Sunfl@wer shared her experience and happen that day i also had my progynova with me when i actually planned to trash it the night before! Everything happens for a reason.

Thanks Sunfl@wer for sharing
You were God sent to me! Ok, i will take it easy. If things turned out good then good. If *touch wood* things not good, at least i have been happily pregnant for 2 weeks, heehee. Ok lah, i will have faith God is with me.

Sunflower seed, the calendar didn't work for me. I heard from other thread that it's not accurate lar....Nevertheless, have fun w it..8)

Soon-to-be, it is accurate if we conceive naturally. Also the age in the chart is our Chinese lunar age and mth of conceive is also the lunar month.....

Hazel,

its not accurate. it doesnt work for some of my frens even when they conceive naturally.

Sunflower seed,

actually i just happened to pop by the thread to take a look..then happened to see that you wana give up given the same situation as me the last time. so just share my experience lor..glad u didnt give up.

Soon-to-be, Hazel, Sunfl@wer, orh ... ok, just for fun lor, hehe, anyway, end of day, boy or gal, doesnt matter. Its still our most precious bundle of joy!

Ya, Sunfl@wer, thanks for sharing. My hb also say luckily i seen your post! Now, i can also share my experience and encourage those who are worried about lining issues.

Haha Singapoh, they want ang pows!

My ILs were saying this year is golden tiger year that happen only once in 60 years. Wow, so special hor for our babies

Singapoh, u woke up at 4am but only posted at 2pm? Wah, u lazing on bed for so long har???

Last night, hubby was feeling for bb movts and was amazed how strong the movts are now...so I told him it has been too long since he tried to feel for the movts coz bb has been coming on strong for a few weeks liao......guess he won't miss too much of our boy's initial years. Met his bosses today, and all asked me to be understanding coz his job will be v demanding for next 2 years...so i told them they must at least release him on the day I go into labor...8)

happy new year.

hi judebabe,
just read your question. Initially i was never into chinese accupuncture, thinking that we should not mix western and chinese medication. But after hearing the good response from sisters in the ivf thread and also my own past failure. I decided to give tcm a try. I continue even after bfp and till around 16 weeks. More obvious results would be for hubby (SA results shown improvement before and after tcm). And as you have mentioned that not everyone will have the same condition, tcm just does not work for some.

Very funny Soon to be,

I went back to zzz at around 6 am and woke up at 9 am. Went out for lunch and jalan jalan. TAMPINES mall was quiet. Dr Marianne and a nurse told me must monitor baby movement. If quiet for too long, I must go start counting. At least 10 movements in 12 hours. If not must go to KKH to check. Sometimes they kick, I feel like peeing.

Thanks Lina for the response....

Guess i will still continue with Dr Zou for sometime..I like her actually... i was quite touch when she call me and ask me abt the result...not many doc would do that...

What i dun like is the travelling distance and the cost..per medication and accup will be easily $60..

Does anybody know whether i can put on hold her chinese medicine and eats it only about 1 mth prior to doing ivf?

Aiyah...the road ahead is not going to be easy... I used up all my embryo at KK alreadi..now moving to NUH..hopefully, i will be the lucky one just like all of you here...

Can I ask who are the ladies who succeed with Prof Wong ?

Yes soon to be,

Dr Marianne was helping him that day. She asked if I could feel movement already. So must start monitoring now.

When I attended the 1 day course for gestational diabetes, the nurse told me the same thing.

Hi Judebabe

Sad.. I also BFN for my FET. Same as you, I did not take cold drinks during my 2ww and now I drank almost all favors. FYI, I already used up my 2nd chance. It will be my 3rd chance to use CPF. Sigh!

Seed,
Congrats. Your lining was 6.5 and when FET it was 8mm. You were very worried during that time.Very happy for you that you make it. I did not make it this time round
. Guess I was not with Dr Zou during my 1st fresh cycle and that is why my embryos is not good enough to stick to my lining. May I know are you with Dr Zou during your ER? I was thinking whether to go Fresh.

Singapoh, btw why u need to test for glucose tolerance n I don't need yet since we should be in the same week?

Hi Judebabe, i also didnt take Dr Zou's TCM though i felt i should. But i followed thru acupuncture with her religiously. By now, i can safely say acupuncture does help. It has helped me in all of my previous ETs, everytime promoting my lining to above 8mm by ET day. I also like her. I have been her patient since 2007 and all these while whether i succeed in my cycles or not, she never failed to show her concern and never gave up on me when actually she should give up since all my failed attempts would only have given her bad publicity. I always feel apologetic towards her that despite all that she has tried to help me, my stubborn body just would not cooperate.

Hi TangTang, you were in my thoughts all these while. Sorry to hear your result but hey, dont give up ok? Your BFP is coming soon and waiting for you! Ya i started off really bad, lining so thin. Luckily can squeeze in acupuncture with Dr Zou, by FET day was already 9mm. Yup, i have been with Dr Zou for my previous fresh cycles, the first fresh cycle i didnt know about her yet so i didnt go. That very cycle, i had quite poor response and poor embryos (only 2 cells on day 2 when minimum would have been 4 cells). But next cycle, i was more well prepared after seeing Dr Zou and indeed, response and quality all improved.

Judebabe, TangTang, jia you! You gals can make it de! And it will be soon! I am wishing and rooting for you!

As for me, though BFP is happy becos its a milestone crossed but i am not exactly relaxed or proud about it yet also. I still have to wait for my 6th week scan to know if everything is alright. So actually i am still in 2ww, this 2ww is even more nerve-wrecking than normal 2ww lor.

Hi Seed,

You mean before ER, you were with Dr Zou. Did you take her Med huh. Telling you I was not sad anymore is not from my heart. My hubby is not supportive if I go for fresh. May I ask before you go for FET. You have your acupuncture for how long. Sorry I ask so many questions. I left with only 4 embryos

Vi4n,

I guess it's because glucose was detected in my urine during the routine check.

I didn't do the test for my previous pregnancy.

Vi4n, if u hv a family history of diabetics, or high levels of sugar is detected in the urine dip test during your visit or the baby is exceptional big, u will be asked to take glucose tolerance test...

Yup TangTang, i took her med but i wasnt consistent, some days can forget one, hehe. As for acupuncture, i have been going to her since end 2007. But there are also months in between where i rested with no ACU. But each time before ER or ET i will surely ACU twice a week at least 1 month before ER then ACU everyday 1 week before ET.

If my current cycle is a BFN, i would have gone for another fresh cycle even though like you, i still have embryos at KK. My rationale is embryos' age can freeze but ovaries' age cannot. But then again, FET now means no need wait further also good, can see success earlier. Can slowly think which suits you better.

Tangtang,
Sorry abt your BFN… Let’s jia you together…

Why is your husband against you doing fresh leh ? is it try not to use your third grant isit ….. if you have embryo..then should go for FET…

But what seed said also make sense….ovaries age cannot wait…
The chance for fresh is 40% and frozen is 20%..

Ladies, sorry for taking up the space here…..
Tangtang, let’s go back to the previous thread…

Seed, drop by when free : )

Singapoh, so it's 10 movts in 12 hrs izzit? Ok, will start monitoring for mine then...well, my boy has been v active these few days.....

By the way, the MOM's online course can be taken at own pace one hor? For instance, today, go thru the lesson for half an hour, tomorrow continue the rest then next day take exam?

Soon to be,

yes at least 10 movements in 12 hours. Mine move throughout the day, not so much at night. They rest quite late and wake up very early :p

Not sure about the test coz my dh did everything at 1 go.

hi judebabe,
yes, Dr Zou is one of the good doctors around, show concern and care for patients. Her charges are high if taking both accupuncture and herbs. For hb and myself, the amount is double. Since my hb does not like to take her herbs so he only had accu and that helps to cut down some cost. I also had problem with distance as i work in west, rush all the way to amk after work, then back to east where i stay. Do continue with Dr Zou, don't give up. Hope you will make it soon, jia you!

Hi to all mummies to b here... Can some1 help me on whether we can downgrade the bb after delivery by dr loh if bb need to stay icu or special care??

I now 32wks wif twins but got preterm labour now have to bedrest but I think will deliver soon so worried abt the bill if my bbies need icu or special care. Dun wish to b deliver by mo on duty if choose class c as no faith in them. TIA

Singapoh, same here...realise that he has been waking up early and resting v late recently, maybe coz he knows it's CNY now lar, so wan to celebrate w us..

Wei, how u monitor the movts for ur twins? How do you know e movts are fr both babies? Interesting hor...

BabyJ,

if yr babies really need to be in ICU, u can downgrade then. U can check with Dr Loh. He is familiar with the procedure. KKH is pretty flexible.

Soon to be,

maybe playing fire crackers inside bah. Hee

Movements can be felt on the left and right, sometimes top and bottom
Not to forget the middle too

BabyJ,
before u are admitted let the nurses know u wanna downgrade or let dr loh know at ur next appt... if u've done ur pre-admission, u will go to the ward u've chosen and they will not ask u again...

BabyJ, bb will follow the class ward of mother. U wan to downgrade u hv to do so b4 when u do admission procedures. If not, if u subsequently want to downgrade u will hv to go for mean testing to see if u qualify for the downgrade. I was told be the ivf counsellor b4 I started the ivf procedures. She also told mr usually dr loh will visit his patients in class b2 n above... But not C class, pls confirm this with him.. I was also told by the counsellor tt high risk pregnancy are handled by a team if high risk senior docs at KKH even in C class ward. U can confirm that with dr Loh also...

I understand B1 ward is 20% govt subsidy n B2 is like 40%

1 day in ICU is abt 1k a day at A class ward Per baby without subsidy. If each bb is 2kg n above, dun hv to stay in ICU usually, special care will do n that is a few hundreds per bb a day, please confirm all these with dr loh...

Not meant to scare u, my colleague's twins were born at 28 wks n both bbs stayed in ICU n each did a hernia op, the bill came up to be 6 digits at A class ward.. She had to go for mean testing n she managed to hv the bill cut to 60k plus. It was paid off by partly by insurance we bought n the remaining was wiped out by both parents' medisave accounts..

hi soon to be, i ask doc loh and he tell me no need to monitor yet too. singapoh, dr marianne said must monitor since which week?

Yumyum,

I was 20 weeks when I saw her. I was puzzle and ask if it's necessary to monitor so early. She said yes. A nurse said the same thing.

hi Judebabe
I also succeeded on my 1st try with Prof PC Wong and have given birth to twins last Dec.

Have not log in for a long time. My babies are really keeping me busy throughout the day. Happy New Year and may all of you give birth to healthy tiger babies.

Juju, diff doc hv diff ways of doing things. Dr loh is more senior. dr Mariann told a sister who is pregnant at early wks to return for check on 8 wks. But usu dr loh dun wait so long at early stage...

BabyJ, forgot to mention, my colleague is also under dr loh

My last visit this pregnant lady also saw dr marriane, but then after tt she asked to see dr loh again... I knew coz dr loh's nurse told me while I was waiting for him to attend to me...

Hazel,

Dr Loh came over to Dr Mariane's room after he's done with the other patient in his room. Dr Marianne was the one who put the 2 embies for me

Singapoh, u r lucky he came over. He did not for the pregnant lady I saw the other visit n the sister who was scheduled whose appointment is 8 wks later