IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Lina

hehe... + another 4mths ML and my 2mths accumulated annual leave... i hope to see my bb walk and call mummy by then

hi bee,
walk no problem, and baby should be babbling...
Will you be affected with promotion, bonus, etc? for me is no bonus next year, no 13th month bonus and no medical benefits. My annual leave will also be eaten up.

eskimobaby.. my DS scan at 13 wks den next doc appt at 17 wks..well i suppose its ok?

orangey.. ya i juz trsf to TPS for my 2nd scan just past tis wed.. was good n quite fast.

All these scans / appt given by KKH... so i guess they shd know what they doing rite? we can request for add't appt in between meh??

maggie,
i guess it's ok... anyway the next one will be at wk 20 where u have ur detailed scan.... so from wk 17 to wk 20 is a shorter wait.... i wait till my neck very long then my wk 20 scan which is next wk... kekeke

hi maggie,
kk is quite flexible and this is not a package consultation. So anytime that you feel that you need to have additional appointment, just go check. I was worried in trimester 2 as i had bleeding then. So i just go check up once a week till i feel secure. Just that got to pay for the consultation. But to get a peace of mind is better, rather than wait and worry at home.

Hi Cyncyn,

Thanks for sharing your story here to encourage people like me. It's really hard for you during that time but you are a strong and determine lady to be able to overcome all difficulties and finally given birth to a healthy and beautiful bb boy.

For the rest of the ladies,

Thanks for your concern. I really freak out when I have bleeding last week but am feeling much more relieve since my spotting stop after 2 days. It was not heavy spotting but I guess even a ten cent coin size spotting will freak any of us here.

I had my detailed scanning done by Prof Anadakumar today. My babies are scanned to be normal which is a relieve to both my DH and me. We decided not to have amnio test. The next detailed scan will be on my 22nd weeks and I've decided to be scanned by Prof Anadakumar instead of KK.

He also checked that everything is fine when I told him about my spotting and he said that it's pretty normal for mothers having twins.

It was the longest time scan for me. The whole detailed scanning took 3 hours!!!! A very talkative prof but he is kind and nice.

Lina,

Please update the tabulation for me. I'm going to have 2 boys!!!! Would be a busy tiger year for me. Heee......

Lina, my hp number is 98189744 in case u are looking for me again. Keeeee.... sorry to have made u worried for me.

Itjabi,

Dun feel apologetic about anything. I know u mean well and I pray that both of us including all sisters here will have a smooth pregnancy and delivery.

Dev,

Thanks for hearing me out and your support. U seems to be always there for me when I need help.

Hi Fresh,

I had my detail scan by Prof Anadakumar on Tue too. He is the one who found out that I had cervix shortening and informed my gynae. He is sure very chatty! hahaha! A very nice dr.
He did my 1st trimester genetic scan and also detail scan at 22wks.

Hi Fresh,
so glad to see your posting. Oh good, 2 tiger boys!!!! hahaha, really going to be a very busy year for you. I have taken note of your HP, thanks.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> ximi</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD> 16 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> 2 boys</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD> Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD> Bubbybear</TD><TD> Australia</TD><TD> </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 28 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hello Fresh,
Good thing that the Scan came out good
I had my OSCAR yesterday and guess what? My ultrasound shows that my baby is doing very well but my bloodtest wasn't flavourable. For my age, I think it'll be consider risky with that result.

My scan ratio was 1:1000+ but my bt ratio was 1:245! The whole final ratio became 1:409 because of my BT. I was freaked out really! I mean, I don't understand! Well, Prof Yeo did a doppler test which the counsellor told me that it is a much more accurate test cause the doppler test monitors the blood veins and blood flow of my baby. Everything turns out good. My ratio became 1:6000+ because the scan ratio increase tremedously till 1:18000+. I'm still a little worried about the BT though.

Well, probably see what Dr Loh suggests when I see him on 16 oct. The counsellor says no way that she thinks I should go for the anmio cause both result signify low risk just that the first result is a borderline pass.

fresh,
glad to hear that all is well.... wow, 2 boys!! congrats!!..hopefully i get to know my baby's gender next tue after my detailed scan...

orangey,
wonder why the BT results differ so much from the scan results... does it mean that BT results not accurate?... just find it confusing...

Eskimobaby,
I really don't know. I could take it v well yesterday but today when I see my report, tears start rolling down. I hope someone can tell me that BT are inaccurate

Sometimes find it very weird, some ladies do their BT on Week 12 yet some do on Week 9/10. Its very confusing when all of them take Package B. I did search online and many did says BT have a very high false positive rate but to medical researchers, the false positive rate is only about 5-8%. I just hope mine is just one of the 5% false positive rate.

Fresh,
May I ask how much did you pay for the scan at Camden? I thinking if I should do it? Is it a doppler test? Cause if it is then I won't do it since Prof Yeo did it for me yesterday. I'm getting worried and DH is like insensitive. He feels that through the scan, it shows our baby is very active and healthy so he dont see a need in seeking 2nd opinion.

helen,
glad tat the scan result is gd!
Happy for you. You must rest as much still, ok?
Anything can sms me too, I still remember you were so worried for me when I had intense contractions two days before my delivery. We were chatting over msn n you told me to go kkh quickly. I still have your hp no.

Remember? I said I am confident that you would be blessed with your precious bbs soon! Soon your two bao bei will see you face to face next yr! Stay happy ok.

Orangey,
like wat I told you yest in msn, dont worry too much, your bb will be fine n healthy.
Stay positive huh. :D

hi eskimobaby,
do update your baby's gender when you know.

hi orangey,
do seek 2nd or even 3rd opinion doctor/hospital, not only Dr Loh. It may costs more but at least can compare what is the difference in blood test.

Fresh: Good to know u r doing well
Stay Happy and congrats on ur boys

Cyncyn: thanks for sharing ur experience with us.. Have a wonderful journey ahead with ur little one

juju
thanks... ya, one year break from work and we plan to try natural for the second bb during this period.

Lina
it depends on when ur no-pay leave starts. i think i shd be still entitled for 13th month + bonus + annual increment for 2009 work done cos my no-pay leave only starts end Apr 10... but certainly not for 2010. i shd hv check with HR.
haiz!

just to share.... I had my 35w5d scan yesterday but the results showed that my bb torso is at abt 37w, head is 40w
and weighs 2.7kg. bb is healthy and my GD test is normal.

gynae said there is nothing we can do to reduce the head size as it is genetic. It just means that it may be harder for me to push the bb out. what i could do now is eat less, stop herbal chicken soup, do more exercise esp squatting, walking, climbing stairs etc... and hope that bb comes out 2 weeks earleir tho gynae said there is no sign of pre-term labour.

when MIL knew abt this, she said 2.7kg (6 pounds) is very small. my SILs were btw 8-10 pounds (3.8-4.5kg). then she said she will boil herbal soup next week. omg! i told my hb, no please (i kinda sick of chicken soup, i prefer birdnest :p). i dun want a 4kg bb. for my size &amp; height, 3.5kg is very good already...

but i must admit it's hard to resist on sweet stuff... am trying very hard!! :D

Hi Lina,
Thanks! What I'm thinking is that if the test at camden is going to be of similar to the doppler test I did, then I'll prob drop it cause I did it in KKH. Prof Yeo says though my BT is not flavourable but he is very happy with my baby's scan result which is why he did a doppler test for me to further review my risk factor so with the doppler test, my risk ratio is of my age at 1:6659.

Hi Orangey,

The test at camden is a detailed scan. I'm not sure what u did n doppler test but in Camden, the detailed measure everything of the baby including checking your cervix. The whole process took abt 1hr plus for singleton and it cost abt $380.

I just came back from gynae review. Very sad and scared. My cervix is further shortened by 0.6cm. Its only 1.6cm now. Need to go back for review again next tue. Might need to stitch up.

Need your advice on the insurance that we bought during the IVF treatment. It covers premature birth, right? Premature birth due to any reasons can be covered right? I'm trying to find the policy but dunno where I kept it. If you ladies happened to have the policy, could you briefly tell me what the policy covers? TIA!

orangey,
if it really gives u a peace of mind to seek a 2nd opinion then go ahead instead of worrying urself...

serene,
from wat i remember the insurance cover up to $54,000 for up to 30 days stay at NICU... i dunno if it covers other things as well..

serene,
btw, are u still with kkh? if u are... u can request to downgrade urself to C class.... i had an ex-colleague who also had to be stitched up at 6th month... and she was in hosp so her doc asked her to go for C class... and when her daughter was born, she was in the nicu for 2 months... even tho her daughter was at nicu, the rates were C class rates...

Hi eskimobaby,

I'm not with KKH now but my gynae might refer me back to KK if my condition does not improve. May I asked if your ex-col delivered at how many weeks? And did she managed to hold the bb till later stage after the stitch? Thanks.

serene,
for her, her baby couldn't wait and was out at abt 7th month... we saw the baby at 4 months and she's like any other normal baby... i'm sure u and ur gal will pull thru too... have total bedrest...

gals,
can i check if u are applying anything to the nipple area to stimulate or soften the glands so as to allow milk flow after baby is born? wat's the brand of cream to buy that is safe?

hi! Can i check how often r we suppose to go for scan in third trimester? I had my scan done at 29 weeks and my next scan is in 33 weeks. Is that normal?? Also, what to expect in the scans to come, coz Dr loh juz seem to be scanning for bb size. Is there suppose to be further detailed scans??

hi bee,
nevermind the 2010 bonus, watching baby grow up is already a great sum of reward that no money can cover.

Hi serene,
i dug out the insurance form when i was admitted to hospital 2 weeks ago for low waterbag level. The insurance form is really brief, as eskimobaby mentioned, only says the amount but not detailed. But there is a contact number to ask the insurance agent. So would be better to ask them next monday. They should still have your policy number and details, in case you cannot find the hard copy.

Hi eskimobaby,
same as your friend, i was advised by kk to stay in B2 or C class ward and glad i made the right choice. For a 5 days stay at B2, only cost 1k payable via medisave. 2 weeks ago i was at high risk due to very low waterbag level, no leakage or infection. They cannot find the reason and said that if level continue dropping or maintain, will just c-sec to deliver baby at 31 weeks, will end up in NICU as baby was only 1kg plus then. But lucky water level rise after few days stay, doctor also not sure why this happens.

hi orangey,
if it is the same test as kk, then don't need to retake.

hi ltjabi,
3rd trimester scan is on alternate week. I guess after your appointment on 33 weeks, Dr Loh should be seeing you next on 35 weeks.

Lina/Eskimobaby,
I will seek Dr Loh's opinion if I should get second options to go Camden. As what I research online, the MoM for bHcg is 1.0 while mine is 1.34. They did says that the higher risk is when the MoM is double of the normal standard. Dh says mine is slightly higher and they did mention that if I do have a twin sac but one of them disappeared, it might also increase the HCG and might take a long time for my body hormones to go back to Singleton level. As for the PAPP-A, which is what I'm worried about, Standard MoM seems to be 1.0 as well but I only have 0.45 but the web did says the average MoM for down syndrome babies are 0.4MoM and below so I guess I'll just stay positive.

I think I'm really very gan chiong but bo pian cause for my age I would have thought everything would be ok but gave me a shock when they said my Bt not flavourable

On a side note, I hope someone can tell me their Lab has some operator error that causes false positive in my BT. LOL!!!

lina,
the difference between B1 and B2 quite great.. that time i stay in B1 for 2 nites only due to OHSS already 1k+... and somemore i was only given drip and do some blood test... no other medication given...

orangey,
yep yep... hope dr loh will give u more insights into the results....

my ms seems to have come back for these few days after i recovered from flu...arghhhh...

Lina: thanks. Is there anythng i sud look out for during scan?? Dr loh doesnt say much soo honestly dun know if that is normal or we sud start toking abt delivery?? Also, gd to know ur waterbag level rised. Did the doc say y it was low??Drink plenty of fluids n rest ya. Hugs.

hi orangey,
yes, do ask Dr Loh's opinion. Keep us updated but do stay positive.

hi ltjabi,
my gynae also very brief, only let me listen to heartbeat and point out baby's position during scan. Unless i ask for baby size, if not he also never say. I guess most gynae are the same, never say much unless you ask in details. Oh, waterbag low is nothing to do with my drinking of water. The reasons given are baby's kidney weak, baby did not pass urine, infection of my private parts or baby not eating at all. However, very strange, my case was none of the above reasons.

Lina/Eskimobaby,
Yep, I've just called up SSR. Will be seeking 2nd opinion from Prof Anadakumar. I actually have a twins sac on my 6 weeks and on my follow up the next week, one of the sac vanished and my current baby survived and is doing well. I'm not too sure if Twins vanishing syndrome have any effects on the BT but I read somewhere that where there's a twins sac, HCG usually elevated and though the sac may have vanished, it will take a long time for the body to reflect back to Singleton level. Hopefully Prof Anadakumar can shed some light. Waiting for their call.

Lina,
Actually for IVF pregnancy, there's an investigation that HCG in IVF pregnancies are usually higher than normal pregnancies. Cause they realised that a number IVF women always have positive result for their BT and they are suspecting it could be the hormones jabs and progesterone support. But oh well, they are still doing investigation though.

Hi MTBs.. im into my 9th week. And sometimes will experience intense stomach pain ... is it due to uterus contraction? Is it something common or to worry abt? Btw... i hv no bleeding so i din went to kk to see doc...juz not sure if its something i shd take note of...

maggie,
it's alrite to feel some pulls around the abdomen or pelvic area but if the pain is intense maybe u would like to schedule an earlier appt with dr loh and find out more.... cos the pain is not supposed to be intense..

Lina: Thanks for info,Rest well. Sometimes it's juz one of those things we cant figure out. Good to know things r better ;) God bless.

lina... doing my OSCAR on 30 Oct and seeing doc 23 Nov... today better ... no cramp or pain... so i just monitor and see how... if really persistent... i will go kk 24 hrs loh....

Lina/Eskimobaby/Fresh,
I'll be going down to see Prof Anandakumar for our genetic scan on 16 oct. That'll be next Friday! I hope to bring very good news like Fresh

DH feels that we shouldn't risk our baby by doing an Amnio even though we are classified as Borderline low risk. My sister at first was abit objective when I told her I'm going to look for Prof because she finds it too expensive but after explaining to her, she realised that I will be more at ease after seeing Prof.

Sometimes, our family members dont really understand what we are going through but I know my sister doesnt mean bad, she just doesnt want me to spend too much. She thought it was just 2 pieces of scan paper at $380! LOL~ Explained to her its comes with a DVD and almost 100+ of pictures and she realised that oh its quite worth it. Another reason why she was objective was she finds that it is just a genetic scan that is not 100% accurate so she rather I go for the Amnio straight for a 100% answer but I told her I dont want to risk my baby. I will seek Prof advises before doing anything. That's the best I can think of now. Need alot of support now!

Have been praying to god to bless my baby to be very healthy and normal. I'm sure god will answers my prayers
I've been talking to my litle baby also telling baby to continue to grow well and be healthy and normal