IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi eskimobaby,

How come preggy lady will have piles? I did not experience piles in my life before. Heard piles can be painful but I'm not.

fresh,
cos of the pressure of our expanding uterus on our rectum... so for those who never had piles before can also get it during pregnancy... that's wat i read from book and also from my 1st antenatal class last week... i also had it during my 1st trimester but it went away after my constipation cleared so i didn't get any medication for it... the only thing we are afraid is that it will be inflamed

fresh,
talking abt blood in the wc.... i had that when i was touring in taiwan abt 2 yrs back... freaked me out also... cos the water was bloody red then GP told me is piles... sometimes wipe won't have blood stain on paper but u'll see it in the wc... and i also didn't have constipation at that time

orangey
$550 is dirt cheap, I felt cheated now! :p ya, the support medication is considered cheap too, multi-vit < $10, fish oil tablet little ex tho abt slightly over $50, but i can't find one with similar content at other pharmacy, so have been buying from the clinic.i didn really scrutinise other cost, except knowing that it will cost abt $4-$5k for single-bed depending on amt of drugs etc...

bubbybear
oh, i didnt know gynae need referral, cos i just called and made appointment even b4 pregnant... hope your spotting has stopped.

Lina, sorry missed ur post and i hvnt logged into hotmail for some time.. lazy! hb said this sun is fine, likely after lunch la. will confirm exact timing tmr cos he is out enjoying his rock/wall climb now...

hi orangey and bee,
heard from my friend that though Dr Adrian package is good price but his other fees are ex and for delivery, still got those hidden cost. So got good and bad.

hi bee,
just let me know a day in advance. Thanks

Hi eskimobaby,
so did u seek medication 2 years back when u had the same experience as me? I'm thinking of waiting to see if I have anymore blood when passing motion tomorrow b4 I see a gp. Heard fr friend that piles can be hidden inside since I can't feel the pain. Then how to apply cream?

Fresh,
Is your stool hard? For me, I had very hard stool the other day so when I wipe i saw a little blood. It freaked me out too so i double wipe to make sure its not blood from vaginal and yes it's because of my hard stool my pigu "po pi"
Pigu pain after that but taking the stool softener, i dont have problem le... No blood. Maybe your stool are hard and thus causing your rectum to tear and bleed. I have that experience before my pregnancy also. No worries but if you are really worried, check with Dr Sadhana..

Fresh,
i dun remember but i know i didn't get any cream... after i got back to sg it was ok already...so i just checked with GP and he said it's piles.... i also wonder if the piles are inside then how to apply cream kekeke... i also just had hard stool yesterday and there was a bit of bloood after wiping... will let gynae know abt it during my appt in abt 1 wk's time... for piles during pregnancy, the instructor did say that doc also can't do much we can't get it removed during this time only can give cream to relieve the pain.. or in worse cases medication..

Hi Eskimo and orangey,
thanks for the explanation. Unfortunately, today noon, I found brown blood stain on my panty. I went to kk24 hrs immediaty and dr confirmed that the blood I had yesterday was not from my stool but from my vaginal. I was stunned for a while. I was given prog jab and dhuphaston support for 2 weeks again. It didn't bleed until evening again. This time was red and stain half my pantyliner. Then at night, it became dark brown discharge again when wipe. I was so worried till I cried but now feeling better. Hope the bleeding will reduce and stop soon. The scan shows my bbs are ok. Currently still having slight crampy feeling.

Hi fresh,
do remain calm. This happened to me at 14 weeks too, heavy bright red bleeding. I was not given any support as gynae says that 2nd trimester will not help. I bedrest for 2 weeks, ate twice daily of glutinous rice with lotus. Together with Dr Zou much stronger herbs daily. Are you still seeing Dr Zou, do go back to her for support herbs, will definitely help. I also broke down then, seeing red blood is a scary sight. Please stay positive.

After bedrest i return to work and within a week, brown discharge came. Again i panic and this signals alert to stop working. From then i took no pay leave till delivery. You take care.

fresh,
like wat juju and lina have said... have lots of rest... take dr zou's glutinous rice with lotus recipe as well.... i know it's worrying but try to relax and have lots of bedrest...

i'm down with flu.... not feeling too good myself... went GP... didn't want to give me anything except running nose medication n lozenges... i'm only afraid of fever which will affect my bb...

hi eskimobaby,
hope your flu will recover soon. I had flu during 26 weeks, went to polyclinic. The doctor said cannot treat me, wrote a referral letter and sent me to kk. I ended at delivery room for an hour, strap to CTG machine to check baby heartbeat and contraction. Then did a nose swap test to confirm that i don't have H1N1. Flu and fever is of high alert for pregnant ladies now, so if your flu still don't recover in a few days time, go see GP again. Take care

Lina,
ohhh..... good that they are cautious and didn't anyhow give u tamiflu.... will go see doc again if i still dun recover soon

bee
I'm in AU, system here different lor.

fresh
As long as the scan shows the bbs are ok and growing healthy, it is all good. But bedrest as much as possible. When I have brown spotting, bedrest helps, the moment I start walking too much, the stain will come. Anything that strain the abdominals, don't do. Keep monitoring if worried do weekly scans, make sure bbs are ok. Pregnancy will stabilise as it progresses. Like Dr say, some form of bleeding is very common to some women. But just can't help worrying right ?

eskimobaby
U take care too.

bubbybear - oic, hope you are better now.

fresh, i experienced bleeding at abt week 6-7... half panty liner was red for 2-3 times. i was very scared and cried then. doc gave me a week MC to rest as they couldnt do anything more since they hv already given me all the preg support they could. So, pls rest in bed whenever possible since the scan showed that bb is okay. take care

hi bee,
do you think bleeding is the cause for having singleton? My bleed occur in 2nd trimester, so always wonder if the other twin coming out. I asked doctor but he says not sure.

Hey!Fresh,

pls have complete bedrest. I had heavy bleeding during week 8. Lost one of my twin. Was bedridden coz in fear the other one would have been pulled out as well. Im not scaring u but better be safe then sorry. can understand how u feel. I cried for soo long n sometimes still wonder if my other twin was a girl or boy.

Hi Itjabi,

Dun scare fresh.. she will be fine one...i have bleeding till 14weeks too.. and stop le.. sorry, i just want Fresh to keep POSITIVE mindset.. Dun make her worry and cry, plz.. i know u mean well dear..

Develyn:

Not scaring her my dear. Juz want to make sure she take complete bedrest, Coz as humans we tend to relax after awhile. Fresh, if i have made u worried n cry even more i apologise. Be +ve n do take care.

Itjabi,

No worries.. i know u mean well.. she has been going thru' too much.. it's time to give her a break and give her all the support and courage here.. Btw, when is your due date ? should be busy shopping and preparing now right ?

Develyn: due 2nd week of dec. Have been looking ard.. Cant get anything soo have to get mum to buy 1st coz she patang.Wat abt urself?? How u feeling now?

Itjabi : I am fine... have not get anything yet too... except MIL bought infant car seats.. and we got some clothes for the gals...

Lina : No worries .. i am in touch with her and she is fine .. just that she will take a break from negative thoughts now.. Will be alright.. She will definately have smooth journey till delivery.. I have faith with her.. =)

Lina,

My bleeding was during first tri. My doc also not sure if it was the lost of my other bb too, but by then, only one sac could be detected. So, i kinda thought it was.
For ur case, if it happened only in 2nd tri, maybe not, else, doc would hv found 2 sacs during first tri, right. So, i think you hv made the right choice to quit your job and rest at home.

Hi Serene ,

I give you my strength too ! My bleeding is off and on till 14weeks... and babies are doing good so far.. now i am at 22weeks.. so u have to stay positive and speak to your baby okie ! Jia you..

hi bee,
no ahhh, cannot quit. Only took no pay leave for 6 months till deliver, lucky company allow this. If not cannot afford to feed baby.

Hi bliss n develyn,

Thanks! Got your strength!! Its going to be a long journey from now on... Hope time can quickly pass so that i can reach 32 weeks faster

Lina

oh, so nice of ur company, public sector right. i applied 6 monhts no pay leave too but its after bb arrives... ya, cannot dun work for too long, else got to eat grass :p

hi bee,
that's good, agree with your decision. I am sure you will enjoy stay at home life for 6 months, can watch alot of baby first flip, first crawl, first tooth and maybe even first crawl. And can also continue with breastfeeding longer.

It's been a long long time I've been here and just thought of popping by to say Hi and congrats on the Big Fat +ve! :-D

My boy has just turned 5 months and I realize that there's not one single day that I'm not worried since I was preggie. I had a m/c during my 1st fresh cycle at 9 weeks when Dr Loh couldn't detect my bb's heartbeat and when I did my FET 8 months later and was tested positive again, I was worried that the same thing will happen again. I was seeing Dr Loh and another private gynae at the same time just to be sure. Come to think of it, I insisted on a weekly scan just to be sure everything is fine.

Then during my 8th week, I had the biggest scare of my life! During my 1st pregnancy, I started hving bleeding from the day i was tested +ve. This time round I had no bleeding at all and I was hoping all is well. Then came one evening, I just felt that something wasn't right so I went to the toilet. There was no blood on my pantyliner but when I look into the toilet bowl, I had the biggest shock! The whole toilet bowl was filled with blood and there was a HUGE blood clot! I started screaming for my mum and crying hysterically! But when my mum saw the blood clot, she was told me it's not the bb. Immediately I went to KKH 24 hr women's clinic and when I remove my panty, blood was running down my legs. Thankfully the scan showed that the little one was fine and I was admitted for 4 days. I guess the blood clot was the other embryo.

Then came my 2nd scare. I did my 1st trimester screening and my odds came back 1:200+. Again I freak out! Why can't I hv a smooth pregnancy?? I decided to have a amino done which I had to stay in the hospital again for 3 days due to cramps. Thank god the results come back normal and it's a little prince for me.

When I was into my week 30, I had GD.... Sigh, it's never ending. My boy whom we have decided to name Nigel was on the BIG side and mummies with GD might end up hving stillborn bbs. I had to be on insulin twice a day for the rest of my pregnancy. Finally, I had to go for a c-sec at 38 weeks cos GD mummies are not allowed to go further and my boy was estimated to be 4kg. Little Nigel arrived on Earth day weighing 3.53kg. When I heard his first cry, I was crying very badly myself;-p And when my gynae was sewing me up, I just fell asleep snoring very loudly... hahaha... He was so afraid that something had happened to me. I just told him I'm very very tired. I can finally relax after so many months of anxiety...

From what I hv read, bleeding happens to almost every IVF pregnancy. Being positive is more than 1/2 the battle won. Jia you ladies!

I look at my son everyday now and I know all that I've been thru is 110% worth it!

Hi MTBs.. is it normal to have 2nd scan at 8.5 wks and subsequently next scan 2 mths later at 18wks? cuz kkh sheduled my next appt 2 mths later... juz worried meanwhile is it ok

Maggie mee,
You are seeing Dr Loh at TPS or Clinic D? I heard that Clinic D appts are very hard to book which is why it could be that Dr Loh's schedules at Clinic D are all booked up. I actually go to TPS to see Dr Loh for my antenatal appts, usually its about 5 weeks different. Guess you can check with Clinic D if u can transfer to TPS. It's just a mere $5 different but comfort level and waiting time definitely not as jialat as Clinic D. Got free flow Milo! Hahahha.. plus scan done by Dr Loh personally.

hi cyn,
thanks for sharing, you are really brave and strong. I am sure you are enjoying life to the fullest with your boy now. So happy for you!
Do come back here whenever you are free.

maggie,
u are not doing the DS scan? if u are, then u should have ur DS scan in Wk 12-13... i'm also with TPS... 1st appt at 7 wks, 2nd one at 10 wks, and subsequent ones at wk12 for DS scan and wk 15 and next one is wk 20... i think max is abt 5 wks difference...