IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

I got chix pox from my MIL when I met her at the airport briefly. She wasn't feeling well while holidaying in Hong Kong. I immediately took the chix pox jab but it was too late. I got it 1 week after I met her.

I dunno if it's due to the jab, my chix pox wasn't full bloom.

Soon-to-be, I called him n email him. Within 15mins he responded. Think he got worried also when he saw subject matter as 'chicken pox'

I just got a call from KKH. Not so good news. My glucose level is a bit high. I am going back there for a whole day programme. Teaching me how to control my diet, lifestyle.

If my level doesn't improve by diet, I will have to take insulin jab.

My mum is a diabetic. Sigh...

Realized if urgent wan quick response just call his office. His secretary Ee Lyn will follow up quickly with him.. Also send email same time n cc Ee Lyn. Good service

Singapoh, diabetics run in the family.... My dh is also... Ur boy tt time u okay? My sil pregnant at 28 already diabetic...

Singapoh, I'm surprised coz I tot u are v careful with ur diet?

My cousin-in-law feast on pastries a few days before she went on her gynae check-up during her pregnancy. The gynae said baby too big and made her go thru the test..likewise lor, she failed the test and had to do the 1 day programme.

Singapoh, yes. A few yrs ago. Her first child she was mild diabetic at 26. 2nd child at 28 she needed to attend the program she mentioned. But she watched her diet n no need insulin jabs.

Soon to be,

I asked if it's because I hv been taking soft drinks. Was told that normal people can take soft drinks and still ok. Most probably it's my family history.

So no more soft drinks, cakes or chox for me

Singapoh, yes. U dun hv to worry abt that. Most cases they will go away after delivery. But u must continue to exercise n take care of ur diet after delivery. If pregnant diabetic it means the mother's system can't take extra load. So it means at older age later in life they will most likely be diabetic. Exercise n gd diet can delay the onset.

My gf also diabetic at pregnancy coz of genes. N this n that cannot eat n got servings to adhere to. Dr will tell u. She is okay after delivery also.

So, u will be fine

Soon-to-be, pls cut down. 1 can of coke has lots of sugar in it. Check out the website. My fruit drink I also dilute with water then drink though I dun hv family history

Thanks Spiffy, soon-to-be and despondent.

Yes, i'm back to work.

I called KKH and they can't provide me an estimate cost. Thanks Hazel for sharing, can confirm that scan is incl in consultation? Cos, the nurse told me not included.

What is the average waiting time for Dr SF Loh? Other than seeing Dr after office hours and weekend, what other difference are there? What about cost wise?

If i understand correctly standard is at Clinic D and scan done in his consultation room? If TPS, it is at the TPS and scan done there as well?

Really confused with the pricing now.
I hope if I select Dr SF Loh it will save some $$$ compared to Pte Dr. Not expecting alot but at least $300 will be great

hazel, i too add 1/3 glass water to my fruit juice before i drink..and buy only the 'no sugar added' type. But some days an ice cold 100+ or coke is shiok too.

Spiffy, me too on fruit juices ESP I drink everyday now coz of constipation. Even grapes n bananas hv high sugar content. I dun take coke. 100plus or h20 r okay. I dun take often also. At most I eat dessert once a while....

the other day i ate dessert at swensens..then i felt so guilty, i couldn't finish.. it was SOOO Soooooo sweet, ice-cream already so sweet, plus sweet fudge, plus sweet malt balls. All too much. i promised myself i wont do this again.

Soontobe,
now may be ok but doesn't mean throughout pregnancy will be alrite. Not trying to scare u but our body system is concentrating on developing the baby now so digestive n other functions may not work so well now so better to eat more sensibly. Like for me I was indulging in ice cream before my 36 wks appt ended up go for routine test n also found sugar in urine again n baby gaining weight too fast so have to stop taking sweet stuff so that baby won't gain wt too fast. Once a while is ok but not too frequently.

Singapoh,
usually it's during pregnancy. Have a colleague who had to take insulin jabs due to GD also after give birth was fine.

Soontobe,
coke has caffeine so does most fizzy drinks like 7up or sprite n their caffeine level quite high also so dun drink too much.

Spiffy, I dun take that kind of dessert. I take dessert like mango pomelo, that kind. If the serving is big, will share with another person. I usually dun take soft drinks also. I drink warm water if at restaurant or not mineral water. Ice cream I take mini corneto and just once or twice a wk at most

I dun take white bread which is high in sugar also. On wkdays, My breakfast is usually multigrain bread with butter only n a cup of low fat milk And / or unsweetened soya milk. Maybe once a wk I will eat noodles on way to work. Wkends I eat breakfast outside though.. But nothing heavy or sweet

Singapoh, surf the website for a list of low GI food that prevents sugar surge n keep ur sugar under more control. Eg, potatoes r a no no but sweet potatoes r fine. Wheat pasta is better than white rice. Grapes, Banana, mangoes, replace with apples, strayberries. Every meal, a round plate is to divide into 4 quarters. Carbo is only 1 quarter, followed by 1 quarter of veg, 1 quarter if meat n the last quarter is a small apples. No more than 2 servings of fruits a day also. When u go for the healthy eating program the nutritionst will share more.

Hm... Someone gave up his seat for me in mrt.....

i think everyone's thinking of durians...

Just came back from my mid-pregnancy detailed scan. Confirmed 2 boys! Sizes are good, both above average.

Spiffy,

good to hear that. Wah 2 boys.. Will be very merry everyday. Hee...

I was told not to drink fruit juice since I hv gestational diabetes but whole fruit is ok. Hv to avoid oily food too.

singapoh i guess cos most brands add sugar to their fruit juice.

I find most of the fresh juices you buy from the supermarket add sugar to their products. But many of the the non-refrigerated UHT packet types which are made from concentrate have no added sugar.

yummy... lucky i had pepper lunch express earlier, else i will be drooling now...

eskimobaby,
try to rest reclined? tuck pillows/cushions at ur lower back

juju,
i try to do that when i'm watching tv...

singapoh,
once a while can still eat something u wan...

this morning at abt 6am, i was sleeping halfway and suddenly the stomach acid came up to my throat, was shocked and woke up.... first time this happens... wonder why...

eskimobaby, i know..! heh heh.
today was funny, one baby decided to change positions while being scanned so he was moving all around while the sonographer was 'chasing' after him. i wonder if he was trying to avoid the scanner.

spiffy,
at least manage to scan everything... the other time during my detailed scan... baby position can't scan the heart... so ended up spent the whole afternoon there... and i can't leave cos if i go back another day then have to re-do the whole scan

Eskimobaby,

During my detailed scan, my twin boy's head was blocked by my twin girl when the sonographer wanted to scan his brain. I had to return the next working day just to scan his brain.