IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi maggie mee,
glad to hear that no more pain.

hi orangey,
do understand why your sis said that. Just like i have friends who insist never to test for any oscar or BT during pregnancy. They will accept baby no matter how he/she turns out. Do continue to talk to baby and will be alright.
Stay positive.

Hi Orangey,

I will keep u and ur baby in my prayer. U will sure to get good result and even better results than me.

Do keep me update.

Thanks everyone

I'm still trying to be strong. So weird.. can be ok at time and then within mins, I can burst out crying when I think of my BT. DH is so worried that I might be getting into depression but I told him its very normal that a pregnant lady burst out crying anytime!

opps sorry for changing nick cuase u know some of my colleagues are looking for me in the Motherhood forum. I dont understand why =.=

hi healthybaby,
try to control emotions, not good for baby. No worries, you can just change a new nick. I think your colleagues might still see if you put "or****y". Why don't you log in as a totally new user, then just hint to us and we know that's you.

Hi..to all IVF mummies to be...

Wishing all the best of luck,have been through the pain,agony,frustration after 3 failures in IVF and finally my twin dotters are turning 1 YEAR OLD this saturday...it's all worth it.
Have a positive mind set and enjoy your pregnancy.We are indeed the "strong breed" people and we should be proud that our battle is worth waiting.So to all...STAY HEALTHY

hi healthybaby,
good to seek a 2nd opinion or redo the BT test if poss.

just to share... a colleague shared with me that her friend lost her baby after doing the amino test. when she conceived the second time, she took the risk and skipped the test and her child is now 9 years old and normal. Another colleague who is a christian, does not believe in abortion. she didnt opt for amino test. she is a mother of 5 healthy children. At their time, OSCAR was still not an option.

It's definitely not an easy choice to make, but please do have faith in yourself & baby and stay positive whatever your final choice is.

Hi ladies, just checking if there is a need to go for a third detailed scan at week 30 or so. my gynae didnt mention this. but a friend of mine who is now at week 29 said she will be doing anotehr detailed scan next week but she doesnt know what is the scan for.

hi bee,
don't think need to go for detail in 3rd trimester unless there are some problems or doctor request. My case was order by doctor for detail scan due to waterbag level low and another friend had to do a scan at around 30 weeks as her baby size was very small at gestation weeks. So not to worry if your gynae did not mention anything.

hi serene,
not sure if ur policy is the same as mine :
For Level 3 Neonatal ward : Benefits payable is $300 per day
For Level 2 Neonatal ward : Benefits payable is $100 per day
Benefit limit : S$54,000
Age Limit : Policy shall cease when the child has attained the exact age of 180 days

hi Lina
thanks... apparently, that gynae is a very kiasu doc who performs detailed scan for every of his patients at 3rd tri

Hi bee,

Thanks for the info. ya mine is the same as yours.

I'm admitting to Mt E tmr for the stitch done... hope everything goes smoothly and no infection.... keeping fingers crossed.

healthybaby,
also must try to stay positive... since ur case also slightly more unique cos u did detect a twin sac but was absorbed later on... so that might affect the result.. the physical scan doesn't show anything unusual so just take this 2nd scan as a reassurance....

serene,
hang in there.... do u need to stay in hosp after the stitch up or can go home?

gals,
went for detailed scan today... spent 3 hrs at the centre cos baby not in correct position and keep having to go back for scanning... finally managed to get all the necessary done but my dear baby kept crossing the legs and none of the sonographers can cfm the gender..... so now have to wait till 24 wks scan to see again....:p

hi serene,
will be praying that everything goes well for you. Take care!

hi eskimobaby,
it's alright, baby wants to keep gender a secret and good things are worth waiting for.

Lina/Eskimobaby,
It's fine to address me as the usual nick cause its quite common lah.. just happen that they were asking if my username is Orangey.. keke.. Anyway will be going for 2nd opinion from Prof cause my U/S both OSCAR and Doppler both shows my baby to be very normal and healthy. Prof Yeo said he is happy to see the nasal bone and DH and I could tell that baby has a sharp pointed nose like DH. Heng ah! I hope my baby will look like DH cause he has sharp features compared to me. Kekee...

Bee,
Will be doing a genetic scan with Prof Anandakumar at Camden. Now already 13+ weeks and KKH don't allow us to take BT alone for DS. I'm sure Prof Anandakumar can give me the assurance that I want.

Thank you ladies, do keep me in prayers for both myself and my baby. I'm praying everyday to god that my baby will continue to grow well and be healthy and normal throughout my pregnancy.
I believe MTB are always worried from the start of pregnancy and only when we deliver our baby then we will feel relax. Keke..

Serene,
Don't worry. Everything will be fine

Morning eskimobaby,

ya after the procedure, gotta stay a few days for observation before allow to go home...

thanks lina and orangey for your kind words....

m v worried abt the bb... sigh!!

hi ladies, anyone having triplets here? i just saw my 3 little heart beats today. doc was a little concerned of 2 of them with weaker beats. a little lost now and trying not to think too much.

Serene,
bb will be fine. U will feel more secure after the stitch. Just try to rest more k.

yumyum,
Don't think too much now as u can't really do much except to wait for the foetus to develop on its own. It depends on the age of the foetus when u do the scan too. Some foetus are just slower and will pick up later. Have faith in your embryos.

Lina,
heehee, not only will mothers worry for their kids for the next 18 years, I think it will be ever lasting, even when our kids are parents or grandparents(provided we are still alive, keke) themselves, we would still be worried and concerned.

Serene,
rest well and stay happy mood now. Must be positive that you will deliver your bb safely at the right time. Take gd care! Smile more, ok?

yumyum,
can understand your worry, but like what you have said, try not to think too much now, there is nothing much you can do. Stay positive ok? Just face whatever ahead calmly and positively. I am sure your bbs are ready to stick with you healthily all the way!

Lina,
Yah lor but I think pregnancy is the most stressful part? Kekeke... I think during pregnancy, we get moody and emotional really easy that explains why we get upset/worried/cry over little matters.
Nothing else to ask for than a smooth pregnancy and a healthy and normal baby
Now 13+ weeks already! Praying to god to bless my baby to be healthy and normal plus bless my pregnancy to be healthy and stable

hi healthybaby, happy to know bb is in week 13+. did doc give you a photo?

hi ladies, can i ask a stupid question? i am spotting and dr loh gave me medical leave to rest till i next see him. does this mean bedrest? cannot walk to dabao food too?

hi yumyum

if u experience bleeding, best is to have maximum bedrest, of course if you have no choice and need to buy food, and there is nobody else to buy for you.. then probably walk slowly, go get the food and back home.

take care!

Yumyum,
Otherwise, u can make those 1-pot food which is fast and doesnt require much time. I used to do that when I'm lazy to cook and it taste really nice.

Just need to buy a pack of chicken/pork broth, wash some rice, prepare some ingredients (mixed veggies, cleaned prawns, dice crab sticks etc). Just dump everything inside and add abit of salt and let it cook inside the rice cooker. Ask your DH to prepare the ingredients for you, so you just need to throw everything into the rice cooker. All you need is 20 mins and nice pipping hot "fried rice" awaits for you!

well well.. having kids is a life time commitment.. still, i think grandparents / parents need to learn how to let go at appropriate time and live their own life too

Hi everyone, i have been lurking hope I can join this thread where there is such a group of amazing and supporting mums and mums to be. Baby is due in April 2010 and I am with Prof Ng SC at Gleneagles.

Yum Yum - on your question, you can order tingkat; if you don't want to order one month's tingkat, just tell them that you wanted a trial service for one or two weeks. This would save you the hassle of cooking.

bee,
fully agreed with you.

That's partly why I told my hubby that I am not going to help my boy to take care of his bbs when he becomes a father. I have set myself a good example to him that I take care of him since born on my own, I dont want and dare not let my mil or mother to take care of my own bb, coz I feel that it is my own responsibility as a parent and also they had gone thru the tough days taking care of their own children, so it is time for them to relax as grandparents, esp they are old liao. If not, I think we will still keep worrying alot and spending lots of time for our own children and grandchilden when we are already very old,v hard to live our own life then.

Omg, Takashimay so crowded because of the 16 Anniversary! Lots of things to buy but need to thrift for baby's stuffs! Hehe.. Avent products are on 20% off and if you have Amex Black/Takshimaya CC, you get an additional 15% off. Great deal cause I bought the Avent Sterlizer at $120 only when the usual price is $190!

Thanks Lina for the warm welcome.

I am wondering if anyone can recommend a good confinement lady and PM me her details? I need one because this is our first baby; I have no prior experience looking after a baby and will need to practical lessons. I am not getting much help dhelp from parents or inlaws. TIA!

hi all, i just got my confirmed BFP on 8th of oct!!

i feel bloated and my right foot is swollen. is this normal so early in the pregnancy?

my next appt is 22 oct anyone have anyidea what will happen then??

orangey,
wow... seems like a good deal... maybe will go down later if we have the time...

oxidised,
i dunno abt swollen foot so early in the pregnancy but did u ask dr before u were discharged? i also had swollen feet quite early in my pregnancy when i was 4 month plus... i did read that it may be due to high blood pressure but my blood pressure is ok so far.... another thing may be due to my profession which i need to stand quite often for period of time.. but for ur case it's so early so may be still be due to ohss... do check with dr again when u see him on 22nd...

hi eskimobaby:

yah i got a feeling my OHSS isn't entirely over yet. since i removed the bag.. ( i was in hospital for 4 days, and had the bag with me to drain fluid for 11 days)

after removin it on the 8th, i have been feeling bloated.. last checked no High blood pressure also..

jus started last night, before i was discharged i didn't have..

should i be worried?? n how long does OHSS last man?!

Hi oxidise,

I was hospitalised for OHSS for 10 days, also had to drain off fluid from my body. After discharge from the hospital, the swell went from the tummy area to the legs. It will take a few days for the swelling to go off. Swelling is due to water retention. Try lifting up your leg or wear this anti-bulism socks.

hi cactus, i have the socks.. i prob put it on later.. but it's @()*(&(*^hot lah hahhaa...
just had lunch n my tummy is SO bloated again..

just have to wait n see.. thanks guys..

Hi oxidise,

Put on the socks and turn on the air conditioner to sleep, you won't feel so hot. Do drink plenty of water & rest too. I had 2 more weeks of hospitalisation leave after discharge to rest at home. Went back to work only on Week 8.

cactus, did u go out during your leave? i thinking of going out tomorrow heh.

i jus showered, ate and guai guai put back the socks..heh

next week wed i think is my 5th week..

also how long did ur bloating take to subside?

hi oxidise,

I was hospitalised in week 4 and discharged in week 5. My bloatedness subsided upon discharge but leg swelling continues till week 6 if I remember correctly. I didn't go out except for my visit to NUH for injection every Tue & Fri. Didn't dare to walk too much.

cactus,

my admission was 2nd day after ET..

hmmm, i thought of going town for awhile leh.. now u say like that i abit scared.. haha..

been at home since discharged, only going out with hub for meals.. quite bored..

u go for injections for support ah? after tmrw, i m going to start oral support duphaston//

cactus: the compression socks work! wore it last evening and through the night, n my foot is less swollen already.. would wear it again tonight!

think i give this morning a break la haha

Well, glad the swelling has gone down. Avoid walking too much and try to lift up your leg if you can.
I know what is it like to be at home. Back in Apr, I had 5 weeks of hospitalisation leave. Now in my 29 weeks, I'm also given 2 weeks of MC to rest at home.
I had both Duphaston & injection due to twins pregnancy. They said must strengthen my womb.