IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi healthybaby, i asked kk today of the scans and the senior consultant is not sure of the scan required for my case. i was a bit stunned...
How did you arrange to see Prof Anand and can we carry the report to KK? KK calls OSCAR = FTS.

good to see develyn on the thread. the last time i log on, you are on bed rest and still so bubbly!

hi ladies, does dr loh has antenatal packages too? does tmc have neonatal level 3 facilities? it's nearer to my home than kk.

Yumyum,
You did OSCAR already? Prof Anandakumar does Genetic scan which can detect alot of the abnormal chromosome markers. The scan is really very detailed and is similar to the one done at 20 wks at KKH but I can says even more detail. It cost $380 for singleton so for your triplets u may like to call them to check.

SSR International: 6333 862
The lady at the reception is most likely to pick up your call and she may ask u to call back at a later time cause usually by 5pm, the nurse will be able to advise u accordingly.

Had a visit with Dr Loh on Wed. My twins at 30 weeks are small at only 1.2kg each. Dr Loh advised me to eat more but is this the only way? I'm oredi quite 'fat' and don't really want to put on excessive weight as I'm afraid of getting GD. Any advice from mommies out there?

hi sophia,
i was also advised by gynae to eat more after detail scan in 2nd trimester as baby was found much smaller than average size. So i got no choice, ate lots of cooked beef, durian and drank more milk. Most effective is beef as baby's weight went up after i ate lots of beef bak kwa and macdonalds big mac. If your sugar level and blood pressure is normal right now, then is ok that you eat more.
My own weight gain has been consistent but didn't go into baby so beef and milk seems to help.

Sophia,
How about taking in more nutritious soups? Usually these soups are quite nourishing for the babies. If not like what Lina does, take in moer beef cause more protein so babies will grow more meat..

Sophia - you could also take more chinese herbal soup and birdnest, i have herbal soup every two weeks and my boy weighs 3kg at week 37... now, i have told my mil to stop brewing the soup cos i dun want big bb. so long as you dun take too much salty, fried or sweet stuff.. you will be alright. eat healthy food and snack on fruits when hungry

develyn
glad to see ur post. same to you, eat more nutritious food and increase protein intake... durian is a good source too but can be quite heaty la...

oxidised,
can understand how u feel.. sometimes we worried too many follicles and then kanna ohss; sometimes we worried too few and not enough fertilised embryos.... haiz! for me, i hv no fertilised embryos to freeze for next try, so i considered myself very very lucky to struck at 1st try

u must hang on, some people will take a longer while to feel completely well

hi bee,

i just read some ladies have OHSS all the way through 1st trimester...

wondering if any ladies here have OHSS n how long did it last??

yea, bee the big picture is that we'r lucky to have a BFP. anyway, i think im expecting a singleton.

hi bee,
is there any particular type of herbal soup to drink? as i drank herbal soup as well but never help to increase baby's weight.

Hi Sophia,

My babies weight at week 28 are 1.1 kg, 30th and 40th percentile respectively. My gynae said ok leh, average size. In fact, she has been asking me not to eat too much coz I almost failed my diabetes test.

Now my problem is with my blood count. The haemoglobin level has dropped even further to unacceptable range, suffering from anaemia. I don't take red meat like liver, beef & mutton, that's why. Have been taking iron tablet since start of Trimester 2 but that doesn't seemed to help now. Any one knows what is the consequences if it continues?

Thanks everyone for the advice. Will take chicken essence and more meat. I suppose those pre-packed soup from Eu Yen sen should be alright to boil with chicken or pork right?

Hey cactus, must be careful of anaemia. You will get dizziness and fainting spells!! What about beans like kidney beans. Can try adding into stews and soups. I like using the canned ones coz easy to cook and prepare, no need to soak at all.

Hi Lingling,

Nice to see you in this thread. Do u know the gender of your bb yet?? How many weeks already??

Sophia, your babies at 30wks at 1.2kg is quite average. Not very small lah... Dun worry. However since dr loh advice you to eat more then u better listen to him lor.. beef n durian really help in bb weight gain.

When I did my scan on Mon, BB had a weight of 750g at wk 24+2. Dr said might be a false weight cos her femur length (thigh bone) is long therefore make up a fair bit of weight there. She is going to be tall like her daddy n brother.

hi ladies, how much spotting is considered acceptable before i rush myself into womens 24 hour clinic? it is not like menses but stains the panty or a patch when i clean myself with tissue. went for booster jab on 7 oct (week 5.5) and increased support hormones already. scared,

I've a question on maternity package in regards to bbs who need to go into special care due to under-weight.

I'm thinking whether to choose 1-beded or 4-beded in KKH. Although the price for the 2 rooms is only $1K difference, I heard from a friend that the price of your bb under special care (E.g. ICU) is pegged to mummy's Ward Class.

Meaning, if u choose Class A1 which is 1-beded, the price of ur bb in ICU per day will be based on Class A1 too even thou there is no classification of ward type for bbs in ICU. Not sure how true is it in KKH and what is the cost per day?

As such, they keep advising me to take up the 4-beded room so that if touchwood, my bb needs to go ICU, then the cost will not be so hefty.

I understand that we have all taken up the assistant reproductive programme insurance which will be paid $300 per day for each insured child in ICU or $100 per day under special care; accumulative amount capped up to $54K. I wonder will this help?

Anyone can advise? My friend kept saying twins got a higher risk wor. sigh.....

Fresh,
yes ur babies stay in hosp will be pegged to ur choice of ward ... that's the advantage if u give birth in govt hosp... Meaning if u go for a cheaper ward ur babies stay will be more heavily subsidized... so if u choose A1 then ur babies stay will also be pegged at A1... I guess u can make the decision at a later stage or ur gynae can advise u too... Usually mother will be discharge first if bb needs to stay on in hosp so better to go for the cheaper rate so that u dun have to worry abt ur babies bill.... From wat I heard the insurance will not pay for everything... U will still need to fork out some money... Have an ex- colleague who was advised to go for c class as her baby is going to be pre- term n true enuff had to stay in icu for 2 months n it's really a huge difference between A1 and C class bill.

hi fresh,
don't think you need to make decision now but strongly advise that you choose 4 bed first. As never know that later stage, will there be any issue with pre-term. Upgrade later on is easier compare to downgrade. Like my case, i already selected 4 bed but 3rd trimester was suddenly warded due to low water level and lucky they asked me to choose a 5 bed or even C class ward. As per eskimobaby advised, insurance don't cover everything, depending on how long the babies stay, you still need to pay. And the difference in bed actually don't make very much difference to you, as your gynae will still visit you.

Thanks Eskimobaby and Lina for the advice.

Yeah, no need to choose the maternity package but since my friend give such advice, would like to find out more lor.

Hi Lina, I am under KK SFloh.

Hi Serene, how are you feeling now? I am now week 17. Still cant see bb gender now, guess can only know during the detailed scan.

Yumyum, I also got spotting around week 8 and it lasted till week 12. If the spotting is not red colour, you just need to request for hormones jab to support the baby.

Hi All, when do you all feel the bb movement? I can't really feel bb movement yet but on and off, I felt some discomfort around my womb area for a few secs.

thanks lina and lingling, went to 24 hr on sat. with the jab, it seems fine. the thing is when it is fine, i want to go out. then when i go out, spotting comes again. very sianz. watch so much telly that my eyeballs feel warm.

sit too much and the fats are gathering at the tummy, butt. before pregnant, i am already borderline overweight, now i think i might just turn into jabba the hut (star wars). sorry, just whining hear. staying at home is so sian... restless.
any suggestions for activities for bed rest?

Hi yum yum,

I spend a lot of time lying on the bed n surf net. Forum is very informative. I read from thread to thread regardless of topics.haha! Bo Pian! Too much time to kill...

I also chat with friends on fb. Do some online shopping since cant go out to shop. Read magazines. I've so many past issues of Her World magazines that I've no chance to read before my bedrest.

And of course watch cable tv lor.

That's how i pass time eveyday... It has been 3 weeks since i bed rested...

Since you r spotting, better to bedrest more. I've learnt my lesson not to take things for granted. Although it is tough to just lie in bed, i'll endure for the sake of my bb... also my hubby very strict lah... he'll watch over me whenever he is at home. Each time he caught me sitting up will quickily ask me to lie down.... haha!

hi lina
mil usually double boils the chicken (can be normal or black) with some red dates, dong cong cao and ren sheng (in slices).. can be heaty for some. my bb is considered medium, body at 60-70 percentile while head is 90 percentile.

btw, my gynae said when one is abt 32week, bb weight shd increase by abt 300g every 2 weeks.. so u can roughly estimate the weight of ur bb at birth.

well, i prefer bigger bb (abt 3-3.4kg) becos easier to handle and take care..

yumyum, must really rest more now. I still remember that I went ahead for mayday concert when my spotting ends and guess what, before the concert start, my spotting came back again and I dont even dare to stand up during the whole concert and rush home to rest after that. The hormones jab can only stop the spotting for a few days and spotting will be back after that. So dont panic if spotting really returns, just request for regular jab from the doc. I usually surf net and watch tv during bedrest lor.

Hi Serene, you need to stay on bed till bb birth?

hi lingling
u shd be able to feel bb movement btw week 20-24.. i started experiencing the "bubbling" feeling at around week 20 and bb movement around week 22.. its very mild and infrequent... but come 3rd tri, u shd feel bb movement everyday!

yumyum
better to be safe... rest for a least a few days before u go out. if u need to go out, it shd be just buying lunch/dinner at nearby places. this is the best to "nua" : eat, sleep, watch TV, listen to music, play games, read a book and day dream :p

hi lingling,
still early for you to feel baby's movement, so no worries.

Hi yumyum,
as serene mentioned, can surf net, watch vcd. Most important is to maintain a happy mood.

hi beed,
oh, thanks for the info on double boil soup. Yes, bigger baby are much easier to take care and neck is also very firm.

Something to share.... A bit long but worth reading.

This is very touching. Treasure your loved ones.

4 years ago, an accident took my beloved away and very often I wonder, how does my wife, who is now in the heavenly realm, feel right now? She must be feeling extremely sad for leaving a husband who is incapable to taking care of the house and the kid. 'cos that is the exact feeling that I have, as I feel that I have failed to provide for the physical and emotional needs of my child, and failed to be the dad and mum for my child.

There was one particular day, when I had an emergency at work. Hence, I had to leave home whilst my child was still sleeping. So thinking that there was still rice leftovers, I hastily cooked an egg and left after informing my sleepy child.

With the double roles, I am often exhausted at work as well as when I am home. So after a long day, I came home, totally drained of all energy. So with just a brief hug and kiss for my child, I went straight into the room, skipping dinner. However, when I jumped into my bed with intention of just having a well-deserved sleep, all i heard and felt was broken porcelain and warm liquid! I flipped open my blanket, and there lies the source of the 'problem'... a broken bowl with instant noodles and a mess on the bedsheet and blanket!

Boy, was I mad! I was so furious that I took a clothes hanger, charged straight at my child who was happily playing with his toy, and give him a good spanking! He merely cried but not asking for mercy, except a short explanation:

"Dad, I was hungry and there wasn't anymore leftover rice. But you were not back yet, hence I wanted to cook some instant noodles. But I remembered you reminding me not to touch or use the gas stove without any adults around, hence I turned on the shower and used the hot water from the bathroom to cook the noodles. One is for you and the other is for me. However, I was afraid that the noodles will turn cold, so I hid it under the blanket to keep it warm till you return. But I forgot to remind you 'cos I was playing with my toys...I am sorry Dad..."

At that moment, tears were starting to run down my cheeks...but I didn't want my son to see his dad crying so I dashed into the bathroom and cried with the shower head on to mask my cries. After that episode, I went towards my son to give him a tight hug and applied medication on him, while coaxing him to sleep. Then, it was time to clear up the mess on the bed. When everything was done and well past midnight, I passed my son's room, and saw that he was still crying, not from the pain on his little buttock, but from looking at the photograph of his beloved mummy.

A year has passed since the episode, I have tried, in this period, to focus on giving him both the love of his dad and mum, and to attend to most of his needs. And soon, he is turning seven, and will be graduating from kindergarten. Fortunately, the incident did not leave a lasting impression on his childhood memories and he is still happily growing up.

However, not so long ago, I hit my boy again, with much regret. This time, his kindergarten teacher called, informing me of my son's absence from school. I took off early from work and went home, expecting him to explain. But he wasn't to be found, so I went around our house, calling out his name and eventually found him outside a stationery shop, happily playing computer games. I was fuming, brought him home and whack the hell out of him. He did not retaliate, except to say, 'I am sorry, Dad'. But after much probing, I realized that it was a 'Talent Show' organized by his school and the invite is for every student's mummy. And that was the reason for his absence as he has no mummy.....

Few days after the caning, my son came home to tell me, the kindergarten has recently taught him how to read and write. Since then, he has kept to himself and stayed in his room to practise his writing, which I am sure, would make my wife proud, if she was still around. 'cos he makes me proud too!

Time passes by very quickly, and soon another year has passed. It's winter, and its Christmas time. Everywhere the christmas spirit is in every passer-by...Christmas carols and frantic shoppers....but alas, my son got into another trouble. When I was about to knock off from the day's work, the post office called. Due to the peak season, the post master was also on an edgy mood. He called to tell me that my son has attempted to post several letters with no addressee. Although I did make a promise never to hit my son again, I couldn't help but to hit him as I feel that this child of mine is really beyond control. Once again, as before, he apologized, ' I'm sorry, Dad' and no additional reason to explain. I pushed him towards a corner, went to the post office to collect the letters with no addressee and came home, and angrily questioned my son on his prank, during this time of the year.

His answer, amidst his sobbing, was : The letters were for Mummy.

My eyes grew teary, but I tried to control my emotions and continued to ask him: " But why did u post so many letters, at one time?" My son's reply was: " I have been writing to mummy for a long time, but each time I reach out for the post box, it was too high for me, hence I was not able to post the letters. But recently, when I went back to the postbox, I could reach it and I sent it all at once..."

After hearing this, I was lost. Lost at not knowing what to do, what to say....

I told my son, " Son, mummy is in the heavenly kingdom, so in future, if you have anything to tell her, just burn the letter and it will reach mummy. My son, on hearing this, was much pacified and calm, and soon after, he was sleeping soundly. On promising that I will burn the letters on his behalf, I brought the letters outside, but couldnt help opening the letter before they turn to ash.

And one of the letters broke my heart....

Dear Mummy,

I miss you so much! Today, there was a 'Talent Show' in school, and the school invited all mothers for the show. But you are not around, so I did not want to participate as well. I did not tell Dad about it as I was afraid that Dad would start to cry and miss you all over again. Dad went around looking for me, but in order to hide my sadness, I sat in front of the computer and started playing games at one of the shops. Dad was furious, and he couldnt help it but scolded and hit me, but I did not tell him the real reason. Mummy, everyday I see Dad missing you and whenever he think of you, he is so sad and often hide and cry in his room. I think we both miss you very very much. Too much for our own good I think. But Mummy, I am starting to forget your face. Can you please appear in my dreams so that I can see your face and remember you? I heard that if you fall asleep with the photograph of the person whom you miss, you will see the person in your dreams. But mummy, why havent you appear?

After reading the letter, I cant stop sobbing. 'cos I can never replace the irreplaceable gap left behind by my wife....

For the females with children:

Don't do so much overtime. If you cannot finish the work, it must be some kind of problems within the company, and it is not your sole problem. Feedback to your boss. Endless overtime may not necessary be the answer to the problem. Take care of your health so that you can treasure and take care of your little precious.

For the married men:

Drink less, smoke less, cos nothing can replace your good health, not even business nor clients.

Try thinking this way, are you able to work till your clients are totally dependent on you? or your boss is totally dependent on you? In this society, no one is indispensable.

Take care of your health, so that you can take care of your little precious and your loved ones.

For those singles out there:

Beauty lies in loving yourself first.

With confidence and loving yourself, you will see the beauty in other things around you. You will be able to work better and happier. Don't let your health be affected by your work or your boss, so nothing matters more than your well being.

Hi Lina, Bliss and Berrybaby,

My eyes were also filled with tears last night when I read it to my hubby who listened patiently until the end.

Hi fresh,

The story is so touching. Make me feel so bad that i cant spend much time with my son as i'm in my room all day.

I'll definitely make up to him after my delivery!

Hi Lingling,

Yes. I'm going to rest till my delivery.

Hi Serene,

You are already loving your son by taking good care of your health now. Your son will understand. How are u feeling right now? U can read story books to your son while in bed too.

What I gotten from the morale of the story is not to jump into conclusion when we have not listen to what kids have to explain. Kids are so naive and child-like and at times, things they do really means a lot to them. It's really not easy to be a parent.

fresh,
that's a touching story.... sometimes it's not easy to communicate with children esp to know wat they are really feeling...... and also we need to find a balance between disciplining and understanding...

gals,
i've got pretty bad aches around the lower tummy area recently... pain was quite bad that i went to the delivery suite last nite to monitor... but everything is fine.... doc said most prob is muscle stretching... but it just felt different from the usual muscle pull... anyway like my hubby said... at least know that nothing is wrong and have a peace of mind...

i dunno if it's the antenatal lessons that i've been going for or wat... but i'm beginning to wonder how i will handle the labour and how painful it'll be since i can't even tahan a little pain now... beginning to get scared...

eskimobaby, are you feeling better now? which antenatal lesson are you attending now? I wonder whether should i go for antenatal class.

Gals, do anyone know the difference between muscle pull and contractions?

hi eskimobaby,
do take care, glad that pulling is nothing wrong. You went to kk antenatal lesson? they will teach you the breathing method to relief pain, though when in the real labour, might not necessary work. But not to worry about the pain, if really cannot take it, can use gas, epidural. When you are ready to deliver, you will have the mummy's courage as baby safety is top important in your mind then.

Thanks for the touching story. It really melted my heart.

Would like to check after delivery must we buy maternity sanitary pads or juz the normal ones will do. Coz i check the sizing of Kotex maternity and Whisper Wings Heavy flow long it's like the same length.

Sorry if i havent been ard coz juz feeling funny mood swings all of a sudden. Have started become emotional plus juz worried wondering if bb is healthy, normal..Stupid n funny thoughts i know..

God bless.

lingling,
i sign up for the kk antenatal lessons... they will tell u during antenatal class how to tell if it's contractions... but it's not easy for 1st time mummies to differentiate... so if u really feel uncomfortable do go and see doc..

lina,
yeah, i went for the kk antenatal lessons... yeah... they teach us wat to do in the delivery ward but they also mention that by that time we also forget becos of the pain... but there'll be nurses there to remind us wat to do...

hi ltjabi,
i used kotex maternity and hospital will also provide.

hi eskimobaby,
oh yes, the nurse will remind you. But when pain comes, could not really absorb.

eskimobaby, where can we find out more information on the antenatal lessons?

gals, do you all request for the doc to help you check out your cervix length during the detailed scan?