IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

despondent, do u know why some bb can read by 2 yrs old but some still cannot? or some bb/toddlers love books but some dun? is not one bb is smarter than the other.. is all attributed to his exposure

eg in order for bb to read by 2 yrs old, the parent need to read FLASH card (big picture with one word) to the baby since a few mths old. flash card methoid has been proven & there is a write-up for this also. if u buy from the author in USA directly, the flash cards cost 4 digits.. coz they need to be of a certain size & the words of certain fonts.

just read & keep flashing the cards to the baby every day. it does not matter the baby understands or not. also, read bed time stories to the bb, etc... bb's learning capabilities are the faster when they are young. of course, is a challenge to working parents but, when there is a will there's a way

i hv some friends who are SAHM for kid 1 but kid 2 they return to work force... they can tell me, kid 1 is faster than kid 2 in terms of reading, talking, etc.. why? coz they can send time talking, reading to the first child since they are not working...

it really makes a difference.

if not some working mothers wun make such a big sacrifice by quitting their jobs to be SAHM..

the first few years of development for bb are very important. the brain develops very fast & once the foundation is there, they can cope better in school next time

ha, I haven't really started tai jiao except talkin to my son daily. hubby n I agree not to be so kan cheong n relax a bit. baby education will start after he's borned. don't wan to stress baby so early...

Hazel,

I guess 1st pregnancy is like that lor. Everything also start early.

My son too learned from my womb. Been talking and singing to him since I felt his movement at 16 weeks. Sing ABC and nursery rhymes plus classical music.

After he's born, still continue then started showing colour (black, white, red) flash cards since he's 2 months old to stimulate his brain. That's the only colour he can see at his age. Later flash cards of pictures and alphabets.

He can say out all the alphabets in capital letters and 1 to 10 by the age of 18 months.

Actually 2nd child and onwards will learn faster coz they have a sibling at home. Talk and walk faster too.

My son loves books since young. He wants me to read to him the same book again and again. Ha ha.. Now he attacks my magazines. New mag becomes kiam chai in no time.

I also rotate his toys and books so that he won't get bored and I don't have to keep buying new toys.

KKH don't encourage using any alcohol to clean stitches, just water everytime u pee to prevent the stinging feeling. I took 2 weeks to be totally pain free.

My gf, a mother of 4 took 4 to 5 days to recover. She had all natural delivery. Only 1st one with epidural , the rest without coz she suffered from backache for 1 year after 1st delivery.

Singapoh, that's why some working mothers quit their jobs after the child comes along.. Can spend more time teaching n stimulating his brains in the early development stage.

Working mum comes home every night not much energy leow... Kekeke

Singapoh, I hv crooked spin, lower part slightly curved to the shape of a 'C'. This condition is called scollis or something. it was detected since i was 12 yrs old... that time I needed to go outram child clinic at least once a year for review to ensure it does not worsen in the growing up years. If worsen may need to wear braces. But it did not happen.

When am un final trimester, I will ask dr loh Wat's wld be the effects of Epidual on my spiNe...

Wah, Hazel n Singapoh, both of u wake up really early this morning...

Singapoh, ur son learn fast har? So, u doing those to ur twins too...the only time when my son gets to listen to classical music is when we are sitting in his dad's car. I think my hubby is the one getting tai jiao coz he will be listening in to FM92.4 when he's driving everyday, he said too lazy to switch channel though he's the only one in the car...hehehe

Surprisingly, my son reacted pretty strongly to a certain portion of the buddhist prayer at the wake last night...going to tell my mum and test out with my mum's prayer's player later....

If there's an older sibling, the rest will learn from him/ her. Like when u send them to school, the child will learn faster. Talk non stop like radio. My son starts speaking later coz always at home facing a boring old lady, me.

Now 2nd pregnancy, become lazy liao :p

Singapoh, got other form of effective pain relief?.

Soon-to-be, yes. Bbs development is the faster in the initial years. so we must tap on tt.. If not, once over too late already

ya, i think really depend on individual skin. my mum and sis dun hv stretch marks... my tummy was so huge tt all my colleagues thought i was carrying twins :p i used clarins tonic oil at last trimester (day and night) and after delivery (somethime too lazy and miss a few days). i started using other stretchmark cream (dunno how to spell, El something, green tube) at week 12. For Palmers, get the lotion one, mine was cream thus very oily

singapoh, bliss
oic, so menses will report anytime while BF. anyway, both of us are too tired to try at this moment... all our energy have been devoted onto bb

Evelyn, are u experiencing pain at the stitches? my gynae instructed the nurse to let me to sit on pan filled with warm salt water for 15mins, twice a day. i also had used antiseptic to clean it everytime after pee with sterilised cotton ball. after discharge, i continued for another 2-3 weeks (lazy to continue further). u can buy the antiseptic from pharmacy (white bottle). in addition, i took pain killer for the first two weeks. Most of my friends stop after one week, i took longer becos of other pain

Alamak, I m super poor w songs & singing. So think even if I become a SAHM, bb won't benefit. At most, buy children music cd. Think I m a lousy mum. Ha ha. My hubby said however, he can try read news to bb... Ha ha ha. Then bb can b knowledgeable! Ha ha.

Hazel, yes, i definitely understand the importance of the initial years. I had 2 nephews too. So, when the elder was born 8-9 years ago, I took a lot of interest to read up on child devt....

For our own baby, hubby and i agreed that we wldn't wan to stress him and wan him to enjoy his childhood as much as he can before the stress from school kicks in...and that kind of stress will last for many years...and then work stress...endless...

Bee,

actually was quite happy without AF for 7 months after delivery.

Singapoh,
ya lor, better to have AF as late as possible after delivery. Already so tired from the recovery after delivery and bfg, then still must tahan the menstrual cramps and 1st few super heavy menses after delivery. I envy those bfg mothers who have their menses many months after delivery.

Despondent, ya, u can jus talk to bb, they love to hear our voices. when bb is abt 2 months if u maintain eye contact while talking (u can say aything under the sun, it doesn hv to make too much sense :D), bb will look at u and respond usually with a smile

twinstar
only half yr no pay leave, the rest are covered by annual leave and ML.. i started ML one b4 EDD, no choice, got to clear 08 leave by end of 09... i in public sector, so boss sure approve no pay leave. but boss jus asked me if i could consider coming back in May and Jun to help out as there is some manpower problem. (one gg ML and the one replacing me jus applied 1yr no pay leave due to bad health)... i probably wont la as i believe no one is indispensible, they can always ask another person to cover, its harder with no background but if they are willing to put in effort, nothing is impossible rite

ya lor no one is indispensible in any co one, but in pte sector u leave ur post too long, ur job will be gone too. so I dun play play, my big boss said I can take 8 weeks ML one shot, but I m taking 5 weeks nia, cos I wanna have 3 or 4 days working week, not that tiring.

Finally have chance to check the thread while my mum is attending to the bb!

I've delivered my princess on 11/1/10 @ ard 7pm. Natural with epi. BB's wt @3.18kg , 49cm. She is a 37 weeker and i'm so proud of her that she managed to pile on a fair bit of weight the last few weeks.

BB Keslyn was just discharged ytd. Due to her jaundice, she got to stay for one mor night in the hosp. Glad that she is finally home with me.

Here's my birth story:

11/1/10
8.30am: Admitted to Mt E labour Ward to cut the stitch that has been keeping my cervix closed for the last 14 weeks. Thanks to that stitch that i can hold the bb till now.

9.00am: Dr came to cut the stitch. I was told in his clinic that the cutting of the stitch is not painful at all. At most just some tugging and pulling pain.

9.05am: The stitch still not cut cos i was in great pain as the stitch was too high up and dr had difficulty reaching it! Ouch!!

9.10am: Was given the 'laughing gas' to relieve the pain as i was too tense and there's no way the dr could reach he stitches.

9.30am: Was high on the gas but still PAINFUL!! And the stitch not out yet!! OMG!

9.45am: Dr asked if i want epidural now. I said YES!!!

10am: Administered epi.

10.20am: Stitch was finally cut!! Wat a relieve... as if the bb is out already! haha!

10.30am: Dr break water bag as cervix already opened up once the stitch is cut. Dr estimate labour should be quite fast...ard 2-3pm bb should b out. Was v happy to hear that.

10.45am: Started the drip to hasten the contractions

2pm: Waiting and waiting and didnt feel a lot of contractions. Increased the dosage of the drip.

3pm: still waiting..... was wondering how come so long since dr said will b quite fast. Dr came to check on cervix. Only abt 4cm dilated. Dosage of drip was increased again

4pm: Midwife came in and said BB's CTG showing she is progressing downward already... 5cm dilated. Should b quite fast from now... getting excited...

5pm: Midwife came to check again still 5-6cm dilated only and contractions have started to slow down

5.30pm: Informed Dr and Dr came and did a check on the cervix again... Getting worried as the BB's CTG wasnt very good...

6pm: Dr asked me to try to push to see if BB can be pushed down further or not so that he can pull the BB out using forcep.

6.10pm: Got into pushing position...

6.15pm: waiting for the contraction to come before i can push

6.20pm: Contraction came and I start my 1st push. BB managed to come down a little bit so dr said he will get change and we'll start the whole pushing game *was trying very hard to push cos didnt want the dr to use forcep on the bb*

6.25 - 6.35pm: Did a few pushes with midwife's help while Dr is getting ready

6.35 - 7.05pm: Had about 5-6sets of pushes (Each contraction 3 pushes) and BB finally was out on 7.05pm without the need of forceps!!! Dr commented that BB's position was not ideal as she is facing upwards - my tummy as she came out (ideal position bb should b facing mummy's back)

Was so glad that I managed to get her out without using forceps!

This IVF journey was not an easy one. Constant worry, bed rest, cerclage till the removal of stitches and delivery of my precious princess... I'm glad i've come to the end of this journey and starting the next leg now...

Okie... got to start my moo moo-ing again. Not much milk yet so got to latch very often to stimulate the flow.

Wish everybody here have a smooth journey to motherhood.

Hehe. Sorry for the lengthy post!

a good day to everyone, hope all mtb are cheery and happy this sunny weekend

i had my fair share of drama this saturday. was jogging when received a call from my wifey that she is bleeding fresh blood (mense-like), luckily brought cash along, so took cab back and drove her to kkh.

it was my first time doing this, i was so worried and i found it weird to take a queue number although my wife is bleeding. but i think, its a common thing, so the nurses are quite indifferent. i was a little annoyed, but rationalised it that i am the inexperienced one.

saw doctor, sighed a huge relief when we saw the hb of the baby. wifey given 7 days mc. but a little worried still as the spotting continued throughout the day.

emailed dr loh, so hope that he can give us some advice when he is free.

hope that pray that wife and baby will remain strong and healthy

Hi Despondent,

BB's ideal position should be head down and face facing mummy's back. My bb is facing my tummy that means looking up at my tummy so more difficult to come out.
I had thesame problem when i delivered my son 2 years ago so dr commented it could b due to the 'structure' of my uterus. hahaha! I think so too!

Serene,
v happy to see the posting of your delivery story here, really not easy. You are a great mother!
Yes, Keslyn is v chubby leh, she will be a good girl.

Looking forward to seeing more of her pics!

Hi hubbyofwife ,

Get your wife to stay on bedrest more n dun add pressure on vagina area.. dun worry baby will be fine... i have frequent bleeding on 1st trimester... now i m a mother of twins ivf girls.. =) Be positive.. in KKH, u have to be fierce n demanding or the service will be slow at times... hmm cos i m in n out for more than 10times... ha...

Serene,
congrats!! Ur efforts r all worth it

my turn up next!!!

HOW,
it's worrying to see red but u have to be pillar of support for ur wifey n dun add on to her stress.... Was she given any jab to support the pregnancy?

thanks for all your support

spiffy, my wife was prescribed Duphaston (2 tablets daily) since the ET. And also the folic acid tablets.

develyn, yep, have told her to rest more. at first dr regina gave her 1 day MC, but i asked her if can have a week, she agreed without hesitation. hehe, should have asked for more! trying to get more dvds for her this coming week. i will be working though. thanks for sharing your experience, its important for 1st timers like myself

eskimobaby, yep, given a jab to support her pregnancy. all the best for you too! jia you!

Singapoh, does the sunblock that you use contain vitamin A & E. Mine has. read that too much of vitamin A is no good.....

Hazel nctgrace, r u all still taking the Duphaston? Dr KK tan, e relief doc prescribed me another mth or till week 13. But felt he like not sure, just prefer to err on safe side.

How long usu is Duphaston taken?

Singapoh, thanks. I put very little. Pump one smaller than half a 5 cents coin. I dun use previously until recently my beautican said must since pregnant now... N the sun block is recommended by her n she told me is safe.

Despondent, duphaston is usually to be taken till end of 1st trimester, which is end of 13 wks... By then the planceta is formed n will take over.

Serene, Congrats !!!

I read your episode with glee and excitement..post the picture of your gal here....

Btw... I am kepo only .... i belong to the other thread cos i havent BFP yet.... i just drop by to check out old friends and draw inspiration from you people...

Enjoy your bundle of joy !! Hazel you too... may i ask how many weeks are you pregg ?

Dear ladies, I'm bleeding now. :"( Getting worried, not sure if coz stressed by work... Juz rec'd some emails from boss.

Oh dear, got to wait till my hubby's ready to send me to 24 hours clinic. Sob sob... V worried now.