IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bliss
How are you feeling now? Hope you feeling better and positve

Cactus, congrates.. rest well.

Wah Linda, you are still doing night shift? Take care ok.

MikMik, Good for you..
but don't over tired at work. take care too..

libby,
I am ok, but still having nausea and v bloated and tired most of the time. How about you?
thanks, I am still learning to be positive coz I still tend to feel lousy esp when having the ms.

Hi cactus,
Congrats! Both your babies have very good weight. Take care and enjoy your confinement.

Wow WY,
So soon its your turn already. Any reason for c-sect? BB breech position? All the best to you!

hi gals thks.

WY so u going c sect on 16 Dec. For me, my gyane said bb head engaged but I got zero dilation. He said will induce me on 17 Dec, but if no dilation he may offer me c sect, cos he said I might end up emer c sect if he induce me with zero dilation, my labour hrs will be long. He let me choose 16 Dec or 17 Dec to see him, so I chose 16 Dec, see him earlier better.
Btw my bb est as at today is 3.6kg

Bee- your bb is big too rite, wat is his est weight b4 u deliver him?

twinstars,
why induce will end up in c-sect ah? my fren was overdue for a wk and was induced last wk... after induce in morning no reaction so went home to rest and contraction starts in afternoon.. went back hosp at nite and delivered next day evening... total 30 hrs in labour... but she delivered naturally with forceps..

linda,
i think will take some time to regain our strength and energy.. i went back to work at abt 10 wks of pregnancy and i found myself very weak for the first few weeks esp when i have walk around quite a bit and climb stars... but slowly as the 2nd trimester progress and my appetite improves my strength came back... so try to take it easy for now dun overstrain urself...

Eskimobaby-your fren got dilation or not, me todate zero wor, my gynae did mention that if he induce me now my labour hrs will be long and may end up emer csect cos I no more energy liao.
Actually if the labour hrs is gonna be so long I will opt for c-sect, why go through so much pain.
My gynae got say IVF bb better dun overdue, he said 1 day overdue is fine, not too long.

twinstars,
i see.. my fren's is natural conception... she also got no dilation... and her bb was still growing... so gynae waited 1 more wk before inducing...

hi eskimobaby: wow, if 16/12 is your wedding anniv, must be good date, rite? good, good

Hi Twinstars: so we may end up welcoming our bundle of joy on the same day , but in different parts of the world. feel less alone, knowing that.
At 33wks, bb's @ 2kg, hopefully, can hit at least 3kg by next week. But my Dr says, bb is just playing inside now, no more growing. I thot they r still piling on fats??

Hi Serene, my c-sect was scheduled initally 4 23/12 due to marginal placenta preavia. but since wk37, blood pressure is quite high, so c-sect brought fwd by a week. Am being monitored very closely now. Think must b too much salt n too gan cheong.
So ladies, better watch yr diet fr 2nd trimester onwards!

Sure can one, Twinstars. That's what they mean by maternal instincts!
New era, new responsibilites. I still can't believe we'll b hugging our bb next week. It seemed such a long time ago when we tried to get preggy.

M very keen to do TBF, so hope 2 persevere n succeeed!

Bliss
You are doing very well already, not easy to take care of Teng Teng and having ms same time..
I'm just feeling slightly nausea throughout the day, esp more when i get hungry.. and sleepy most of the times.

Libby,
ya, I think it is very different to be preggy for the 1st time and for the 2nd time. 1st time preggy still have time to rest and eat and do whatever can help w ms, but once preggy with 1st bb ard, there is no time to rest and eat at my own pace and liking, not relaxing at all compared to 1st time preggy. So you enjoy and relax as much as possible for this 1st pregnancy now. 2nd pregnancy will be very different.

My bloatedness is bad, dont know how to reduce it. If too bloated will trigger nausea too. Sigh...
My 2nd scan will be on Wed, I just hope my bb is growing well coz I feel apologetic for unable to take as good care of my bb inside this time.

Bliss
Maybe you can check with your gynae to drink ginger water and eno, like some sisters did here, it will help relief your bloatedness. Do update us after your scan this Wed, baby will sure be growing very well.

hi bliss,
does this pregnancy have different symptoms from teng teng's time? do hope you have a gal this time. Don't feel bad about not taking care of baby. I am worse, from trying ivf time, i ignore my older boy for a year plus. Now i am making up the lost time but is hard. After delivery, i am trying to sit down to have play time with him, he prefer to go to my hubby and does not listen to me. As i have not carried him since ivf, i didn't even know he put on so much weight. The other day tried to lift him into the supermarket trolley, then i found that i could not even do it.

Hey mummies-to-be, I am jus wondering when u were/are in the weeks that you cannot feel ur baby's movt yet, how do you ascertain that your baby is growing well? Jus wondering coz the next check up is only in Jan...and the other day, my darling doggie jus jumped on me, though ok liao, but can't help wondering has it affected the growth of my baby.....

Hi soon-to-be

Do not worry as your body is the best place to hide in should there be an earthquake! So your bb will be well-protected and safe. I read that yr bb cld be at risk only if you are involved in an serious accident which requires hospitalisation.
If you are still worried, ask to see yr practitioner who cld probably do an unscheduled scan.

Thanks WY Koo. Being a first time MTB, a bit KS and over paranoid at times...hehehehe....so far, seems to be okay.

Hey, i m aso wondering do you all feel ur baby better at night or day? I tend to be able to feel the baby at night (or am I jus being over sensitive?) I'm only 14 weeks+ now...

libby,
I dont know why I cant stand the smell and taste of ginger, so I cant take ginger to help reduce my bloating. Thanks, I also hope bb inside is doing v well. When is your next scan? How many weeks are you now?

Lina,
actually i am not very sure of the symptoms this time, coz perhaps I am busier and more tired due to looking after Teng teng, I do not have time to notice any differences. But this time I thought is slightly better in terms of I am still able to take in more variety of food while having ms, whereas when I was preggy with Teng teng, I could only eat plain porridge. Yes, I do hope is a girl this time.

However I will still close factory after tis time. I am no longer young and kids are still so young, really need lots of energy and time to bring them up well.

Lina, what you shared about neglecting the 1st kid in a way makes me sad and worried. Hmm, I cant imagine Teng teng to behave not as close to me in future. He has been so clingy to me since born, and I really cherish and enjoy the close bonding.

Bliss
Maybe can ask your gynae see if there's anything to help reduce your bloatedness. My next scan is next wed, today shd be 7w5d.

Can I check, is it recommended to take multivitamins now? If the multivitamins includes folic acid, do we still take separate pill of folic acid? Tks

libby,
usually 1st trimester only folic acid is given... after trimester 1 then give other vitamins. if u wanna take multi-vit, have to make sure u dun get overdose of vit A as this is harmful to the baby.

bliss,
i dunno if this works for u... my fren told me to take red date water to reduce bloating.. just boil some red dates with water...

Eskimobaby
Noted.. that means for 1st trimester, baby don't really need the extra dose of multivitamins to help its growth? Am feeling a bit kiasu, scared baby doesn't have enough nutrients to grow well.

Eskimobaby,
thanks, I tried that few times actually when I read here earlier. But no use for me leh.

Libby,
I know gynae will usually advise the same few tips. Nothing much can be done one.

I am 8w3d now, hope 1st tri passes soon, ms gone quickly.

libby,
dun worry, 1st trimester placenta is still forming so baby not taking nutrients from wat mummy eat directly yet... 1st trimester is folic acid to prevent deformity... and 2nd trimester onwards reduce folic acid and take DHA and other vitamins for brain and organs development.. i'm taking DHA, obimin multi-vit and calcium now...

libby,
no worry, your baby will absorb all the necessary nutrients reserved in your body even if you never eat well. So in another words, your baby will not fail to get enough nutrients unless your health is v poor in the 1st place. It is important to eat well during preggy for your own sake, coz your body is supplying your baby lots. If not, your health will not be good esp after delivery. The same thing applies during breastfeeding. Your breastmilk will contain enough nutrients for your baby even if you dont eat well. But your body will be losing lots of nutrients for urself which is bad for the breastfeeding mother.

I heard from some mummies that try not to take too much DHA or fish oil during preggy, coz they notice that their bbs turn out to be v active and kind of hyperactive due to that. I am not sure of that coz I did not take any fish oil or DHA during preggy as my gynae, Dr Sadhana did not support the idea too. My sis told me not, she feels that her boy is super active partly due to that.

bliss,
alamak i've been taking since trimester 2.. and now 30 wks liao wor... was given by dr loh and then dr benjamin tham also continue to give me...

eskimobaby,
I think almost all preggies in this generation are taking DHA or fish oil, coz is said to be good for development of bb's brain mah. I think my present gynae is gg to give me too. Anyway there is no scientific proof, just that more and more kids are hyperactive and this makes pple start to relook what the babies have been taking when inside the womb.

hi all ladies

hope all of u r doing fine..

a real scary alarm for me yesterday...yesterday after i finished my 3 days night shift, when i reached home at 930am, i found my panty liner has blood stained...anxious straight away rush to kk 24hrs clinic. and later seen by the dr there and did a viginal scan for me, thank god the cervix remains closed. later on she did my abdomen scan for me, and thank god again my baby is very fine with strong hearbeat.. so she prescribed me progesterone jab and started back on duphaston.. and i asking her wat is the reason of bleeding, she still may due to uterus still unstable, and maybe i was over tired cos doing night shift...
and later on she gave me 5 days sick leave, and excuse chit for exempted night shift until delivery... and cos of tis my appt with dr loh push forward to 7/1/10 liao...reali terrific the moments i saw bleeding and kept telling baby to stay strong, and feel sorry to baby cos i was over tired to myself

Hi Soon-to-be

I could hear my tummy making 'pop' 'pop' sound around wk18. It is different from the gassy feeling. And that was for me the 1st sign of bb's movements. Couple of wks later, I cld feel actual movements. But every pregnancy is different.

And it is easier to feel bb's movements at nite becos you are at rest. At this stage of devt, I dun think bb has developed any regular rest/awake pattern.

Hi Tnt, rest well.

Linda
Must take care.. health is more important, do extend your mc if necessary.

WY Koo
No early pop yet? So, will be scheduled for tom C-section? Excited? All the best to you.

Linda,

Please take care and rest well... try to rest on bed more since u r given MC. Dun take it too lightly, ya? So scary... in pregnancy the most terrified thing is to see 'red'!

Bliss,

Hang in there, 1st tri will b over soon...

hi serene, bliss, libby, wy koo
thanks..will definetely rest as much as i can now...will not take things lightly

Serene,
thanks, same to you too, v soon you will see your baby and all the 'sufferings' will be over and soon be forgotten. Jia you!

I was discharged yesterday and babies lost quite a bit of weight, now 2.2 and 2.5 kg respectively. Here's a pic of them at birth, they look more chubby then.
3385157.jpg

It was chaotic last nite when both cried at the same time, keep wanting to drink milk, one after another. My mum & I didn't sleep at all, it was so stressful handling 2 at a time. In the end, I broke down in tears, gave up & fed them with formula, couldn't take it. I hope things will improve with time.

cactus,
they are so adorable!
You are a great mother, must stay strong and continue to give your best!
It is really not easy to look after 2bbs at the same time, you try to calm down as much as possible. I am sure things will get better soon.

Hi Libby

Yeap, C-sect on schedule for tom. Think hubby more stressed than me. Hope can get some rest tonite.

Anyway, later going out for nice dinner to celebrate the last day couplehood.

Hi Cactus, Jia You. You are doing great!

Cactus,
they r so adorable!! N they look so fair too.

WY,
actually it's nice to know exactly when u r going to give birth. Can prepare n also eat watever u wan b4 delivery.