IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Juju,
Wow!!! KK so nice no need to submit bills!
I hope it near to 100%... got 50% i also happy! :D
Keke.. I wanna save more $$ for my baby lah.. so if can claim from Gov.. of course must claim right ;) But Juju, the claim they will give us back in cash or will they deduct from our delivery bill?

Hi juju,
check with you, you must have gotten the invoice of your remaining embryos storage rite? Did you pay for the continuation of the storage?

Hi lina,
check with you, the letter that I received said that it is important to call KKIVF centre to make an apptmt with the doc to check the situation of my embryos, is there a need to do that? I am thinking just to pay the storage fee since I have no time for the apptmt. I wonder what the doc will say regarding that, I dont wish to waste my time there just to hear the doc telling us that there is no 100% sure that all the embryos will survive in the end, since I know that already.

Hi Lina,
Thanks for the invitation, I was looking for it under MTB2010..hee hee...wrong thread.

Ju
you confirm not having 2nd one?

lina
yeah, if only so easy hor. i met a patient at KKH who conceive naturally after IVF..abt 3 yrs down the road, however her second pregnancy wasn't smooth, she was warded for low placenta & had to deliver at 34 weeks. maybe related or maybe not. who knows.

it's 8 weeks exactly since Zac's arrival & i'm already looking forward to his sibling! greedy mummy here.

babymaking,
not at the moment. dun feel like spending the $$ to store embies as well. only 3. wat if all 3 dun survive the thawing? might as well save the $$ & heartache.

Haha Juju , i like the story and your hubby expression on the epidural when i am in hospital that... Do you need epidural ? No, i dun need.. confirm ? Yes.. no need...

Then the story goes ...

I... I .. III... wan wannnn wann epiduralllll... sorry mdm , u are fully dilated... ahhh ahhh ahhhhhh...

Then princess Jodie is out..

juju: how long was ur labour for. Were u alone at home when it started.. Was it painful initally?? As the days r coming nearer.. I getting more worried.Wat if i cant push or dont know how to push??

hi bliss,
how many embryo you stored? better let them know early that you want to keep it. But not sure about the part on seeing doctor.

hi babymaking,
do give zac a sibling soon.

hi juju,
but i thought most people said that for the batch of embryo that can make it to BFP, the quality should be good even after thawing. Don't throw away lah.

hi ltjabi,
have you started on any prenatal class yet? that would help you with the pain relief steps to take.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD> Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD> Bubbybear</TD><TD> Australia</TD><TD> </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 28 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Lina,
I still have 9 frozen embies. My hb has paid the storage fee yest. Yes, we are still keeping them, coz we really cant tell if we would need to use the embies in future, better to keep first. The storage fee is $305 per year since I have quite a no...bo bian, got to spend the money.

hi bliss,
that's a lot of embies. Normally when baby is around coming a year, easier to take care, walking already and feeding becomes easier. You will tend to think about having another child. For frozen embryo, can also choose to put in one egg at a time right? then at least minimize the chance of multiple birth.

Bliss/Lina,
You mean the charges are according to no. of embryos? I thought usually its a one-off charge. I have 15 of them frozen, my storage fee sure v ex!
Me and my DH discussed that after delivery of our 1st baby, we will try natural for a year if no good news, will FET for baby #2.

itjabi,
mine was induced, so all happened in kk. hubby was wif me all the while.
total 5-6hrs btw real pain and bb out time.
push ah? kinda like super big bowel movement. remember to ask for epidural hor

lina,
hubby and i agreed we wun go thru ivf again for #2, if we wan another. anyway, will donate the embies, not throwing away

orangey,
storage charges is fixed, not according to number of frozen embies

hi orangey and bliss,
i thought no limit on no. of frozen embies for kk, $300 regardless of the number. Then $300 is for how many eggs?

Hi Lina,

I would like to add to the table too
, I am at KKH under Dr Loh, 1 boy 1 girl EDD 16 Dec 09. Thank you.

Regardingly about the storage of embryos, will KKIVF automatically store whatever left. As i dont remember anyone telling me about the fees of storage etc.

Lina,
ya, agreed w u.
But I still have to think twice before having 2nd bb, coz I am taking care of my bb all by myself. It will be the same for me to take care of 2 kids if I were to have 2nd bb, will be v siong n tiring for me then. I aged alot ever since after bb is born. Haha... Bb is v v attached to me, my hb simply cant help much too. Hb thinks I am really a superwoman when he sees me managing our super cranky n fussy bb all day n night, as well as planning n supervising the job of the maid.

juju,
i tot u told me your storage charge is $100 plus? Tats y I tot the fee is charged according to the no of fozen embies.
You are donating your embies? Think twice abt donating ur embies. Imagine someone has ur babies as their children...wat will happen if their children get somehow related to your jodie one day, say...falling in love or getting married... v risky...

bliss,
nope. i got the invoice, it's abt $300. i remember being told storage charge is fixed regardless of embies.
either donate or give up for research. hubby can't help me. i can't manage fulltime work, housework and 2 kids. jodie alone is enough

juju,
oic, so it is fixed storage fee then.

Ya, agreed. Actually I knew I cant manage well full time work and taking care of bb at home, tats partly why I quit my job when i did ivf.
I am a perfectionist, I really dont know how I could manage if I am preggy w 2nd bb when teng teng is only a few years old...cant imagine to run after him when I am bloated with a big tummy...and somemore...after bb is born..the whole cycle repeats...argh.. scary...lol

Lina
Regarding your question about conceiving after ivf, from the sonographer who did my scan, she said she has come across many people who conceived naturally after ivf. My GP also says his neighbour, failed 4 ivf attempts but then over the years conceived 4 kids naturally and 1 set is twins ! I think so long as we are healthy, have egg reserve and some spermies there are chances of natural conception.

Juju
Try again with the frozen, since u know no gaurantee one, this kind of thing. Same view as Lina, don't waste.

babymaking
No harm trying again, since u only have 1 now. Get over your craving and then can focus on something else. Low placenta can happen anytime, even people who had smooth 1st pregnancy. It is just luck I think. Just like every pregnancy u may have can be different. If u have c-sect, it is better to wait 9 mths b4 next pregnancy, otherwise, 6 mths will do. Other people conceived within 3 mths of the 1st pregnancy and all is ok. Hard to say.

juju,
understood.
I have to be soooo conscious abt spending $ ever since preggy...i never buy a single clothes or toy for my bb so far, the passed down clothes are not enough long ago, since my teng teng has overgrown most of them even when he is just born!
I feel so envious when seeing u mummies buy nice and cute stuffs and clothes for ur bbs... and also being able to go out without bb around at times. I cant recall the last time I went to orchard or any neighbourhood shopping malls to really shop, tink was almost one year ago liao...lol...

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> ximi</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD> 16 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD> Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD> Bubbybear</TD><TD> Australia</TD><TD> </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 28 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi bliss,
no worries, just a passing phase that baby will stick to you. When he is toddler walking, will be busy exploring the world.

hi bubbybear,
that's good to know that can still conceive naturally after ivf pregnancy.

hi lina,
ya i know, but still I got to run after him n be his 'sticky' mother taking care of him even when he is no longer clingy to me, even when I were to have another bb to look after too. Bo bian, this is SAHM.
Tats my problem anyway, I simply have no one I could trust to help, mil is a super slow motion person and poor in bb care, my capable mum is not free to help, already 'booked' by my selfish sis for years, maid cannot be trusted. I just 放不下心, so I have to shoulder all lah. :p

Lina
In fact, maybe people conceive easier after ivf due to stimulation, sometimes maybe need some extra stuff to wake the system up...haha. Body changes all the time, so have chance one.

bliss
Can understand you. If I didn't have my mum's help, will be SAHM like u. Cannot bear to put bb in other's care. Have to give and take sometimes. Anyway, its a passing phase, when they go to school and don't need u around, u can work anytime.

bubbybear,
thanks for understanding.

I think there are more things to be worried n look after when kids start schooling. I plan to teach my kids as much as possible since I have been a teacher for almost 10 years, dont wish to waste my professional knowledge. Heehee...so, I will have to dedicate more years of my life to my children...not sure I can do it or not.

hi bliss,
you can do homeschooling, have seen my teacher's friend and sahm friends done it. But now just enjoy special growing up moments with teng teng first.

hi all, long time never log in... hope all are well.

Someone mentioned Dr Adrian... he operates in the same clinic as my gynae. I thought he is very talkative and chirpy cos I always hear his voice from outside. Wah, $500 for unlimited visits sound good. You may want to check if it is really unlimited and when does the first visit commence?

I paid about $750 for a package which include weekly visits from week 12 to week 32, fortnightly visit on wk 34 and 36 and then weekly visits on wk 37, 38, 39... till delivery. And this exclude medication, additional test like Blood Test and additional visits outside the cycle mentioned above.

bubbybear.. dun understand why you cannot visit a gynae at this stage leh. Can't you just call up a clinic and make appointment citing a friend recommended you to this gynae?

Bee,
It's true! His antenatal package is very worth it. $550 unlimited right from start of pregnancy. Purely consultations + Scan and basic medications (Panadol, folic acid etc). Supplements and support medications are not included though but still cheap isn't it? Although the package is cheap but the Maternity package is according to TMC. His professional fees seems ex too cause I read from another thread and his pro fees like almost 2k but can claim almost 50% from CPF.

But of course, one thing good about KKH is like what Juju have mentioned, no need to collect bills for antenatal claims. They will submit all together with our delivery bill. For TMC, my friend said the nurse asked her to collect all the bills.

bee,
GP is 1st point of contact. All specialist need referral from GP. They don't take walk-in. Gynae will also cc a copy of all test/results etc to GP, so that he is aware of what's going on with u. GP can write us referral for scans, so that's what I do, just make sure there is no haemorrhage, otherwise spotting is ok, just take things easy. Apparently, they don't prescribe medication if not neccessary. I know in Spore, they prescribe progesterone when spotting or in ART just to be safe. I also begin to understand why some pregnancy which are doomed to m/c, progesterone does not help also.

So now that I'm 9 wks, he finally gave me a referral to call private gynae if I wish. Otherwise, if I go public, he can write me referrals for all the test and then go public hospital for delivery and its free. But the thing about public hospital is, the waiting time kills and everytime see different Dr, got to share rooms and during delivery, alot of training Drs and nurses will be watching and learning.

I found blood when I pass motion this morning. I don't experience constipation and there are no blood stain when I wipe front or back.

Is this normal?

fresh,
may be due to piles... sometimes no need hard stool for it to bleed... cos we are pregnant so the pressure on the rectum is also more so the piles will tend to bleed too... is it very painful after u pass motion?

Hey fresh, do tell your gynae about it when you next visit him. I also had the same problem. Told Dr Loh and he gave some medicine to insert. Afer only one insert, it was so much better.
Don't worry, it's normal. But seek treatment.

Hi Lina, Eskimobaby and Sophia,

Thanks for replying.

It's not painful. I went to the toilet twice after that to urine and found no blood stain. So I guess it's unlikely to be spotting.

Dr Sadhana replied and asked me to monitor with a panty liner. If the blood only occur during passing motion. It is likely piles and she said that I can get a cream from the GP to apply.

I have no pain after I pass motion. I feel perfectly normal, just that the blood freak me out. It's not bloody red but the water in the wc became diluted with blood lor.

My next check up with Prof Anandakumar is next Fri and the following week with Dr Sadhana.