IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Jus seen the co doc coz of pain...the nurses at the clinic were surprised that my stomach is quite big at 20 weeks.......8P

Well, I shld be glad that my son is growing well...

soon-to-be, that's very good to hear really. i get that all the time..but i take it as a good thing. as long as it's not the rest of you putting on the weight! ;-)

Spiffy, I have been having this pain on the right side of my body, very unbearable when I sleep on that side. But no choice coz I have been having blocked nose and have to keep changing side to sleep for the past 3 nights....the doc said it's jus muscular pain and likely to be caused by the growth of the baby...

I jus took a painkiller and the pain has gone away. Just find it *sigh*...how to describe leh? I also got some painkiller from KKH. Whenever the pain comes, I must take the painkiller, otherwise, it will not go away....and I'm trying v hard not to take the painkiller coz of the baby, but if don't take, the pain will persist and worsen......I hope my baby is okay with mummy taking all these painkillers to relieve her pain......

Oh Spiffy, a granny patient was able to guess correctly that I'm having a boy coz she said that my face and limbs are still slim....only stomach big...she said if baby girl, usually the mummy will grow bigger almost everywhere...

Ha ha, Hazel, coz me not so advanced to have used other phone to surf... :p

dun really like to use laptop in bed. Some how finds it uncomfortable maybe coz I can't find a good position. Juz like I can't find a good sleeping position! Sigh...

Soon to be, dun scare me leh. If carrying gal, means I'll look plump arh? Alamak, colls alrdy can tell I put on weight, think regardless of gender, I may be a plump mummy...

I heard of pointed and rounded tummy version to tell gender. Spiffy, yours also boy? If can tell u r preggie from your back, means boy otherwise gal. Not sure if this theory true yet.

Soon to be,

are u ok? Panadol is safe in pregnancy. Dun worry ab it. I took quite a bit during confinement.

I was having a nervous breakdown this morning. My son keeps rubbing his mouth non stop especially during meals. He cries when I told him not to. I whacked him and was really scared that I would go out of control. His stool has been soft for 3rd week now. Brought him to the doc earlier.

Don't scare me lei. I still look slim at 18 weeks, only belly is getting bigger. :p

Dear Mommies, sorry to interupt. I have 9 packets (blue packaging) of the confinement herbal bath for sale.
If you are interested, please pm me.

soon-to-be, very sorry to hear about your pain! where exactly is this pain? it shouldn't be a prob taking the painkillers if they were prescribed knowing you're pregnant.

oh good, the rest of my limbs/face is still the same size so good chance they're boys! ;-)
Despondent - my gynae thinks i'm carrying 2 boys. not 100% tho.

singapoh, how old is your boy now?

Wow... Spiffy, alot of cheer at home w 2 boys.

Singapoh, u worried that the twins are boys again?!!??! What happen to ur son? Mouth dirty is it? Take ur time to teach him, see whether your maid can be roped in to help for the meantime or not...

Despondent, there are a lot of theories lar, so dun worry. I heard people said stomach will be pointed if carrying boy, can see that mine is pointed. But then some said if carry boy, mummy will look ugly, and if gal, mummy will look pretty pretty. But then my skin good leh, even my beautican said so, so then I tot I was carrying a gal...

Spiffy, according to the doc, 1 of my lower ribs is in pain. I have been taking a quite a lot of painkiller due to the pain that I have been getting since tri 1...you shld be able to confirm the gender soon right?

Oh dear, soon to be, u have been suffering from the pain for so long.
read it was due to e expanding uterus pushing agt ur rib. Oh dear, hope the painkillers help u lots.... I'm at a loss for words, juz hope u r feeling better.

Soon to be,

his mouth is not dirty, I think itchy. Also rubbing his eyes. I just hope this is not a habit. Sigh..

Aiya boy or girl also like that lor. Just hope they are both healthy babies

Despondent, thanks for ur concern...i'm fine jus have to bear with the pain lor...ya, the GP cited the same reason too. 4 mths plus only, after tt, I'll be able to carry my dear son in my arms..will prob smack his buttocks for making mummy to go thru these to have him...heeheee...

Singapoh, oh, itchy? Sensitive? Didn't wash properly or jus a bad habit? My sis always said that my nephew n I have the same bad habit of blinking our eyes when talking....if bad habit, got to quickly change now....yeah yeah, as long as babies are healthy...the GP v funny, kept asking me baby healthy when doing the checkup for me, and I hv to keep assuring him that baby has been kicking......

Soon to be,

sure u will smack his backside bor? Sure heartpain. Try swimming la.

After bathe so clean but still rubbing his mouth lei. I suspect he was stung by something. That's why itchy.

soon-to-be, does it hurt if you dont sleep on that side? the left side is supposed to be the most ideal position to lie on, though how anyone can sleep on one side the whole night is beyond me!

yes, my 20 week scan is coming up soon. when is your detailed scan?

Singapoh, I will smack light light lar.....I yet to get clearance from Dr Loh to swim yet leh...then every day when i reach home, first thing is to bring my dog out for her daily walk....

You better check carefully. If really stung by something, better apply some cream for him quick.

Spiffy, I usually sleep on the left hand side. but coz I am having blocked nose which I got to keep changing side to clr the blockage, so no choice till it goes away. And I'm already taking the flu medicine that Dr Loh gave me...doesn't seem to help but no choice....

I'm doing my detailed scan at camden on 1 Feb...can't wait to see baby again...then that sat, going to bring the report to see Dr Loh, so will see my son again....yippeeee.....twice in 1 wk.

Soon to be,

can try stationary bicycle. It's the same as swimming, to make yr thighs more flexible. Important in natural birth so that won't get cramped halfway.

I already told the GP just now. She said it's ok to use my aloe Vera gel.

Are u sure it is ok to use ultrasound scan so often? How's his movement? Getting stronger?

My detailed scan is on Jan 30th.

Spiffy, when is yrs?

oh gosh, all around the same time hah. Mine is a couple of days after soon-to-be's. How exciting!

someone is tickling my tummy...from the inside!

Singapoh, thanks..will go use the gym whenever not too tired. Currently, my only form of exercise is walking, I will walk to the mrt station every mon-fri which takes 10-15 mins, then evening walk with my dog....

Hmm...I don't know leh, cannot ultrasound so often meh? I think Dr Loh will know hor....baby is getting more and more active...moves a lot....8)

So, you shld know the gender of ur twins on 30th? Wah, isn't that exciting?

Spiffy, ha.....going to confirm 2 boys har? So ur MIL happy or not?

Soon to be,

it seems like I can walk longer without getting tired or nauseous.

I think my friends are more excited to find out the gender of my twins more than me. Ha ha

I just saw dr loh just now n saw bb. Dr said bb doing well. He asked me dun worry abt oscars result. How not to right? He was so funny, said at most go visit prof at camden.

He also asked me to participate in a research funded by govt. So, I wld hv to do additional tests paid for by the research. He told me so far he had gotten 30 patients to sign up n prof wong at Nuh only has 2.....

hi hazel, dr loh also talked to us about the 25mil research projects. he was very funny when describing the trend of clinical trials in singapore.

wifey has not committed to the project as we both felt that the brief was rather cursory. will see the fine prints first prior to deciding to sign up.

just a question on the Prof in Camden, what does he do? just a walk-in appointment? he is there for a second opinion right?

hope that everyone has a great day ahead!

despondent, i meant she doesn't know it could be 2 boys yet.. i'm waiting till the next scan to confirm, then will tell her.

Despondent, I saw dr loh on wk 7 n yesterday wk 9. He scheduled the visit one. Think he wants to make sure bb is growing well. Yesterday, he said will see me in 5 wks time, on 24th feb.

I did the oscars blood test yesterday. Ultrasound will be on 8th. U doing? I was concerned coz for the blood test I feel tt is too early. Bb is 2 cm n 8 wks 5 days yesterday. Dr loh said what to do, tt department WANs to test so early one wat. He told me is just a no n not accurate as there is already a set reading base on mummy's age. So if mummy is older, the reading is already no good. N if BT results no good this reading will be adjusted to even worse. That's why he joked tt. Can go see prof at camden for 2nd opinion as he determined the risk based on full ultra sound.

He shared tt he has a patient who is 42 yrs old n carrying twins n the oscars result was 5/12 chance of getting DS children. But she did not do Aminocentries n the twins were born normal. So he kept telling me these r just numbers.

HOW, the research thing I hv yet to see any form. Was told the person in charge will call me... See howfrom there.

Dr loh gave me 2 days mc yesterday. He is so funny said if I want 3 wks instead!

Sent dh to the airport early am, now I m free for 3 days! Haha

Hazel, I think Dr Loh hearing too many cases on people going to camden. Oxidised and I went to him mah...hehehehe....i think someone else skipped the oscar test at KKH and went straight to camden for the detailed scan instead...

Spiffy, are the twins ur MIL's first grandkids? If yes, I think they usually more kan cheong har? Probably jus pretend pretend to say nevermind as long as babies are healthy. My hubby said my MIL only pretended to say wan granddaughter so not to put too much pressure on us (esp me) since we took the big step to do IVF liao.....

Singapoh, that's usually the case with frens lar. For us, we are probably more concerned about the growth and whether healthy or not. Ya, now I aso can walk long distance (i.e. shopping) as long as my son doesn't wake up and start moving around...

Spiffy, coz I told him I keep having bad headaches n giddy spells. He said is normal coz pregnant ladies hv much more blood in the brains than norms.

When he said give me more mc to rest, I said I need to work leh, no cover for me.. Then he said I work my entire life, now sld take a break since am pregnant... He even said "u sure u only want 2 days mc?"

Soon-to-be, he said good to go see prof, give him some biz! Btw, he sAid prof dun believe in ivf....

Hazel, take care and rest well. It's normal and should go away in some time in tri 2. Mine and the vomitting went away together sometimes in wk 15-16.

Hazel,

I think it's a common practise for Dr Loh to see us in 2 weeks after the first visit. I saw him at 6 weeks, 8 weeks, 11 + weeks (I think coz he detected a 3rd sac) then next one is 20 weeks.

Soon to be,

my friends were never that kancheong about the gender of my 1st baby. Because this time it's twins so they are very excited
Most of them told me that their dreams to have twins

My twins move only when I am resting. My gf's baby kick her really hard when her stomach is empty!

Actually my vomitting stopped when I past my 12 weeks then I vomitted a few more time when I was having a cold. Now no more liao. I hv few gfs who vomit all the way till delivery.

Haha.. My MIL also said the same thing to me when I was preggy the first time. Girl or boy never mind but deep down she prefers boys.

Now she tells me that she would nag at me for a grandson if my 1st born was a girl. Ha!

Singapoh, spiffy, suppose to do some work at home... But I hv been lying in bed since I got back from airport playing games on iPhone...

I know KKH gynaes style is no need go visit so often if everything is fine n on track... Dr loh told me to email him if I h any queries on oscars results later...

Singapoh, wah, ur gf's baby really likes to eat har? hehehehe.....I have not monitored any trend for my son yet...but somehow, he became active at night again....actually deep down, I have hoped for twins too. but now am v glad to only have 1 healthy one.

Spiffy, best 1 boy 1 girl then can close shop, and then still can shut ur MIL and those aunties' mouths....

Hazel, my schedule is aso abt the same as Singapoh. But I did the 18th week one coz I was supposed to do amnio.....I will be seeing Dr Loh on wk 23 again on the camden detailed scan report.