IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Serene, when I called kkh and ask them, they say that they wont check my cervix length unless the doc request for them to check. I am confuse now.

hi ltjabi,
I standby 3 pax of kotex maternity & another 3 pax of Whisper. Shd be sufficient. My blood flow was not that heavy for my first gal.

hi lingling,
Not to worry, usually if it is not highlighted means there is no problem with your cervix length.

Hi Lina & Serene,
Are both of you on leave till your delivery?

Hi Lina,

How abt the 3rd and 4th month ML? I'll be taking 2 more mths of NPL after I give birth on top of the 4 mths ML, so that I can breastfeed for at least 6 mths. Currently I'm on MC, not sure whether enough to last till delivery.

hi cactus,
oh, the govt rule is we must take minimum of 2 months compulsory maternity leave and then the balance can be claimed anytime (within one year after delivery). So the balance 3rd and 4th month, i will take when baby falls sick. I agree with your decision to fully breastfeed for 6 months, this will be very very good.
And can spend more bonding time with baby.

Any IVF mummies here dignosed with low placenta during your 20th week detailed scan?

If yes, anyone knows what can be done to minimise the risk of having premature birth?

July77, the chances of premature bb wiht low placenta is not v high don't worry. My last pregnancy (natural), also low placenta, but it slowly moved up. Even if it doesn't move up, the most u need is a caesaran. Unless your placenta totally covers the cervix, then u'll need to hv a casearan earlier to prevent placenta from rupturing

Hi berrybaby,

Dr Loh, my gynea, said that I'll need to have a casearan as my chances of placenta moving up is very very low. I'm currently having twins.

He also mentioned that most probably I'll be giving birth in my 33th - 34th week.
If I can pull it to 35th week, then I'm safe.

Hi berrybaby,
Actually I've been thinking of that too! But nowadays no good durians leh. Dr Loh mentioned that my babies are of right size now.

Hi Lina,
I'll be taking either MC or ML before due to rest more at home.
Thanks for berrybaby's & Lina's concern.

Currently taking medicine to prevent early contraction.

Hi july,

I agree with Lina, do take leave & rest at home. This is exactly what I'm doing. My gynae asked me to rest from week 28 onwards so that I can keep my twins inside till week 37.

hi july,
glad to know that your babies are right size. Nearer the 33th week, doctor should give you jab on thigh to strengthen babies lung, just in case of early delivery. When i was warded to kk at 31 weeks for low water bag level, was given this jab. And they gave an orange colour medicine daily to prevent contraction.

Hi cactus13,
That's a long rest! I've used up all my hospitalisation leave due to OHSS & left with only 18 days of MCs. Guess I'll have to use my own leave if my gynea wants me to rest more.
Are you having the same problem as me?

Lina,
Glad to know that KK will try to do something to prevent all these. Have heard of horror stories about KK.

Hi july,

So far I only used up 26 HL for IVF & OHSS. Still have enough MC & HL to last for 6 weeks. After that will clear annual leave. I've low haemoglobin count & at risk of diabetes. Babies on the small side at 30th & 40th percentile.

Hi cactus13,

So are u currently taking any iron pills for low haemoglobin count? Remember to drink lotsa water. Avoid sweet drinks.

Both babies at 30th & 40th percentile is quite common as you're currently having twins.
Are you on the small frame side?

Hi July,

Yes, both hubby & I are small built. I've been taking iron pills since start of trimester 2 but dunno why my haemoglobin level keep on dropping. I've been eating my usual 3 regular meals, that's about it. In fact, I dun take sweet drinks at all, also dunno where my diabetes come from.

hi spiffy,
think for newborn days should be alright and it is really helpful for pre-mature babies as the feeling of being close to parents will be good bonding.

hi spiffy,
oh, i don't know of anyone using this. In fact also never seen in public anyone using it. Should be something quite new here. And i am not related to the organizer either.

My hunger pangs are getting terrible. I wake up hungry, get hungry easily between meals and sometimes can be hungry 2 hours after dinner!

Anyway, I eat a natural nuts and dried fruit for a snack between meals. Anyone has other nutritious suggestions?

i'm thinking of bring milk to work.. And maybe stock up on apples in the office too.

Hi cactus,

Ya I'm on HL since week 22 and i should continue my leave till my delivery. I'm only left with 16 days of HL and 1 day MC. very pathetic. But I have abt 30days of AL that I will be using after I exhausted all my HL n MC. With all these, it should last me till end dec, which by then i'll be ard 35 weeks... If bb guai guai still haven come out, I'll start my Maternity leave earlier... Hopefully my bb is guai guai n everything will go according to my plan.

Seems like a few mummies here also like me got to bedrest, ya! But can understand cos usually mummies having twins will have to rest when approaching 3rd trimester...

Today i've been experiencing cramps and pulling sensation at my lower abdominal. Very worried. Have been telling my princess to be gd gal n give mummy 2 more months before coming out! Praying hard!!

hi spiffy, that looks like a great sign! did you try unprocessed walnuts too? unsweetened type. heard it is good for bb's brain development.

hi serene, i almost exhausted my hospitalisation leave and am at week 8 only. for the work part, i quit my job so that i can rest. the company is too small to afford a staff like me, on hl all the time. a bit stupid right?

hi ladies, anyone has swollen thigh after progesterone jab? i had 2 jabs on my left thigh within 5 days and discovered my left thigh and knee is i inch thicker than the right? calves are alright.

all mtb here, do u guys sometimes feel a bit paranoid? i cant help but feel paranoid leh.. i dun have m/s leh.. is it normal?

i have been having hearburn and last few night cramps on both legs!

hi serene,
don't worry about work, proper bedrest is top importance now. When i started no pay leave at 2nd trimester, i felt very empty, like nothing to do, no focus and also cannot teach my boy. Then just told myself to stay relax for the sake of baby. Hope your gal will stay till full term. Take care!

hi yumyum,
can spend time after baby comes so quitting job is ok. Can always look for a new job next time.

hi oxidised,
i had totally no ms during first pregnancy too, a very smooth one. It is alright about it and in fact many ladies would envy you.

Lina: it's ok.. they'r doing fine right? i so paranoid everytime i go toilet i will look at my toilet paper after i wipe...

then got lots of weird/crazy thoughts n then i will touch wood.. like touch my wooden laundry basket all of a sudden, then my hub ask me i siao ah. lol

Haha! oxidised, u r really paranoid lah! But I can understand your feeling... 1st time mummy n not easy one too... so being paranoid is normal! Dun worry abt no m/s. Trust me, u would rather dun want the m/s to visit you man!
So did u get the gaviscon for your heatburn? It is my saviour whenever i had heartburn...

Lina, I'm on paid leave so still gotta answer phone when boss calls. Sianz! Cannot siam cos boss calls my home!!

Serene: yea my hub bought me the tablet type.. first time i took it i wanted to puke! cos they say chew until sticky, yucks!

i only take when i cannot tahan like last very long. if not i dun take..

i jus hope n pray n wish my 1st trimester is over soon.. worried n scared n super paranoid man,,

hi serene,
wow, still got to answer calls. Does this mean you still need to do some office paper work, reply email or do some home based follow up, etc? but try not to be stress over work, must stay relax now.

Hi Serene,

I'm also like you, working from home. Everyday got to clear emails, send my hubby to collect/deliver documents from/to office once a week.

I do experience some contraction once in a while, as if the baby is making his way down. I so scared as I'm only in my 31 weeks going 32 weeks. Need to wait for another 5/6 weeks before it is safe for delivery.

oxidised, i bought a book from Kino - When You're Expecting Twins, Triplets, or Quads by Dr Barbara Luke. It's very useful, with lots of multiples pregnancy specific advice. Especially regarding diet.

halo ladies, how do you choose bb bed and is there any recommendations on which place to get it? how many beds do you get if you have multiples? can put them all on one bed? thank you.

sorry ladies, what is ms?

yumyum, ms is morning sickness. For multiples, its better not to put them all on the same bed. The reason is that when 1 bb cry, the rest will follow too so its going to be very hard for you to take care of them.

Serene and cactus13, your bb sure guai guai stay till full term. dont worry so much.

oxidised, I am also like you. But you must be positive. Dont think so much. I realise that the more I think, the more the negative things will happen.

Hi Ladies, do you all intend to take the H1N1 jab when its out? I am worried that the jab has not done enough testing on pregnant woman.

lingling22 i dont' think i'll take the jab. is it completely safe for pregnant women? i'm trying not to take any medications during this period. I am doing a bit of travelling though and i think i should wear a mask on the plane just in case..

yumyum - yes am taking walnuts too..i love all nuts!

oxidised, I would be happy without MS, they can be so terrible...

lingling22, it is really not recommended to take any vaccination during pregnancy, just stay away from the sick, hospital and crowded areas

Ladies, did anyone have bad nausea and morning sickness like symptoms after the HCG jab? I feel so sick... worse than Puregon..

Hi Yumyum,

I intend to put my 2 bbs into 1 bb cot for the first 3 months. The reason being is that I will be moving to a new place, thus I do not want to set up 2 cots first.

I'm not sure if their cries will affect each other if we put them together or not but they will still hear each other's crying even if we put them in separate bed, right?

After 3 months when they are learning how to turn, then it would be best to put them in separate cot for more movement space.

I believe ultimately, u will still need to get 2 cots.

oxidised, yeah kinokuniya in Ngee Ann City. They have more than 10 books on this topic and i browsed slowly through the lot and found this the best. by the way, if they are wrapped, you can bring them to the Information Counter to unwrap them.